Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭robbiezero

easypazz wrote: »
    Problem with increasing limit is people will all pile into some small seaside town or forest park, it will be all over twitter and everybody will throw their toys out of the pram.

They can keep the car parks of tourist attractions etc blocked. Travel limit needs to go on May 5th and let people see their families and id be confident it will be lifted.

It doesn’t matter if they go 2, 10 or 10,000 km.
    If people maintain some form of social distancing in an outdoor environment there is zero risk of cross infection.

It’s a stupid rule that needs lifting.

That’s my point. If everyone is concentrated into a small number of places that come within the boundary of an arbitrary radius, then social distancing is impossible

I drove out to Sligo the week before the current lockdown, and everyone was socially distancing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Not when it puts others at risk it isnt.

How were they putting anybody at risk?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,120 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Problem with increasing limit is people will all pile into some small seaside town or forest park, it will be all over twitter and everybody will throw their toys out of the pram.

They won't if they don't open the car parks and toilets. Lahinch before any lockdown was a perfect example, carparks sealed, playground, public toilets all shops, pubs, restraunts closed. There was 2 food shops and the surf shop open nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

robbiezero wrote: »
    They can keep the car parks of tourist attractions etc blocked. Travel limit needs to go on May 5th and let people see their families and id be confident it will be lifted.

Let them see them as in through windows or actually visit people’s houses?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,973 ✭✭✭normanoffside

I drove out to Sligo the week before the current lockdown, and everyone was socially distancing

The problem is that if someone puts up a picture on Twitter or Facebook, due to lack of perspective of photography, it can look like people are more piled together than they really are.

I have no Issue with sending a few random Guards to the more popular Beauty spots to 'make sure' people are generally keeping distance. That would make more sense than closing them down altogether

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Have been paying attention, at all, about Covid19 and how infectious it is?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

They get sick, they go to hospital, they put nurses and doctors at risk. Doctors and nurses who have families and a life unlike some asshats sitting in a pub in painters uniforms to avoid detection.

The fact i have to explain this to you is very worrying and i wonder how many there are like you out there who just don't care about their fellow humans.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Unelected CMO

They get sick, they go to hospital, they put nurses and doctors at risk. Doctors and nurses who have families and a life unlike some asshats sitting in a pub in painters uniforms to avoid detection.

Source for that Bandit?

If they don't start to relax the restrictions after May the 5th, people are entitled to ask 'what-the actual-fcuk is the plan?'.

What are we waiting for?
    The virus to die off - not happening.
    A vaccine to be available - not happening.

There is literally no justification for an extension of the current restrictions. We will be in the exact same place as we are now in 4 or 8 or 12 weeks time.

We need to get back to something resembling normality!

Holohan needs to be reigned back in - nobody has elected this fcuker to lecture us and remove our democratic freedoms.
    Having to listen to the merchant of doom pontificating every evening is galling.

This was always going to be a health based decision. I still think people like yourself fail to grasp how serious this is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

I'll be relaxing the restrictions myself on the 5th of May even if the government doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

If they don't start to relax the restrictions after May the 5th, people are entitled to ask 'what-the actual-fcuk is the plan?'.

What are we waiting for?
    The virus to die off - not happening.
    A vaccine to be available - not happening.

There is literally no justification for an extension of the current restrictions. We will be in the exact same place as we are now in 4 or 8 or 12 weeks time.

We need to get back to something resembling normality!

Holohan needs to be reigned back in - nobody has elected this fcuker to lecture us and remove our democratic freedoms.
    Having to listen to the merchant of doom pontificating every evening is galling.

Don't like it? Get out and protest like they have in the States.

Source for that Bandit?

Oh i dunno doctors and nurses who are dead and seriosuly ill thoughout the world from the virus from treating people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I agree the 2km restriction should be broadened. But lifting it altogether will just see hundreds of second homes descending on seaside resorts, increasing the risk for residents and putting pressure on smaller hospitals that just wouldn't be able to cope.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Don't like it? Get out and protest like they have in the States.

look around you, people are already out

They won't if they don't open the car parks and toilets. Lahinch before any lockdown was a perfect example, carparks sealed, playground, public toilets all shops, pubs, restraunts closed. There was 2 food shops and the surf shop open nothing else.

Not everywhere relies on the car park though, Kilkee has a lot of residential streets nearby where people can park. You could have 5000 people milling around providing ample photo ops for the twitter shamers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

This was always going to be a health based decision. I still think people like yourself fail to grasp how serious this is.

Would you be happy locking down for another 2 months on "health based" reasons if the government instructed us to do so?

The fact i have to explain this to you is very worrying and i wonder how many there are like you out there who just don't care about their fellow humans.

Did the health workers give it to the sick or the sick gave it to the health workers, I think the former is responsible for a lot of infections especially in sick people. Just look at the numbers, they spread it far and wide. There are constant infections in our hospitals long before Covid.
    I mentioned someone I know working in multiple hospitals at the moment a few days ago, if there asymptomatic it's being spread around different hospitals.

Would you be happy locking down for another 2 months on "health based" reasons if the government instructed us to do so?

Yes. Longer if required

Not everywhere relies on the car park though, Kilkee has a lot of residential streets nearby where people can park. You could have 5000 people milling around providing ample photo ops for the twitter shamers.

I think the locals will burn them with fire, I assume our travelling friends have the beaches to themselves at the moment as there paying no heed to any restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

There are always ****ing eejits that ignore expert advice.

A lot of you sound like the same ****ing eejits that were calling for the likes of Morgan Kelly and David McWilliams to be "silenced" because they were "talking down" the economy back in 2008 when they correctly called the recession.

Protesting? Where?

KaneToad wrote: »
    Have been paying attention, at all, about Covid19 and how infectious it is?

6 lads sitting around a couple of metres apart, in an area with no cases, none of them expressing symptoms, having been following the rules for over a month.

If its that contagious we are all screwed.

Why are they more likely to get sick there than anywhere else?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭JoeA3

It’s very unlikely that a guy with 2k posts on this forum in 6 weeks has much else going on in his life. Therefore I doubt Luke will be impacted one way or the other, restrictions or no restrictions, he’ll still be here bleating away in the echo chamber, wondering where everyone else is gone. Or he’ll find something else to moan about.

Some people are not happy unless we are all miserable, just like they are. A sort of equilibrium. I for one will not be participating in the misery porn, I am heading off out now to enjoy this rare beautiful day.

I expect Bandit and his not so merry followers will still be here when I check in later.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,973 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Oh i dunno doctors and nurses who are dead and seriosuly ill thoughout the world from the virus from treating people.

That's not a source, it's waffle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

A stroll around any town in Ireland today will show you that the lockdown is over in many peoples minds. No comparison to 2 weeks ago whatever or the rights and wrongs of it are.

I’ll answer that: as Bandit most likely doesn’t have a job and relies on the State to fund him, dwelling in his council house basement posting on boards all day and trying to tell people what to do has most likely been the most fun he’s had in years.

So yeah, I’d say the lockdown is his happy place

JoeA3 wrote: »
    It’s very unlikely that a guy with 2k posts on this forum in 6 weeks has much else going on in his life. Therefore I doubt Luke will be impacted one way or the other, restrictions or no restrictions, he’ll still be here bleating away in the echo chamber, wondering where everyone else is gone. Or he’ll find something else to moan about.

Some people are not happy unless we are all miserable, just like they are. A sort of equilibrium. I for one will not be participating in the misery porn, I am heading off out now to enjoy this rare beautiful day.

I expect Bandit and his not so merry followers will still be here when I check in later.

But there you'll be checking in.

I'll be relaxing the restrictions myself on the 5th of May even if the government doesn't.

As will I and many others