Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cancel 3 contract for everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

KungPao wrote: »
    Anyone know the deal with the €20 sim only (PAYG)?

It says the offer is promotional, so how much will it be later?

Also, this Deezer thing, after 3 months it says it will be 9.99 a month...can you opt out of Deezer?

Yep you can opt out. Done it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Cloudio9 wrote: »
    When people ring up and say they don't agree with the change, why don't Three just say "oh alright so, we'll leave your plan as it is until the end of your contract"

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭smilerf

Lads I just cancelled my contract. Do I have to cancel the direct debit too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Changing over from €25.41 contract Mini Flex Max (100 unit) to 30 day sim only unlimited €30

If I'm going to pay €30 per month anyway, why shouldn't I be on the unlimited plan?

Put through to someone in 30 seconds, and took about 5 minutes to do. Was offered a free month, but declined it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭waterford28

Just seen this thread knew nothing about it to be honest! My plan was with an Iphone 6 s from March 2016 , 24 months €55 a month (But after the add ons it was about €65 a month).

I rang up there to enquire about the price increase there and the girl said yeah the prices would be going up in April however I would benifit from Roaming around Europe for my extra €5, Feck that. I asked her could I cancel without Penalty & keep my phone if I didnt agree to this and she told me yeah no problem.

They did try alot of things to make me stay like go on and on about the Roaming and that, then they offered me a cheaper plan saying it was basically the same as my orignal plan, then I said no sorry id like to cancel and she offered me a further 10% off and I just repeated that I want to end my contract then she agreed.

I Just switched to a Sim Only plan for €30 a month which has all you can eat data and free calls to Irish numbers.

Thanks OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

BIGCON wins BEST BA OF 2017 hands down. In march! :)

My wife and I just cancelled there, we were on the phone for 5 minutes. We both signed up to the Flex Max 350 plan @ €40.66 p/m last October and now we're on their €20 a month top up plan. Not a bad little saving at all.

Edit: Was offered 10% discount off line rental.

You da man OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Cloudio9

petes wrote: »
    Seriously?

Yes. They're currently either losing customers or reducing the monthly charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Lead

I got told i'm on an old O2 plan so nothing is changing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Yes. They're currently either losing customers or reducing the monthly charge.

Three can't say that as they have breached their side of the contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭VeVeX

When people ring up and say they don't agree with the change, why don't Three just say "oh alright so, we'll leave your plan as it is until the end of your contract"

I would have thought it made sense to keep current customers on contract and introduce the new pricing for new customers or contract renewals. Maybe they've done their homework on the numbers and doing a blanket price hike is the best option.

petes wrote: »
    Three can't say that as they have breached their side of the contract.

But they haven't if they decide not to put the increase in place following the customer's call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Bargain_Hound

VeVeX wrote: »
    I would have thought it made sense to keep current customers on contract and introduce the new pricing for new customers or contract renewals. Maybe they've done their homework on the numbers and doing a blanket price hike is the best option.

A miscalculated risk I would say :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,762 ✭✭✭my3cents

smilerf wrote: »
    Lads I just cancelled my contract. Do I have to cancel the direct debit too

In their T&C's smallprint document iirc three tell you to cancel your direct debit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

I really really wish i'd updated my phone in the last few months!

VeVeX wrote: »

Yeah, the price increase is around 10% on average and they'll lose nothing like 10% of customers. Most people are unaware of the ability to cancel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

Just cancelled contract I only took out in January........€55 a month with the S7......was upfront as to why......moved to Sim Only plan in meantime until I decide what to do.

In fairness I was getting fed up with 3's quality of internet coverage and was regretting moving over.

Now I'm free.....thanks for the heads up OP!

Edit.......I meant to make a comment on Comreg........They are completely toothless.

I have an ongoing complaint with them for 8 months regarding the provision (or lack thereof) of my Internet supplier. Basically my provider introduced a new service to the detriment of mine (to the point its unuseable in the evenings). I got no notice of this....Went through the full complaints process of said supplier...they stopped responding to me when I proved they were in breach of contract........then I reported to Comreg who say they have no powers...all they can do is "encourage" my provider to engage and refund me.

Whats worse is when I was speaking to Comreg yesterday and I questioned why the likes of the Financial Regulator has powers to enforce settlements...they guy in Comreg basically laughed and said "sure look at the mess the financial regulator got us into"..................In fairness at least theyre better than the joke that is Comreg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭LightlyGo

368100 wrote: »
    Just cancelled contract I only took out in January........€55 a month with the S7......was upfront as to why......moved to Sim Only plan in meantime until I decide what to do.

In fairness I was getting fed up with 3's quality of internet coverage and was regretting moving over.

Now I'm free.....thanks for the heads up OP!

Do you get to walk away with the s7 so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 366 ✭✭Kilteragh

A miscalculated risk I would say :)

Let's say for sake of argument they have 1,000,000 in Ireland customers. The upside is €5 per month = €60 per annum = €60M

If the average contract amount was €40 per month they would need to lose 125,000 customers to be under water on this. That doesn't take into account the cost of the HW they are giving up and it assumes everyone leaves 3 completely which is obviously not happening with some people moving to payg.

Given the anecdotal evidence on this thread pretty much every customer is looking to move in one shape or form so their loss rate of 12.5% of customers might seem underestimated.

Will be interesting to see how it pans out for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

LightlyGo wrote: »

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

How in gods name are they only applying a price hike to certain plans? That logic doesn't make sense to me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

Wheety wrote: »
    How will the phone be useless? It won't stop working. Just switch to pay as you go or go to another network. You could even sign up for a new contract with another new phone.

Three have broken their contract terms so you can leave without penalty and keep the phone without having to complete the contract.

I was replying to somebody who had quoted an earlier post. I recently damaged my phone significantly. I was questioning if cancelling my contract would void my phone insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

LightlyGo wrote: »

Amazingly yes....Three Rep confirmed I was entitled as now out of contract....unlock code on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭SteM

I Just switched to a Sim Only plan for €30 a month which has all you can eat data and free calls to Irish numbers.

Mind me asking which provider this plan is with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭jharr100

SteM wrote: »
    Mind me asking which provider this plan is with?

Three I would guess... they're the only ones doing "all you can eat" data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

After reading through this thread, I'd say Three are regretting their price hike!

To be fair, I'd say most people will stay with Three and just get a cheaper plan for the duration of the contract. And probably renew plans at the end of the contract.

That's probably a smaller calculated overall hit (with the price increases taken into account and varying amnount of time left on affected accounts) than raising the prices at the end of contracts and risking more people switching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DrDrago

Tried to cancel over livechat but was redirected to 1800 818 021. Cancelled with 14 months left on my S7 Edge contract. Nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Am I missing something?

I'm already on "Classic Flex Max 350" since last year for €40.22 with my S7, looking at the link in the OP the price hasn't changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

J o e wrote: »
    Am I missing something?

I'm already on "Classic Flex Max 350" since last year for €40.22 with my S7, looking at the link in the OP the price hasn't changed?

Select it and click Submit on the linked page.

It's increasing by €4.34