Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA Discussion part 2 , No Purple Jumpers Allowed !!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Figerty wrote: »
    You know that old joke.. if we played the 95 team against the 13 team they be tight at half time ,, but the 95 team are all in the 40s now!

Yeah, but I can't imagine the 95 team surviving today with the speed of the game and the amount of cameras to catch what's happening, same as I couldn't imagine today's teams surviving in the 90s with the physicality. The biggest change I think that would affect the team of the 90s is the constant moving of players, in the 90s rarely would any of our backs have moved from their position, Lohan played the 95 final on 1 leg, today you're as likely to see the full back in the forwards as in the square, look at O'Donovan scoring the equalizer in 2013, Frank or O'Halloran would never be that far up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

BloodyBill wrote: »
    In 1995 and before the Clare team and county only had the Munster Championship on its mind. It actually helped the team win the All Ireland . Clare people didn't care what happened after that Munster win.

Granted times have moved on. The likes of Cork,Tippett and even Limerick (21) have fist fulls of Munster Championships . Clare still can't win them and rarely come close. If the All Ireland is the 'be all and end all' then its obvious that they should lose the League final and quarter final and focus on the back door?

Can't come close???? We've been in 2 of the last 3 Munster finals

In 1995 and before the Clare team and county only had the Munster Championship on its mind. It actually helped the team win the All Ireland . Clare people didn't care what happened after that Munster win.

Granted times have moved on. The likes of Cork,Tippett and even Limerick (21) have fist fulls of Munster Championships . Clare still can't win them and rarely come close. If the All Ireland is the 'be all and end all' then its obvious that they should lose the League final and quarter final and focus on the back door?

Before back doors/second chances you had to focus on a Munster title because if you didn't win it you weren't going anywhere, now the Munster title is just a stepping stone to an All Ireland semi final and I'd say that some counties might see it as a disadvantage to win it considering that only 1 team in the last 15 years has won Munster and an All Ireland. I would also guess if you were to ask any Waterford supporter if they'd swop their 4 Munsters this decade for 1 All Ireland that they'd all go for the All Ireland even though their Munster titles were brilliant occasions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Gael85

Clareman wrote: »

Quilty and Milltown is tie of the round. Is it neutral venue for games?

Full draws here https://www.clareecho.ie/mouth-watering-ties-in-clare-club-championships/

I think all games are to be played behind closed doors in neutral venues.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Feenie

Yeah, but I can't imagine the 95 team surviving today with the speed of the game and the amount of cameras to catch what's happening, same as I couldn't imagine today's teams surviving in the 90s with the physicality. The biggest change I think that would affect the team of the 90s is the constant moving of players, in the 90s rarely would any of our backs have moved from their position, Lohan played the 95 final on 1 leg, today you're as likely to see the full back in the forwards as in the square, look at O'Donovan scoring the equalizer in 2013, Frank or O'Halloran would never be that far up.

agreed overall with this post, but saying the 2013 squad couldn't survive their physicality? I'd disagree big time.
    Look at it, probably the strongest hurler in the country at a time, John Conlon was there, Clare's tallest ever hurler Darragh Honan at 6'6, Tony Kelly, Pat O'Connor, Cian Dillon, Domhall O'Donovan, Brendan Bugler. Yeah in my opinion they'd hold their own on a pitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Figerty

Feenie wrote: »
    agreed overall with this post, but saying the 2013 squad couldn't survive their physicality? I'd disagree big time.
    Look at it, probably the strongest hurler in the country at a time, John Conlon was there, Clare's tallest ever hurler Darragh Honan at 6'6, Tony Kelly, Pat O'Connor, Cian Dillon, Domhall O'Donovan, Brendan Bugler. Yeah in my opinion they'd hold their own on a pitch.

Players are picked and adapt to the game that is being played. Jamsie O'Connor was playing a more modern running game in 95 because it was his natural game and made that fit within the team.
    Conor Clancy would make the team ahead of Honan not becuase of height, but because of the dimension he added to the game. The pity is that Honan and O'Donnel natural talents were dimensioned in two man full forward lines chasing 3 men around. Would love to have seen the likes of Honan working off a Conor Clancy.

Feenie wrote: »

It's a great conversation and I don't think anyone will ever be right or wrong, just an opinion and a discussion.

Players are picked and adapt to the game that is being played. Jamsie O'Connor was playing a more modern running game in 95 because it was his natural game and made that fit within the team.
    Conor Clancy would make the team ahead of Honan not becuase of height, but because of the dimension he added to the game. The pity is that Honan and O'Donnel natural talents were dimensioned in two man full forward lines chasing 3 men around. Would love to have seen the likes of Honan working off a Conor Clancy.

Clancy is probably the most underrated hurler in Clare's history, watching back the 95 and 97 All Ireland final's it's amazing how he didn't get man of the match, I've heard it said that Lohan and Seanie used to look forward to championship matches cause they wouldn't have to mark Clancy :D

Unothrodox is the word I would use, Like Honan, or PJ O'Connel. Any back looks for a pattern in a forwards hurling; how the pick up the ball, how the move and trys to upset that. With O'Connell and Clancy you had two different styles who could upset a centre or full back by just swapping postion.
    Podge brough the same type of change in style in 2013 and was unmarkable against Cork the first day, the second day Cork studied an nullified him a bit, but O'Donnell then brought a different game than was expected from Honan. That variety, with quality on any team is what changes games.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭zetecescort

So Pat Fitz has the Gardai after ye?

Everybodys a suspect.....paranoia strikes deep in the heartland...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

He started it, with his drive by county board meeting last week :pac:

That meeting should be up for golden cleric county board award...

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

When the County board meeting finished last week..the truck driver pulled across the side curtain like it was a Broadway show...encore they roared from the stand.
    This investigation by the guards is disturbing. But no one deserves personal abuse. I haven't seen any of the abuse Pat Fitz is reported to have got. I think criticism of him will be stiffled because of this investigation.
    I wonder would the guards broaden their investigation and look into how the 2 million euro redevelopment of Cusack was conducted. About 500 000 was spent in Cusack Park on exits and a disastrous upgrade of the stand. Where did the rest of the money go?

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

When the County board meeting finished last week..the truck driver pulled across the side curtain like it was a Broadway show...encore they roared from the stand.
    This investigation by the guards is disturbing. But no one deserves personal abuse. I haven't seen any of the abuse Pat Fitz is reported to have got. I think criticism of him will be stiffled because of this investigation.
    I wonder would the guards broaden their investigation and look into how the 2 million euro redevelopment of Cusack was conducted. About 500 000 was spent in Cusack Park on exits and a disastrous upgrade of the stand. Where did the rest of the money go?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭BnB

The Clare Clare Clare FB page seems to have disappeared again.

A good question. but never going to be asked and if ever asked I'm sure there builders and accountants reports available.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Marty Xavier

Where do you think it went, bills to be paid.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Marty Xavier

Unothrodox is the word I would use, Like Honan, or PJ O'Connel. Any back looks for a pattern in a forwards hurling; how the pick up the ball, how the move and trys to upset that. With O'Connell and Clancy you had two different styles who could upset a centre or full back by just swapping postion.
    Podge brough the same type of change in style in 2013 and was unmarkable against Cork the first day, the second day Cork studied an nullified him a bit, but O'Donnell then brought a different game than was expected from Honan. That variety, with quality on any team is what changes games.

That's quite a good post. Shane O Neill was completely unsuited to Shane O Donnell, I think O Neill was a corner back, he got caught out of position numerous times that day. Remember O Donnell's second goal where I think Galvin whipped the ball from the wing to the corner and it was broken down (by John Conlon maybe) into O Donnell's path.

O Neill followed the flight of the ball and got caught in no-man's land for that brief second when he should have stood his ground as a full back.

Podge is probably a bit unmarkable at times too, he buzzes around and can drop deep, as a defender you are probably as well to let him go and pick him up again at the 45. He isn't going to do much damage further out as his striking isn't the best. In the replay Cork let him off and he was ineffective, due also to 3 or 4 particularly bad stick passes from him.

It will be interesting to see if Lohan uses Podge, not sure will he be starting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

I can only imagine the reaction here if Davy had done this.....https://www.the42.ie/clare-gerry-oconnor-daniel-kearney-4685496-Jun2019/

You mean like this mentioned in the article?

“Maybe it’s indicative of just the occasion and the situation Clare find themselves in. We saw it in Nowlan Park a couple of years ago where Davy Fitzgerald got penalised for doing that and rightly so.”

You mean like this mentioned in the article?

“Maybe it’s indicative of just the occasion and the situation Clare find themselves in. We saw it in Nowlan Park a couple of years ago where Davy Fitzgerald got penalised for doing that and rightly so.”

The reaction to Gerrys incident was minimal compared to Davys that the point I'm making....

Not arguing with you there. However it was out of character.

Reaction to Davys first time doing something similar was minimal in fact far less than Gerry's I would say but then again Davys first time doing it wasn't in a championship match I guess.

Cant say I'd agree with that...