Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread - **MOD NOTE POST #1**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭fowlerDgrowler

Deise Gael wrote: »

Of course I'll be pilloried for saying this but Paudie Mahony is not up to it from general play and delivers virtually nothing.

Just compare the contribution of Thomas Ryan and Stephen Roche today.

It depends if you want a combative pedestrian line with Brick and Paudie in it to draw frees.

Paudie will put frees over all daybut that will never be enough to win an All Ireland

Serious? Maurice misses on the frees showed how important Mahony is to us, Mahony only needs a split second shot and has the wrists to point from anywhere within the 45, very few forwards in Ireland with that ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Serious? Maurice misses on the frees showed how important Mahony is to us, Mahony only needs a split second shot and has the wrists to point from anywhere within the 45, very few forwards in Ireland with that ability.

Agreed, rubbish talk saying Mahony offers nothing.

Go back to the Clare game in Munster and go back to Croke Park against Kilkenny last summer. He was pure class in both games. Also, cast your mind back to 2015 before he got injured. He was the playmaker for the team - everything ran through him in that league campaign. He is the best forward we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

Motivator wrote: »
    Agreed, rubbish talk saying Mahony offers nothing.

Go back to the Clare game in Munster and go back to Croke Park against Kilkenny last summer. He was pure class in both games. Also, cast your mind back to 2015 before he got injured. He was the playmaker for the team - everything ran through him in that league campaign. He is the best forward we have.

I'm not singling out Paudie, we all know his qualities.

But when is last time under McGrath we have see two forwards like Thomas Ryan and Midget Roche get a ball and put the head down and go for goal?

Those two lads put their hands up today but what do you thin their chances are of starting come championship?

FFS, anyone involved in club hurling knows how good Tommy Ryan is but how many chances has he got under McGrath compared to Jake Dillon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

Pretty pi**ed off earlier but have calmed down a bit now. Strong Galway team on paper who had some awful wides and missed a penalty (though otherwise, Canning was superb). Very pleased with TDB, Gleeson, Devine, Foran, Keating, Ryan and Roche - not so with Moran (couldn't take a proper sideline to save his life).

The impact of the subs was almost comical .... headless chickens comes to mind ... was like we were throwing the game.

Anyway, 11 weeks to wait until the next outing - this league campaign can now be filed under 'B' (for bin).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

It's eloquent btw so he could teach you a thing or two ;-)

I do believe Waterford have improved again this year and there are a lot of positives to be taken out of the league, except for Tipp I don't believe Waterford will fear anyone in the championship.

He will teach me **** all because unlike the muppets supporting him I can see through his bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Heard this morning that Murphy was looking for more money and when he didn't get it he walked. Apparently the same thing happened with his own club a few years ago.

Not sure that is true, but was surprised that Murphy even joined the management team. the comment that McGrath can't seem to work with other people, personally think this is a rubbish comment without even knowing the man. As for the fella that left, that would be much more apt. Pity O'Brien left the panel, hopefully he did not leave because Murphy did, that would be blind allegiance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Limestone1

I'm not singling out Paudie, we all know his qualities.

But when is last time under McGrath we have see two forwards like Thomas Ryan and Midget Roche get a ball and put the head down and go for goal?

Those two lads put their hands up today but what do you thin their chances are of starting come championship?

FFS, anyone involved in club hurling knows how good Tommy Ryan is but how many chances has he got under McGrath compared to Jake Dillon?

er ... you did single out Paudie - As per other posts he should have been the free taker when he came on ...

Agree with you on Thomas Ryan - he was very impressive today . Great to see the new faces doing well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

All or nothing for McGrath now. Going by team selection he was not too worried about that game win or lose, suggesting he's targeting an AI championship and only that.

Based on this he should be judged this year on championship alone; if he's sacrificing potential league titles he can be judged harshly. Time will tell!

Not his biggest fan but I admire the balls of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭fowlerDgrowler

cul beag wrote: »
    He will teach me **** all because unlike the muppets supporting him I can see through his bull****.

What bull, other intercounty managers have said they don't like playing Waterford as they adjust there style of play so often in matches, how are you able to see it and they can't??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭redlead

Unbelievable to blow two such big leads but a lot of lads put their hand up today and that's what you want to see. Ryan was absolutely brilliant, he couldn't possibly do anymore to put himself into contention. Easy say he's too light for championship but he deserves a chance. Devine might be a bit rough around the edges skill wise but he always causes havoc in defences, especially when he runs at them.

It was nice to see us playing a bit of proper hurling today. Hard to know what to make of McGrath. Looked like when we were in danger of winning the game, he took off our best player and sent on two forwards that are going to contribute little to how we were playing at the time. Brick suits the defensive style and Mahony realistically is there to take frees, yet didn't take them when he came on.

It was actually in the Galway game last year when we played our B team that we looked most impressive but I think Derek has a set team and style in his head and that's not going to change. Hopefully I'm wrong and he's open to change.

Limestone1 wrote: »
    er ... you did single out Paudie - As per other posts he should have been the free taker when he came on ...

Agree with you on Thomas Ryan - he was very impressive today . Great to see the new faces doing well

Of course he should have been free taker when he came on. That's a no brainer.

I'm more interested in the Championship and and the type of game we should be playing.

I can't help but think back to my own club and our capitulation against Thurles Sars. It's all very well to be parading from wing to wing while Pauric Maher is catching balls for fun hurling the s*it out of us. Paudie or none of our lads laid a glove on him that day.

Under Mcgrath, who do you think will?

Do you really expect Brick at this hour of his life to keep it in to Maher for seventy minutes?

I know one thing. The only way to take on Tipp's or any backline is with directness and pace. McGrath's teams off neither.

My only hope is that Cork pull a rabbit out of the hat and we don't have to face Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,494 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Of course he should have been free taker when he came on. That's a no brainer.

I'm more interested in the Championship and and the type of game we should be playing.

I can't help but think back to my own club and our capitulation against Thurles Sars. It's all very well to be parading from wing to wing while Pauric Maher is catching balls for fun hurling the s*it out of us. Paudie or none of our lads laid a glove on him that day.

Under Mcgrath, who do you think will?

Do you really expect Brick at this hour of his life to keep it in to Maher for seventy minutes?

I know one thing. The only way to take on Tipp's or any backline is with directness and pace. McGrath's teams off neither.

My only hope is that Cork pull a rabbit out of the hat and we don't have to face Tipp.

mixed about that outcome tbh, would love too face Tipp on the 18th June as it will be a true reflection of where we are and if it all goes tits up we can go back to the drawing board (for the short turn around Round 1 of the Qualifers take place on the 1st July). How daunting would the prospect of playing Tipp in the All Ireland series after losing to Cork or in the Munster final (we could also play them if we won munster too) ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭redlead

PTH2009 wrote: »
    mixed about that outcome tbh, would love too face Tipp on the 18th June as it will be a true reflection of where we are and if it all goes tits up we can go back to the drawing board (for the short turn around Round 1 of the Qualifers take place on the 1st July). How daunting would the prospect of playing Tipp in the All Ireland series after losing to Cork or in the Munster final (we could also play them if we won munster too) ???

You don't win all Ireland's unless you beat top teams at the end of the day. We'll have to beat Tipp at some stage if we want to win an All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,494 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

redlead wrote: »
    You don't win all Ireland's unless you beat top teams at the end of the day. We'll have to beat Tipp at some stage if we want to win an All Ireland.

Clare in 2013 got an easy route didnt play either Kilkenny or Tipp

Id take that anyday but its very true you have beat the best to be the best

What bull, other intercounty managers have said they don't like playing Waterford as they adjust there style of play so often in matches, how are you able to see it and they can't??

Are you joking me?

Tipp playing us is, for them, like a day off.

They don't even have to get out of second gear.

They laugh at what we have to offer against them.

But, then again, maybe, just maybe the Messiah has something up his sleeve.

If he has, I will be the first on here to say in an erudite way and - in the vernacular of that most learned sage, Derek and with apologies to the rest of the uneducated in Waterford - Mea Culpa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Matt The Thresher

Hey lads dose ur guy spend a lot a time at the feeding trough.

I was watchin him tday with da banin hat on the tele and fcuk me he reminded me of Shrek.

Our man now mickey ryan is a pure torobred not a pick a mate on him, da same w1th cody and Donohue an Gilroy and all them biys. dey set an auld example like.

shur u only have to look at cheedar and Kelly, they'd be the same auld go as McGrath.

lads ye'll win fcuk all wih fells like that

Shur tis the same as mata harney lookin after the auld health.

fcuk me shur how wud any biy take that lad serios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

We're the biggest shower of complainers in the country by a country mile... He wasn't targeting the league semi finals and so he rested a few players and gave others a chance....grand

We play really well for 50mins and then bring on the experienced lads to close out the game, unfortunately things don't go our way.... If he left the lads on who were tired and we ended up losing....then he'd get slaughtered for not acting, like the man can't win either way.

I'm sick of it really, a lot of posters have something against him. I'm not a fan of the defensive set up but I believe he has something saved for the summer, thank god we're off for a few weeks cause this thread has gone to the dogs... Like seriously people are complaining that Mcgrath brought on Noel Connors, Paudie Mahony and Brick Walsh to try close out the game.....are ye having a laugh?

I'm definitely slow on the uptake tonight. How I didn't see you're a troll is beyond me. Thankfully there's a logical explanation to your posts.

I was watchin him tday with da banin hat on the tele and fcuk me he reminded me of Shrek.

Our man now mickey ryan is a pure torobred not a pick a mate on him, da same w1th cody and Donohue an Gilroy and all them biys. dey set an auld example like.

shur u only have to look at cheedar and Kelly, they'd be the same auld go as McGrath.

Shrek😂😂😂😂Brilliant 👋👋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 fieldcow

cul beag wrote: »
    Shrek😂😂😂😂Brilliant 👋👋

Sums you up. Can't put your personal feelings towards McGrath aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Great to see people who don't have English as their first language taking such an interest in the GAA. Welcome to Ireland friend 😀

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

No but the wind would obviously play a part in this, if you look back at matches in Salthill a lot of teams have had big leads turned around against the wild Atlantic winds in the second half, even look at Maurice's free which he hit sweetly and as hard as he could but it dropped short.

Hurling is a game in which stages of the match one team has the momentum. Galway had it in the final quarter and we couldn't regain it, we shouldn't of lost but did. We need now to move on and focus on the championship

There is a phrase
    Winners get experience... Losers make excuses

Are we to expect a gust of wind as an excuse if tipp hammer them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

http://www.learn-english-online.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

dont know what langue he is speaking but this quote sums up this thread , ye are as mad as brushes on here to be fair , and derrick gets a fair raw deal , i dont like blanket defending hurling but to be fair he has done a pretty good job up to now , lets say this is his last year who do you bring in ?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

dont know what langue he is speaking but this quote sums up this thread , ye are as mad as brushes on here to be fair , and derrick gets a fair raw deal , i dont like blanket defending hurling but to be fair he has done a pretty good job up to now , lets say this is his last year who do you bring in ?

Davy of course ;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

I hope the people on here yesterday that said they were happy with the team that was selected because it meant wed be out of the league are happy to stand over those comments today. If people want to delude themselves into thinking that what happened today was a positive then good luck. Having beaten Clare last week we should have looked to pick up the momentum a little and push on again this week and be in the best possible condition leading up to championship.

Bizarre team selections, persistence with a flawed system, a selector stepping aside with no immediate replacement. From the outside looking in, everything looks like a bit of a mess at the moment. If people think we are ready to challenge for All Ireland honours this year they are miles off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Davy of course ;);)

give wexford a year or two ...... chill the beans as he says himself ....very expensive beans :rolleyes:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

give wexford a year or two ...... chill the beans as he says himself ....very expensive beans

We will be paying for him for a long time yet ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Bizarre team selections, persistence with a flawed system, a selector stepping aside with immediate replacement. From the outside looking in, everything looks like a bit of a mess at the moment.

Who is the immediate replacement as selector?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Who is the immediate replacement as selector?
    Sorry I meant 'no' immediate replacement. Murphy was a strange choice from the start anyway. Someone from the outside with experience at this level is needed now to freshen things up. A fresh voice. I know if I was a player there's only so much of McGrath and Dan I could listen to