Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Bsharp

Took issue with the notion that pharmacy locum payscales aren't related to HSE level of spending. Pharmacies rely heavily on HSE for their income and are a strong vested interest group in the sector. They're directly related. Don't have an issue with the work, just don't mis-represent who's paying for it.

As an engineer you could, provided you don't use your current employers softwares, meet any contract stipulations that work is-pre agreed, and get the required levels of insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,122 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Thread getting a little derailed, talk of Pensions, Bonds, Locum pharmacist salaries 😳

It's getting as surreal as this Government decision making processes.

Meanwhile, DOE Toned down their rethoric re the bully boy tactics & advice on children being excluded from school if they refuse to wear masks, don't expect to see or hear from Norma Fur Coat Foley until the new year.

Government under fire for trying to gag medical experts, whilst Leo described as being akin to a cabbage strainer , he leaks so much.

Heather incomprehensible Humphries to announce what exactly the supports to thousands of people about to loose their jobs means, who's eligible etc, 4, yes 4 days after they were announced.

Leo also now under fire from fellow cabinet ministers for describing decisions he actually supported as being "Peculiar "

Hospitality sector to Meet Katherine Martin and Leo yet AGAIN, this morning for some more Tea & Sympathy, I believe Marietta biscuits have run out, so plain digestives to be offered.

Another week of incompetence, Mixed messaging , ineptitude along with a storm forecast for the week ahead 🙄

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,641 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Make whatever money you like - however bragging about your income is very much a "nouveau riche" type of thing.

You wouldnt catch us old money types at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I didn't read his post as gloating. He stated a fact. You've now stated that you earn more than many people. Gloating? No. Neither was Dazzler.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭celt262

Might as well merge with the Covid 19 Part XXXV as its just a free for all on these threads lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Indeed , not at all sure how we've got here with some extraordinary nonsense 🙄

That's an absolutely disgusting comment regarding the cancer ward. Shaking my head, trivialising cancer. What the hell!

You obviously don't have the same concerns that job losses have on mental health and family cohesion. Your outrage does not extend to these health aspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭watchingfromafar

While I agree with your comment as a single comment, if it wasn't for your absolutely disgusting comments of wanting to ban people from society based on their own medical choices it would hold more weight.

You come across as wanting to be some saintly holier than thou virtual signaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

The faux outrage from all sides is strong this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

This place has gone to the dogs tbh.

The anti vaxers have infiltrated the site in a big way. It's more akin to Facebook now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Quags

Always the Anti Vaxxer shout, its getting boring now

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,095 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

So Flip Flop, Fucking Gobshites and Gombeen Party have now rolled back on the mask wearing for schools - last week kids that wouldnt wear masks would be excluded from school and today its grand for them not to wear masks and they wont be excluded.

So basically nothing has changed regarding mask wearing for 9 year old and older.

They havent a clue what they are doing - running around like headless chickens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,307 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nice lazy stereotype you have there! I don't see it bearing any resemblance to reality though.

I don't see anyone saying they're antivax? Anti-mandatory vaccination maybe but that's a reasonable point given our high levels of vaccination and the idea of personal choice.

Maybe you meant "far right" - although we don't have any of those either! This is not America and Facebook or Twitter are not reality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭choronzonix

What do you mean by an 'anti-vaxer' exactly? Anti-vaxer used to mean someone against the entire concept of vaccination, i.e. who was against all vaccination programs, thought they were inherently dangerous, a gov attempt to control the masses etc etc etc. The term seems to have been broadened out now to encompass people against vax certs for Covid, or mandatory vaccination, or even anyone who question the wisdom of vaccinating the under-12s with this particular vaccine.

Posted on that in the Schools thread as I heard it on the news earlier. Sounded to me that someone got legal advice over the weekend.

Right decision - nothing stopping kids wearing masks if they want/feel safer but forcing it on everyone in a classroom was always a ridiculous overreaction.

When have I called for a lockdown recently? My main concern would be to get as many unvaccinated people as possible to receive the vaccine. I don't think I called for a lockdown at any time since last Christmas. It's a poor attempt by yourself to justify your nasty message. I'm sure you'll make up some more stuff so you can sneer at me.

That's a terrible slur on Headless chickens 🐔 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

The worldwide response to covid is absolute madness

Media and spineless politicians driving the whole thing. Thank God for our neighbors the UK they'll get it right eventually.

I'd say it was more the Public and indeed Teacher, Parents outrage at the disgraceful bullying tactics exhibited by clueless civil servants in the DOE ,led from the front by thr odious and equally clueless Norma Foley 😏

It's a pity the rest of the general population doesn't take a similar stance to bullying tactics around measures and restrictions imposed on them despite being vaccinated and/or at little real risk of serious illness anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

that's about the sum total of it

holding any concerns whatsoever about the vaccination programe is enough to earn the moniker

sure we're at the absurd situation whereby fully covid vaccinated individuals are being tagged as anti-vaxxer for even daring to question any aspect of the vaccine or its rollout.

those reflexively resorting to howls of anti-vax are just as dimwitted as those they purport to be so much smarter than.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

one would have to question the caliber of legislators we're burdened with if legal advice is sought after the fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,330 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Agreed that it is the correct decision... I'm all for masks but of course it needs to be legally implemented... I'm not sure what law the person in question thinks is broken but it's definitely worth checking

Wouldn't be the first time, and your question is of course both entirely valid but also not a surprise

When you have the likes of Helen McEntee rewarding and encouraging illegal immigration for little more than the "feelz" (it's the "right thing to do" she says) and social media kudos, you really have to worry the direction this country is going in generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,330 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Legal advice being sought in relation to current laws and guidelines isn't a new thing, it's not even COVID related... Didn't our marriage equality and 8th amendment referendums get held up in the courts by that plumber from Ennis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

It also now encompasses anyone who thinks ticketed nightclubs and 9 euro meals don't stop the spread of disease. Or who question why we are being told by govt that children are catching covid on playdates and sleepovers but never schools.

I'm vaccinated, I believe covid is a real disease with serious consequences for *some* cohorts.

But I also believe we have failed to learn or adjust our approach at all from the 1st 2 weeks in March 20. We are still focusing on nonsense unscientific tinkering. We are repeatedly being treated like absolute gombeens by the govt and nphet and we have failed to implement measures that will actually save lives - like increasing hospital capacity.

Not unquestioningly swallowing everything nphet says does not make you far right or anti vaxer.