Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

He probably thought the rpg grenade came in return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,653 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Some awful videos on twitter. Just saw one where a bunch of Ukr soldiers come across a Russian soldier beside a ramshackle wall, he looks confused, then one of the UKr guys shout something and they then open fire on the guy and he crumples to the floor.

I wish I hadn't the sound on for that , like someone out of a shooter game but real. Whoever he was, he probably had family back in Russia and they think he's in Ukr liberating them from Nazi's, another pointless death :(

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Cordell

Ukraine also shares the same religion, so I don't think it has anything to do with it. It's probably because they hate the west because of the wars and breakdown of the ex-Yugoslavia - they did act much like the russians back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭jmreire

Yes, I know. I was not pointing it out as a religious defined war, just as shared values. They have more in common with Russia than they do with the EU. If you mean the Balkan wars, and the atrocities carried out then, all sides carried out atrocities', and I'm not trying to defend or criticize any side in that statement. Atrocities are atrocities, no matter who carries them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

Not so much saying what's he's saying rather why he is saying what he's saying.

Macron post election victory is back to his old self and has apparently dropped any ideas that the Russians are the baddies.

I mean we wouldn't like to "humiliate" a crazed despot such as Putin for an illegal invasion of a sovereign state including ethnic cleansing, war crimes and the destruction of large parts of a country now would we. Meanwhile we'll have to put Ukraine in a new specially created box and keep an eye on it - just in case

Post edited by Mecanudo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke III

If you look at the timelines, it was very much the EU countries who led the charge on the first rounds of sanctions, military support and helping refugees.

So the facts don't really stack up against your argument. Although I do like that you've been bearing a grudge against France since the end of WW2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Field east

Pushing for a Serbia and nothing about pushing for UKr. Is this further showing the Germans as to where they really sit?

If someone invaded your house,raped and killed your family,looted and burned down your house,would you invite them for tea and biscuits.

That hatred Putin have created will take many generations to go away

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Cordell

I was referring to the wars post 90s in that area, which resulted in atrocities on more than just one side indeed, but the serbs were particularly, let's say, effective. I'm sure they still blame the west for the breakdown and wars and subsequent accusations of war crimes and genocide which brings them closer to the russians.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Although in inclined to agree, I would point out that the Ukrainian line will continue to hold and cause the Russians greater casualties... until it does not. If it breaks, then it no longer becomes a case of loss ratios, the earlier losses were merely an investment into a greater rate of return later. It is not "who is causing more losses" but "who will be reduced beyond their own critical level first?" If that happens, bets are off. When the dam breaks, floods happen.

I expect that that will be the Russians given past performance near Kyiv, but there is no guarantee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Ukraine will get some hop if they think they will be allowed join the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Such a beautiful sight. Brings a lump to my throat.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

With the Brits and Merkel out of picture, it's Macrons time to shine. Hence his getting onside with ze Germans to run the EU as he sees fit and, like most French leaders, he's a bad idea factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

⬆️ Unclaimed Russian soldiers bodies stored in refrigerated carriages.

⬇️Transcript of Intercepted phonecalls.

Russian soldiers body dump. Basically a landfill of thousands of dead soldiers.

It's. Nothing we didn't know already. With what little they think of their own, even less is thought of Ukrainians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,118 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

But that does not take away that it is a PR stunt. In this thread the gist I have seen is that it is OK to laugh at the Russian PR stunts but not the Ukraine ones? Why? Bringing Bono out - come on.

All I have seen on the internet is PR stunt after PR stunt on both sides. Yet I am supposed to praise Ukraine for theirs? What I find odd is that many Irish people seemed to have only copped on there is war in the world a few months ago. Maybe many are just young and it is all a shock to them or something.

But for the big countries war is just a geopolitical game. International law is meaningless to them. Saw the same with the USA in Afghanistan and Iraq. The same with Russia now all it takes is a pretext.

But if you think Bono going over like a clown at the behest of Zelensky is going to stop people being killed, raped and murdered fair play. I am not naive enough to think Bono is helping with those PR stunts/Propaganda or whatever you want to call it.

Ukraine is only a pawn between two ideologies. Mostly caused by Putin, but the flames were fanned by the USA years ago. In nodding and winking at UkrainelNATO. Then on top of this we have see the disastrous policy of Merkel causing dependency on `Russia. She got rid of the nuclear power plants to go Green. Now Nord 2 is shelved. And a main country of NATO is left snookered as they have to "phase out" Russian Oil.

If people want to believe that Bono is making a difference fair play. But he is not going to stop a war. All he is doing is creating silly PR while all those issues are still on going. It does nothing but make him look silly IMO. And in the clip as I already said the soldier praising the UK and Boris Johnston showed even more naivety and gameplaying/cluelessness.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That would be the Ramrod used to push rounds into the chamber of the gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭paul71

There it is!!

The whataboutery is revealed!

NATO this , Afgan this, USA bad.

Cop yourself on.

You might wanna scroll back on this thread to get the answers you are looking for regarding your whataboutism and geopolitical views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

Plenty of Russian tanks destroyed. But those they capture are easily repurposed at very little cost... just a few paint brush strokes really.

After all, Putin does say he's fighting Nato. 😁

nato.jpg

It is not whataboutery it is simple historical fact. If you don't want to see how all roads lead to this caused by Putin's stupidity and America's duplicity. And Germany's nativity. Fair enough. But that is what has happened. Yet you dismiss it as whataboutery. The last vestige of the ignorant.

What Bono is doing is embarrassing. And you seem to somehow imply if I say so, I am for war and so on. People really need to learn to stand back and view the whole vista. If you are duped by Bono you are already susceptible to PR or whatever you wish to call it. It is extremely odd as if you are fighting your own proxy war online. I deal with facts not semantics or PR games from either side.

Not to mention Putins kindness og giving NATOs intelligence access to russian jamming equipment,radars,air defences,newest helicopters,tanks,fighters,missiles etc.Its really a goldmine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,135 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

it's only embarrassing to a few irish gobshites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

Did you perchance go to the same school as Bono?

Only him beating you up when you were kids seems about the only plausible explanation for your 'Bono bashing' fixation about him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭20silkcut

After declaring war on Germany in 1939 both Britain and France were loath to upset the Germans too much. The RAF refused to bomb German factories in 1939/40 because they were German private property. They dropped leaflets on Germany instead asking them to stop the war. Britain did not lift a finger to help Poland after they were invaded despite guaranteeing their independence. France crossed the German border and quickly went back again. Both countries were behaving very similar to Germany and France today and were hoping the whole thing would blow over. This current period has many parallels with that 1939/40 phoney war denial stage.

`if you can't see how bad it looks fair enough. If it does good fair enough. But I think there are far better ways Bono could help Ukraine if he wanted to rather than that Pantomime stuff. And Bono clapping when the soldier praised Boris J, Yet Boris sending refugees to Rwanda! Come on. You are implying that I am some teenage girl who is just saying 'cringe' at silly Bono effort. My problem is the broader issues as well. Boris is only using Ukraine to distract from his own political issues. Macron is fairly toothless. Germany is hamstrung because its dependence on Russian Oil.

Meanwhile Russia is STILL getting billions for Russian Oil. Plus is supported by China. And here we have Bono wheeled out saying 'Stand by Ukraine'. It is all lipservice stuff. And it is lipervice that led to this situation in the first place. Zellensky would have assumed he would have got real help from America. He has only received limited help. Ukraine are being hung out to dry in other countries games. Only these games cost lives. But it is grand Bono is here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke III

The EU is more united than ever. And that's all down to Ukraine. Don't allow the posturing by one small rogue-ish state to overlook that fact.

By the standards of normal EU politics, we've been moving at warp speed since February.

Carl Gustav sends his regards from Sweden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Having state channels, with a proper mandate is great. RTE will never please everyone. I remember during the abortion debate they had Graham Linehan and his wife on to discuss how they had to travel to the UK for a termination after her pregnancy was diagnosed with a fatal foetal abnormality. They got sanctioned because they didn't have a prolife person on to disagree with them. I was pissed off with that decision. But it's far better than having private companies who can say whatever they want without repercussions. And private enterprises can be swayed by advertisers. They might not criticise a company because the financial hit is not worth it.

I think there's a place for both private and state media and I wouldn't get rid of either.

I have already explained why it is embarrassing in numerous posts. The whole clip from a visual standpoint, musically and politically.

You are correct about the EU being tragic. That was mainly Merkel's fault. Now the main county in the EU and one of the main countries in NATO is over a barrel, Dependent on Russian Oil and even planned to be more dependent on their gas.