Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

Of course it's happening, bookies want to make money and they love people staying in their all day. Its part of their business model. Question is and the wise men on here can't answer for some reason is why is it legal for me to have a coffee and a sandwich indoors in a bookies but not in the shop I bought it in ?

Is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Is it?

I doubt very much that it is or that it's happening wholesale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Sure you can stand outside a cafe with people.

You can't sit inside or outside that cafe with those same people.

You can sit in or outside a cafe IF it is in a HSE Primary Health Care Facility with whomever

You can't sit in a doctors surgery waiting room.

You have to wait outside and stand in the cold or sit in your car.

It's all straight forward science....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Graham wrote: »
    Restrictions are being eased gradually to prevent a surge.

The science isn't particularly complicated.

Ah, that old endearing nugget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Is it?

Yes, go to any bookies in a town or city tomorrow and observe . #followthescience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Degag wrote: »

Have you ever been in a bookies before? The same people standing round all day every day, has been happening for years and will continue to happen its the shops bread and butter.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

well it obviously is if you can sit it in a bookies with your coffee and sandwich but cant in a coffee shop. please explain the science to me on that ?

Bookies won't see anything like the mixing that hospitality will.

Don't take my word for it, straight from the Bookies Reopening thread:

From the Bookies reopening thread
    okidoki987 wrote: »
    In a few today :), very quiet with very few punters around with most placing their bets and walking out which is what the government was looking for.
    Called in to collect on a few old dockets. Like a morgue in there. The guy behind counter said very few in yesterday either.
    pottokblue wrote: »
    I've been back in a few times this week and havent noticed any real differences apart from less punters.
    They're all dead quiet. Been speaking to a few staff and it's not simply because pubs still closed

But go on, keep telling us how you imagine it might be.....

You definitely don't frequent bookies...

Bookies won't see anything like the mixing that hospitality will.

Don't take my word for it, straight from the Bookies Reopening thread:

From the Bookies reopening thread

But go on, keep telling us how you imagine it might be.....

So anecdotal bull. Can you or the wise men answer why it is ok for me to have a coffee and a sandwich sitting in a bookies but not in a coffe shop ?

Also you don't frequent bookies, lads running to the counter every 2 minutes.

Would love an answer on the above

Yes, go to any bookies in a town or city tomorrow and observe . #followthescience

The management choosing to turn a blind eye does not equal legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The restaurant/coffee bars inside the Beacon Hospital are open to all. Grand if you are waiting to pick someone up, as I was last week. Masks obligatory except when eating/drinking. Very civilized.

First time in a long time I could have a nice coffee, a bit of caca milis and could people watch out of the rain and wind. I know most people passing through or imbibing were ill though.

Sure you can stand outside a cafe with people.

You can't sit inside or outside that cafe with those same people.

You can sit in or outside a cafe IF it is in a HSE Primary Health Care Facility with whomever

You can't sit in a doctors surgery waiting room.

You have to wait outside and stand in the cold or sit in your car.

It's all straight forward science....

Do we need to go into the whole essential / non essential debate again now that you have chosen to head down this rabbit hole once more.

It’s not just risk, it’s risk and necessity. The more necessary something is, the more risk is acceptable. It’s not complicated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,227 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Lets hope it's up from here in regards events

Would aiming for 0 cases be a little unrealistic given the UK had 15 cases from all there trails

The management choosing to turn a blind eye does not equal legal

It is legal that is the point . By having a coffee in a bookies I am not breaking the law but in the shop I bought it in I am . Crazy stuff

mightyreds wrote: »
    Have you ever been in a bookies before? The same people standing round all day every day, has been happening for years and will continue to happen its the shops bread and butter.

Whether i have or haven't is irrelevant. Whether it happens generally before Covid is irrelevant. It's what happens currently. And while people may be hanging around in certain bookies i'd be pretty sure it's not legal.

Nope, it is most definitely legal. Non essential retail is what a bookies is classified as .

It is legal that is the point . By having a coffee in a bookies I am not breaking the law but in the shop I bought it in I am . Crazy stuff

How are you coming to the conclusion that it's legal?

Just because people that you have seen or anecdotally believe are doing it, doesn't make it so.

Nope, it is most definitely legal. Non essential retail is what a bookies is classified as .

Jaysus. Yes, you can go into a bookies to place a bet.

It's a bit tenuous to then say that it's legal to sit down and drink a cup of takeaway coffee in there and you can't in a shop/restaurant to try and validate your viewpoint.

Do we need to go into the whole essential / non essential debate again now that you have chosen to head down this rabbit hole once more.

It’s not just risk, it’s risk and necessity. The more necessary something is, the more risk is acceptable. It’s not complicated

So the risk of having a coffee in a bookies is more acceptable than a coffee shop.... The difference between bookies and every other non essential retail outfit is you would not be allowed to sit on a sofa in marks and sparks all day drinking tea etc but in a bookies by law at the moment I can go in their park my arse with a few mates and drink tea and it is perfectly legal but not in the coffee shop next door. Please explain ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I'm not the one down a rabbit hole.

I understand the logic, I just believe it to be flawed.

The impact of closing cafes outdoors areas in particular was particularly pointless as there were masses standing around them since February...

It was just more cruel over reach of health bureaucrats who have abandoned science...this virus does not transmit outdoors.

How are you coming to the conclusion that it's legal?

Just because people that you have seen or anecdotally believe are doing it, doesn't make it so.

Bookies are classified as non essential it is legal. End of

So you can go into a clothes shop tomorrow and sit down for the day drinking coffee?

You must wear a mask. Try drink your coffee now

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Retail has reopened.

Hospitality hasn't.

It will, in stages, as risk decreases.

It's pretty straightforward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,446 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

MOR316 wrote: »
    Well, it kinda is...

You choose to wear one, I choose to wear one, some people choose not to...

It's called life...You can make choices...You don't need to be told what to do.

Hope this helps :)

Kinda in the sense, that she had 2 options, wear one and walk free, not wear one and be in contempt.

Now the vast majority of her choices are gone this weekend.

Hope this helps.

Retail has reopened.

Hospitality hasn't.

It will, in stages, as risk decreases.

It's pretty straightforward.

Goalposts all over the pitch again, simple question.

Tomorrow, I can have a coffee and a sandwich and stay in an INDOOR environment for as long as I want with no time limit but I cant have the same in my local coffee shop ? It's laughable anyone defending the stupidity involved here by the government

You must wear a mask. Try drink your coffee now

As I said you must of never being in a bookie

So you can go into a clothes shop tomorrow and sit down for the day drinking coffee?

Obviously in a marks and Spencers shop you will get ****ed out but in abookies ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,446 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Goalposts all over the pitch again, simple question.

Tomorrow, I can have a coffee and a sandwich and stay in an INDOOR environment for as long as I want with no time limit but I cant have the same in my local coffee shop ? It's laughable anyone defending the stupidity involved here by the government

In my local bookies, masks are mandatory at all times.

You go outside if you want to consume.

I was there yesterday and today.

As I said you must of never being in a bookie

Again, the bookie is choosing to ignore enforcing the mask mandate if he is permitting drinking coffee and eating a sandwich on the premises and so are punters.

It may not specifically be called out that eating and drinking in the bookies is not permitted, but it’s kind of hard while wearing a mask. Essentially you have two pages here tilting at windmills.