Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users Posts: 10,185 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    We will borrow. Every country will. Interest rates are low. There's plenty of money we can take from the future.

There’s gonna have to be massive public debt write offs for country’s. Maybe do what Germany done after ww2 introduce a new currency and forget about all the debt the eurozone is taking on paying for this **** storm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Fines for anyone who breaks restrictions. Only way.

Heavy fines.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭kingshankly

No doubt the roads will be filled of cyclist over the weekend

Can clearly see the spread from Dublin now to surrounding counties. Have they learnt nothing from Wuhan! Lock down Dublin, and save lives !

Lol, you still at that. It’s already in every county

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Hurrache wrote: »
    Why the **** are people getting so caught up the red herring of people out exercising? How is it any different than those out walking?

Everyone needs to cop the **** in and getting the "red" scare over airports and runners. Headcases.

People out running is not a problem.

If anything, it is a necessity for mental health for some people. And to relieve stress.

Not everyone is lucky enough to have an exercise bike or something like that in their home.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

hmmm wrote: »
    Could we maybe stop with the triumphalism about blocking people going on long runs or cycles? Just because there are some people who try to better themselves and stay fit which maybe you don't, doesn't mean you can celebrate when they are blocked. The chances of a runner or a cyclist giving you covid while you hide inside your house is pretty minimal.

These restrictions are to try and stop the idiots meeting up to play football in parks, not stop people from going for a long run. Unfortunately the people in the latter group will be collateral damage, and it's going to be a sad time for them.
    You can still go on a run just do laps. Radius of your house.

Runners do come quite near to you in some cases and not all are distancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lbj666

Can clearly see the spread from Dublin now to surrounding counties. Have they learnt nothing from Wuhan! Lock down Dublin, and save lives !

eh you ve been following the news in the past hour ya?

I love Dr. Motherway

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

If you work in a non medical role in a hospital, do you have to continue to go to work or stay home?
    Hospital sounds essential to me but check with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Count ourselves lucky with the weather we can at least go out our back gardens

Once the rain comes that's the challenge.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

osarusan wrote: »
    The bit about exercising only 2km from home is disappointing - the last few days, the kids and I have driven into east Clare and walked in woodlands - nothing scenic, but the point is that they're deserted.

If people in urban areas obey the 2km restriction, it will actually cause a bit of congregation.

It won’t cause you congestion if you stay the f at home

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Because that's obviously what I was suggesting. Either follow the restrictions or don't walk your dog.

Nope

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Basically Wuhan restrictions. Probably about time.

When people are not allowed out at all, army brings groceries to your home, roads, bridges are blocked and people not complying with no leave house order are physically bolted into their house then we will be Wuhan

• Registered Users Posts: 14,604 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Risteard81 wrote: »
    Would that be the one which wasn't elected? Leo barely won his seat and Regina actually lost hers. It's an unelected junta.

You know better than that.
    The Government is in place in accordance with the Constitution.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    We will borrow. Every country will. Interest rates are low. There's plenty of money we can take from the future.

Yeah thankfully (bad thing to say) this crisis unlike the 2008 banking crisis is effecting Germany, so the ECB will eventually start printing money for government to use to pay down this debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

If anything, it is a necessity for mental health for some people. And to relieve stress.

Not everyone is lucky enough to have an exercise bike or something like that in their home.

It's parsnts bringing the kids out as a mob and younger people meeting their friends in groups that are the cause. Treating it like holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,739 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Very badly run all this given the list of non essential/essential jobs will not be published tonight, despite the new restrictions starting at midnight..
    It makes it all seem rushed, done in a panic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭jackboy

No doubt the roads will be filled of cyclist over the weekend

No, the 2 km limit has essentially banned cycling.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭CaoinDory

How the hell can they say it's in effect from midnight but not release the "essential workers" list until tomorrow. >:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Remember those in each of your areas who do not comply with restrictions. They are not helping society.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Roger_007 wrote:
    These ‘extra’ restrictions are absolutely futile. Once you start making exceptions to the stay-at-home rule the thing falls apart. It only takes one person in any household to go out shopping or to work or for any other reason and they bring the virus back with them. All these measures are just window dressing. The horse has bolted long ago. All efforts should be concentrated on devising ways to protect the at-risk groups. The rest of us can just take our chances.

This is the worst advice I've ever seen on Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭CaoinDory

How the hell can they say it's in effect from midnight but not release the "essential workers" list until tomorrow. >:(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

lbj666 wrote: »
    The stricter the lockdown the sooner we get out of it the other end, the sooner things can go back to relative normality. Other countries were only starting to do this when **** really with the fan.
    Do you realise that these restrictions potentially go on for at least 18 months?

This will not end in weeks. These restrictions are for months.

There is no "normal" any more. We may possibly have a vaccine. Or we have to live with this thing forever.

We can't all hide inside our houses for the rest of our lives. It won't be long before people start saying "screw it" and take their chances.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lbj666

RobertKK wrote: »
    Very badly run all this given the list of non essential jobs will not be published tonight, despite the new restrictions starting at midnight..

You swear we were in an emergency or something

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

RobertKK wrote: »
    Very badly run all this given the list of non essential jobs will not be published tonight, despite the new restrictions starting at midnight..

Maybe we can ask the virus to hold off spreading for a year so they can make more suitable plans.

Perhaps that would better suit?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,568 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Sounds like the penny has finally dropped with Trump

• Registered Users Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Would clerical.officer in a Garda station be considered essential I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,604 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Multipass wrote: »
    Nope

Don't worry too much.
    The dog probably won't.

Seriously they will get by with the odd trip outdoors to toilet.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭champchamp

It can't start until the essential list is released.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭sterz

It's not one rule for one and one for another. I've been indoors for the past week and had plans to go out and exercise tomorrow but that won't be happening now. Everyone just needs to cop on, listen to the advice and realise that we're all in this together.