Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,920 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Just want to say ( partly unrelated to thread ) that I'm now cheering for England in the Euros.

They've showed up this country in terms of approach to opening up restrictions and with their football.

That is all.

A bit off topic but most of the country supports premier league teams so yeah

As for England's covid response, it has been consistently lacking, from their health Secretary advising a herd immunity approach last March to their idiotic PM shaking hands with covid patients, not supplying the nhs with enough PPE, reopening too early last May, resisting lockdown despite a new variant that was discovered in September, Christmas (need I say more) and then most recently using the term "data not dates" for their reopening plan, then proceeding to list out some dates...

Of course I should mention the British govt played a blinder on the vaccinating rollout, probably the only thing they've done right and on time in the last 16 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,285 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

As for England's covid response, it has been consistently lacking, from their health Secretary advising a herd immunity approach last March to their idiotic PM shaking hands with covid patients, not supplying the nhs with enough PPE, reopening too early last May, resisting lockdown despite a new variant that was discovered in September, Christmas (need I say more) and then most recently using the term "data not dates" for their reopening plan, then proceeding to list out some dates...

Of course I should mention the British govt played a blinder on the vaccinating rollout, probably the only thing they've done right and on time in the last 16 months

Their contact tracing apps seem to be finally working, too. Lots of people getting "pinged" after close contact in pubs detected.

I uninstalled the Irish one a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I wouldn’t be qualified to question NPHETs advice compared with the Uk or some random Euro country advice

Just don’t have the level of expertise to do that

Some posters clearly feel they know better.

Fair play to yee, ye are being wasted posting on here yiz should be in govt buildings advising cabinet some of you !

I certainly Wouldn’t presume to know all the factors for NPHETs recommendations in terms of ireland specific modelling

Just a sec.....You are absolutely Correct in referencing Government Buildings !

YOU as a citizen of this State,assuming you are an adult who's mental function is not in any way impeded,are quite the opposite,You are in fact amongst the only group legally qualified to question the "advice" provided by the expert group.

As a Voter,you can direct your questions directly to this Expert Group via your Local Party representative,or your TD to the relevant MINISTER or TAOISEACH,who are then legally required to act democratically and give due consideration to the wishes of the electorate.....that is how Democracy works.

As other posters have pointed out,NPHET is a team,the members of which have been selected,presumably by a set-process.
    This means that there are other "Professionals" who have NOT been selected for membership,and who's views which may be contrarian,are not taken into consideration.

To decry other people,who DO seek greater transparency and Accountability from this "Team" is denying reality and democracy in the one sentence.

I can appreciate your disdain for people who won't "Do what they're Told",but these may the the same people who'se actions eventually lead to a better future for YOU. :)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Na na na na na na na....LEADER!!!!

E5Zch2ZXIAYHMao?format=jpg&name=large

YWJ54g.gif

Holy God...I wonder if the relevant Minister even paused for thought before approving that display ?

It would not look out of place at a German Gig of the 1930's

Evidence of a deep dysfunction at this Cabinet table ? :mad:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

New health minister there is getting a trashing on social media atm

https://mobile.twitter.com/sajidjavid/status/1411588996979900416

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Well the reality is we do still have a virus - the pubs won't open

Going on mass protests when we should keep basic distancing is a thing only a numpty could agree with.

I say the above with the expectation that restrictions end once we have vaccinated, but I do wonder will they pull the booster shot argument saying we need time to roll these out to the first vaccinated etc.

2 wrongs won't make a right - anyone planning protesting en masse is an eejit in my opinion..

Yes, we’ll see massive spike like happened with the BLM March...........oh wait, there was none

Or the crowds on St Stephens Green.........again none.

Or the crowds on Dame Street...........none again

Or the crowds on top of each other on South William Street.............wait, no spikes again??

Just in case anyone suspects I’m some sort of Undercover NPHET Mole sorry to break it to you but a travelling Salesman and stockist for convenience stores here ! Nothing more exciting than that

I don’t feel we are overly deferential as a nation to NPHET.

More - NPHET have the expertise and qualifications desperately required for the management of the pandemic.

I would also strenuously say we should not take any advice as if from a stone tablet given to Moses

How many epidemiologists/virologists have NPHET got? Have they even got anyone qualified in statistical analysis for their modelling??

Y’know, the literal “qualifications desperately required for the management of the pandemic.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

The reason there can’t be any great relaxation of restrictions at the moment is because the government made poor decisions as regards vaccinating the 60s cohort of the general population. If they had used mRNA vaccines on this group, they’d all be fully vaccinated weeks ago as well as a substantial portion of the 50s. In this case, all the original ‘most at risk’ groups would be covered and therefore far less risk from health & political pov. Using AstraZeneca with its planned 3 month gap between doses and with known supply issues was just a bad decision. With costly consequences.

Fandymo wrote: »
    How many epidemiologists/virologists have NPHET got? Have they even got anyone qualified in statistical analysis for their modelling??

Y’know, the literal “qualifications desperately required for the management of the pandemic.”

Like the consultant virologist who is the chair of NPHET?

DYOR

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Public_Health_Emergency_Team_(2020)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

UK plans are interesting. Feeling is it will come back to haunt them.
    The decision to drop masks is a political one. It's a symbolic gesture rather than one driven by best interests.

Masks, hand washing and capacity limits are the easiest and lowest-cost things you can do. Ditching them makes no sense unless you have driven cases numbers into the ground and achieved herd immunity.

If the UK are not back into some form of restrictions by mid-Autumn, I'll be very surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

seamus wrote: »
    The decision to drop masks is a political one. It's a symbolic gesture rather than one driven by best interests.

Masks, hand washing and capacity limits are the easiest and lowest-cost things you can do. Ditching them makes no sense unless you have driven cases numbers into the ground and achieved herd immunity.

If the UK are not back into some form of restrictions by mid-Autumn, I'll be very surprised.

We had no masks this time last year.. cases were still in the ground.

You could in fact say that when masks were introduced last year, the cases went up!

It's why cases is - and always has been such a poor metric of performance - it's the OUTCOME of those cases that tells you how you're faring against the virus.

This lot do?

https://www.ucd.ie/research/covid19response/news/irishepidemiologicalmodellingadvisorygrouptonphet/

leahyl wrote: »
    There must be something we don’t know?? I’m really struggling at this point to understand how an outdoor gig with 8k people as a “test” event has people separated into pods of 6 and they have to wear masks??? What is the point??? I have followed restrictions for the past year and half but when we’re getting to the point of so many people being vaccinated but we still have to “hold on” for another few weeks etc….it’s just….I’m wrecked from it all. Even with restaurants open outdoors and all this, still doesn’t change that we are still expected to social distance and wear masks in crowded areas - it’s just not normal life yet. My anxiety is through the roof again this last week and I got the first dose of the vaccine - I should be delighted but it’s like the vaccines aren’t worth a damn at the moment! (I am happy that I got the vaccine though but everything else happening this week has taken away from it, that’s all :-P)

Outdoor gig has 3500 people at it.

83,200 seater Croke Park had 8000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Jimi H

Was listening to Paul Reid this morning. He was saying that although only 16 are in ICU for Covid, there were very few ICU beds available. I think he said 230 (or possibly 260 can’t remember) ICU beds were occupied at the moment and the hospitals were very busy. Anyway, by the sound of it we have very little capacity to take on even a small increase in hospitality rate. We’ve had so many years of a poorly run health service and it’s come back to bite.

seamus wrote: »

The decision on Ending the Facecover fetish might well be an ecological one,and almost certainly In the best interests of humanity in terms of ACTUAL benefit as opposed to whatever sort of benefit the 90% plus incorrect useage is currently providing.

The Covid 19 Emergency is long over,and Humanity will eventually crawl back out of it's trenches,followed by Ireland.

It's here....deal with it,live with and around it and it will eventually settle at a level suitable to both itself and it's host (Us).

The universal destruction of Self - Confidence is perhaps the greatest challenge to recovering from this,something I suspect,will see Ireland also bringing up the rear on :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

If the UK reopens fully on July 19th and we still haven't reopened indoor dining I think the government are going to come under massive pressure. We're being ridiculously cautious and something has to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Santan

I feel dirty for thinking this but, I would happily see England win the euros if it meant they could use it as a platform to show the world that all their tests worked, packed stadiums for soccer and very busy courts for Wimbledon, and we could get back to travelling and tourism and get my bloody life back, I will cheer them on if this was the outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Jimi H wrote: »
    Was listening to Paul Reid this morning. He was saying that although only 16 are in ICU for Covid, there were very few ICU beds available. I think he said 230 (or possibly 260 can’t remember) ICU beds were occupied at the moment and the hospitals were very busy. Anyway, by the sound of it we have very little capacity to take on even a small increase in hospitality rate. We’ve had so many years of a poorly run health service and it’s come back to bite.

This is why we're dragging the arse out of the Covid reopening "plan" - it's like a schoolboy frantically explaining why he doesn't have his homework done or isn't ready for the big test.

Paul Reid would be better explaining what he and his colleagues have pissed 20 billion of taxpayer's money PER YEAR on then, because it certainly hasn't been on front-line care and facilities.

Santan wrote: »
    I feel dirty for thinking this but, I would happily see England win the euros if it meant they could use it as a platform to show the world that all their tests worked, packed stadiums for soccer and very busy courts for Wimbledon, and we could get back to travelling and tourism and get my bloody life back, I will cheer them on if this was the outcome

Nah we'd still have to run more of our own "test events" with 100 people in Croke Park first, just to be seen to be doing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Huge crowd at the Formula 1 today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The decision on Ending the Facecover fetish might well be an ecological one,and almost certainly In the best interests of humanity in terms of ACTUAL benefit as opposed to whatever sort of benefit the 90% plus incorrect useage is currently providing.

The Covid 19 Emergency is long over,and Humanity will eventually crawl back out of it's trenches,followed by Ireland.

It's here....deal with it,live with and around it and it will eventually settle at a level suitable to both itself and it's host (Us).

The universal destruction of Self - Confidence is perhaps the greatest challenge to recovering from this,something I suspect,will see Ireland also bringing up the rear on :(

I sure hope hand washing does not down. He'll those hygiene dispenser are the 1 thing I hope are kept.

As for the destruction of self confidence speak for yourself I know no one who has lost it

How many extra ICU beds have we added since March 2020? Surely this would have been a priority since day 1???

I think I already know the answer

Lumen wrote: »
    Like the consultant virologist who is the chair of NPHET?

DYOR

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Public_Health_Emergency_Team_(2020)

So 1 virologist.

Epidemiologists? Statistical analysists??

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Huge crowd at the Formula 1 today.

Meanwhile here today we can sit outside in the €issing rain and eat Sunday lunch.

It would seem that amongst the Qualifications to be CEO of any Irish Governmental Agency is to possess a Hard-Neck.

The HSE's own 2009 report,and the later 2018 report were VERY clear about ICU capacity.

https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/publications/clinical-strategy-and-programmes/towards-excellence-in-critical-care-report.pdf

The number of critical care beds should be increased by 45% from 289 to 418 beds. This will need to increase sequentially to 579 over the period 2010to 2020.

For cryin out loud,can no Journalist be found who is prepared to actively address the REAL Health Emergency with these lad's...? (HINT: It has nothing to do with Covid) :o

gozunda wrote: »

Weren’t our recent models done by a student who was more into snooker and fantasy football, as confirmed further back in the thread??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,274 ✭✭✭brickster69

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

I think we know the HSE was in deep doodoo long before covid. Not sure about ICU atm - but talking to a number of people working there - the current high numbers are largely due the backlog from when services were suspended last year and partially from the cyber attack. Lets hope we don't need more beds for Covid patients....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Jimi H

How many extra ICU beds have we added since March 2020? Surely this would have been a priority since day 1???

I think I already know the answer

So I’m nearly sure he said 260 ICU beds were in use now that I think of it. I think we originally had 260-280 and I think the presenter said afterwards that we have 305 in total. Anyway it’s the middle of summer and it sounded like the hospitals could easily be overrun so god knows what winter would be like.

So 1 virologist.

Epidemiologists? Statistical analysists??

DYOR. You're sealioning.