Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭enoughtaken

refreshing to see Michael Duignan going for Chairman of Offaly County Board. Hopefully it may start a trend going in other counties

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

JesusRef wrote: »
    There needs to be an all county intermediate hurling championship pronto

Another propsal i would like to see brought forward this winter

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Any word on Brick coming back for next season ???

Moran prob will give it another year at most
    hopefully the new manager wont be so sentimental..two of them way past their intercounty best ..way past it!

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭thesaturdayman

but what about the b b b b b boards?

if you listened to the fellas who claim to know what they are talking about the western intermediate hurling championship is the greatest sporting contest since the superbowl / grand national & world cup final combined....

Eastern / Western board Uber Allez

• Registered Users Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭hardybuck

hopefully the new manager wont be so sentimental..two of them way past their intercounty best ..way past it!

Is way past their best still better than the alternative options?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Another propsal i would like to see brought forward this winter

Are you a member of a club that could bring it forward for you?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,916 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hard to knw really be nice to have them around for experience etc but will they really be that many inexperienced players in the panel for 2020 ???

A fresh start with for the Cahill era

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Maybe a set-up like this (similiar to Cork)

Premier Senior (Ballygunnar, DLS, Mt.Sion, Dungarvan, Lismore, Passage, Abbeyside, Tallow)
    Senior A (Roanmore, Clonea, Fourmilewater, Ballyduff, Ballygunnar B, Ballysaggart, Ardmore, Clashmore)
    Premier intermediate (8 Teams west and east)
    Intermediate (8 Teams west and east)
    Junior A (8 Teams west and east)

Etc etc,

Two groups of four....
    Outside of senior it would make for some games and great championships, thereby increasing standards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Premier Senior (Ballygunnar, DLS, Mt.Sion, Dungarvan, Lismore, Passage, Abbeyside, Tallow)
    Senior A (Roanmore, Clonea, Fourmilewater, Ballyduff, Ballygunnar B, Ballysaggart, Ardmore, Clashmore)

Etc etc,

Two groups of four....
    Outside of senior it would make for some games and great championships, thereby increasing standards

Increase standards by creating 4 new group teams from intermediate and junior clubs. Put our 4 GPO's in charge of each area/group team this creating accountability. Do the same for football. Play group team games midweek.

Etc etc,

Two groups of four....

That's makes too much sense for our CB

A certain member doesn't like all this codding on
    social media ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Increase standards by creating 4 new group teams from intermediate and junior clubs. Put our 4 GPO's in charge of each area/group team this creating accountability. Do the same for football. Play group team games midweek.

That would be a good addition, the group teams could play off in their own.group with the top team getting to the quarter final?
    The GPOs in charge is a great idea

hardybuck wrote: »
    Is way past their best still better than the alternative options?
    Ah cmon stop, that's why we win fcuk all hanging onto lads because they were good a few years back

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Spatters

thesultan wrote: »
    We had two teams winning in the 2000s. Now we have one.

Plus Limerick have won 3 competitions in the space of 12 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

This was a no brainer about 15 years ago. Our board usually wait until things descend into a complete farce before discussing any type of change so expect it to be raised sometime in the next year or two

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Etc etc,

Two groups of four....

This is a good idea

• Registered Users Posts: 39,508 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Footballers drawn against limerick in Munster championship next year. Winners play winners of Clare/tipp in a semi final

• Registered Users Posts: 13 BlueFox90

You are some man to talk about problems without coming with solutions. In regards Moran , there is definitely not 14 better hurlers than him in the county regardless of whether or not he has lost a step or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Obi1mikal

Stephan Frampton on the committee to pick the new manager and is now a selector. Some buzz, when he finished interviewing Cahill for the job did he ask for an interview to be his new selector??

Stephen Molumphy and Stephen Frampton the selectors officially announced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Wonder who Cahill has in mind when he mentioned keeping on part of last year's backroom team

Hardly the s&c coach??

We didnt look overly fit

BlueFox90 wrote: »
    You are some man to talk about problems without coming with solutions. In regards Moran , there is definitely not 14 better hurlers than him in the county regardless of whether or not he has lost a step or not.
    And there lies the problem .if you honestly
    Believe that then you have some crazy idea on what makes an intercounty hurler .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

What a servant Kevin Moran has been to Waterford. Over a decade as one of our best. Unfortunately last year he was miles off the pace, especially in the tipp and limerick games. Has always been a superb athlete but looks like the legs are going for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Obi1mikal wrote: »
    Stephan Frampton on the committee to pick the new manager and is now a selector. Some buzz, when he finished interviewing Cahill for the job did he ask for an interview to be his new selector??

Good Man Fraa, the only man to be involved in picking a county Manager three times in a row and the only man to allow himself be a selector having picked a County Manager.

Stephen Frampton 3 Peter Queally 0

Dan Shanahan not happy by all accounts.

Not as many hiding places here though as last years lads found out. Can't be all things to all people with the eyes of the county on you.

Only in Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭upthedeise16

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Alf Tupper

I heard Noelie Connors has "fallen off" the panel

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Hardly the s&c coach??

We didnt look overly fit

Hopefully we'll have a new S&C coach. We were second to every ball last year. You could put some of that down to effort but were definitely miles behind in terms of fitness levels. Some of our lads have looked like they've been doing way too much gym work too and yet were yards behind. The balance to me seemed off.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭Mulbert

Hopefully we'll have a new S&C coach. We were second to every ball last year. You could put some of that down to effort but were definitely miles behind in terms of fitness levels. Some of our lads have looked like they've been doing way too much gym work too and yet were yards behind. The balance to me seemed off.

I think the S&C staff should have put a bit more effort in theselves, done the training and put the effort in on behalf of the players.

The team might have cleaned up then.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Really excited about this management team, Molumphy and Frampton are great additions. When Cahill said he was going to get local selectors in, he couldn't have found 2 men with anymore heart and soul for Waterford. Two lads who were warriors on the field and command utmost respect off it.

When you look at what's going on in Clare and Galway at the moment (similar fiasco to us last year), we are much better placed facing into the new season. Were quick to point out how far we are behind other counties when it suits so we should also give credit where its due when things are done well, and we have gone about our business very well here.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭thesaturdayman

Stephen Bennett seemingly going traveling, how true? Who knows. Who cares either way, if he does good luck to him.

For what it’s worth we have an excellent mgmt set up & selectors.

There seems to be a lot of sour grapes and bruised egos around the place too, some ex players seem to think they have a divine right to be involved. Some lads been on more tickets then The Rolling Stones over last few years & it’s the same names and egos.

It’s a funny one with Fra being on panel & also have been part of backroom team, ultimately he is a selector, not the mgr, he will add value, like a slice of lemon in your gin and tonic.... but that’s it. Someone will probably blame Derek for this too, as well as global warming.

I don’t think there is not anything sinister in it. I’m sure Cahill has the final say who is in or out.

Everyone should stop throwing stones now and let the lads get on with the dam thing. We are bottom of the pile and there’s a mountain of work to do.

Next priority is when is Walsh park starting? Paddy joe and pat Flynn said the diggers be rolling in after the limerick game, so I’m assuming it will be after county final Sunday & we will have our new shiny stadium built and ready to rock for 2020 for 4.8m as was sold to us and promised 18 months ago.

https://www.google.nl/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/waterford-have-2020-vision-for-walsh-park-468862.html