Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

there is a very good chance on last weeks performance that waterford could win their next two games and make the munster final , they lack pace but have everything else you want in a team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭decies

if we beat Tipp what are the % chances of that will be enough to get out of Munster ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Laoisvillian

Just dropping in to give a tip of the hat to the performance Jason Curry put in against Laois on Saturday. Kicked 13 of Waterford's total of 1-16 and assisted the goal!

He put on an exhibition of free taking both into the wind and against it and he was a one man band for most of the game in terms of carrying Waterford's attacking threat.

I know football doesn't get a lot of limelight with the Deise, but you guys have an absolute jewel there that would make the inside forward line of most county teams!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

100%

We’d be guaranteed to finish ahead of both Tipp and Clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭914

If we win we are guaranteed to get out of Munster.

If Tipp win they are guaranteed to get out of Munster and also have the possibility to getting to a Munster final.

Defeat for us and there could still be a chance of qualifying, but it would be depending we beat Cork and other results go in our favour.

So Sunday really is an old championship type game, winner takes all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Lacking pace is a bit of an issue. Think Waterford have a good chance next Sunday as 7 day turnaround is never easy. Tipp confidence will be high though after Sunday and Waterford must stop the goal threat Tipp possess. Be interesting what team Waterford starts with too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭skaface

Sean Stack named as referee for Sunday

Hopefully we get big Waterford support up in Thurles on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Marsher555

What's the news on the fitness of Gleeson and Kiely?

We badly need puckout options in our half forward line. If Aussie does nothing else but wins a few puckouts it will be worth it. Anything else a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭High bike

Well thank fcuk for that was afraid we would get him in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

Considering how early Kiely came on against Limerick, he is surely fit enough to start on Sunday (assuming no fresh injuries). I would be hugely surprised to see Aussie start or get more than 15-20 minutes even if he's got another two weeks of fitness training.

Considering how low my expectations were at the start of the year, my nerves are already jangling and it's only Monday. This is a huge game and it's great to still have everything in our own hands. Cahill knows our players well and what buttons to press so I hope we'll be ready. The defensive match ups are critical and we need to get the right people on Morris, John McGrath and young McCarthy. Tipp have a long range free taker in Connolly who can convert from distance so discipline in tackling is also something to watch. I feel confident in our defense and hope we have enough energy at midfield to win that war or break even. Up front, we need some of our marquee forwards to use the space in Semple Stadium, stretch their legs and the Tipp defense and get on the scoreboard. Jack Prendergast's work rate and penetrating runs will once again be so important to open the field up for the likes of Dessie and Patrick Fitzgerald and hopefully some goals will be scored.

I feel Billy Nolan is going to have a huge say on Sunday, whether it's with shot stopping or sending over some long frees of his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Ian OB

If we win on Sunday that means Tipp lost. I'm happy enough with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Montys return

Sean Stack loves a red card. The last time he reffed a game between the teams in Thurles he gave 3 of them. So hopefully nobody gets sent off on Sunday.

Don't forget, massive game before it on Friday night. Munster Minor final v Cork in Thurles as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭DeHorse88

It’s a bigger game for Waterford than Tipp, I expect a good crowd to attend. Really think Waterfords bench could be the difference if there used at the right timeShane Bennnett, Two Fitzgeralds and Patrick Curran could have a big impact against a tired Tipp back line. Tipp are progressing well and Cahill has bought another year regardless of Sunday. He will have his matchups right, prob place Morgan on Barron, Breen on Bennett, Ronan on Kiely and Doyle on Dessie. Waterford will have to carry ball,big game for Dessie to deliver. Also Morris or Ormode at 11 can’t be allowed roam around. At least if Cahill knows Waterford inside out, Eoin Kelly will know the ins and outs of what Tipp will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

If Shane Bennett, Patrick Curran and the 2 Fitzgerald’s are on the bench who are your 6 starting forwards?

Stephen, Jamie, Jack, Kiely, Dessie… even at that one of Jack or Jamie will be midfield more than likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭DeHorse88

Billy Nolan
    Daly
    Prunty
    Kenny

Mark Fitz
    De Burca
    Gavin Fives

Darragh Lyons
    Paddy Leavy

Jack Prendergast
    Jamie Barron
    Stephen Bennett

Kevin Mahony
    Michael Kiely
    Dessie

That’s what I think wel go with. Gavin Fives has to start he’s a good man going forward and ball has to be carried v Tipp. I don’t think Leavy or Kevin Mahony will do much off the bench so better off to get a half hour out of them. I’d much rather the Fitzgeralds comin on into the 2nd half. Shane Bennett has done well maybe could start but he’s always been a good sub. There’s goin to be someone taken off at half time and I’d be emptying the bench early 2nd half. Tipp will tire if Waterford run the ball…Kiely can alternate in and out and could be a better addition inside to hold up ball.

The 6 forwards for me are Kiely, Jamie, Stevie, Dessie, Shane B and Fitzgerald.
    Jack P and Darragh midfield.
    Unless a curveball is thrown and Aussie starts but that’s more wishful thinking than anything. More likely to see Kevin Mahony start as management seem to really trust him.

I think Curran better asset coming off the bench, unfortunately for him, but seems to be able to assert himself more when coming in later in the game. After that the forward depth is slim enough. It’s Padraig Fitzgerald with Sean Walsh an option if Kiely limps off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Probably would have been better for us had Clare won the weekend, thus all but putting Tipp out. Facing a tired and deflated Tipp side would have been ideal and you’d fancy Limerick to take care of Clare at the Gaelic Grounds on the last match day.

Suppose it’s all the one really, doesn’t change much in what we have to do which is win on Sunday (or failing that, win in PUC which won’t be any easier - would be lovely to go into that game qualified having a free hit at a Munster final).

Any word from the camp? Hopefully no new injuries and Queally and Co. having learned a lot from the last day out, as well as Eoin Kelly giving every bit of detail on the Tipp lads.

As someone else pointed out a few posts previous, nerves building and can’t stop thinking about this game.

There’s no point even thinking that any other team would do you favours in this Munster round robin. If Clare had beaten Tipp then they’d possibly be playing an already qualified Limerick in the last game with O’Donnell and a few others back,

even if we beat Tipp we’d still be sweating going to PUC on the last day. We know more than anyone there’s no luck to be had in this round robin. It’s Kill or be killed

Like us being put out a few years ago and still beating Tipp?

It doesn't matter in Munster, all you can do is look after yourself, it didn't matter what happened last week.

It's already been said, it's in our own hands, failure to beat Tipp then it's out of our hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭another36

Waterford can beat Tipp! No one could convince me that they aren't fairly even.

The result in Ennis is a factor that can be viewed either way - the reaction of the team and fans was a huge outpouring of emotions - this isn't always a driver of a good performance the week afterwards.

It's good for hurling that there is likely a completely different outcome this year in the top 3 that come out of Munster. It's a driver for Waterford that the outcome is in their hands.

Obviously in Clare we will be 'silently' wishing for a Tipp and Cork win because despite the fact it would still take a miracle - it would be nice to not just be turning up to fulfil a fixture in Gaelic grounds Sunday week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,472 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A draw would suite Tipp, so really is a win or bust for us as Cork down there is a huge ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭Krazy gang

Whoever wins can't be caught by the opposition or clare.

How would a draw suit Tipp? If they draw they are depending on other results.

Cork beat limerick

Limerick beat Clare

We beat Cork and Tipp would be gone based on their score difference.

The above is unlikely but possible so Tipp need the win every bit as much as we do.Tipp win and they are through and possibly have a Munster final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

I think we need to look at the direct high ball going in as what we’ve seen across the championship this year and do what DMG used to do with the likes of Dunford and Tommy Ryan etc and change the game plan with 10 to go and run at Tipp who will more than likely be fatigued more than us.

My team would be

Nolan

Daly
    Prunty
    Kenny

Fitzgerald
    TDB
    K. Bennett (Fives)

Lyons
    Prendergast

St. Bennett
    Barron
    Kiely

Dessie
    Gleeson
    Shane Bennett (Pat Fitz)

5 subs
    Fives (Bennett)
    Curran
    Pat Fitz (Shane Bennett)
    Mahoney
    C.Daly (think we’ll need a big man and powerful runner with 10 min to go from middle third if he's fit).

All 5 strong runners.

Sunday is there last group game and would finish on 4pts with a draw

Exactly and it might not be enough for them to qualify based on other results so they need a win to guarantee qualification

Forgive the formatting mistakes and if I got anything wrong

This what the table could look like at 6pm Sunday evening going into Round 5

1000210771.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Marsher555

Good job PTH2009. Thanks

Munster is just stone mad.