Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭decies

mostly correct but the reason is flawed is the constant two major hurling Munster teams done before the June bank holiday , there’s but a handful of flags put out by the hurling counties around the country . The fact that it doesn’t suit Waterford is because we are not good enough but sorry I will never ever like the current format no matter if we ever get out of the damn thing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

I wonder should we start SOB against Cork for better puck outs? The long range free weapon hasn’t really materialised and I thought some of the mid range puck outs today were hospital passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 gunners200

thought that myself, cahill did it with Shelly and hogan for the Clare game and has worked well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭DeHorse88

The round robin is an excellent format..Waterford just not good enough. What’s goin to happen when Bennett & Barron retire? Mikey Kiely and Dessie big let downs and need to be called out. Three subs used where were Aussie, Padraig Fitz, Reuben Halloran? We had so many players goings bad. Taking off Gavin Fives was mind boggling

None of those came on.

From the examiner report, the timings were….
    SUBS: Patrick Fitzgerald for Mahony (46); Shane Bennett for Fives (55); P Curran for Kiely (60); S Walsh for Hutchinson (65); T Barron for Daly (72).

Daly seemed injured going off.

Post edited by Jjjjjjjjbarry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Munster is a dogfight under this structure. Meanwhile Kilkenny and most of the time Galway as well are guaranteed a handy enough passage out of Leinster every year.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Thankfully somebody gets it , it’s really not that hard .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭914

One positive from today, I thought Sean Walsh did well when he came in.

As for the rest. Started really well, we were playing well, moving well, things were looking good.

Then some very bad wides (9 in the first half I think), a good number of those were score-able.

Disappointed to go in behind at half time as I felt we were the better side with the exception of the poor wides in the first half.

Second half was like a flash back to the past few years. Running into trouble, taking too long on the ball, picking the wrong pass, and more worryingly in the half forward and full forward lines we can't seem to win our own ball or tackle without fouling.

Tipp ran out deserved winners although I don't even feel Tipp were that good today, we were just very so average in the second half, leaving a side the above we couldn't even get the basics right, fumbling the ball, poor first touch and poor decision making.

I won't ever complain about players individually as the time these lads give to club and county is phenomenal.

That said I would have expected to see two changes at half time, as a few players were struggling to make an impact and one or two don't seem to up to this level.

Also very worrying we just seemed to fall away in the last 8 minutes or so, the fight seemed gone, frustration was coming out in players.

I just wonder how the hell we have gone from going toe to toe with limerick to now looking like boys v men in most games.

From a very threatening forward line to a line that can't win a ball and have little impact.

We seem further away from an all Ireland than ever unfortunately, that said as always the hope is there, another knockout game next week where the outcome is simple, win we're through anything less and it's another short year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭eastie17

well lads do ye think ye can beat Cork? They’ll have a number of injury worries after today and while some of the narrative will be that today will be a wake up call it could leave them quiet shook.

There’ll be pressure on them, it’s a winner take all game and if ye got on top early the Cork fans will start getting restless. Pressure is all on them, their fans just presume they are a shoe in for the all Ireland. Some craic if ye knock them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

That year out for Aussie may of been a mistake for him in terms of playing ability at intercounty level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭dilinja1

He also wasn't right for davys first year. Last time he was fit and firing was Liam cahills last year

sorry we won’t be doing anybody any favours if we play like today with a week advantage over our opponents and some questionable management decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭914

This goes two ways, we give them a game of it and who knows but is also has the risk of being like Liam Cahill's final game V Clare away in Ennis.

Looking at our performances over the last 3 games it's hard to see us pulling it out of the bag, no doubt the lads will go for it and give their all I'm just not sure if we have to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A big test for all our management team

Would love if its the reverse of 2022 with us been league champions going in to a must win game expecting a win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

too many issues of our own to address after today. Lack of fight was the big worry compared to the Tipp lads who were just ravenous for it. I’d question if we have the beleif and hunger to actually go and try and upset the applecart next week. I hate to criticise Stephen Bennett for anything because he’s been a man mountain for us over the past few years, but those 3 missed frees early in the game seemed to really deflate the whole thing after the perfect start. Also huge question marks about management today. Slow to make changes for a start and the ones that were made didn’t make much sense. Queally Dosent seem to have the expertise in the line with him, a one man management team Dosent cut it anymore. He really needs t shake it up big time next year.

Unfortunately I think it’s perfect game for Cork to bounce back from and get the fans back onside. a winner takes all game and a win puts them back into the AI series

I find it hard to see us beating Cork.

But it’s not impossible. It wouldn’t be the first time they failed to deliver under huge expectation but after today, you’d expect a big Cork performance at home. We just have to do our job and put it up to them. But we can’t expect Bennett and Barron to do all the scoring and still win. The year is on the line now and others need to step up.

From The Examiner:

“Eleven seconds is all it took Stephen Bennett to surpass Paul Flynn as Waterford’s all-time leading championship scorer. Bennett came into the game two points behind Flynn. 24-181 in 46 games for Flynn, 11-218 across 43 games for Bennett.”

Congratulations to Stephen Bennett. Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Hypothetical now I know but how much if any difference would the 3 panel absentees of Lyons, Mountgomery and Fagan have made to this years campaign….? Lyons a definite starter each game others probably wouldn’t have started but would have strengthened the bench/given options. Hope I’m totally wrong but can’t see anything other than another 8/9 pt (possibly more🥲)defeat next Sunday…..they (cark) won’t implode like yesterday for a second time……‘it’s only waterford, we always beat them when needed’…….would be some result if they could pull it off like the win against them last year but just can’t see it. Does anyone know if the game is on gaa+ or RTE….?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭razorronan

It's frustrating that every year we are missing players that can't play for various reasons. Every team has injuries but I don't think as many of the top sides have players missing for non injury reasons. Soky, Coughlan, Ozzie, Devine, Fagan, Monty, Mahoney, Lyons, K Bennett. We can never seem to have a season with everyone available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Not much to add that hasn't been said already, just gutted to see yet another season most likely go up in smoke after what was a great start to Munster (and of course a solid league campaign). As others have rightly pointed out, it's the hope that kills you. Those wides in the first half destroyed us, we should never have been going in at HT 3 down especially after a great start.

Hard to see a result next Sunday, someone earlier mentioned it could turn out like Cahill's last game against Clare in Ennis and it's unfortunately a distinct possibility. Sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 gunners200

soky coughlan and Devine Havnt played for Waterford for nearly 5 years, people need to get over it

any word what’s the story with Aussie? Was he injured yesterday? I think an explanation is needed from management. Why is he worth a couple minutes against Clare and Limerick, and not even brought on from the Tipp game. There’s more to it I reckon…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Unfortunately Aussie didn't look to be at the pace of the game when he came on vs Limerick, my guess would be that he was not fit enough to play yesterday in that heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Any Cork fans who presumed a 'shoe in' for all ireland were few and far between and even less after yesterday. I don't know one Cork hurling fan who didn't think Limerick would be the big test again.

Next Sunday will be a nervy one. From a Cork perspective am glad it's at home anyway but no idea what team we'll send out. Didn't see Tipp and Waterford but looks like ye didn't take your chances and only 3 down going into last couple of minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭eastie17

I know plenty who have hotels booked in Dublin for semis and the final, and they won’t be going if Cork aren’t in it.

Call it practicality, call it arrogance, call it optimism, I dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Well you can cancel most bookings nowadays so it's not like you have to pay for them until closer the time. Cork support is fairly huge so you are bound to have some optimistic souls.

I always thought this year Limerick would be the team to beat. Yesterday certainly confirmed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭cbwfd

It's a strange game to look back on and analyse because on one hand we again had sub par performances from a number of big players but on the other we missed 4 or 5 very scoreable opportunities in the first half through either poor shooting or an unnecessary extra pass. That's before 3 scoreable frees being missed too. So even granted tipp could easily have been given a penalty we hurled more than enough to be at least level at half time.

The 2nd half we came out sluggish but reeled off 5 or 6 in a row to get level and were in a position we all would have taken before the game with huge momentum with 15 or so minutes to go to push on and win but for whatever reason we just could not make it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

Is it mad to think the 4 Ballygunner players were the worst 4 players on the field.

When we brought the game back to level in the second half, Kiely had dragged Maher out to left half back and we started raining balls down on small forwards. It was then Austin should have been called upon and sent into full forward. Queally was very abrupt about Aussie when asked about him by Newstalk. Something has happened. Another thing noticed was Queally and Shanahan were always turning around to Eoin Kelly asking him what was going on and they generally looked lost. At half time you could clearly see Mahoney and Leavy were done, they were getting cleaned out of it. It was then the subs should have been made. A very poor performance on and off the field and I cant see anything other than a 10+ point win for Cork next Sunday.

Begs the question why is he on the panel at all? If he’s there but not fit enough to play on a hot day, he’s clearly not following the required training program. This all reflects badly on management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭dilinja1

How can anyone think aussie is fit enough for championship is beyond me. He hasn't played a championship game for waterford fully fit for 3 years. He needed game time in the league to bring his match fitness up but got injured and that didn't happen. You can't expect to pitch him into a championship game and get a big impact. Maybe lump balls in on top of him full forward with 10 mins to go with the hope he will catch one or break a ball to a team mate. But that's just when the game is at desperation stages.