Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

What's your solution to what the government are doing now? What would you do differently?

The fact Ireland has been under the EUs strictest restrictions for a year is one problem.

The fact it plans to continue to be for months ahead is a bigger issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

What's your solution to what the government are doing now? What would you do differently?

How about instead of using new variants to justify extending the strictest lock down in Europe they would have tried just a bit to stop the variants entering the country in the first place!

That is just one suggestion!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

The fact Ireland has been under the EUs strictest restrictions for a year is one problem.

That might have been true apart from the whole no enforcement thing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

The fact it plans to continue to be for months ahead is a bigger issue

So what's your solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Interesting that when a protester fires a firework at the police in Hong Kong, Minsk or Moscow RTE are are very quick to remind us that it is a "pro democracy" protest! :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Just back from the protest. Had a great day out. Lots of people from all political persuasions, ethnicities and social classes. It Was great to see such a large turnout despite last minute Gardai attempts to stop it happening. The next one will be a lot bigger.

Any doctors and nurses amongst the protestors today, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

There was a lot of talk on this thread lately saying we would never see a sizeable protest here. Well this one looks pretty sizeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

py2006 wrote: »
    I have been shown some of the footage. It seems there are some in attendance who wouldn't even know what a protest is and are clearly there to cause trouble. Throwing missiles and laughing, the usual tracksuit and hoody brigade.

Then you have these geniuses.

https://twitter.com/marktigheST/status/1365697574905208832?s=20

Jesus, their's a million different ways they could've gone about that protest. There embarrassing themselves, thank god there's not too many of them they're.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Ladies and gentlemen we are witnessing the gradual breakdown of civilized society, it was nice while it lasted

img.jpg?quality=80&width=620

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Graham wrote: »
    That might have been true apart from the whole no enforcement thing.

Must have missed all the pubs that were open last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Should really have got a proof reader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    There was a lot of talk on this thread lately saying we would never see a sizeable protest here. Well this one looks pretty sizeable.

Not really, a couple of hundred at most. If you can't even get a thousand people out, maybe you don't speak for the majority.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Not really, a couple of hundred at most. If you can't even get a thousand people out, maybe you don't speak for the majority.

I expect the next one will be larger now with publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Boggles wrote: »
    So it's the gubbermints fault these people are racist violent mentally unwell scum?

They are racist against covid or against the covid lockdowns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

That's embarrassing.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

TheDoctor wrote: »
    I expect the next one will be larger now with publicity.

I was hopeful that was the limit of selfish people in the country

Must have missed all the pubs that were open last year.

I must have missed where I suggested they were.

Leo is “horrified” by the protests. Haha!

Shame our future Taoiseach is not more worried about the 700000 unemployed that are struggling to put food on the table.

The government and the doctors have caused this sorry affair by relentless, inhumane lockdowns with no hope for the people.

Finally Irish people are standing up against Europe’s most draconian lockdown

Graham wrote: »
    I must have missed where I suggested they were.

Sure you said there was no enforcement of the lockdowns?

Did all these places voluntarily close for most of the last 12 months?

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    They are racist against covid or against the covid lockdowns?

General rule of thumb, if the National party are on your side, there is a fair change you are on the wrong side

Did all these places voluntarily close for most of the last 12 months?

'by consent' for the majority of the restriction.

That's most definitely not the approach taken by many of our EU neighbours.

Probably explains why some think we have the harshest restrictions. The reality is the lack of enforcement means that not an accurate portrayal of the reality.

Probably explains why case numbers are so slow to drop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

He just contradicted himself. :pac:

"no enforcement"

Meanwhile, Gardaí fine lone man on a beach, Gardaí arerest women for having the nerve to open her business, Gardaí have issued almost 10k Covid19 fines, Gardaí are stationed at airport security gate, Gardaí hold hundreds of checkpoints every day, Gardaí raid shebeens etc.

No enforcement, though, says Graham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1365731081199251457

Seems a very low target, we would be in lockdown until at least next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Shame our future Taoiseach is not more worried about the 700000 unemployed that are struggling to put food on the table.

The government and the doctors have caused this sorry affair by relentless, inhumane lockdowns with no hope for the people.

You really think he,s not worried?

Do you not think they realise the repercussions of covid?

Between posts on Tony Holohan trying to close pubs and government trying to control people,!

Of course the government know the costs to the country. Yes they got a lot wrong but you can't say he,s not worried.

What's your solution to a lockdown? What could be done differently at present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

hynesie08 wrote: »

There were at least 3-4k and that was despite Gardaí fining people on their way in. Around Grafton St, Crowds were cordoned in to small corners because the green was closed but once it git moving you could see the numbers.
    This is towards the end and a lot ahd gone home. Do you see only a few hundred?

https://twitter.com/silenced_wont2/status/1365691119007375361

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Not announce lockdowns as a solution every time. Open up the building sites. Increase the rate of vaccinations (Wales has done a million so far). Announce a clear fcuking plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

bb1234567 wrote: »

This is directly from the #Wecanbezero group. Their leaked emails said the are calling on the SDs to ask for 10 cases a day buy will later convince them to go for 5.