Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus Christ, are people really that f*cking stupid?? He only had a knife? What are they supposed to do, wrestle it out of him? Shoot him in the ankles perhaps?
    This is not how the real world work i'm afraid.

What you mean some clueless lads on the internet who have seen three episodes of CSI Miami aren't more qualified than fully trained specialist armed response units of the Garda?

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭taylor3

Suckit wrote: »
    RTE adamant that she has not been found.

Could the GPS of a Nissan Quashcai be back traced?

Do they have a GPS system in them?

Yes they do have a built in GPS in them. I have a 171 myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

IT article says suspect is dead but other articles said injured. I dunno, theyre all mixed up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

in fairness the incident will need to be investigated.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Twitter commentators having a field day with their the oul Gardaashing

Plenty right here too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

It's probably fair to say that you're not dealing with a rational thinking human being in this case.

I agree,but he's in his 40's, did he snap or has he a history, so odd, is he Irish do we know ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭AmberGold

WTF are the Irish Times up to, numptys ! I’ll be reconsidering my Sub.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,110 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Jesus Christ, are people really that f*cking stupid?? He only had a knife? What are they supposed to do, wrestle it out of him? Shoot him in the ankles perhaps?
    This is not how the real world work i'm afraid.

They may have thought he was reaching for a gun, especially if they ordered him to raise his hands and he refused to cooperate.

Interesting too that they had earlier warned he was dangerous and was not to be approached by members of the public.

in fairness the incident will need to be investigated.

It already is being investigated. Every single shooting by the armed response units are immediately reported to and investigated by GSOC.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

What the absolute F*CK is happening to this country of late? 14 year old girl murdered in broad daylight. 24 year old woman abducted in broad daylight. For the love of god.

There is no longer a visible Garda presence ime, this doesn’t help. Unresourced.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Omackeral wrote: »
    Plenty right here too

I will take time to speak up for the Gardaí . Had a horrendous episode here a few weeks ago . The Gardai were amazing and here in minutes and incredibly supportive and kind .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Strazdas wrote: »
    They may have thought he was reaching for a gun, especially if they ordered him to raise his hands and he refused to cooperate.

Interesting too that they had earlier warned he was dangerous and was not to be approached by members of the public.

Wife may have noticed a knife missing in house . There are many reasons why he should not be approached

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Reading now that a tent has been erected at the scene in Cherrywood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

It already is being investigated. Every single shooting by the armed response units are immediately reported to and investigated by GSOC.

so that would be the gaurds investigating themselves then ?

No that would be GSOC. An independent statutory body.

Try to keep up here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

vicwatson wrote: »
    There is no longer a visible Garda presence ime, this doesn’t help. Unresourced.

You can't have a Garda on every street corner up and down the country. I don't see how it's the Gardai's fault. They located this suspect and are questioning two others in the murder of the poor 14 year old girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

IT article says suspect is dead but other articles said injured. I dunno, theyre all mixed up

The HSE must be conducting the tests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Locking this for a little while for a clean up. Same idiots that trolled in the Ana thread are at it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod- Wheres Me Jumper? banned for a week and thread banned. I'm not going to remove his posts. Please don't reply to him/her.

A few others have picked up cards for reacting. Please report posts and don't react.

This is a pretty fast moving thread so its hard for us to keep up as this closure has proven. I left when it was on 58 posts and 20 minutes later it was at 290.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

The suspect is dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭CZ 453

She is still missing

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

A journalist has confirmed the suspect is dead and Jastine was not with him.

https://mobile.twitter.com/NI_ALLO

AnneFrank wrote: »
    , is he Irish do we know ?

What does this have to do with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭JimPa

Suspect dead and she is still missing. It's not looking at all good for her. I'd guess that in this day and age though his movements will be tracked.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So according to rte

Man with a knife was shot multiple times and is no in a critical condition .
    No sign of the abducted girl .

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0520/964777-enniskerry/

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Man shot by #garda detective in Cherrywood is now deceased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

You can't have a Garda on every street corner up and down the country. I don't see how it's the Gardai's fault. They located this suspect and are questioning two others in the murder of the poor 14 year old girl.

I didn't read that as blaming the guards, just that they need more resources, and back up to their jobs.

Praying here she is found :(

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭MactheKnife90

Can't be over critical of a detective taking the decision to shoot the suspect with a knife. No one has any idea what he was presented with. If suspect ran at him with a knife what choice did he have?? Too many armchair experts as usual

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I’m not suggesting that but there is little or no visible presence and this does not help. I didn’t blame the Gardai.