Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,263 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

They are not just doing their job and upholding laws, they are actively taking enjoyment in what they are doing

Surely that's a good thing?

Happy workers are more productive and do a better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Turning up at beaches, parks anywhere where they can find somebody and actively trying to catch people out. And then Celebrating it on their social media pages.

I have always defended the Garda on here but they have betrayed the people during all of this. They are not just doing their job and upholding laws, they are actively taking enjoyment in what they are doing.

How do you know they are enjoying it?

They are doing their job end of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ShadowTech

I went into town today with the intention of protesting against government mismanagement of this crisis, specifically the never-ending lockdown. I believe strongly that there are multiple choices available to us to handle this crisis and that the false dichotomy we've been sold of "open it up" or "lock it down" are only the fringe positions (of which the government has obviously chosen the latter). I want some nuance to make this bearable (a handful of personal services and some outdoor activities without the threat of the guards fining you) while we await mass vaccination and I want the government to make clear that if vaccines continue to work as effectively at reducing hospitalisations as we're seeing in other countries that our lives will go back to normal. Real normal, not the propagandised "new normal" that seems to mean whatever is convenient for the person saying it at the time.

What I got today was a complete and utter disgrace. Firstly the guards closed Stephen's Green which pushed everyone there into the crowded space of Grafton Street. "So much for my plans to socially distance", I thought. Then the scumbags that were in amongst the crowd started firing flares directly over the crowd. Within the first 5 minutes of arriving I heard a loud "bang" and then people started running in every direction. I left. What else could I do really?

At the start I was annoyed with the Guards for closing the park off and compressing the crowd. In the end I left furious but not at the Guards. I wanted a protest against the endless lockdowns and the palpable lack of concern from our elected officials regarding the awful social impact of such severe restrictions. What I got was a number of scumbags undermining everyone there. :mad:

There are many people like myself who understand the need for restrictions without agreeing that the current actions are proportional or justified in their length and severity. With the lack of concrete metrics, the lack of an exit strategy, the imposition of more restrictions as we near what was supposed to be the endgame (mass vaccination), I feel hopeless. Today was supposed to be a way not only of voicing our unhappiness with the current approach but of taking back some small bit of control of our own lives and these absolute bastards ruined it for everyone. :mad:

I think there are people who are so psychologically damaged that their inner instinct is that they feel safer in Lockdown. Also there is an authoritarian cohort that want people locked down for the "health purposes" but in reality it is just to control people.

Who are the authoritarian cohort?

A few posters seem to think that a lot of people are quivering behind their beds , while in fact a lot of people just understand about the inadequate health service we have which is a different thread altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

SAMTALK wrote: »

A few posters seem to think that a lot of people are quivering behind their beds , while in fact a lot of people just understand about the inadequate health service we have which is a different thread altogether

That inadequate health service will remain inadequate.

Are you content for mitigation measures every Winter to prevent overcrowding in that health service?

Because that may well happen in future

The suppression measures this Winter has been credited with 0 influenza cases detected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I think there are people who are so psychologically damaged that their inner instinct is that they feel safer in Lockdown. Also there is an authoritarian cohort that want people locked down for the "health purposes" but in reality it is just to control people.

Lol.

ShadowTech wrote: »
    What I got was a number of scumbags undermining everyone there. :mad:

4zqpnz.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I went into town today with the intention of protesting against government mismanagement of this crisis, specifically the never-ending lockdown. I believe strongly that there are multiple choices available to us to handle this crisis and that the false dichotomy we've been sold of "open it up" or "lock it down" are only the fringe positions (of which the government has obviously chosen the latter). I want some nuance to make this bearable (a handful of personal services and some outdoor activities without the threat of the guards fining you) while we await mass vaccination and I want the government to make clear that if vaccines continue to work as effectively at reducing hospitalisations as we're seeing in other countries that our lives will go back to normal. Real normal, not the propagandised "new normal" that seems to mean whatever is convenient for the person saying it at the time.

What I got today was a complete and utter disgrace. Firstly the guards closed Stephen's Green which pushed everyone there into the crowded space of Grafton Street. "So much for my plans to socially distance", I thought. Then the scumbags that were in amongst the crowd started firing flares directly over the crowd. Within the first 5 minutes of arriving I heard a loud "bang" and then people started running in every direction. I left. What else could I do really?

At the start I was annoyed with the Guards for closing the park off and compressing the crowd. In the end I left furious but not at the Guards. I wanted a protest against the endless lockdowns and the palpable lack of concern from our elected officials regarding the awful social impact of such severe restrictions. What I got was a number of scumbags undermining everyone there. :mad:

There are many people like myself who understand the need for restrictions without agreeing that the current actions are proportional or justified in their length and severity. With the lack of concrete metrics, the lack of an exit strategy, the imposition of more restrictions as we near what was supposed to be the endgame (mass vaccination), I feel hopeless. Today was supposed to be a way not only of voicing our unhappiness with the current approach but of taking back some small bit of control of our own lives and these absolute bastards ruined it for everyone. :mad:

Ah that is ****. Your intentions were good and it’s a shame it went the way it did. Unfortunately this is a field day for the media, that’s what’s most annoying. I hope another one is organised soon and it’s more peaceful. This one was ruined by a small minority and it’s all the media are interested in, not the underlying frustrations that prompted it in the first place

That inadequate health service will remain inadequate.

Are you content for mitigation measures every Winter to prevent overcrowding in that health service?

The suppression measures this Winter has been credited with 0 influenza cases detected

Or maybe the vaccine will help??

Can you answer who's trying to control us?

I agree. Everyone has a right to be heard. Unfortunately in Dublin these sorts of protests attract the worst which does ruin it for anyone with good intentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ShadowTech

Ah that is ****. Your intentions were good and it’s a shame it went the way it did. Unfortunately this is a field day for the media, that’s what’s most annoying. I hope another one is organised soon and it’s more peaceful. This one was ruined by a small minority and it’s all the media are interested in, not the underlying frustrations that prompted it in the first place

I wouldn't attend another one in the future unless it's organised with a purpose and leadership, to be honest. For example, if a group of small business owners with the goal of a limited reopening organised a protest I would be there. Otherwise, I think letters to TDs is the best that can be done really.

Or maybe the vaccine will help??

Can you answer who's trying to control us?

How will the vaccine help with hospital overcrowding?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/first-week-of-2020-worst-ever-for-hospital-overcrowding-1.4135852%3fmode=amp
    The first week of the new year has been the worst ever for hospital overcrowding, according to figures from the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation.

How will the vaccine prevent that? Knowing there is an now a backlog of health issues due to the mismanagement last year with private hospitals?

I’ll ignore the control bit, I assume your being deliberately inflammatory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I guess this video shows exactly what happened.
    The Gards blocked the bottom of Grafton St and then pushed people further and further back (from about 5 minutes). Finally someone aimed a firework at them (around 12 minutes) and then all hell broke loose.

How will the vaccine help with hospital overcrowding?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/first-week-of-2020-worst-ever-for-hospital-overcrowding-1.4135852%3fmode=amp

How will the vaccine prevent that? Knowing there is an now a backlog of health issues due to the mismanagement last year with private hospitals?

I’ll ignore the control bit, I assume your being deliberately inflammatory

The backlog is because of the overcrowding due to covid this winter. Do you get that? Therefore vaccine will reduce this and yes we will still have over crowding as is usual every winter,but other services will be up and running

Also remember back last year. Where were all the people that are usually in a and e. There is a serious abuse in Ireland of our a and e departments but again that's that's different

I asked a genuine question. Who is trying to control us?

The backlog is because of the overcrowding due to covid this winter. Do you get that? Therefore vaccine will reduce this and yes we will still have over crowding as is usual every winter,but other services will be up and running

Also remember back last year. Where were all the people that are usually in a and e. There is a serious abuse in Ireland of our a and e departments but again that's that's different

What about months of empty hospitals last year?

The justification of mismanagement is staggering tbh

What about months of empty hospitals last year?

The justification of mismanagement is staggering tbh

Yes and I,ve already said we need to deal with our inadequate health care service. I,ve never said otherwise,not once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,989 ✭✭✭Russman

Has anyone suggested this ?

You do realise covid is different to the “normal” causes of overcrowding each year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Polar101

I wanted a protest against the endless lockdowns and the palpable lack of concern from our elected officials regarding the awful social impact of such severe restrictions.

Fair play to you. Unfortunately the usual Dublin Saturday 2pm protests often turn into something else than a peaceful protest, and any message gets lost.

Yes and I,ve already said we need to deal with our inadequate health care service. I,ve never said otherwise,not once

What do you think the likelihood of health service reform will be when Ireland has had the longest costliest restrictions in the EU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I guess this video shows exactly what happened.
    The Gards blocked the bottom of Grafton St and then pushed people further and further back (from about 5 minutes). Finally someone aimed a firework at them (around 12 minutes) and then all hell broke loose.

****en scumbags at the front.

Every one of them with their shiny Iphones out recording.

Morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The backlog was horrific long before COVID came along. There were 400,000 people on waiting lists before this even started and was only getting worse. It's doubled this past 12 months, even with the hospitals only being under strain for 12 weeks out of the 52 in the past 12 months.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

What do you think the likelihood of health service reform will be when Ireland has had the longest costliest restrictions in the EU?

Don't hold out much hope tbh and its not down to restrictions.

We have always had an inadequate service but you,ll just throwing everything at restrictions being the cause

Do you think this is all a plan by government?

No it’s mismanagement and a lack of leadership

Responsibility has been shipped out to NPHET who have no accountability and no motivation to mandate anything but level 5

It’s approaching reckless behaviour now because the death of journalism has seen the end of accountability.

I have no doubt we will continue this argument all Summer, while the EU is completely normal but we have no option to travel

JRant wrote: »
    The backlog was horrific long before COVID came along. There were 400,000 people on waiting lists before this even started and was only getting worse. It's doubled this past 12 months, even with the hospitals only being under strain for 12 weeks out of the 52 in the past 12 months.

I'm aware there is always a backlog. I was referring to the increase because of covid

This is down to an inadequate health service which is an ongoing problem in this country.

So if we open the country up and numbers rise and we go back to January how does help the health service. No one wants restrictions and while health service is badly run we also need to protect it at the moment

No it’s mismanagement and a lack of leadership

Responsibility has been shipped out to NPHET who have no accountability and no motivation to mandate anything but level 5

It’s approaching reckless behaviour now because the death of journalism has seen the end of accountability.

I have no doubt we will continue this argument all Summer, while the EU is completely normal but we have no option to travel

Yes there has been a lot of mis management but we still have to protect our health service bad and all as it is.

If we,re to protest anything in this country it needs to be the HSE and the amount of top dogs in it while staff on the ground are scarce

Yes there has been a lot of mis management but we still have to protect our health service bad and all as it is.

If we,re to protest anything in this country it needs to be the HSE and the amount of top dogs in it while staff on the ground are scarce

No, it’s perfectly ok to protest, the current and planned, stay at home orders and business closures.

You seem to think if we align or mitigation measures to other EU countries the health service will immediately collapse

The rest of Europe follows science to reduce case numbers, Ireland follows NPHET

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

****en scumbags at the front.

Every one of them with their shiny Iphones out recording.

Morons.

It Depends how you edit the video.
    This snippet, for example, on its own makes the Gards look bad

https://twitter.com/juan_guarino/status/1365741680490663937

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭storker

More than likely it helps them feel superior. Don't spoil it for them; it's probably all they've got.

No, it’s perfectly ok to protest, the current and planned, stay at home orders and business closures.

You seem to think if we align or mitigation measures to other EU countries the health service will immediately collapse

The rest of Europe follows science to reduce case numbers, Ireland follows NPHET

Not the way it was today. That was not a proper protest

You know what I,m thinking now? Please stop putting words in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,258 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It Depends how you edit the video.
    This snippet, for example, on its own makes the Gards look bad

https://twitter.com/juan_guarino/status/1365741680490663937

No it doesnt.