Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

PopTarts wrote: »
    Shoot him in the arm.. the leg?

Shoot him in the arm. Hope you hit. Wait to see if it stops him. If it doesn’t aim at the arm again?

Sure why not just shoot the knife out of his hand like Clint Eastwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

He’s on Facebook and has a kidnapper look about him.

what does a kidnapper look like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,412 ✭✭✭✭listermint

AnneFrank wrote: »
    Why are you just attacking posters, it's really not the place, it's pathetic really

Poster attacks guards doing their job.poster deserves it.

Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

You have absolutely no clue about the situation . For all you know he could have had a knife to someones throat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Just found out that I know him personally. In total shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,189 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

thebull85 wrote: »
    People here dont like when you ask the nationality of an offender.

Mainly because be someone be Brazilian, Ukranian, Syrian, Jamaican, Kenyan, Azerbaijani they are the offender. If you abduct someone or threaten a garda you face consequences regardless of nationality. Nationality doesn't diminish or enhance the crime in anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    I'm in no way bashing Gardai here btw just asking a question. It mentions in the Mirror that he was shot in the head. Isn't it usual police protocol to aim for the chest and/or legs to disable a threatening suspect?

Police are trained to kill not wound

Specialun wrote: »
    what does a kidnapper look like

If you were to ask me to draw a creep I’d probably draw him sitting on the bench in his jumper just like the Facebook picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,531 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

That's not how real life works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭bladespin

PopTarts wrote:

Try, miss and be stabbed? We're not talking about movie marksmen here.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

If you were to ask me to draw a creep I’d probably draw him sitting on the bench in his jumper just like the Facebook picture

There must be a lot of Mark Hennessy’s in the country. How do you know that’s him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

He has been shot dead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

pjohnson wrote: »
    Mainly because be someone be Brazilian, Ukranian, Syrian, Jamaican, Kenyan, Azerbaijani they are the offender. If you abduct someone or threaten a garda you face consequences regardless of nationality. Nationality doesn't diminish or enhance the crime in anyway.

But it sometimes diminishes the length of an offenders sentence.. I dont get why people have a problem when others question nationality, its a perfectly acceptable question to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

That's gotta be weird alright, I wouldn't say too much until the gardai release his details

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    I'm in no way bashing Gardai here btw just asking a question. It mentions in the Mirror that he was shot in the head. Isn't it usual police protocol to aim for the chest and/or legs to disable a threatening suspect?

No, if they shoot, they aim for the largest part of the body which is the stomach. Less chance of missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

You never really know anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,386 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

No updates on the RTE website at all. Very poor service imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Run of the mill guy, no doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I suspect they are trained to shoot for mass and to kill.

Just as an example so he does that, shoots him in the arm, misses the shoot and the guy get's him right in the neck with the knife.

There's an easy way in life to avoid these situations. One don't abduct people and secondly don't produce an knife to an armed Garda.

I think on this site, there are people who will just disagree with the Garda in all states of what they do, if the Garda was dead, it would be there fault cause they didn't shoot him or shot him in the arm, and he got away and went on to cause more mayhem, or kill himself.

Either way it's tragic, for both families, I hope the girl is found safe.

I am going to leave it there and just continue to read the comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

Really? poor service? they have been probably asked what information to release and most likely following that request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Was he wearing black trousers and black top on Facebook photo? Hopefully the poor girl turns up alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

RTÉ have confirmed he has died

There must be a lot of Mark Hennessy’s in the country. How do you know that’s him?

I’m not familiar with Facebook somebody showed me it and said it was him. I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,901 ✭✭✭CH3OH

it is reported that he has died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

I feel sorry for his wife and kids.
    What a prick.

Hope Jastine is safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,339 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Did they realise his name ? Is that it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

Hopefully there's something on his phone or computer that leads the Gardaí to the girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭JimPa

Kuva wrote: »
    You never really know anyone.

There's no need to get deep. He said he knew him. He knew him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,386 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Tippex wrote: »
    Really? poor service? they have been probably asked what information to release and most likely following that request.

They have updated the story now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Yeah because throwing out "facts" before they are confirmed really provides a good service.
    Good news sources will release confirmed information and will work with the authorities to ensure that the release or withholding of information does not impact on an ongoing situation. Let's not forget, as far as we know there is still a missing persons case active and concern for that person must be extremely high given what has unfolded.