Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Huge battle on Sunday, really need to hit the ground running and can't afford to carry passengers - something we've had to contend with the last two games to varying extents.

Really need a big game from the likes of Dessie who hasn't been too prominent to date. We all love the guy and without tearing him down I think his first touch hasn't been great this year in general. Watching back the Clare and Limerick games (and also taking mental notes from some of the league games) there were a good few balls sent in in his direction that, had he got ball into hand after one touch he'd have been on for a shot at goal or the yard of space created would have let him burn his marker and head goalwards. Many fumbles or simply failing to control the ball. To be fair he's not the only one, there have been many instances all over the pitch of lads not getting ball to hand quick enough thus being under pressure straight away from opponents. There was also a passage of play in the Clare game when Shane Bennett was on and with half a goal chance on had his back to goal and failed a few times to get the ball up. Just a few instances like that, that we've hopefully worked on the last fortnight.

Given our FF line is simply not going to win much, if any, high ball we need to excel in this area to be able to create the scoring chances needed to take down Tipp.

Best of luck to the minors tonight in the Munster final, hopefully they get one back over Cork. If they find a way to ensure Cork don't bottle up Cormac Spain like they did in the group stage match we'll be in with a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭skaface

Good luck to our minors tonight

Up da Deise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,409 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Gavin Fives and Micheal Kiely start. Curran and Patrick Fitz to the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭cbwfd

1000029198.jpg

I think that's the right team. Queally obviously values Shane Bennett as an impact player when things open up and Kevin Mahony puts in hard yards when the game is tight. We will however need more of a scoring threat from him and others in forward line Sunday to get the job done.

Delighted to see Gavin Fives making a well earned championship debut. Great to see someone come into the fold and claim a jersey as he has done. The best of luck to him.

Post edited by cbwfd on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Have there been many other sets of three brothers that have played championship for Waterford? Obviously the Bennett's and Mahonys have, did Roy McGrath ever play championship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Marsher555

Delighted to see Paddy Leavey picked in his best position. A great man to spot runners and get them away by whatever means necessary.

Overall, I fancy that team to take Tipp if we play to our potential. One fear I have is that we give them too much respect, which I believe we may have done last year.

Agreed, he had a great game at midfield against Tipp in Thurles 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭westcork blue

only 8 of the starting 15 from 2023 start on Sunday Billy Nolan (outfield) Mark Fitz, Iarlaith, Paddy, Dessie, Stephen, Darragh and Jack Prendergast. Patrick Fitz and Patrick Curran started, Conor Gleeson, Jack Fagan, Neil Montgomery, Callum Lyons, Peter Hogan all started but are unavailable or retired, DJ Foran, Colin Dunford and Conor Ryan came on as subs. It's a significant change in personnel. This year's team looks a good deal stronger I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

I'm happy enough with the team overall with the sharp shooters to come on early enough hopefully as we're maybe missing a Fitzgerald/Curran or someone who just taps over the ball effortlessly when given half a yard. Definitely agree that Leavey is best placed in midfield. Tynan is injured for Tipp and I think that's a big blow for them in my opinion.

Big game for Gavin Fives so best of luck to him. I've been as impressed as everyone else has been with him but at the same time, we haven't seen enough of him to be sure. Obviously the management know him very well so fair play to him for grabbing that jersey! Also good to see Reuban Halloran make it back on to the bench.

Post edited by Jjjjjjjjbarry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,472 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭seananigans

1000014325.jpg

The joys of living 100 yards from semple. Best of luck to all of those travelling today or Sunday . Here's hoping for some good results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭loves_me_county_boy

anyone know of any buses heading up Sunday? Wouldn’t mind leaving the car at home and having a few large bottles in the sun before the game 🍺🍺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Pudz2180

all the best to the minors tonight, they have been excellent so far this year (apart from the last ten minutes against cork where they lost their way a bit) hopefully they will have learnt a lot from that night and end our wait (2009) for a Munster title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

they don’t look like winning this one I’m afraid….🥲🥲

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Montys return

Great heart in that team and plenty of hurling. Cork deserved it today but still alive in the championship. Hard luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭carq

good performance but too little too late.
    Some definite prospects in the team in Spain and yellow helmet at center half back - hugo?

Definite disadvantage playing into the sun for first half and opposition does not have the same handicap in second half.

Great effort and battling right to the end. Nerves seemed a big factor for a lot of that game but we took over for the last 15 minutes and very easily could have snatched a draw.

What a goal by young Spain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Moggy13

Hugo Quann from Lismore. I thought we were very nervy for large periods of that game. Jack Power wasn't left dominate aerially compared to previous game. That's a fine Cork team and Waterford will still have a say in the Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Pudz2180

could have stole it at the end though in fairness cork were deserving winners. Think the occasion may have got to them it took us til the last ten minutes to start playing but in fairness they have great heart and didnt throw in the towel. Would throw in the number 4 (Keane) as another prospect. Think he is a brother of Conor Keane (under20) who is a similar tigerish defender. Spain is a joy to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

way too many unforced errors, gifted them 5/6 pts. Taking the Wrong options on numerous occasions also. Not enough quality Up front bar Spain🥲🥲

Good heart showing by the minors and hopefully we can get to an All Ireland Semi final at least.

Pity they changed for the sake of change and took the minor games out of Croke Park/curtain raisers. Could only imagine the atmosphere if they played tonight's game next Sunday before the senior game etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

It’s almost like they were a bunch of school kids…..

I’d be happy enough with that starting team, strong looking bench aswell which could be the key to winning this game. As the poster said great story to see Gavin Fives get a start, has really come from nowhere this year but looks like a senior intercounty player that’s been there years.

I just think this is made for us. We have no stumbling block like the 6 day turnaround against Limerick and the rustiness going into the Clare game, we should be well primed with a good 2 weeks to get right for this one. It’s now or never

Post edited by Mastermcgrath on

Would it be too risky to fast track Cormac Spain next season to the seniors ?

Best of luck to the Senior Footballers against Offaly today in Walsh Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Yes. There are zero 18 year olds playing intercounty hurling in Liam McCarthy counties as far as I'm aware as the strength and conditioning required is so far above what just-out-of-minor players are able for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,409 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

PTH you are an enigma, on the one hand you love to post about fellas approaching 30 retiring soon and on the other hand looking for young fellas just out of minor to be thrown into senior inter county.

To answer your question I think it would be a terrible idea and not at all likely to happen thankfully. Physique issues aside, player welfare has to be paramount no point in burning a player out. Plenty of time for him to come onto the senior player in a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 gunners200

would need to establish himself in the ballygunner senior team first before could be even considered, minor and senior and complete different games

Great effort by the senior footballers, hopefully they can take heart from it and beat Wicklow in the last group game

Stephen Bennett was thrown into the minor u18 team as a 15 year old, now he’s running around with 2 hips each bone-on-bone. Tbf think his career is only prolonged by the fact the manager from 2014 to 2018 Incredibly couldn’t find a place for him in his forward line

but to answer your question, risky yes, and irresponsible to flog players too young.

Post edited by Mastermcgrath on