Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crib Controversy at Beaumont Hospital

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

The 12 days of Christmas are actually between Christmas Day and Little Christmas (6th Jan) .
    Expect 3 French hens today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Well you could have just told us that you are a tree hugger... the economic case is also enormous. A lot of businesses would go broke without this season. But I guess that really wouldn't matter to you

I guess you'll be up for some of my new line of Xmas traditional smoky coal. Individually wrapped in polystyrene, in a lead painted box.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

splinter65 wrote: »
    Christmas isn’t over until the 3 wise men come bearing gifts on Jan 6.
    The cribs will be up for another week to 10 days after that.
    Christmas only started on Christmas Eve night.
    You’re confusing it with commercial retail Christmas that you worship which started in September.
    Retail has now moved on to Valentines Day/St Patrick’s Day and creme eggs.

6 Jan? Jaysus they surely could have found some better digs rather than staying in a crib away from home for 13 days waiting for 3 random blokes to show up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Crea wrote: »
    The 12 days of Christmas are actually between Christmas Day and Little Christmas (6th Jan) .

That's 13 days.
    Use your fingers if you don't believe me.

That's 13 days.

Look hes showing you the one he missed.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Why don't you just write 'Christmas'? Are you that petty?
    I know this poster has now been banned, but for anyone else harbouring an Xmas grudge: the X actually stands for Chi-Rho; chi (x) and rho (p) being the initials of Jesus Christ in Greek. X has been used for centuries to indicate Jesus, including the beautiful Chi-Rho page in the book of Kells.

Conversely; the Christmas tree, beloved of many and with all kinds of Christian symbolism now attached, is actually specifically prohibited by the bible.

I did not know that. I just used it because it was shorter and I was on my phone earlier.

Like I said... peoples livelihoods don't matter to you... and that is absolutely fine... we live in a democracy after all :)

It's also my right to disagree with your tree hugging, leftist, environmentalism opinion :) Happy New Year!

So you have no problem with wasteful and harmful products. Especially straw based ones.

Not all livelihoods are a contributor to society.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,159 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

beauf wrote: »
    Xmas and Santa's days are numbered. I'm not sure I'll miss it..

There have been big midwinter celebrations in this country for at least 5000 years, I doubt that's going to end any time soon. But it's likely to become less and less religious in character over time. As it is, most of what we associate with Christmas is either pagan in origin or was more or less made up within the last 150 years.

Why don't you just write 'Christmas'? Are you that petty?

It's a commonly held ignorant misconception that Xmas is disrespectful in some way. The use of X to symbolise Christ is many hundreds of years old.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xmas
    The word "Christ" and its compounds, including "Christmas", have been abbreviated in English for at least the past 1,000 years, long before the modern "Xmas" was commonly used. "Christ" was often written as "Xρ" or "Xt"; there are references in the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle as far back as 1021. This X and P arose as the uppercase forms of the Greek letters χ (Ch) and ρ (R) used in ancient abbreviations for Χριστος (Greek for "Christ").[1] The labarum, an amalgamation of the two Greek letters rendered as ☧,[note 1] is a symbol often used to represent Christ in Catholic, Protestant, and Orthodox Christian Churches.[19]

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) and the OED Supplement have cited usages of "X-" or "Xp-" for "Christ-" as early as 1485. The terms "Xtian" and less commonly "Xpian" have also been used for "Christian". The OED further cites usage of "Xtianity" for "Christianity" from 1634.[1] According to Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of English Usage, most of the evidence for these words comes from "educated Englishmen who knew their Greek".[11]

In ancient Christian art, χ and χρ are abbreviations for Christ's name.[20] In many manuscripts of the New Testament and icons, Χ is an abbreviation for Χριστος,[21] as is XC (the first and last letters in Greek, using the lunate sigma);[22] compare IC for Jesus in Greek.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

...As it is, most of what we associate with Christmas is either pagan in origin or was more or less made up within the last 150 years....

Thats what I find interesting. So it could easily change. Look how communications and media have changed in our lifetime.
    e custom of decorating an entire small tree was unknown in Britain until some two centuries ago. At the time of the personal union with Hanover, George III's German-born wife, Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, introduced a Christmas tree at a party she gave for children in 1800.[33] The custom did not at first spread much beyond the royal family....

.. as a report from Berlin in 1858 contrasts the situation there where "Every family has its own" with that of Britain, where Christmas trees were still the preserve of the wealthy or the "romantic".[47]...

..by the mid-1920s the use of Christmas trees had spread to all classes....

..In Russia, the Christmas tree was banned after the October Revolution[64] but then reinstated as a New-year spruce (Новогодняя ёлка, Novogodnyaya yolka) in 1935. ..

That would for many middle aged people, for their grand parents, xmas trees may have been a new thing..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

FTA69 wrote: »
    Oh for God’s sake. I’m an atheist and secularist

That's some funny shīt.

That would for many middle aged people, for their grand parents, xmas trees may have been a new thing..

My grandparents (both born 1900) had a crib and a small artificial tree when I was a little boy, I wish I'd got the chance a few years later to ask them about what Christmas was like for their grandparents, but by that time she was dead and he had dementia.

My mam had some good stories too but many more were lost, as she also succumbed to the same illness.

Hope to feck it's not hereditary... but I've little doubt that Christmas was quite different in their time. It's already quite a bit different today than it was when I was a child.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

Probably differs a lot from location to location. My parents came from farming with horses and no electricity and no cars, gas lamps and candles, steam cranes and engines. I never thought to ask them about xmas decorations in their youth.

Whats different about xmas for you? For me I would say it feels more commercial sales event than anything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

That's 13 days.

Starting on the 26th - not including Christmas day

• Registered Users Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭storker

You atheists are just full of endless joy.

Don't tar all atheists with the same brush. Atheism is a broad...er...church. :D Some of us love Christmas and everything that goes with it. And some of us find militant atheists just as much of a pain in the behind as everyone else. Some people just don't seem to do perspective or nuance; some of those are atheists, some are religious. It's a human thing.

Our house is decorated like a shrine to Christmas, Santa visits and we go to the evening mass (at which my daughters serve). I have no issues with any of it. I think enjoying the festival is more important than getting in a knot over the symbolism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

jesus' birth was originally not celebrated at years end and they moved it cause it suited Christian leaders to take over the popular pagan Yule/mid winter festival

there was also no marriage ceremony until the Christian church decided to gain control of people's relationships in the middle ages

they did the same with schools and hospitals in Ireland. indoctrination

• Registered Users Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭storker

For me I would say it feels more commercial sales event than anything else.

I'd say that Christmas is whatever each person makes it for themselves. The only thing that bothers me about the commercial aspect is that it starts far too early. If people are buying presents for each other, then obviously they have to buy them somewhere. It follows logically then that businesses that sell presents are going to say "buy your presents from us"; they'd be crazy not to. This is all the "commercialisation of Christmas" amounts to, as far as I can see. Yes, it's very in-your-face, but that doesn't mean it's what Christmas is about. What Christmas is about is determined by what it means to the individual and how they celebrate it.

Whats different about xmas for you? For me I would say it feels more commercial sales event than anything else.

The length of time it goes on for is the big one. It's not that long ago that it would be unheard of to see christmas stuff in the shops before December. I'm pretty sure the toy show was later then and as a child you felt that that was when the excitement started, but now the build up has been going on for weeks by that point. The kids are emotionally shattered by the time the big day arrives!

The sheer amount of crap that people buy has gone up exponentially. It's nice to give someone a gift you know will be appreciated, but a lot of stuff is bought for the sake of it and there's lots of tacky novelty crap that will soon end up in a bin.

Nobody used to decorate the outside of their houses either, a candle or lamp in the window would have been the extent of it.

If the cribs weren’t there, the bloods would just replace them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Creative83

If the cribs weren’t there, the bloods would just replace them

I see what you did there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

storker wrote: »
    Don't tar all atheists with the same brush. Atheism is a broad...er...church. :D Some of us love Christmas and everything that goes with it. And some of us find militant atheists just as much of a pain in the behind as everyone else. Some people just don't seem to do perspective or nuance; some of those are atheists, some are religious. It's a human thing.

Our house is decorated like a shrine to Christmas, Santa visits and we go to the evening mass (at which my daughters serve). I have no issues with any of it. I think enjoying the festival is more important than getting in a knot over the symbolism.

The militant Atheists should call themselves what they really are. God haters.They clearly believe in God. Otherwise they would be Mentally unwell to have such hatred from someone they claim doesn't exist.

Your post is a logical failure.

Atheists don't believe that god(s) exist, one can't hate what doesn't exist. I'd hate the bogeyman if he existed, but he doesn't.

It's OK for atheists to hate religions/churches however, because they do exist, and they do harm in the real world to real people, which is a bad thing.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    The militant Atheists should call themselves what they really are. God haters.They clearly believe in God. Otherwise they would be Mentally unwell to have such hatred from someone they claim doesn't exist.

Christians/Catholics/Protestants believe in 199/200 religions are nonsense.
    Atheists believe 200/200 religions are nonsense.

Are there some annoying atheists? Absolutely. Can't stand some of them meself. Same way there are annoying Catholics. And annoying Protestants. And annoying Muslims. And annoying dog owners. And annoying ... Well, you get the picture. For some people, their "label" is their passion, and they fight to tell everyone about it, and how wrong they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

Unfortunately for athiests God does exist. He is God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. Also His time of judgement has come.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Unfortunately for athiests God does exist. He is God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. Also His time of judgement has come.

Did he text you?

What a load of baloney

• Registered Users Posts: 14,360 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

For what is he being judged?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

dot worry , your god will allow me to change my mind if I realise he exists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

Don't think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,360 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

No, I won't.