Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread - **MOD NOTE POST #1**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Guess I won't be heading to the semis finals on Easter Sunday but the job for this league campaign is done and this is bonus territory

It's time for the new guys to shine and show what there made of. Remember last year with a similar experimental side we drew with Galway

Can see Galway winning well but this match will not have a baring on the rest of the year. I hope this team puts in a huge performance Sunday[/

That's nearly a bit of positivity from you fair play . They will probably win now. 😀😀😀

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

cul beag wrote: »

What bull. Bottom line is we DIDN'T win the second league title, we got an embarrassing hammering in the Munster final.We had 2 chances against KK and couldn't put them away. Those are the FACTS. Any full time manager has to live by his results and his success NOT moral victories.
    Cheap shot, even by your standards. What he or any other intercounty manager does in their professional life bears no relevance to the argument. Plenty other managers in the past have been on career breaks, study breaks, even unemployed. Dosent mean because they are perceived to have more time on their hands that expectations should be higher

Gavlor wrote: »

So you think we should go all out to beat Galway, all out again In the semi and then give the final a right lash?? Peaking in April hasn't served us well so far so why not take a different approach?

Winning the league isn't worth a toss, it's akin to the Sargent cup in club hurling. Passage have won it last year but nobody remembers and nobody cares.

It's all about the championship
    Sorry, I don't buy it. KK have won more leagues than most under Brian Cody, Tipp the best side in the land at the moment are going strongly for it this year. No excuses from them about waiting to peak in the summer. Weve waited to peak plenty times in the past and that peak never came. No ones saying we go all out against Galway but we should at least be building up some sort of momentum towards the summer. No reason you cant do it without trying some of the younger lads getting game time too. Don't try and tell me we'd be better off going into championship going out tamely with a largely second string side on Sunday than having got to a league final or even semi final having had a decent cut off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Motivator wrote: »
    So you think it's ok to put out a weakened team in the 1/4 final of a national competition? Give me a break.

How many league titles have we got? I don't think a county with 3 league titles should be taking any game lightly.

Yep, I'm fine with that. The league is a warm up for the championship and nothing else. Forget about the "national title", its bordering on irrelevant. the Waterford crystal is the only other Munster title we can win but nobody cares about that!!

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Sorry, I don't buy it. KK have won more leagues than most under Brian Cody, Tipp the best side in the land at the moment are going strongly for it this year. No excuses from them about waiting to peak in the summer. Weve waited to peak plenty times in the past and that peak never came. No ones saying we go all out against Galway but we should at least be building up some sort of momentum towards the summer. No reason you cant do it without trying some of the younger lads getting game time too. Don't try and tell me we'd be better off going into championship going out tamely with a largely second string side on Sunday than having got to a league final or even semi final having had a decent cut off it.

Kk at their peak and tipp every year have greater strength in dept than waterford have ever had. We know what the players are capable of on their day and all focus should be on the 5 or so championship games from here on in and not 3 league games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

robopaddy2 wrote: »

At what stage did Tipp exit the league last year?
    I'm not saying it's a guarantee for success whatsoever but neither is targeting the league. While I wouldn't necessarily agree totally with that team, lads being thrown in at the deep end, I'm glad lads are at least getting some shot at it. I just hope we don't hear the usual line off McGrath after "we gave lads a go like the public were crying out for, maybe we haven't the strength in depth people think we do." It would have been much more beneficial to adopt Tipps approach to giving lads a go by having 10 or 11 experienced players around the newcomers, that would give them a better chance of succeeding.

That being said, we've gotten to the final of the last 2 leagues and won nothing come championship. At least we are considering something new, it may work in our favour, it may not. But come championship there can be no excuses now.

Now watch Galway do what only Galway could do and somehow contrive to lose the game Sunday, against all odds!! Might be wishful thinking on this occasion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

DiscoStew wrote: »

Now watch Galway do what only Galway could do and somehow contrive to lose the game Sunday, against all odds!! Might be wishful thinking on this occasion!
    Our fullback line is as poor as ever. High balls, low balls or just direct running and we've conceded goals to poor teams this year. We also have an increasingly toothless attack with starters like Whelan and Flynn having big declines and we only have an aerial threat depending on what Joe Cooney turns up. How ye are such underdogs for this I'll never know.

DiscoStew wrote: »

At what stage did Tipp exit the league last year?
    I'm not saying it's a guarantee for success whatsoever but neither is targeting the league. While I wouldn't necessarily agree totally with that team, lads being thrown in at the deep end, I'm glad lads are at least getting some shot at it. I just hope we don't hear the usual line off McGrath after "we gave lads a go like the public were crying out for, maybe we haven't the strength in depth people think we do." It would have been much more beneficial to adopt Tipps approach to giving lads a go by having 10 or 11 experienced players around the newcomers, that would give them a better chance of succeeding.

That being said, we've gotten to the final of the last 2 leagues and won nothing come championship. At least we are considering something new, it may work in our favour, it may not. But come championship there can be no excuses now.

This exactly is how you blood the fringe players. Not starting them altogether like 9 or 10 of them are on Sunday. You mightnd have to sacrifice the entire competition then. Yes Tipp did not win the league last year but they remain competitive and consistent and blood the young players in the right way. They'll be in great shape come championship again. With McGrath its almost like he's realised his mistake with Coughlan not blooding someone else in the position and he's panicking by giving them all a run all of a sudden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

DJ Foran, Tommy Ryan and Kieran Bennett all big favourites on here. Now that the pressure off, being given a chance to prove themselves. Maybe it'll be too much, but then again these lads will be as up for it as any now getting their chance. And maybe somebody puts their hand up, its not like a Waterford crystal game where a good performance can be discredited by the competition very easily.

Who are the experienced players left off? Coughlan, D Fives, Barron, two Mahonys all injured, Aussie has a knock and Connors being given a bit more time off. Which ones of Jake Dillon, Stephen Daniels, Brian O Halloran would you like to see starting? No harm in the Brick getting a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

It seems clear that McGrath is not targeting winning the league this year, the aim of staying in Division 1 was achieved in Ennis last week. Fixing the club games for the weekend of the semi finals showed that the league was not a priority, so the team for Sunday shouldnt be a surprise. I'm sure they will be trying to win the game but winning the league is not top priority. I dont have a problem with that - I'd love to see us win another league but they are trying something different this year after going full out for the league the last 2 years. McGrath and Waterford will be judged on championship performances this summer and they appear to be focusing on this alone and building towards the summer. Thats fair enough in my book.

Hopefully some of the fringe players stand up and stake a genuine claim for the summer ahead. In this regard I'd be particularly interested to see how Kieran Bennett, Tommy Ryan and DJ Foran do, 3 players who could feature later in the year depending how injuries and form work out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Heard this morning that Murphy was looking for more money and when he didn't get it he walked. Apparently the same thing happened with his own club a few years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭crottys lake

Looking forward to the game. I believe Derek has gone for the next best choice to Barry Coughlan in Keiran Bennett. He is a classy hurler, like his brothers, and plays off the forward foot, he might need to change that tomorrow somewhat. He is a good lad and has plenty of strength.

Seamus Keating is developing all the time and great to see him handed a shirt, likewise Mark O'Brien and DJ Foran. It is a big day for those four lads.

Fair play for Derek to show a vote of confidence in the lads and not be worried about the usual snipers having a go.

I would say that Maurice could go very well as he will be very hungry to show he is ready for the Championship and I think he could have a fabulous year.

Best of luck boys....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Matt The Thresher

Hey yousir whats tha goin rate with waahaford

heard der was loads a wash goin for selectors last year down there under master McGrath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,472 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Best of luck to the team today. Big ask for the win with so many new players on the team but they all have to make there statements for selection too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Waterford have really come out of the blocks fast today

The lads are giving a very good performance but Galway slowly coming back into it. Tommy Ryan and Dj Foran playing well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

ThaiTanic wrote: »
    As for the team he's just named? All I will say is I was wrong about Clare last week, but I will give anyone my I) house II) car iii) dog if waterford come within 6 points of Galway this weekend!

This will get embarrassing and I've €100 on Galway to win by 16 points or more at 20/1

Hahahahahahahahaha, spot on as usual boy. I'd say Paddy Power loves you :D

Same old same old

McGrath wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

Too many changes together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

DeiseDawg wrote: »
    Too many changes together.

Took away every threat we had going

This place will be fun later!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Mcgrath messed that up big time. 10 points clear and he had to bring his favourites on to start the rucks. DJ Foran needed the game and he takes him off 10 minutes into the second half. Young lads were doing great until Derek went into retreat mode . Absolutely shameful to lose that match

Too be leading that much and **** up like that

Serious questions need to be asked

We going to win nothing this year

Derek will come out and blame the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭decies

God damn it snatched defeat from the jaws of victory , well done to the young Hurlers who came in . Mcgrath's in game management proved to be a disaster . So we are on to Tipp and pressure is racked up again .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 229 ✭✭Sosurface

Off you go now McGrath. Negative bull****e with any bit of a lead again. No progression. No ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

McGrath out, we're not winning anything with this negative coach at the helm, absolute joke 10 points up already into the 2nd half and end up loosing by 3. Only Waterford can throw away a lead like that, KK or Tipp would never throw away that kind of winning position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Doesn't anyone think our total inability to win any breaking ball around the half forward line or midfield after our second goal contributed? Or should Derek McGrath have won them?

I'd agree that bringing Mahoney on was the wrong call as his work rate isn't good enough and Foran coming off was strange as he was playing well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

This place, yet again, is an absolute embarrassment.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

This place, yet again, is an absolute embarrassment.

Come on so and explain that loss and tell us how it was not the managers fault for making changes when no need for it . Foran was causing them all kinds of problems even without the ball until he had to get Shane Bennett on as always. Then brick and mahony. It was a wide open game up to then which suited the team that we started with . The manager is clueless and defensive minded and he needs to go as soon as possible. We cannot close out games with him in charge