Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Where did I ask for anyone to resign. I'm barely in this thread. It's your comment I noticed.

Simple question what "laws" were broken for the PSNI to hand out 100s of fines for breach of regulations in relation to gatherings across NI during the covid19 outbreak? Whatever "laws" they deemed broken during these gatherings is it not possible they deem them broken at this funeral? I don't care about the context of the event as that's not how rules work. You break them you break them. Whether it be a house party piss up of 50 young lads or a funeral of 100s.

You still haven't shown me a law. You showed me maximum PSNI powers but you cant have powers without a law. You know those things published by Legislators. With an offence, specified. Is there one of those. I note that you use law and rule interchangeably. That's not how this works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭christy c

Mort thinks a SF transgression is worse than any other similar transgression. :)

In the eyes of the law it was, hence the harsher penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Members of SF I presume...who do you think they were?

A white shirt and tie is a 'uniform' now?

I said "pretendy" uniform. Kind of budget Stormtrooper.

And thanks again for confirming the Sinn Fein/IRA inextricable link and identity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭maccored

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Being no longer “operational” is not the same as being “wound up”.
    A company can be no longer operational but until it is wound up it continues to exist.

my god - what kind of debating is that? no longer OPERATIONAL means THEY NO LONGER DO ANYTHING regardless if the name is still there or not. A name is a bunch of letters and pretty useless if the body it represents is no longer operational

Theres time I wonder how some people can figure out how to open a door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Truthvader wrote: »

And thanks again for confirming the Sinn Fein/IRA inextricable link and identity

you were talking rubbish. according to you anyone wearing a white shirt and tie are in the ira.

Just Googled Pat Buckley.

Another Sin Fein gouger last heard of arrested for being drunk and abusing Guards.

Classy as always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

maccored wrote: »
    my god - what kind of debating is that? no longer OPERATIONAL means THEY NO LONGER DO ANYTHING regardless if the name is still there or not. A name is a bunch of letters and pretty useless if the body it represents is no longer operational

Theres time I wonder how some people can figure out how to open a door.

There are lots of groups that do nothing. It doesn’t mean they don’t exist.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

joeguevara wrote: »
    You still haven't shown me a law. You showed me maximum PSNI powers but you cant have powers without a law. You know those things published by Legislators. With an offence, specified. Is there one of those. I note that you use law and rule interchangeably. That's not how this works.

https://www.thejournal.ie/over-100-coronavirus-related-fines-issued-in-northern-ireland-5073378-Apr2020/

I asked a simple question in my previous post. I'll quote it again.

Simple question what "laws" were broken for the PSNI to hand out 100s of fines for breach of regulations in relation to gatherings across NI during the covid19 outbreak?

Or are you of the opinion what the PSNI have been doing is illegal?

maccored wrote: »
    you were talking rubbish. according to you anyone wearing a white shirt and tie are in the ira.

Well as we know its tricky to know who exactly is "in" the IRA as such. Even one of their leaders wasn't actually "in" the IRA.

Maybe the pretendy uniform crowd were just "some" IRA members accompanied by community activists, advisors, supporters, diesel washers, stewards, committed republicans etc etc

Is a complicated world up there

https://www.thejournal.ie/over-100-coronavirus-related-fines-issued-in-northern-ireland-5073378-Apr2020/

I asked a simple question in my previous post. I'll quote it again.

Simple question what "laws" were broken for the PSNI to hand out 100s of fines for breach of regulations in relation to gatherings across NI during the covid19 outbreak?

Or are you of the opinion what the PSNI have been doing is illegal?

I have no idea what the PSNI are doing because you have not been able to show me the Legislation that has been broken in a published documents. I have no idea what fines have been given. Could have been for anything. Just admit that you don't know what law has been broken and stop quoting newpaper articles that mean nothing.

Just so there is no doubt, I have never seen a lawyer in court read out a newspaper article for proof that a land and an offence exists. Have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Mort thinks a SF transgression is worse than any other similar transgression. :)

They'd be right when comparing a 3 year ban to a 3 month ban,a court appearance to an on the spot fine,3 times the limit to just over the limit

I have no idea what the PSNI are doing because you have not been able to show me the Legislation that has been broken in a published documents. I have no idea what fines have been given. Could have been for anything. Just admit that you don't know what law has been broken and stop quoting newpaper articles that mean nothing.

https://www.bbc.com/news/explainers-52106843

I'll keep quoting till the penny drops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,666 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

christy c wrote: »
    In the eyes of the law it was, hence the harsher penalty.

But is one worse than the other in your view? Sounds a bit Danny Healy Rae to me to be dancing on a pin here. It's a right or wrong issue for me.

https://www.bbc.com/news/explainers-52106843

I'll keep quoting till the penny drops.

The penny has dropped. You have no clue. You cannot show me a law. Im off to court with a copy of the Kerryman. Hope the Judge lets me use it as a substitute for the Criminal Justice Act 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

And if they brought out another crowd for the interring of the ashes ( I assume they are going in the Republican plot) the usual crew would be out complaining.

Death and funerals have always been used for orations by political party's. Aren't they still using the grave of WOlfe Tone for political oration.

Wolfe Tone is actually there :)

Truthvader wrote: »

If the GAA, Soccer Club, Golf Club want to show their respect as a 'group' at a funeral...what do they do? The wear shirts and club tie.

You can review photos of the state funeral to see recent examples of this.

Just so there is no doubt, I have never seen a lawyer in court read out a newspaper article for proof that a land and an offence exists. Have you?

it would be simpler to phone Newry PSNI on
    +44 28 9065 0222 for the exact details

Rather than clogging up this thread with repetitive questions to which you know there is an answer and its not the one you're pretending it is

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Wolfe Tone is actually there :)

So too was the body of Storey while the orations took place. His body was then taken for cremation.
    After Requiem Mass, Mr Storey's remains were taken to Milltown Cemetery where speeches were made by senior republican figures including former Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams.

His body was then taken to Roselawn Cemetery in east Belfast, where it was cremated at about 15:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Sf's Buckleys offence was a tad worse though
    3 year driving ban and 3 times over the limit, also on a provisional licence
    Its very obvious now why SF didn't push the Cowen thing the other day

I presume an offence whilst holding office would be a resigning matter
    Its a pity we can't have squeaky clean mp's but I suppose no country has
    The right people rarely run for office, they're too busy getting paid properly/enjoying security of tenure for their skills elsewhere

Yes and no, there's plenty of evidence to suggest Barry Cowen as a TD was driving to and from Dublin, most likely using motorways, I'd Hazard a guess unaccompanied at times.

There's the questions as whether or not his speeding offences were in close proximity to each other, one of which he unsuccessfully contested in court (5 points) + the one he didn't contest (3 point's) = 8 points and a learner license holder with more than 7 is automatically off the road. Barry has to clear this up yet I believe.

Also - apparently your man Buckley has never driven again since his run in with a breathalyser, we know Cowen has, hence why there's lots of road (no pun intended) to run with his misdemeanor yet.

But yes Morty, Cowen = bad Buckley worser. :D

The penny has dropped. You have no clue. You cannot show me a law. Im off to court with a copy of the Kerryman. Hope the Judge lets me use it as a substitute for the Criminal Justice Act 2010.

I've no idea why you've moved onto "newspapers won't hold up in court" I'm simply providing verified unbiased information that states a) you cannot have an outdoor gathering of over 30 people and if you do it can be punished by the PSNI in Northern Ireland.

Direct quote from the BBC article.

Can I hold a party?
    In England, the law allows you to meet in a group of up to 30 people outside, or at home.

Outside means any public place - including beaches, parks, streets and the countryside.

So, if you want to organise a picnic or garden party you can now invite 29 guests.

If you go above that number, the police can turn up and force people to leave. They could issue you with a penalty ticket.

These start at £100 (or £50 if paid within 14 days), rising to £3,200 for six or more offences. In exceptional cases, the Crown Prosecution Service could take someone to court.

But is one worse than the other in your view? Sounds a bit Danny Healy Rae to me to be dancing on a pin here. It's a right or wrong issue for me.

Is being caught speeding at 3 times the speed limit worse than being caught just above the speed limit?

Doing 150km in a 50 zone is no worse than doing 55?

Is that your line of argument?

I've no idea why you've moved onto "newspapers won't hold up in court" I'm simply providing verified unbiased information that states a) you cannot have an outdoor gathering of over 30 people and if you do it can be punished by the PSNI in Northern Ireland.

Direct quote from the BBC article.

Can I hold a party?
    In England, the law allows you to meet in a group of up to 30 people outside, or at home.

Outside means any public place - including beaches, parks, streets and the countryside.

So, if you want to organise a picnic or garden party you can now invite 29 guests.

If you go above that number, the police can turn up and force people to leave. They could issue you with a penalty ticket.

These start at £100 (or £50 if paid within 14 days), rising to £3,200 for six or more offences. In exceptional cases, the Crown Prosecution Service could take someone to court.

England, yeah? Fair play.

Is being caught speeding at 3 times the speed limit worse than being caught just above the speed limit?

Doing 150km in a 50 zone is no worse than doing 55?

Is that your line of argument?

Knowingly being over the limit in anything is the line with me particularly with a drug.
    If you are prepared to drive over the limit, then 'how far over' conversations are moot.
    If you think there are degrees that are ok...get behind the Healy Raes.

It seems the handwaving away of Buckleys offence is taking the form of it being old news, and whatabout Barry Cowen. As one of the SF fans say, one doesn't cancel the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

christy c wrote: »
    It seems the handwaving away of Buckleys offence is taking the form of it being old news, and whatabout Barry Cowen. As one of the SF fans say, one doesn't cancel the other.

Both Buckley and Cowen were wrong, you will note it was someone far from being a "SF fan" that got the "one is worse than the other" ball rolling.

Keep up.

Knowingly being over the limit in anything is the line with me particularly with a drug.
    If you are prepared to drive over the limit, then 'how far over' conversations are moot.

There are degrees
    Judges are needed for the bigger offences

England, yeah? Fair play.

Memory issues to contend with also. Posted yesterday.

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/coronavirus-covid-19-recovery-plan

Indoor activities involving larger number of individuals where social distancing can be maintained for individuals who do not share a household connection. Outdoor activities involving larger groups of less than 30 people during which it may be difficult to maintain social distancing but where contacts are brief (less than 10 minutes).

You are no legal expert are you Francie.

Not surprising given your defence of the indefensible on here. Once a line is crossed as you say, everything is fair game. That’s why once shots are fired to defend one’s community blowing up children buying shoes is equivalent as the “line” has already been crossed.

You are no legal expert are you Francie.

Not surprising given your defence of the indefensible on here. Once a line is crossed as you say, everything is fair game. That’s why once shots are fired to defend one’s community blowing up children buying shoes is equivalent as the “line” has already been crossed.

I think what happened on this island was wrong, totally wrong from the get go. I have never defended or glorified violence either.

Which matches exactly to my my opinion of drink driving...it is wrong from the minute you get behind the wheel.
    You have degrees of 'wrongness' attached to legal definitions.

McMurphy wrote: »
    Both Buckley and Cowen were wrong, you will note it was someone far from being a "SF fan" that got the "one is worse than the other" ball rolling.

Keep up.

I'm fully up to date with the hand waving, thanks anyway.