Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

* Ryanair * Ryanair * Ryanair *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,296 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Eire girl wrote: »
    If you book your bags through the app do you then have to follow through & check in through the app or can you still check in/print boarding passes on a computer? Thanks!

Of course you can, purchasing add ons and check in have no correlation.

Infact, you can print off from a computer and access passes from a phone at the same time. (Just dont use one at security and the other at the gate)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Eire girl

JCX BXC wrote: »
    Of course you can, purchasing add ons and check in have no correlation.

Infact, you can print off from a computer and access passes from a phone at the same time. (Just dont use one at security and the other at the gate)

Grand, thanks, just wasn't sure if you were tied in to using one format whether you had to stick to that or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭sdanseo

A few little things I noticed at the weekend having not flown RYR for about three/four years.

Checked in at +4 days on the outbound leg. Row 20. Checked in about 18hrs before on the inbound leg, row 23. If the row order above is anything to be believed then the vast majority of people must check in on the morning or day of their flight. A few of our party did this and were in rows 3, 7 and 10 etc.

I had no trouble swapping seats before takeoff. I sat down in 20E as allocated, party of three rocked up to sit in 20C, D and F. Two of my own party were in 20 A and B so we naturally swapped on the spot. Crew simply didn't care or notice.

Cabin bag only and it was checked for free both times. Zero hassle at either carousel - bag was there within 60 seconds of reaching for both legs. If anything it was less hassle than having to haul it in and out of the overhead bins but you may want to keep a laptop etc on your person in its own small bag to avoid not having access to it.

Overall I'm delighted with them. It's no frills but I expected no frills and for me the lack of these things means boarding goes faster and the flight arrives on time. Easy when you're prepared for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,258 ✭✭✭joeysoap

sdanseo wrote: »

I sat down in 20E as allocated, party of three rocked up to sit in 20C, D and F. Two of my own party were in 20 A and B so we naturally swapped on the spot.

Cabin bag only and it was checked for free both times. Zero hassle at either carousel - bag was there within 60 seconds of reaching for both legs. If anything it was less hassle than having to haul it in and out of the overhead bins .......

Were the three of you on the one booking? If so, odd that they would allocate two of you to 20a and 20b and the third to 20e? Or were you on two seperate bookings and just checking in at approx the same time?

When you say checked in do you mean handed up at boarding gate? Or actually checked in? I agree with the speed of bags arriving on the carousel and the pleasure of not carrying them on board. Had the exact experience in April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭sdanseo

joeysoap wrote: »
    Were the three of you on the one booking? If so, odd that they would allocate two of you to 20a and 20b and the third to 20e? Or were you on two seperate bookings and just checking in at approx the same time?

All on different bookings, there were 9 of us altogether.
    joeysoap wrote: »
    When you say checked in do you mean handed up at boarding gate? Or actually checked in? I agree with the speed of bags arriving on the carousel and the pleasure of not carrying them on board. Had the exact experience in April.

Taken off us at the gate because of the 90-bag rule. Didn't seem to be just wheelie bags either, one of the lads had a biggish holdall that was also checked, and there was a bit of space left in the overheads - but we weren't bothered in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

A woman on the late Ryanair flight out of Gatwick to Shannon walked up to the front of the plane then turned back and asked the flight attendant 'Is the ladies toilet down this way?' I nearly spite out my wine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,149 ✭✭✭homer911

Anyone travelled on the new ryanair planes with the thinner seats? Was on a flight back from Nice at the weekend and experienced one of these - the seats are terrible - I've had a bad back all week as a result, zero lumbar support - this is a real turn-off for future flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

homer911 wrote: »
    Anyone travelled on the new ryanair planes with the thinner seats? Was on a flight back from Nice at the weekend and experienced one of these - the seats are terrible - I've had a bad back all week as a result, zero lumbar support - this is a real turn-off for future flights

Found them fine to be honest, and flew back from Nice on one of them myself. Slightly improved legroom too with the thinner seats.

I found them ok too. Definitely gives a feeling of more space, especially overhead with the new overhead bins.

YFlyer wrote: »
    A woman on the late Ryanair flight out of Gatwick to Shannon walked up to the front of the plane then turned back and asked the flight attendant 'Is the ladies toilet down this way?' I nearly spite out my wine :D

And your smoked salmon sandwich :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Anyone travelled on the new ryanair planes with the thinner seats?
    I thought they were comfortable.
    The overhead bins are huge !
    Much prefer the new interior, but (despite flying very frequently) I only came across these new planes only once so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭EverythingGood

otnomart wrote: »
    I thought they were comfortable.
    The overhead bins are huge !
    Much prefer the new interior, but (despite flying very frequently) I only came across these new planes only once so far.

Me too, I fly fairly regularly, only been on the NG aircraft once - the interior is much better and the overhead bins are great.

Must be me so. I am 6' 4" and never found the Ryanair seats very comfortable - definitely designed for someone smaller. Back still sore!

I do agree that the colour scheme is much easier on the eyes and the pivoting bins are easier to use, although I nearly cracked someone on the head when I opened mine after the flight - I'm waiting to hear about the first case of concussion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Yup I've been on the new ones a couple of times now. I much prefer the new seats. It feels like you've loads of room.

Separate note, the folks flew into Stansted last night. Both on the same booking and checked in at same time. They were allocated seats away from each other. The mother is not impressed. I've not asked when check in was done. They're really pushing people to pay for allocated seats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

Anyone got any pics of this new interior (yes I am lazy and cba googling, plus I'm on my way out the door!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

hdowney wrote: »
    Anyone got any pics of this new interior (yes I am lazy and cba googling, plus I'm on my way out the door!)

2FBCA56B00000578-3381937-image-a-20_1451745757275.jpg

MUCH better than the older design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

Oooh that is much nicer on the eyes. Here's hoping I fly on the new planes later this year. The BRIGHT yellow at 6am was never nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Much much nicer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

testicles wrote: »

That's odd, did you try another browser or check if you have any addons (ad block) that might interfere ?

The Irish Times reporting today on Ryanair random allocated seating splitting people up:

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ryanair-denies-deliberately-separating-passengers-to-make-money-1.3110490

Definitely experienced this myself recently, and it was apparent on the flight that a lot of other people did as well. Despite the claims from Ryanair, this is definitely either a change in policy, or a change in the seat allocation rules. Either way its a case of gouging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭Dymo

The Irish Times reporting today on Ryanair random allocated seating splitting people up:

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ryanair-denies-deliberately-separating-passengers-to-make-money-1.3110490

Definitely experienced this myself recently, and it was apparent on the flight that a lot of other people did as well. Despite the claims from Ryanair, this is definitely either a change in policy, or a change in the seat allocation rules. Either way its a case of gouging!

I know 6 people that have experienced this in the last 3 weeks and there was a discussion on a UK forum discussing the same thing. And it happened on the return flights too.

Typical O Leary, tries to find any angle possible to piss off the customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I really don't get why people are making a big song and dance about not getting allocated seats together. With Children under 8 I can understand. However over that, what's the big deal.
    Yeah so you mightn't be able to sit beside your son/friend/gf/wife for an hour or two.

Whoop dee doo. It's a short flight, people should relax. You're either going to be with the person your flying with for the next few days or you've just spent the last few days in each others company.
    During which time both would have spent the time of that flight ignoring each other with their heads in their phones.

I really don't get why people are making a big song and dance about not getting allocated seats together. With Children under 8 I can understand. However over that, what's the big deal.
    Yeah so you mightn't be able to sit beside your son/friend/gf/wife for an hour or two.

Whoop dee doo. It's a short flight, people should relax. You're either going to be with the person your flying with for the next few days or you've just spent the last few days in each others company.
    During which time both would have spent the time of that flight ignoring each other with their heads in their phones.

Sit beside a fat smelly slob who falls asleep before takeoff, utilising both armrests and leaving no opportunity for you to get out and go to the bathroom on your lovely 4 hour flight to Lanzarote and let me know if you feel the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Dymo wrote: »

Typical O Leary, tries to find any angle possible to piss off the customer.

Nobodys stopping you from paying 1.5-3x for the same flight with Aer Lingus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Sit beside a fat smelly slob who falls asleep before takeoff, utilising both armrests and leaving no opportunity for you to get out and go to the bathroom on your lovely 4 hour flight to Lanzarote and let me know if you feel the same.

That can happen with or without paying for assigned seats.

ED E wrote: »

And sometimes less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,569 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Never hear of waking someone up ? A gentle dig works wonders.

yabadabado wrote: »
    Never hear of waking someone up ? A gentle dig works wonders.

The touchdown of the aircraft was hardly enough to wake this yoke up, say he had a few relaxing drinks before the flight, I could smell them anyway.

Not getting allocated a seat beside your friend/family shouldn't be any big deal to a few adults.Different story for a parent and kids but anyone over 18 needs to calm the **** down .

That can happen with or without paying for assigned seats.

Not when you cushion yourself with family members to your left (or right) ;)

yabadabado wrote: »
    Not getting allocated a seat beside your friend/family shouldn't be any big deal to a few adults.Different story for a parent and kids but anyone over 18 needs to calm the **** down .

Are you serious though? Yeah don't throw a fit like an entitled little **** but it's pretty obvious why people would like to seated with their companions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,278 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Are you serious though? Yeah don't throw a fit like an entitled little **** but it's pretty obvious why people would like to seated with their companions.

Language in this post is unnecessary/excessive. Calm it down.,

Just in case I wasn't clear, I wasn't referring to anyone in particular in my post just a general remark.

I'm deadly serious. If I want to guarantee a seat beside my companions then I can pay for it or take my chances with the seat allocator.
    Is it ideal obviously not but I can survive surrounded by strangers for a few hours if I need to.

It's a seat on a plane for a few hours nothing to be getting worked up about imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭tina1040

The issue is not being seated apart when you leave it til 4 days before and there are only single seats left, it's intentionally being seated apart while plenty of available seats. Yes most adults can survive a flight alone but why intentionally?

tina1040 wrote: »
    The issue is not being seated apart when you leave it til 4 days before and there are only single seats left, it's intentionally being seated apart while plenty of available seats. Yes most adults can survive a flight alone but why intentionally?

I thought it was fairly obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,997 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

The touchdown of the aircraft was hardly enough to wake this yoke up, say he had a few relaxing drinks before the flight, I could smell them anyway.

Did you enjoy your AA Convention on The Costa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭BarryM

Apart altogether from the pros and cons of sitting alone or with friends and family, did no one notice the feeble responses of ryr to the IT piece?

"policy since 2014"

"more people travelling"

I don't recall not having side by side since 2014 and have never paid ryr for a seat. We'll see next time....

Did you enjoy your AA Convention on The Costa?

At least if I had went to the Costa I'd have had a shorter flight ;)

In all seriousness though, my point being it is not ideal to be sitting away from your companions. Yes you can always be sitting beside strangers but there's a slight difference between being beside one of your travelling companions and then then being the other side of the plane.

Travelling by yourself? No problem? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭p15574

Especially in the case of an emergency. We've seen in the U.S. where idiots insisted on retrieving their baggage before evacuating. How much worse would it be if people are trying to make their way backwards and forwards to ensure loved ones get out? It would be absolute chaos, and could lead to loss of life. I think this new strategy should be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,665 ✭✭✭Kat1170

p15574 wrote: »
    Especially in the case of an emergency. We've seen in the U.S. where idiots insisted on retrieving their baggage before evacuating. How much worse would it be if people are trying to make their way backwards and forwards to ensure loved ones get out? It would be absolute chaos, and could lead to loss of life. I think this new strategy should be banned.

Over reaction, Much ?????? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

What happens if there is a party of twenty on board. NOBODY OFF UNTIL MY PARTY IS ALL TOGETHER AND ACCOUNTED FOR !!!!!!

I don't think you are cut out for air travel :cool::cool:

a646c45633cfab95a2aaf727480883aba7de652148fb3601db61853a62d3b3da.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭dermiestv

Very mean-spirited and retrograde step when they could recoup the revenue elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

ED E wrote: »

Or the extra €2 to book a seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭p15574

MOH wrote: »
    Or the extra ?2 to book a seat

But what if you do pay the extra to sit with your companion, and there's an emergency, and there's dozens of other people who didn't, trying to check on an elderly parent or teenage children or disabled wife, all blocking aisles with traffic going in all directions? It only takes one couple going in the wrong directions to clog up the aisle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,665 ✭✭✭Kat1170

We'd all be a lot safer if a large number of people that post here took the ferry ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭mattser

Did a 4 day check in today for the UK. She's in 10B and I'm 21B. No probs for going to UK. If travelling 3 or 4 hours I'll pay extra for seats.
    In all fairness though, it is fairly ****ty for those with kids/elderly etc.