Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

today's attempted inserection by the alt/far right was an absolute disgrace and should be dealt with using the full rigures of the law.
    assaulting our boys who have enough to do in these challenging times is beyond contempt and the majority of us want to see those responsible punished hard.
    today's actions will only strengthen our resolve to push on through and get to the end, we will not give in to trouble makers at any cost, their attempted inserection was a failure.

Splendid work EOTR, absolutely tremendous. Hopefully nobody falls for this but no doubt some will bite. I was hoping you wouldn't disappoint and by god did you deliver the goods.

Insurrection :):):):)

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,258 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

To be honest they will always find anything to dismiss it.
    What you saw happened for about 1 minute and right at the start. It went on for a further 2 hours and there was no more trouble.
    When you gather a large crowd there will always be one or two eejits that do something stupid/Illegal.

If the protest had been allowed to go ahead in the Park instead of the Gards attempting to segregate groups of protesters, as planned it wouldn't have happened anyway.

1) How did the other two garda get injured if only one incident?
    2) If only one/two eejits then why 20+ arrests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭gw80

today's attempted inserection by the alt/far right was an absolute disgrace and should be dealt with using the full rigures of the law.
    assaulting our boys who have enough to do in these challenging times is beyond contempt and the majority of us want to see those responsible punished hard.
    today's actions will only strengthen our resolve to push on through and get to the end, we will not give in to trouble makers at any cost, their attempted inserection was a failure.

You are pretty good most of the time but every now and then you go just a little bit too far,
    "Insurrection"
    Easy there or you will be found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

onform wrote: »
    What I mean is they are citizens the same as me or you JRant.

No, not being sarcastic. If we hadn't locked down as we did there would have been a lot more people in Ireland dead now from covid-19.

They are not ordinary citizens and have powers to affect large swathes of society at the stroke of a pen. They also have some legalities not afforded to ordinary citizens, such as when sitting in the Dail.

Lockdowns are not the only way to prevent deaths from COVID as seen in other countries. They also have a massive effect on the entire country from education to housing to economic.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

It didn't take long to start throwing around the 'alt right' terminology. They were just scumbags, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

pjohnson wrote: »
    1) How did the other two garda get injured if only one incident?
    2) If only one/two eejits then why 20+ arrests?

Did you watch the Fabu D videos? There's 2 hours of footage there of what really happened.

There are about 8 different approaches to St Stephen's green and there were pockets of people s gathered at each of them. Yes there seem to have been a small group of violent types at the end of Grafton street and the only trouble came from there. I was near but not there at the time it happened and couldn't get a view. I only heard/saw the Gards charging forward but yet none of the other pockets of crowds reacted violently at all.
    If people had been allowed to go to the green as planned there wouldn't have been any trouble and we could have got to listen to some music and performers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭onform

All sense of proportion is lost with you. "Dangerous" for under 1% of the population, and a year sacrificed doesn't constitute "for a bit" as you glibly put it. Need I mention half a million out of work through no choice of their own. Hyperbole is popular with lockdown fanatics, and credibility out the window.

Lockdown fanatics? Is that an actual thing? No one wants this, I certainly don't. Glib? I'm not saying it's a minor issue, but your sacrifice is not your life. This is an Internet forum, do you want a feckin thesis? Nobody chose a viral driven pandemic. I'm not sure what credibility you're referring to, but I'm not a thanks whore if that's your concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

I don’t think the protest represents the majority of the Irish population that want to follow a similar plan to the U.K. once the at risk and vulnerable have been vaccinated.

I’ve a major issue with being stuck to 5km for months on end, after being stuck to 2km and 5km for most of 2020 also.

I’ve a massive issue with the Zero Covid advocates who continue to spread lies, misinformation and seem to have unprecedented access to the media. How can anyone say close the borders with an open one to NI and common travel area to the U.K. who are planning on fully reopening this summer?

Here are some of the lies peddled in the just last 2 weeks:
    - Gabriel Scally on Claire Byrne casually mentions that nowhere should reopen at all unless all children are also vaccinated. Cites a study in which 1 in 7 children can suffer from ‘Long Covid’. Later it transpires the study he was quoting from was in fact only hospitalised children in the U.K. which is a very small number and data was completely misrepresented - unchallenged by the presenter.
    - Anthony Staines tweets that young children in preschool and primary schools should all be wearing masks....anyone familiar with the inner workings of this age group and how they learn, socialise and interact would understand that this is a batsh** crazy suggestion.
    - Anthony and his buddy Jerry Killeen ‘double team’ as the ISAG twitter page puts it on Matt Cooper, citing doubts in vaccine rollout and effectiveness. Killeen states he does not think vaccines will get us out of this - and cites Manaus in Brazil without saying anything else. Transpires Manaus studies are not showing large numbers of reinfected but that’s for another post. The fact that two Professors and a zero Covid advocate host were allowed to sit there and peddle his nonsense unchallenged is concerning. Have we no broadcasting standards?
    - Micheal Martin makes his speech in the Dáil - who gets the first word on it on Prime time? Ah yes the Neuroscientist with no qualifications in the field of Covid peddling yet more zero Covid mantra, Tomás Ryan. How can the government run station allow this?
    - follow up on tonight show on Virgin Media with Staines.
    - Claire Byrne the following morning the Professor of Molecular something or other on waffling more zero Covid mantra, not an expert in the field. Finally a more moderate Professor of Immunology appears on the show and counters everything stated by the Zero Covid advocate.
    - Thomás Ryan also wrote a scaremongering article in the newspaper about schools reopening and why they shouldn’t until numbers were ‘low’ - which was shared on many forums by those wanting to keep them closed.

I could go on but i won’t - the level of media access this group has gotten is insane. Where are the alternative and more moderate voices?
    How can ISAG continue to get this access after what has been leaked this week about them? Why has no credible journalists reported on this issue?
    The biggest concern of all is that all of the Opposition in the Dáil support this groups view. Imagine if they were in power, we’d be locked down to get to Zero cases - for one day. We’d reopen and immediately be locked down again indefinitely when inevitably a case might be found, and then another and another, and so on and so forth .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,263 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Did you watch the Fabu D videos? There's 2 hours of footage there of what really happened.

There are about 8 different approaches to St Stephen's green and there were pockets of people s gathered at each of them. Yes there seem to have been a small group of violent types at the end of Grafton street and the only trouble came from there. I was near but not there at the time it happened and couldn't get a view. I only heard/saw the Gards charging forward but yet none of the other pockets of crowds reacted violently at all.
    If people had been allowed to go to the green as planned there wouldn't have been any trouble and we could have got to listen to some music and performers.

It's easier for the gardai to deal with and catch trouble makers in more confined spaces.

That is why the green was closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

SAMTALK wrote: »
    I really wish you,d stop using the phrase Pro lockdown

People can see the need for some of restrictions and still not like them

I wish you’d stop using the phrase anti restriction or let it rip.

People can see the need for some mitigation without being Europe’s strictest and longest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

It's easier for the gardai to deal with and catch trouble makers in more confined spaces.

Sounds like a great way to escalate a situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭PatrickIde1187

Scummer see , Scummer do . The amount of scummer apologists is frightening

Sounds like a great way to escalate a situation.

Nope, just realistic + CCTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭onform

JRant wrote: »
    They are not ordinary citizens and have powers to affect large swathes of society at the stroke of a pen. They also have some legalities not afforded to ordinary citizens, such as when sitting in the Dail.

Lockdowns are not the only way to prevent deaths from COVID as seen in other countries. They also have a massive effect on the entire country from education to housing to economic.

They're citizens same as anyone, elected by their peers i.e. You and me,assuming you haven't deregistered as some of the population of Ireland have.

No doubt that lockdowns have consequences, but the positive impact is to save lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Can anyone tell me why approaches to the US embassy werent closed last July?

Or why a daily protest was allowed to take place for 2 odd weeks outside Blanch Garda station?

Why neither of these events were condemned by anybody in government?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I wish you’d stop using the phrase anti restriction or let it rip.

People can see the need for some mitigation without being Europe’s strictest and longest

I never used either phrase so try again !
    Thats the 2nd time you,ve mis quoted me

Yes your 2nd part is correct as is mine

Did you watch the Fabu D videos and if so do you want to take back your claim about everyone there being racists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,201 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

We are all pissed off over the lockdowns and I wish that the government finds a way to get past them but gathering in crowds is exactly what we shouldn’t be doing and firing fireworks at the Gardai is surely an offence of some kind. Hopefully the person is identified because we can’t let that go.

If I could go back in time and change only one thing about social media, it’s that Facebook never existed. The amount of scutter on there is frightening and has not helped anyone. And I see the national party were involved which instantly makes me think Mike Barry and that lot might not be that bad.

Did you watch the Fabu D videos and if so do you want to take back your claim about everyone there being racists?

I never said they were all racists. How would I know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

It's just a combination of scrotes out for aggro, cranks and conspiracy freaks being themselves, and weak, entitled young people who are incapable of viewing the world from anyone else's perspective.

Everyone is sick to the back teeth of this bullsh1t, but the vast majority are now more pissed off with them, which is an achievement in itself.

Let's not forget that these largely thuggish protestors are the thin end of the wedge.

They are the extreme fringe of a much broader view that argues that restrictions are too severe, for too long.

And for the record: the introduction of the idea of racism into this thread is an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,989 ✭✭✭Russman

The pro lockdowners have got their wish

2021 is a write off

Do you really think anyone actually wants any of this ?

I never said they were all racists. How would I know?

You accused me of lying when I said there were many ethnic groups there.

Russman wrote: »

Not everyone wants it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The people protesting are patriots. I have no sympathy for the garda. They have betrayed us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,201 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The people protesting are patriots. I have no sympathy for the garda. They have betrayed us.

Okay how have the gardai betrayed us exactly ?

The people protesting are patriots

We've a live one here

Russman wrote: »

I think there are people who are so psychologically damaged that their inner instinct is that they feel safer in Lockdown. Also there is an authoritarian cohort that want people locked down for the "health purposes" but in reality it is just to control people.

I think there are people who are so psychologically damaged that their inner instinct is that they feel safer in Lockdown.

This is the most accurate post I’ve seen for a while.

People in Ireland are now so risk averse that many believe the lockdown is keeping them much safer.

So, yes, they want this

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Okay how have the gardai betrayed us exactly ?

Turning up at beaches, parks anywhere where they can find somebody and actively trying to catch people out. And then Celebrating it on their social media pages.

I have always defended the Garda on here but they have betrayed the people during all of this. They are not just doing their job and upholding laws, they are actively taking enjoyment in what they are doing.