Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

Shane came on at 55 minutes so got about 20 minutes. When you bring subs on at that stage, it's to change the game so the fact that the game was slipping away is the reason he was brought on. Unfortunately, it wasn't his day and I think the Tipp work rate and hunger just smothered our players. I'm a big fan of Shane and always thought he should have been developed as a midfielder. His shooting accuracy, particularly from the sideline, can be very poor at times. But he's definitely a goal threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 StickMatch

I don’t think theres any issue 1-7. Not conceding ridiculous scores and turning teams over like I’ve never seen before. Conceded 1 goal in 3 games. Just not ideal this improvement came while way out of form up front.

Barron and Bennet carrying up front at the moment.

Cork with far more to lose Sunday with hype surrounding them and imo there’s a lot this Waterford are doing right just have to be more clinical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Marsher555

I think you'll find that Shane was introduced on 55 mins when the game was very much in the balance as an impact sub. Unfortunately on this showing he did little to warrant a starting place next week.

My question was why did Fives not start at wing back (or K Bennett or T Barron) and Leavey has to play out of position again? If we cannot trust anyone else, its a rather unfair to pile on him? You need not doubt Paddy. If and when Queally gets this right he will be the key to it at midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭spideyman92

I think we leave our forwards isolated 1 against 2 too often and then any direct balls that actually get played into them are easily smothered out. We run down dead alleys too often over playing playing balls. With our pacy forwards, I think we should be playing more diagonal balls to Dessie / Fitzgerald in the corners stretching the opposition defences and making more space in the middle for the likes of Kiely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

whatever happens this weekend Queally has to make changes, personell, positional and tactical. We show up with the same approach against Tipp, slow to make changes, we may aswell just hand it over to the rebels. We certainly don’t want that

I agree.

Spideyman is very much on the money there.

But with a 7 day window to a chance to cause a massive upset, we have to go with what we have. Be it personnel, positions or tactics, each man has to look inside himself and find that bit of fire and courage. The finer details can be ironed out over the winter, as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭914

I won't as my attention will turn to the local club championship as will many others. The new format I feel has been great for the club game, the Waterford championship you are nearly going to a game every weekend to be fair once it starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭upthedeise16

Looking at this weekend, I think there will have to changes.

Looking at Corks forward line, the size & strength they have inside won’t suit Ian Kenny. I’m a fan of Kenny as a man marker & his game is best suited to mark a small, nippy forward but I don’t think Sunday is a day that will suit him as Horgan physically, & Hayes & Connolly with strength and size may have too much for him. I would move back Mark Fitz who is of course a natural halfback & a Rolls Royce of a hurler but I think he is more valuable this weekend in the full back line.

By strengthening the full back line, it allows TDB to push out slightly. TDB is an all time Waterford great but the day of sitting as deep as he did last weekend is done. Ormonde was made look a superstar at the weekend & Lynch dictated the game against Limerick. It is time that Tadhg marks & some trust is placed in the full back line. Darragh Fitzgibbon or Shane Barrett will cause wreck if allowed space between the 2 65’s and although it may lead to an unprotected full back line and goals, it may be time to risk it but TDB not dropping as deep would be my strategy, drop but not as far as he currently does.

I would go with Fives & Kieran Bennett on either side with Bennett on Harnedy/Dalton & Fives following Barrett who will likely be on the wing.

At midfield, I’d put Leavey in his best position. We have seen him with Ballygunner work tirelessly and drop back to allow Philip Mahony to sit slightly. Beside him, although I thought he made plenty of mistakes on Sunday, I would go with Lyons for his energy.

At 11, I would go with Jamie Barron. Although he had some poor wides the weekend, he can be very effective picking off scores and hopefully it will cause the Cork 6 to push out on him and leave space for others. A thing that does frustrate me is when puckouts are landed on Barron, that’s not his game. Puckouts to the wings on Shane & Stephen Bennett with Barron running to compete on breaks makes much more sense. If Downey is back at 6, it also means that puckouts would be kept out of the centre and wouldn’t allow him dominate. If Coleman starts, he has to be targeted and dragged around. For all his hurling ability, he is not a man marker. I think either Bennett could get the better of him.

Inside, Kiely at 14 for me. On puckouts he can roam slightly further out between the 21 and 45 to attack puckouts if they go down the middle but generally, in on top of the square pressurising the other Downey, getting ball to ground for the likes of Dessie & Patrick Fitzgerald to compete for. If Kiely wins a few, the Cork halfback line will drop & leave space for the shooters in the half forward line to hopefully pick off scores.

Dessie will be lucky to hold his place, but I’d still start him but if it isn’t working out, Curran is a potential straight swap. If there’s a change of tact needed, Seán Walsh is definitely another option & his size makes him a handful for markers. I don’t agree with people calling for Aussie to come on for the sake of who he is. He was very poor in his cameo against Limerick and didn't look fit so unless he is going better in training, I’d have him behind Curran, Walsh & Mahony as forward subs. Prendergast is then a good option at midfield to bring his energy around the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭DeHorse88

Mullane wants Aussie, Cathrach Daly, Shane Bennett and Patrick Fitzgerald all in from the start. Says it would be madness dropping Dessie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭guanciale

Im a Limerick looking at ye’re games with interest. Star quality all over pitch but for some reason, it doesnt come together as a team. Dunno why, but if ye can click, ye will win matches.

Partly, as a poster above said ye dont use the talents and pace of ye’re inside line. Het ball into corners naturally harnesses the speed of Dessie and gives Kiely options. Cork full back line can be exploited and no reason not to go at them.

Ye’re full back line and keeper are all decent.

Aussie - he warmed up near me during Waterford Limerick match. Sorry to be blunt, but he is fat amd does not look like an inter county athlete. Honestly the lad wouldnt last a game - 15 mins maybe. But no manager will pick a player out of condition. He's not the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Call a spade a spade, Leavey isn’t good enough for Inter county hurling. I can see what they’re trying to do with him but he’s out of his depth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭JD. 60

Someone sent me that Mullane podcast ; it's a great listen and would nearly give you hope for next Sunday !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Agree on Cathrach Daly I’d have him in ahead of Leavy or Lyons but didn’t even make the bench at the weekend so can’t see him being thrown in Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭dilinja1

Leavy will be better judged playing in his midfield position. The obvious switch for Sunday is fives to half back and leavy to the middle.

Was Fives not wing back last Sunday while he was on and Leavy only went back when he was taken off

I’d nearly agree with Mullane to start Daly, Bennett, Patrick Fitz and I’d nearly throw in Sean Walsh from the start he might help contesting ball. Kenny, Leavy, Mahoney shouldn’t start the next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Pudz2180

not much else to say that hasn’t already been said of Sundays disappointment. It’s really frustrating that this year and last we have won our opening game thus giving us a great chance of progressing (having to win one of the 3 remaining games) but barring a miracle on Sunday we will have miserably failed to take these 2 golden chances.
    It was a great day on Sunday (obviously result apart) proper old school Munster day out in thurles, sun shining, great atmosphere and brilliant to see such a large Waterford crowd make the trip. As I was leaving the stadium on Sunday it hit me that these days are probably going to be few and far between over the next decade once the older guard start to step away. I know we might not be winning regularly but at least we are competitive. What’s coming down the line is going to be a hell of alot worse

You’re right about Fives wing back and Leavy midfield the last day.

who do you play instead of Kenny? Not exactly flush with corner backs. Considering we’ve only conceded 1 goal in 3 games I don’t see a huge issue it’s further out the field where the issues are

Dont know lads just watched a bit of it back there leavy spent most of the game in the half back line. He was following conor stakelum a lot until noel mcgrath replaced him. Fives was mostly further forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 StickMatch

Leavy was wing back for the entire game. Fives and Lyons in for the throw-in at the start of the match.

Agree with full back line, best it’s looked in a while.

Paddy played the entire game last week at wing back. Jamie dropped back to midfield for the game leaving us short in forwards again.Fives seemed to be some sort of plan to cover the space in front of Tadgh which they failed to do miserably, leading to the oppositions No 11 putting in a man of the match performance for the second game running. Maybe that's where the master tacticians on here need to focus, because Kinnerk and Bevans had it copped no problem and so will Cork. Calum Lyons in a monumental loss to us.

One critical decision has to be made for Sunday. Do we pick a team to defend a possibly fired up and devastating Cork attack. If we do, I'd suggest that TDB set up unapologetically as an out and out sweeper( at which he excels) with a proven defender in front.

On the other hand do we trust our backs to do a job and we go all out attack on what looks like a vulnerable Cork defence.

Either way we do not have the personnel available to us for transitioning between both.

For once I agree with Mullane that if Gleeson is fit to be named he starts. That could be at FF or CB depending on the decision made above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Jesus Christ Marsher, Gleeson at centre back, he doesn't look remotely fit, have you seen him come on in the two matches so far (for 2 minutes and 8? Minutes) he looks miles off the pace of the game, Cork would go to town on him at centre back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,460 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Will Queally and co be strong enough to motivate the lads

We all know what happened under weak management in the past

This team won't throw in the towel - we didn't in limerick last year. Wether we will be good enough and minimise the mistakes is another story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Deiseen

You had me until Gleeson at Centre Back. Might as well put him on goal.

Limerick won last year by 10 points and Waterford had 2 fortunate goals to stay in the match.

It’s now or never for this Waterford team to do something, it’s a bigger game for Waterford than it is for Cork imho as there’s players coming towards the end of the road. In another 4/5 years a large chunk of this team will be gone and the future over the next 7/8 seasons is looking very bleak compared to what the other Munster counties are bringing through.

Hard to see management backing Gleeson for a start when they couldn’t back him a week for a cameo role. The days of Gleeson at 6 are long gone lads, Jesus how would he chase after anyone or even close down anyone if he was free. Like Mullane, id put Mark Fitz at 6 and Tadhg at 5 and let him hurl away. Probably not blessed with two many backs would Tom Barron suit again Cork out the field where they haven’t much size. Dessie & Kiely need to step up big time. Kiely has been very average at this level and while the ball into Dessie the last day was very poor he needs a big performance Sunday and start gettin Darragh Lyons and Jack Prendergast hitting quicker diagonal ball inside. If Waterford go down with a whimper Sunday and let Cork run all over them then a few will have to walk. Barron & Bennett have been carrying them team up front time for the rest to step up.

There was nothing wrong with the goals we got and we were somehow still in the game going into last 5-10 minutes. The team kept going even if Limerick were the better side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

I think if we’re going for a change of approach at centre back we should move Mark Fitzgerald in there to play as a more traditional centre back. Tadhg either at wing back or into the full back line depending if management see Kenny as an option against that Cork full forward line.

Jesus man it can’t always be the managements fault…. If players can’t get motivated for a do or die Munster championship game in front of 40,000 in the Pairc then they should all retire now

Post edited by Mastermcgrath on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 westwaterfordaqua

de burca to the full back line is chronic, nothing wrong with prunty and co at the moment. I’m a big fan of de burca but he’s been in the half back line since 2014 and that’s where he should stay until someone comes along and grabs the number 6 jersey.

We don’t need a complete dismantling of the team. We need forwards to step up and put the shoulder to the wheel Sunday and they will know that themselves. Leave cork to make the massive changes after last Sunday.