Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Riodej1578 wrote: »
    Thoughts?

Re protest today and if there is further coming, do people think this will have any influence on on government in decreasing/increasing restrictions or absolutely no impact at all?

Why would it have any influence or governance or public health?

Far right violent extremists assaulting Gardaí and others is a matter for criminal justice.

That's it.

A special court has been setup to deal with the scum, hopefully custodial sentences for all.

The Guard that was hit with the firework has been hospitalized apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

A lot of these unemployable bums turn up at any old "protest" at the drop of a hat. Anytime, anywhere. A lot of gargle involve too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Strumms wrote: »
    Most likely those pictured are no doubt not ‘out of work ‘ but opting out of work, a career choice.

Lifers strumms, lifers.

And a jokeshop of a system that allows it.
    I’d say the pond rats had a great day out today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Yes, Look like the sort of tracksuit attired yet non sport participating rabble who are well accustomed to costing the state rather then ever making a positive contribution to it...won’t be changing the habit of a lifetime....

They banned sports for everyone but I'm sitting here in Adidas tracksuit bottoms and a hoodie but I've never been unemployed since I started to work at 16.

Such fcuking nonsense posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

Boggles wrote: »

Far right violent extremists assaulting Gardaí and others is a matter for criminal justice.

That's it.

A special court has been setup to deal with the scum, hopefully custodial sentences for all.

RTE saying both far left and far right involved. That will explain all the tracksuits.

Thoughts?

Re protest today and if there is further coming, do people think this will have any influence on on government in decreasing/increasing restrictions or absolutely no impact at all?

Of course.

People should keep emailing their TDs and hopefully there will be more protests until some freedom is returned and a proper plan put in place.

I get the feeling that the government and NPHET are starting to see that the jig is up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,262 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I get the feeling that the government and NPHET are starting to see that the jig is up

What "jig"?

What are you on about? Big conspiracy against the public, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

DerekC16 wrote: »
    RTE saying both far left and far right involved. That will explain all the tracksuits.

Pond rats will pond no matter what their political leanings.
    Any excuse for a rat gathering.
    Rebels without a cause most of them and the emptiest vessel shall make the most noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

Pond rats will pond no matter what their political leanings.
    Any excuse for a rat gathering.
    Rebels without a cause most of them and the emptiest vessel shall make the most noise.

Nah mate. The far left is the good guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Lundstram wrote: »
    They banned sports for everyone but I'm sitting here in Adidas tracksuit bottoms and a hoodie but I've never been unemployed since I started to work at 16.

But you only took out the relevant to you bit of his sentence .

Read it all and you,ll get what group he,s talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭PatrickIde1187

There was more Dole cards on Grafton St today than braincells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,954 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Are you out assaulting Gardai ?

They restricted it certainly...in a pandemic, remember ? :)

Nonsense eh, I’d be more concerned about what was going on in town. A good few knuckles missing skin as they make their way home to ‘heyorebudville’....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭onform

To me, this is our generation's 'challenge'. We've been asked to try and help suppress a dangerous virus BY STAYING AT HOME FOR A BIT. Not going to war, not going to a foreign land to sacrifice our lives for a noble cause etc. The problem here is we have a percentage of the population that want all the benefits and rights of being a citizen of the Republic of Ireland, but don't want to know about the responsibilities. The organisers of todays 'protest' are scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Boggles wrote: »

That's it.

There you go again with your 'far right violent extremists' - do you have any actual proof of this other than some participants being part of a frowned upon party. Your post sounds bigoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

The Nal wrote: »
    A lot of these unemployable bums turn up at any old "protest" at the drop of a hat. Anytime, anywhere. A lot of gargle involve too.

Were they at the BLM protests? I assume they go to all of the protests.

There was more Dole cards on Grafton St today than braincells

Brown Thomas was closed, might have been protesting that, they couldn’t attain their Tommy Shildigger gear from th... ohhh, wait, right... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

SAMTALK wrote: »
    And if you read it correctly I said most probably.
    If you think all the people there today were thinking of the good of the country and people you,re sadly mistaken

Yes things have been done wrong, I doubt many would argue with that but if we have any chance of helping our health service cope then we have to do our best regardless of what we think of governm6

I don't know what any of them were thinking. What I do know is that right now the health service is doing just fine. Hospital and ICU numbers have decreased considerably since January. Still a bit more required on the ICU numbers but we are in a much better place.

With 800,000 people on waiting lists I'm not entirely sure why non COVID care hasn't ramped back up.

Listen, I'm not an open everything up now merchant. We can open up a lot more of society than we are currently seeing. The travel restrictions need to go immediately. The stay at home order binned. Click and collect services along with construction should be open. Those measures alone would act as a pressure release to the whole country. People in Dublin have been living under at least level 3.5/4 since early September, bar a 3 week period in December. That takes an awful toll on people and really needs to be addressed as soon as possible.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

They restricted it certainly...in a pandemic, remember ? :)

Nonsense eh, I’d be more concerned about what was going on in town. A good few knuckles missing skin as they make their way home to ‘heyorebudville’....

No, no, it's not restricted, it's banned, completely banned for non-professionals.

Pandemic indeed, survival rate of 99.98% among 14-40 year olds, the main age group who participate in sports.

The pandemic takes a toll certainly, not restrictions.

JRant wrote: »
    I don't know what any of them were thinking. What I do know is that right now the health service is doing just fine. Hospital and ICU numbers have decreased considerably since January. Still a bit more required on the ICU numbers but we are in a much better place.

With 800,000 people on waiting lists I'm not entirely sure why non COVID care hasn't ramped back up.

Listen, I'm not an open everything up now merchant. We can open up a lot more of society than we are currently seeing. The travel restrictions need to go immediately. The stay at home order binned. Click and collect services along with construction should be open. Those measures alone would act as a pressure release to the whole country. People in Dublin have been living under at least level 3.5/4 since early September, bar a 3 week period in December. That takes an awful toll on people and really needs to be addressed as soon as possible.

I'm all for some of the restrictions being eased but the protest today ended up looking like a group of them wanting to rile the Guards. We,ve seen them at every protest everywhere. These protests achieve nothing

Numbers in hospitals down but if we move before enough vaccines are done they will rise again, and I,m not saying vaccine for everyone. As long as vulnerable are done I don't see any reason to keep all restrictions as are now

No, no, it's not restricted, it's banned, completely banned for non-professionals.

Pandemic indeed, survival rate of 99.98% among 14-40 year olds, the main age group who participate in sports.

I’m not a professional sports person. However I’m attending and participating in sporting endeavors with the go ahead in writing of the relevant department, I know a good number in a similar position....

The ‘main’ age group isn’t everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

Thoughts?

They will probably increase checks on public transport. And routes into city centre. I cant understand how that many people can travel to city centre without going through a checkpoint or numerous checkpoints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

I'd posted before that I think the lockdown measures are too half and maybe a bit of reprieve could be shown by the government to help get people through to when we can properly open up. A viewpoint that I think is hardly extreme.

But the moment somebody on here mentioned that there'd be a protest in the city centre you knew what it would be. One of my big concerns is that from this lockdown, you'll get ordinary people, good people, who agree that the measures are too harsh, that are desperate and want a bit of normality and there's a sector of society that tells those people "ye, you should have that" the problem is that the leaders of that group hold far right views. I suppose I'm moreso worried that, with people at their most vulnerable, it might lead to a growth of that far right element in Ireland.

I'd posted before that I think the lockdown measures are too half and maybe a bit of reprieve could be shown by the government to help get people through to when we can properly open up. A viewpoint that I think is hardly extreme.

But the moment somebody on here mentioned that there'd be a protest in the city centre you knew what it would be. One of my big concerns is that from this lockdown, you'll get ordinary people, good people, who agree that the measures are too harsh, that are desperate and want a bit of normality and there's a sector of society that tells those people "ye, you should have that" the problem is that the leaders of that group hold far right views. I suppose I'm moreso worried that, with people at their most vulnerable, it might lead to a growth of that far right element in Ireland.

Great post.

Exacerbated by people generalsiing by calling them all racists and scum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Something like we tried at Christmas?

Great post.

Not all of them . I don't think anyone said all the protesters were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Great post.

No one group that we saw today was one set of individuals. This was groups working in concert with each other, as a group, as a mob

- Commissioner Harris

I guess he is getting reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

onform wrote: »
    To me, this is our generation's 'challenge'. We've been asked to try and help suppress a dangerous virus BY STAYING AT HOME FOR A BIT. Not going war, not going to a foreign land to sacrifice our lives for a noble cause etc. The problem here is we have a percentage of the population that want all the benefits and rights of being a citizen of the Republic of Ireland, but don't want to know about the responsibilities. The organisers of todays 'protest' are scum.

One of the most important duties a citizen had in a democracy is to keep the government in check. This government have repeatedly let down us citizens since this pandemic started. The nursing home fiasco at the start.
    Not putting a proper test and trace system in place.
    No alternative to lockdown looked at.
    Terrible communications over the past 6 months.
    Not scaling up hospital capacity in any meaningful way.
    Allowing 50+ thousand fly in from the UK before Christmas without so much as a test.
    Leaking constantly to the media and parliamentary parties.
    Awful "roadmap" released on Tuesday, which is basically a copy and paste of last year's awful plan.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »
    One of the most important duties a citizen had in a democracy is to keep the government in check. This government have repeatedly let down us citizens since this pandemic started. The nursing home fiasco at the start.
    Not putting a proper test and trace system in place.
    No alternative to lockdown looked at.
    Terrible communications over the past 6 months.
    Not scaling up hospital capacity in any meaningful way.
    Allowing 50+ thousand fly in from the UK before Christmas without so much as a test.
    Leaking constantly to the media and parliamentary parties.
    Awful "roadmap" released on Tuesday, which is basically a copy and paste of last year's awful plan.

So what do you suggest we do. Ignore all advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Norman the posters you are responding to have absolutely no interest in looking at any links to articles or videos posted to engage in any form of debate

I'll keep banging the drum anyway