Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

MrFresh wrote: »
    Cowardly attack on the streets of Galway.

https://twitter.com/4dger/status/1127258773595336707

Pure scum

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Coke's off their heads. They will hand themselves in. Wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭enricoh

Was in that supermacs a year or so ago n got chatting to one of the staff. He was saying eyre square was gone to the dogs.
    He pointed to a few dodgy young junkies at a table inside the door.
    All nursing a cup of tea for an hour or more until they spot some lad buckled walking past n rob his phone n wallet.
    Was surprised, but i reckon he had the story right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

enricoh wrote: »
    Was in that supermacs a year or so ago n got chatting to one of the staff. He was saying eyre square was gone to the dogs.
    All nursing a cup of tea for an hour or more until they spot some lad buckled walking past n rob his phone n wallet.

Then when they get caught it's a letter from mammy - bright futures allround and Bam... Free as a bird to start again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

enricoh wrote: »

How has Eyre Sq gone the dogs over a couple of junkies drinking tea. If you think that video, or any of the big ticket crime issues in this country are because of junkies you're sadly mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

imme wrote: »
    Pure scum

Fair play to the 2 black guys who intervened, it was a Nigerian taxi driver who saved me a few years back, 2 blokes tried to rob me on parnel street and i took them on, 1 pulled a screw driver and out of nowhere a taxi mounted the path, he tried to run the guy over lol.

In dublin its usually foreigners that get involved to help whilst the locals stand around recording.

not yet wrote: »
    How has Eyre Sq gone the dogs over a couple of junkies drinking tea. If you think that video, or any of the big ticket crime issues in this country are because of junkies you're sadly mistaken.

Eyre square has always been the 'theatre of dreams' for turf turners.

20 years ago i witnessed the same carryon on 3 consecutive nights, gaa headed lads dancing on heads not a cop in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,208 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Agree. Junkies look a state but are more often too strung out to do anything to anyone.

In that sense most of them are harmless from my experience in Dublin.

Then you have the dragged up feral scumbags...

Agree. Junkies look a state but are more often too strung out to do anything to anyone.

In that sense most of them are harmless from my experience in Dublin.

Then you have the dragged up feral scumbags...

I grew up in north inner city, trust me, as scary as they look one good clatter would put a junkie out of action for hours.

Its the gangs of 16 to 25 yr old tracksuit scruffs that are dangerous, usually float around temple bar on a saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

italodisco wrote: »
    Fair play to the 2 black guys who intervened, it was a Nigerian taxi driver who saved me a few years back, 2 blokes tried to rob me on parnel street and i took them on, 1 pulled a screw driver and out of nowhere a taxi mounted the path, he tried to run the guy over lol.

In dublin its usually foreigners that get involved to help whilst the locals stand around recording.

Yes, they really are becoming that commonplace that there’s a good chance it will be those who are on hand to intervene.

Just goes to show you can’t prejudge anyone on an individual basis but I think on the whole the more that appear in people’s locales the higher the feelings of resentment and feeling that the people pulling the strings should be hung drawn and quartered. Before we see more feigned sentiments of racism as last ditch deterrents only borne out of frustration...

Irish are very quick to forget we were and still are foreigners in many countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Irish are very quick to forget we were and still are foreigners in many countries.

I've no beef with foreigners here provided they are:
    -here on a legal basis and compliant with our laws
    -respectful of our ways and not attempting to move the cultural furniture around to suit themselves (if you don't like our culture, then why would you ever have come here in the first place?)

If that is OK, then it is 100% a Céad Míle Fáilte from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

The only people to help the fella were immigrants, so narrow minded people should take note and not class each and everyone as scumbags, there's good and bad in every race, colour and creed.

The supermac's security didn't know basic first aid like putting the lad in the recovery position.

Perhaps the immigrants found it easier to empathise with someone being kicked while they are down.

topper75 wrote: »
    I've no beef with foreigners here provided they are:
    -here on a legal basis and compliant with our laws
    -respectful of our ways and not attempting to move the cultural furniture around to suit themselves (if you don't like our culture, then why would you ever have come here in the first place?)

If that is OK, then it is 100% a Céad Míle Fáilte from me.

What the **** is that meant to mean. Reeks of Enoch Powell's cricket test which would be pretty appalling coming from an Irish person.

Dannyriver wrote: »
    What the **** is that meant to mean. Reeks of Enoch Powell's cricket test which would be pretty appalling coming from an Irish person.

Ireland and it's customs and traditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

What the **** is that meant to mean.

It means don't move to Ireland and try to turn it into the turd world s******e you just came from

Blueshoe wrote: »

Why who s being trying to stop our customs and traditions? Have I missed something?

It means don't move to Ireland and try to turn it into the turd world s******e you just came from

Again what are you talking about? Are you suggesting that immigrants elect to live in poverty. A little more nuance to your sweeping remark would be helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,516 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yeah, try being a partying Irish pisshead in Saudi or the UAE or Malaysia and see how long you stay out of custody.

The local culture has primacy always, Irish migrants in other countries know that, we should accept no less.

Again what are you talking about? Are you suggesting that immigrants elect to live in poverty.

in short, Yes
    i grew up in floriduh and watched the people from the islands south of floriduh and central americans move in and turn our neighborhood into a s******e
    so again yes, have seen it firsthand

but dont worry, it could never happen in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Does this mirror anyone else's experiences of living in 'known' dangerous areas for gang violence? I always interpreted it as a sort of "whack a mole" thing with the Gardaí, where they'd clamp down on one specific set of streets, and after a few weeks or months of relative calm, the assholes involved would have found new "turf" nearby to continue their bullsh!t.

When it comes to people here advising folks to sell up and get out, this is why I would be somewhat hesitant. I'd have no problem at all recommending Cork Street / Donore Avenue or their smaller side-streets as places to live if someone asked me now, but I would have advised them to avoid like the plague if anyone had asked me six or seven years ago. On the other hand, I'd have recommended The Liberties in a heartbeat if someone had asked me in the early 2010s, but since 2014 I'd have to tell them that while my information may be out of date, the area between Pimlico and Guinness went from relatively chilled out to a dumpster fire in what seemed like a period of just one or two years. So don't assume that because your area has its share of bullsh!t right now, that it might not change significantly in a short space of time.
    It's back up around Herberton Flats/Reuben Walk area now. Few robberies in the area, Gardai arresting young fellas with knives and bats.

Personally I think it's generational, as well as Garda presence. Scumbags be scummy, then they have kids and it quiets down a bit for 15 years or so until their kids are old enough to cause trouble. That goes on for a few years until they too have kids, and round and round it goes.

in short, Yes
    i grew up in floriduh and watched the people from the islands south of floriduh and central americans move in and turn our neighborhood into a s******e
    so again yes, have seen it firsthand

but dont worry, it could never happen in Ireland

Tyrellstown

Tyrellstown

ill check it out on my next holiday over :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Why who s being trying to stop our customs and traditions? Have I missed something?

I'd say you've missed your morning anti-outrage pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

It is not a riddle. It doesn't reek of anything. It wasn't an invite to read between lines. It means what it means in the dictionary denotative sense.

If you come to Ireland - don't expect to change it into the place you came from. If you do - stay back home. Otherwise welcome.

It is not a riddle. It doesn't reek of anything. It wasn't an invite to read between lines. It means what it means in the dictionary denotative sense.

If you come to Ireland - don't expect to change it into the place you came from. If you do - stay back home. Otherwise welcome.

This should be framed and hung in arrivals in Dublin airport

Absolutely myopic way of looking at complex socio cultural issues...which places in Ireland are you talking about that you don t want changed... Darndale or Balls bridge I'm suspecting a certain amout of snobbery off u so I presume the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

You mean your customs and traditions. Irelands is a country of millions of natives and the customs and traditions are certainly not homogenous across them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,217 ✭✭✭✭biko

1 pulled a screw driver
    How come you had a screwdriver on you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

biko wrote: »
    How come you had a screwdriver on you?

That's the number 1