Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

Did he explain why the reopening on June 7th is happening so long after the rest of europe?

Or why they insisted on allowing another Summer bank holiday weekend to pass

Some will forever defend nPHEt

Journalists won't ask those questions for one of two reasons...

1. The questions are vetted.
    2. They're awful at their jobs.

No one asked Philip Nolan how he felt about the Professor from England making him look like an uneducated moron on Twitter, when it was quite a hot topic...

I'm in disbelief that a journalist congratulated Tony Holohan on getting the vaccine...Like, what the absolute f#@k was that about???? :eek: :o

Not defending them, people don't read past the bloody headlines and see what was actually said during it, some tend to jump to their own conclusions without actually watching anything for themselves. Serious lack of critical thinking.

That's true. Very true. Sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Really more sad than evil, and dealt with appropriately. Hopefully gets the help she needs.

Hopefully, unlikely to get it in Garda custody for the weekend but come Monday hopefully the judge and make sure she's directed to the right resources

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Not defending them, people don't read past the bloody headlines and see what was actually said during it, some tend to jump to their own conclusions without actually watching anything for themselves. Serious lack of critical thinking.

The guy spoke about dark clouds and lack of confidence around vaccine effectiveness regarding variants.

While he did mention dose 1, the whole thing reiterated the point that he is not qualified in delivering public health guidance.

It’s a sensitive issue, that has an incredibly detrimental effect on vulnerable people and that man didn’t give 2 hoots who he effects.

Lots see him for what he is, and lots continue to defend him, saying he didn’t mean what he actually said etc.

That is a very good point...

If the vaccines work against the variants that are out there and if he told people two weeks ago, who were vaccinated, to get back out there and start living, why is he now coming out with this "deeply concerning" craic?

For the love of God, why can't some journalist, in that room, after he says these things, just go, "OK and why do you say that and what do you base this on?"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

While he did mention dose 1, the whole thing reiterated the point that he is not qualified in delivering public health guidance.

It’s a sensitive issue, that has an incredibly detrimental effect on vulnerable people and that man didn’t give 2 hoots who he effects..

You're cherry picking the parts to suit your argument that NPHET should lie to the population?

This just gets odder and odder.

Tony and co will be livid at such scenes...LIVID!!!

https://twitter.com/DaFeid/status/1395378525369249800

Wait until he finds out they all went back to the pub after :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

She was remanded for contempt of court.

Firstly she abused staff in a supermarket, secondly she told them and Gardai she was only answerable to God not to them. Thirdly she refused to give Gardaí her details (an offence in itself). Didn't wear a mask to court recently, case was adjourned as the judge was giving her a chance to simply apologise to everyone. She arrived back to court today again no mask, in breach of directions of a court.

Remanded in custody for court on Monday.

Given chance after chance and breached multiple pieces of legislation. Refusing to give Gardai your details could have seen her up in court regardless.

Play silly games with a court win silly prizes

Good for her. She has the courage to stand up to this complete and utter bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Graham wrote: »
    You're cherry picking the parts to suit your argument that NPHET should lie to the population?

This just gets odder and odder.

Man on television informs old people they are near death and everyone else they are guaranteed to die sometime

We don’t need anyone to remind us of our own mortality

Time to get back to normal, with the numbers of vaccinations now administered, this is now way less of an issue than the flu in Ireland

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,433 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Time to get back to normal, with the numbers of vaccinations now administered, this is now way less of an issue than the flu in Ireland

Still banging that drum, even though you were told to give it a rest only a few hours ago

Don't post in this thread again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

A grandmother in her 60s was jailed this weekend for not wearing a mask. The majority of her age group were never in any danger of getting sick or dying of covid. Her age group and above are either full vaccinated or got at least their first jab.

The CDC and the US President have said mask wearing is no longer required indoors or outdoors for vaccinated people. Somehow this is not the case here???

Meanwhile a drunken man escaped jail after sexually assaulting a woman with her children qt a festival.

That's how ridiculous we have become

Anything you want to say here OP about posting sensationalist ****e?

Wearing a mask in a shop shouldn't be considered a big deal anyhow. Just wear the fecking thing.

She was remanded for contempt of court.

Firstly she abused staff in a supermarket, secondly she told them and Gardai she was only answerable to God not to them. Thirdly she refused to give Gardaí her details (an offence in itself). Didn't wear a mask to court recently, case was adjourned as the judge was giving her a chance to simply apologise to everyone. She arrived back to court today again no mask, in breach of directions of a court.

Remanded in custody for court on Monday.

Given chance after chance and breached multiple pieces of legislation. Refusing to give Gardai your details could have seen her up in court regardless.

Play silly games with a court win silly prizes
    She called the staff member in the supermarket an a**hole. Horrible behaviour - but she made a genuine apology for it:

Her family and friends are apparently worried about her mental health. Reads as a case of someone mentally damaged rather than someone attempting to deliberately infect other people with a potentially harmful virus.

Really more sad than evil, and dealt with appropriately. Hopefully gets the help she needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Ok. Thanks for baby steps. You cling to UK getting it spot on (not early or late, exactly right, Goldilocks), meanwhile decry all of the European Union as anti-science and just speculating with lives with their reopening.

Total madness. We should really just wait for some country to reach 80% vaccination level before copying them and reopening anything at all. Safest option.

If you do not know the difference between scientific data, no scientific data and anti-science then there really isn`t much more I can do for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

A grandmother in her 60s was jailed this weekend for not wearing a mask. The majority of her age group were never in any danger of getting sick or dying of covid. Her age group and above are either full vaccinated or got at least their first jab.

The CDC and the US President have said mask wearing is no longer required indoors or outdoors for vaccinated people. Somehow this is not the case here???

Meanwhile a drunken man escaped jail after sexually assaulting a woman with her children qt a festival.

First the over 60s before the vaccine roll out were a group at an elevated risk of infection and hospitalisation.

Secondly - there has never been any stipulation that people have to wear masks outdoors here.

The US is well ahead of us with regard to the total number of people fully vaccinated

What has drunken man got to do with anything?

Degag wrote: »

Wearing a mask in a shop shouldn't be considered a big deal anyhow. Just wear the fecking thing.

I'm in the minority but, it doesn't bother me one bit if someone doesn't wear a mask. I wear one purely because I'm not arsed with the hassle but, if others don't want to, fair enough

It's their choice. But, that's just my take. Everyone is different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

MOR316 wrote: »
    I'm in the minority but, it doesn't bother me one bit if someone doesn't wear a mask. I wear one purely because I'm not arsed with the hassle but, if others don't want to, fair enough

Well, you should wear one because it's the law and secondly, it doesn't require a whole lot of effort.

Can't remember the last time i saw someone in a shop without one tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

In the U.S. acording to the CDC she would have needed to be fully vaccinated, and even then it would be up to the particular business if they allowed it or not.
    She would still be required to wear a face mask on public transport, in health care settings and not doing so in court could also have been a problem.

When is indoor dining back, July has been mentioned. Hard to plan any kind of staycation without knowing, apart from doing the self catering option or eating in every night at the hotel you are staying in. How can people rely on the outdoor dining, great if the weather holds up but if it doesn’t.

Degag wrote: »
    Well, you should wear one because it's the law and secondly, it doesn't require a whole lot of effort.

Can't remember the last time i saw someone in a shop without one tbf.

I assume you meant in general and not me as I have already stated I do wear one.

I only said that I don't care if someone doesn't wear one. Their choice. I'm not going to get hung up on it and as I said, I'm in the minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,449 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

No it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I see the 2 meter rule for pubs and restaurants is set to be halved to 1 meter. Again, good news, but what is that decision based on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I see the 2 meter rule for pubs and restaurants is set to be halved to 1 meter. Again, good news, but what is that decision based on?

Science....they're just following the science....or making it up as they go along, it's hard to tell these days!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

What was it last time? Can’t remember the exact guidelines was it something like 2 metres with no time limit but 1 metre with 1hr 45 mins.. something like that but I definitely was in restaurants and hotels where spacing was 1 metre last time we were allowed to.

Does 1 metre apply for outdoor dining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Science....they're just following the science....or making it up as they go along, it's hard to tell these days!!!

The WHO recommendation from Day 1 has always been ONE metre.

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public
    Maintain at least a 1-metre distance between yourself and others to reduce your risk of infection when they cough, sneeze or speak. Maintain an even greater distance between yourself and others when indoors. The further away, the better.

Make wearing a mask a normal part of being around other people.The appropriate use, storage and cleaning or disposal are essential to make masks as effective as possible.

Here are the basics of how to wear a mask:
    :oClean your hands before you put your mask on, as well as before and after you take it off, and after you touch it at any time. :o
    Make sure it covers both your nose, mouth and chin.
    When you take off a mask, store it in a clean plastic bag, and every day either wash it if it’s a fabric mask, or dispose of a medical mask in a trash bin.:o
    Don’t use masks with valves.

All nice and specific.....take a look at the Mask wearing process here in Mainland Ireland.....Reclusive ,potentially isolationist,senior academics in sterile offices appear to have taken over the Planet whilst we were focused on Aliens from outer Space....:D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Word is,that The HSE are seeking tenders for 5,000,000 Pace Sticks to distribute along with Face Coverings and Disinfectant for Christmas 2021 :)

Training will be provided.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3H0oo4BqRFo

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

I assume you meant in general and not me as I have already stated I do wear one.

I only said that I don't care if someone doesn't wear one. Their choice. I'm not going to get hung up on it and as I said, I'm in the minority

Thank God for Minorities I say !! :D

On a more relevant note,It is of some importance to see just how many different elements have been aded on to the Health Act 1947 in the past 16 Months to significantly broaden it's relevance...

https://www.gov.ie/en/collection/1f150-view-statutory-instruments-related-to-the-covid-19-pandemic/

If you have time.....

Governments Worldwide,now have a taste of just how far they can Impose their power.....let's see where next this Journey will take us ?

It's almost as if the restrictions are being relaxed as the risk decreases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's almost as if the restrictions are being relaxed as the risk decreases.

Or more likely...

It's almost as if the relaxations are being relaxed because the industry has said that they can't be viable with the 2m distancing rule.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Or more likely...

It's almost as if the relaxations are being relaxed because the industry has said that they can't be viable with the 2m distancing rule.

because publicans suddenly being given a say in the pandemic restrictions sounds more logical to you for some reason?

ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

because publicans suddenly being given a say in the pandemic restrictions sounds more logical to you for some reason?

ok

See this is the thing that people like yourself who are obsessed with "de pandemic" keep forgetting.

A country isn't a lab and abstract models. In the real world there are a myriad of other factors to consider - including finances, employment, business, people's rights, and all those other things that have been largely ignored until very recently.

What absolutely SHOULD have happened was that NPHET made its recommendations, and the Government then weighed up those recommendations and the potential risks involved, against the impact to all the other elements I just mentioned.

Instead we had Tony and his merry band being given free reign to set national policy and gave them a platform in the media to pressure the Government and general public anytime the next decision point was imminent.

It's not surprising then that we now face a significant uphill struggle to get the economy and those other factors back into a good place, nor is it surprising that public buy-in fell rapidly as the aforementioned real world issues became far more pressing and impactful vs the very, VERY small risk of illness from the virus to the overwhelming majority.