Had enough of this lockdown am I the only person feeling like this?

EVl4BbSXgAIxWlF.jpg

or maybe he died of excessively thin ankles ???;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,944 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Loozer wrote: »
    The shutdown is is a blunt instrument, a hammer to break a nut

Blunt doesn't mean it's not effective. And it's not the same as using a hammer to break a nut either.

NZ being held up as the poster boys for dealing with it. Lockdown. Australia similarly, lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    The death rate suffers from the same reporting variances. We're reporting deaths outside hospital setting plus suspected Covid involvement, unlike some.

We're also reporting deaths from Covid based on clinical suspicion which have never even had a test.
    That's hardly accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Blunt doesn't mean it's not effective. And it's not the same as using a hammer to break a nut either.

NZ being held up as the poster boys for dealing with it. Lockdown. Australia similarly, lockdown.

NZ probably has the greatest geographical advantage of almost any country.
    Given that though, they still carried out the correct measures in locking down. Just quite easy to do there

Rodin wrote: »
    NZ probably has the greatest geographical advantage of almost any country.
    Given that though, they still carried out the correct measures in locking down. Just quite easy to do there

Don't disagree with any of that.

I just disagree with the notion that a lock down can't be effective because it's blunt nor is it analogous to using a hammer to break a nut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Ballso wrote: »
    I'd heard Supermacs had reopened alright

Edgy. Who writes your material?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

Zaph wrote: »
    The OP seems to think that the "young and healthy" live in a bubble where it is impossible for them to come into contact with people who are vulnerable. Like your granny, I too have asthma and diabetes, and the last thing I need is a load of people running around not giving a sh*t how far and wide they spread the virus. Until transmission rates are negligible, everyone, whether they're clearly suffering from Covid-19 or are asymptomatic, needs to be treated as a potential carrier. And the only way to ensure that as few people become actual carriers is to continue the lockdown. The very obvious fact that those calling for restrictions to be lifted seem to be unable to grasp is that the more people that adhere to the restrictions now, the quicker the lockdown can be lifted. But if you keep insisting on flouting the rules then transmission rates are obviously going to remain higher than they need to be.

This is the problem right here, people now believe the purpose of lockdown is to make transmission rates negligible, that’s never going to happen.

The lockdown merchants believe the fallacy that if we stay isolated for long enough then the virus will somehow magically disappear.

Remember that term “flattening the curve”? This means the same amount of people are infected, just over a longer period of time.

begbysback wrote: »
    This is the problem right here, people now believe the purpose of lockdown is to make transmission rates negligible, that’s never going to happen.

The lockdown merchants believe the fallacy that if we stay isolated for long enough then the virus will somehow magically disappear.

Remember that term “flattening the curve”? This means the same amount of people are infected, just over a longer period of time.

Not quite. It's about managing the transmission rate so that it doesn't increase too much too soon hence the phased basis for reopening. Slowing the spread rather than stopping it.

If people ignore the fact the virus is still live and act like it's not, they run the risk of increasing the rate it spreads at, which is where you run into problems.

The fact that X number of people will get it over time doesn't mean people have to go out and actively spread it as soon as they can. People still need to exercise some cop on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭theological

vibege wrote: »
    For sure. But do you think that we're now at a point where we should open up the country altogether because we're bored?

I'm not an epidemiologist, but until we have a vaccination, we're not going to be able to go back to life as normal until everyone is vaccinated. So let's unite as a society and do whatever we can to protect our vulnerable.

No. I think we should open up because we've managed to bring the R0 below 1 and we should begin to see what impact loosening the measures slightly would have. For example I think allowing people to meet outdoors at the required range is a good start.

Staying locked down indefinitely isn't a good shout at this stage because there is only so long we can keep these measures for both in terms of how long people can handle it, and in terms of how long the economy can sustain it. If there is the possibility to begin to reboot the economy and allowing some personal freedom safely it should be done while monitoring the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭Benimar

No. I think we should open up because we've managed to bring the R0 below 1 and we should begin to see what impact loosening the measures slightly would have. For example I think allowing people to meet outdoors at the required range is a good start.

Staying locked down indefinitely isn't a good shout at this stage because there is only so long we can keep these measures for both in terms of how long people can handle it, and in terms of how long the economy can sustain it. If there is the possibility to begin to reboot the economy and allowing some personal freedom safely it should be done while monitoring the results.

Nobody, apart from the nutters (for balance the 'open up everything tomorrow morning lads are in the same category) thinks there should be an indefinite lockdown.

Restrictions for some could ease as soon as May 18th, for others it will go on a good bit longer. We all want to see our version of a lockdown ended ASAP, but we want it done safely, so that we aren't back here in 6-8 weeks time moaning that the country had to be shut down again.

I noticed a change in tone with the various official communications yesterday. The word 'possible' is very obviously been mentioned now with regard to lifting restrictions. This is no done deal. If people don't continue to adhere to the restrictions, not only might we fall at the first hurdle, we might not even make it out of the starting gate!

We can blame the Government and CMO all we like (and some of it may be justified) but it doesn't absolve Joe Public from criticism if he/she can't stick to their end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Benimar wrote: »
    Nobody, apart from the nutters (for balance the 'open up everything tomorrow morning lads are in the same category) thinks there should be an indefinite lockdown.

Restrictions for some could ease as soon as May 18th, for others it will go on a good bit longer. We all want to see our version of a lockdown ended ASAP, but we want it done safely, so that we aren't back here in 6-8 weeks time moaning that the country had to be shut down again.

I noticed a change in tone with the various official communications yesterday. The word 'possible' is very obviously been mentioned now with regard to lifting restrictions. This is no done deal. If people don't continue to adhere to the restrictions, not only might we fall at the first hurdle, we might not even make it out of the starting gate!

We can blame the Government and CMO all we like (and some of it may be justified) but it doesn't absolve Joe Public from criticism if he/she can't stick to their end.

So what are we aiming for to open, have we been given any figures or do they just decide on the 18th. We were told we need to flatten the curve, we did that, we need to not overwhelm the hospital services, we did that, we need to get the icu numbers down, we did that. Whats the plan now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

The public did their job, R0 has been at around 0.5 for weeks. The public aren't the ones who failed to hit testing targets, the public aren't the ones who failed to achieve rapid contact tracing, the public are the ones who crippled nursing homes. The rest of Europe is opening up, the black economy is roaring into life while we live under regressive measures, and the horse is bolting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭theological

It isn't nutty to desire that lockdown measures are eased even slightly whilst monitoring the R0.

Again, there's only so much that individuals and the economy can take. (In the UK it is estimated that the cost of furloughing workers is the same as the cost of running the NHS)

I'm living in the UK and I'm hopeful that the reports of slight easing that are being mentioned will take effect on Monday. We need to begin learning how to live with this virus. Easing the measures slightly and slowly will be able to allow us to measure the impact on the R0 and allow us to edge ever slowly to normality.

That is much much better than insisting that we must remain locked down indefinitely and it is indefinitely if you don't provide clarity as to when that will be.

niallo27 wrote: »
    So what are we aiming for to open, have we been given any figures or do they just decide on the 18th. We were told we need to flatten the curve, we did that, we need to not overwhelm the hospital services, we did that, we need to get the icu numbers down, we did that. Whats the plan now.

Yes, we have flattened the curve, but it now has to stay flat. Do people not see that?

There will, almost certainly, be small spikes every time we open up more, so the aim is to keep these manageable. Hence the slow approach.

I have no idea what the numbers need to be, unlike some around here I don't claim to be an expert. However, based on what the numbers were just prior to March 27th, I'd say they want daily cases in the low 100s and deaths in single digits across a 5-7 day average.

That would give room for a small spike without having to shut anything back down.

GazzaL wrote: »
    The public did their job, R0 has been at around 0.5 for weeks. The public aren't the ones who failed to hit testing targets, the public aren't the ones who failed to achieve rapid contact tracing, the public are the ones who crippled nursing homes. The rest of Europe is opening up, the black economy is roaring into life while we live under regressive measures, and the horse is bolting.

The public are the ones paying €150 for haircuts, the public are the ones not social distancing (we have all seen the slacking off), the public are the ones out working on the 2 building sites (private ones) that I walked past this morning, the public are the ones having the house parties. The existence of the black economy you mention is the reason why the public have to take their share of the blame.

The majority of the public are doing whats asked of us, but those that aren't cannot be absolved from blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

The public are the ones paying €150 for haircuts, the public are the ones not social distancing (we have all seen the slacking off), the public are the ones out working on the 2 building sites (private ones) that I walked past this morning, the public are the ones having the house parties. The existence of the black economy you mention is the reason why the public have to take their share of the blame.

The majority of the public are doing whats asked of us, but those that aren't cannot be absolved from blame.

R0 has been below 1 for well over a month at this stage, and at around 0.5 for weeks. You can't blame the public any more. Even the HSE copped onto that. You can't expect the public to sit on their hands indefinitely, particularly when our reopening plans lag behind our neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,451 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I agree with that but the issue is there is no enforcement .There should be a specific number to ring if you see a major breech of the restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

If you ban everything the public will find a way to do it, it's just human nature. The same as drugs, they are illegal but people still take them even though it would be safer to use if they were legal.

Banning everything is not the way to go, opening stuff in a safe environment is the way to do it. Look at our European neighbors they have opened hairdressers etc but it's done in a safe way with people using masks and stuff.

I think the OP lost the conversation with his "Am I the only one feeling like this?"

I mean, how self absorbed do you have to be to think this is only affecting you?
    Everyone I talk to, when I ask how are they give the same reply "Grand. Starting to get fed up though". I've not seen my father since February, and my mother since Christmas. Meanwhile the OP is lamenting the fact he can't visit the beach. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,996 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

niallo27 wrote:
    Well for anybody with a bit if cop on its to wait and see what happens in Spain in about 10 days time. If they get a brutal second wave then continue the lockdown and hopefully our idiot government finally see sense and put proper restrictions in place.

So the majority get punished for the minority even though overall it has having little or no affect on the overall numbers or keeping the curve flat.

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Banning everything is not the way to go, opening stuff in a safe environment is the way to do it. Look at our European neighbors they have opened hairdressers etc but it's done in a safe way with people using masks and stuff.

Not saying that we don't open but there's no need to reopen everything just yet but just because European neighbours have reopened hairdressers, it's too early to know to what degree that will impact the transmission rate. Bouncing back up to a point we have to close down sections of the economy again will just make things worse.

Nothing wrong with being more conservative if it prevents a rapid increase in transmission rate.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well for anybody with a bit if cop on its to wait and see what happens in Spain in about 10 days time. If they get a brutal second wave then continue the lockdown and hopefully our idiot government finally see sense and put proper restrictions in place.

Why not look at germany or the czechs or denmark, why compare us to a country that was completely overwhelmed. I'd love to hear your idea of proper restrictions, weld people into their houses.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

eagle eye wrote: »
    Why are you looking to Spain and not say, Germany or Denmark? We were never in the position that Spain was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Not saying that we don't open but there's no need to reopen everything just yet but just because European neighbours have reopened hairdressers, it's too early to know to what degree that will impact the transmission rate. Bouncing back up to a point we have to close down sections of the economy again will just make things worse.

Nothing wrong with being more conservative if it prevents a rapid increase in transmission rate.

Germany opened thousands of shops a few weeks ago and they have said they haven't noticed a huge increase in cases with their r0 still at around .65

Our government need to get off their asses and make it mandatory for everyone to wear a masks when in public.. especially in an enclosed environment. We have Luke O’Neill Professor of Immunology at Trinity College crying for the government to introduce a mask policy.

It's so sad that in Ireland we are always so late to implement things, most Europeans countries have been making masks mandatory for weeks now.

South Korean experts have said the 2 current best ways to contain the virus are:
    Option 1. Lock everyone in their basement

OR

Option 2. Everyone wears masks

The Irish government seem happy to go with option 1 while not caring about peoples mental health

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

niallo27 wrote: »

We now have to wait and see if the clowns can get their testing numbers up to 100,000 a week which is needed before any lockdown can be lifted. They hoped to get it up by last weekend and failed, which is why we got the two week extension to the lockdown. I have very little faith in them.

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Germany opened thousands of shops a few weeks ago and they have said they haven't noticed a huge increase in cases with their r0 still at around .65

Yes, on the 20th of April they allowed shops smaller than 800m2 to reopen. Although anecdotally, a lot of them had stayed shut and not many shoppers had returned to the shops that had reopened.

They did say guidance on face masks would be issued at the start of Phase 1. In most countries it's mandatory on public transports and when shopping which is where they have said masks should be worn. No one is on public transport yet. There's time.

Not saying there shouldn't have been something by now. Just that it needs to be in place in time for the people who need them by May 18th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭thegetawaycar

To the OPs question, I think everyone is fed up at this stage.

At least we seem to have a plan to open up whether people like it or not is another question. I'd like to see us move to phase 2 and then if going well put phase 3 and 4 together and speed it up.

What I don't get is people using that the Government messed up on care homes (I agree) as a reason to be allowed do what they want.

Surely because they screwed up doesn't mean we as a population should join in and not do everything in our power to minimise the spread.
    Same with the people calling out that G O'D and her supporters flout the laws so I should too etc...

We don't say the same with, for example speeding, if one person drives 100km in a 30 zone I don't do the same as I feel envious of them, I don't get the mentality.
    Same for the lockdown laws, I don't go breaking them just because I don't like how they affect me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭dohouch

Every day I embellish my escape plan, ( bit like Methadone for H. addicts!) may never happen but it gives me a feeling of getting some controle back.

🧐IMHO, God wants us all to ENJOY many,many ice-creams , 🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

We now have to wait and see if the clowns can get their testing numbers up to 100,000 a week which is needed before any lockdown can be lifted. They hoped to get it up by last weekend and failed, which is why we got the two week extension to the lockdown. I have very little faith in them.

They only have 2% of the tracing staff trained. Lockdown till after the June bank holiday due to HSE incompetence.
    Mentioned in the article.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/dr-holohan-increasingly-concerned-about-number-of-young-people-with-covid-19-998125.html