Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns N Roses European Tour 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭RebelSoul

Am I the only one that thinks the sound in Croke and the Aviva are ****e?. Slane is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,955 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Will1982 wrote: »
    Has anyone got a presale code please can't depend on getting tickets Friday morning and I need to go to this show

Well if you need to go then I suggest you buy a Nightrain Membership at 42.00 euro ,and you can buy tickets now on Ticketmaster.

Nobody is going to give you a presale code that they paid good money for,especially a new poster .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

vicentecalderon4_0.jpg
    Well ****e anyway, could have just about persuaded myself to go to CP or the Avia for it but good Jesus Slane is a nightmare, at least Axl is behaving himself these days but the thought of going all the way to that hole and Axl having a tantrum is just too risky, **** that.......and those Prices for a field in the middle of nowhere?? :eek:

i think i might try madrid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭tobothehobo

If anyone had the pre sale code they could pm me I'd really appreciate it.this gig is going to be amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Ok will do thanks, your right, I'm just not rock n roll enough to potentially spend a night stranded in the middle of nowhere in a field......you sure told Me!

How many people do you know have been left stranded in Slane after a gig where it was completely the organizers fault? My guess would be f*** all.

Every year as soon as Slane is mention people start moaning and it's usually people who haven't been in years or people passing on what they've heard someone else say. One year it was madness and that was mostly down to Dublin Bus.

Yes it's a bit of a walk back to the buses if that's the way you're travelling. Yes there will probably be muck - it's in a field after all. And yes it might even rain unless they plan on putting an umbrella over 80,000 people. Don't go with the expectation that you're going to chauffeur driven in and out of the field, that the weather is going to be perfect, that there'll be no queues or that you'll be tucked up in bed soon after the gig is finished and you'll have a great day. You're never going to enjoy it when you've already decided it'll be a sh*t day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭delta214

Zardoz wrote: »
    Well if you need to go then I suggest you buy a Nightrain Membership at 42.00 euro ,and you can buy tickets now on Ticketmaster.

Nobody is going to give you a presale code that they paid good money for,especially a new poster .

Are the presale codes unique?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I saw them the last time they played Slane,an unreal gig. Seriously tempted to go next year but herself not so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭villa2008

How many people do you know have been left stranded in Slane after a gig where it was completely the organizers fault? My guess would be f*** all.

Every year as soon as Slane is mention people start moaning and it's usually people who haven't been in years or people passing on what they've heard someone else say. One year it was madness and that was mostly down to Dublin Bus.

Yes it's a bit of a walk back to the buses if that's the way you're travelling. Yes there will probably be muck - it's in a field after all. And yes it might even rain unless they plan on putting an umbrella over 80,000 people. Don't go with the expectation that you're going to chauffeur driven in and out of the field, that the weather is going to be perfect, that there'll be no queues or that you'll be tucked up in bed soon after the gig is finished and you'll have a great day. You're never going to enjoy it when you've already decided it'll be a sh*t day.

Exactly, if it was in Croke Park you would have people complaining about the sound for the next 5-6 months, always something.

Managed to get a Golden Circle ticket today and cannot wait for this gig. Was there in 1992 and it was a great concert. 25 Years on the place will be rocking again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭twilight_singer

Seen em in 92. First ever gig.
    Have B+B booked for 27/05, will wait to see what the story is with tickets on friday, hate the hassle of slane.....but its Axl N slash.
    Pity the full original line up never played Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,724 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

villa2008 wrote: »
    Exactly, if it was in Croke Park you would have people complaining about the sound for the next 5-6 months, always something.

Managed to get a Golden Circle ticket today and cannot wait for this gig. Was there in 1992 and it was a great concert. 25 Years on the place will be rocking again.

Seriously, what's the benefit of the golden circle ticket?

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Basically your in the pit in front of the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭grimm2005

Ol' Donie wrote: »

It's just a €60 pit pass essentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,601 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Any wild shouts for support? Opens up early so should get 3/4 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Mushy wrote: »

London will get Alter Bridge while Slane will get the Blizzards :D

Black Star Riders
    The Strypes
    Backyard Babies
    etc. etc.

Good shout really: Blizzards (not that they're good, just they'll be token Irish act). Black Star Riders was one I was thinking of too, normally show up at these.

Hopefully a decent size act like Alice in Chains will be on it.

GNR
    AIC
    Black Star Riders
    The Answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,267 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

London will get Alter Bridge while Slane will get the Blizzards :D

Ill gladly take that for london and maybe a Izzy or Adler apperence too

People going to Slane can have Brush Shiels and Seb Bach fight it out over who are the true Skid Row lol

Good shout really: Blizzards (not that they're good, just they'll be token Irish act). Black Star Riders was one I was thinking of too, normally show up at these.

Hopefully a decent size act like Alice in Chains will be on it.

GNR
    AIC
    Black Star Riders
    The Answer

The Answer would be good also. Forgot about them. Definitely think either Black Star Riders or The Answer will be the token Irish rock band.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

The Blizzards and The Answer were the support acts for AC/DC in Punchestown in '09 iirc.

The former were predictably crap and not very well received. The latter were decent enough.

I am coming back from Hong Kong the morning of this gig, gutted that I'll probably miss it :(

Can nearly put money on it. Was at Foos in 2015 and really enjoyed the lineup so more of the same would be sweet.

delta214 wrote: »
    Are the presale codes unique?

Yes

The Answer would be good also. Forgot about them. Definitely think either Black Star Riders or The Answer will be the token Irish rock band.

Crow Black Chicken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭twilight_singer

Faith No More
    My Little Funhouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭garrettod

Here's my thinking....

The tickets are far from cheap

The band has not been together for years, so it's relying on the old back catelogue

Location is not by any means convenient for the majority of those considering going

The lead singer has a history for throwing tantrums (although I do appreciate that he's right to refuse to play if people are throwing bottles etc.)

Here's what happened the last time Guns 'n' Roses played in Ireland (albeit, with a somewhat different line up): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxLUUQdqA0I

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Last time Guns played Ireland was May 2012, same line up as the 2010 show, but everyone seems to think they last played Dublin in 2010..

not once on this tour did Axl show up late/walk off stage etc

theres was only ever one small incident on the NITL tour but it was a tech issue

the man has changed a lot in recent years and long may he stay that way

PTH2009 wrote: »
    not once on this tour did Axl show up late/walk off stage etc

theres was only ever one small incident on the NITL tour but it was a tech issue

the man has changed a lot in recent years and long may he stay that way

He actually showed up early than advertised stage time in the US over the summer. Plus the piano problem was hilarious..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

garrettod wrote: »

Here's my thinking....

The band has not been together for years, so it's relying on the old back catelogue

Location is not by any means convenient for the majority of those considering going

The lead singer has a history for throwing tantrums (although I do appreciate that he's right to refuse to play if people are throwing bottles etc.)

Here's what happened the last time Guns 'n' Roses played in Ireland (albeit, with a somewhat different line up): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxLUUQdqA0I

I would be delighted with the old back catalogue. A lot of people would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Last time Guns played Ireland was May 2012, same line up as the 2010 show, but everyone seems to think they last played Dublin in 2010..

2006?

Wooderson wrote: »
    2006?

And 2006, but the youtube link a few posts up is linked to the infamous show in 2010..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,701 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Is Guns N Roses still a popular act then.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

The back catalogue are the reason we're going. I don't want to hear anything released after 1992.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,179 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Ashamed to be Irish that night. The crowd were a disgrace. Best thing about it was when he walked off most of the knobheads left.

The quays cleared majestically of 25 year old McCabes and Farrelly coaches bringing poor hoors back to utter dogboxes like Cavan and Longford.

The Nal wrote: »
    Ashamed to be Irish that night. The crowd were a disgrace. Best thing about it was when he walked off most of the knobheads left.

Exactly, they came back in 2012 and were great.

It was the drunk knobheads as you say in the crowd that ruined the 2010 gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,179 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Exactly, they came back in 2012 and were great.

It was the drunk knobheads as you say in the crowd that ruined the 2010 gig.

Ended up being gig of the year though. Very memorable.

Live Nation have a presale Thursday for the London concert ,all you need to do is register on their site (its free).

The Nal wrote: »
    Ended up being gig of the year though. Very memorable.

Definitely, one concert you will always remember for sure.

They band currently have always been on time,if not early, play a greatest hits setlist with a few Chinese Democracy songs thrown in. The recent concerts have been great from what I've seen / heard so far. Slash and Duff are back in the band. What more do ye want?? Well I guess the full original line-up would be great but that's not going to happen now apart from some guest appearances from Steven Adler and maybe Izzy somewhere down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

When was the last time they played there??

I had long hair and a leather jacket, i know that much.. And one tin of beer got me drunk. I remember that also..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

When was the last time they played there??

I had long hair and a leather jacket, i know that much.. And one tin of beer got me drunk. I remember that also..

'92.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

London booked and paid for. Standing tickets got. Lord henry will never dupe me again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,768 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

How much are tickets to other gigs across Europe? Struggling to find any details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,290 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Spain is similar to here. €99 - €150 I'd say most places are the same. Except the UK which is more expensive. Not sure why people here are spending so much on Wembley tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭frag420

MadYaker wrote: »
    Not sure why people here are spending so much on Wembley tickets.

Well unless GnR are playing in a cup final I am pretty sure they are running the 100m over at the Olympic Stadium...

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭Deisler

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    London booked and paid for. Standing tickets got. Lord henry will never dupe me again.

Same here!

Here's my thinking....

Here is my thinking, I saw them in Toronto on this tour - I very, very much urge you to go to this show, you will not be disappointed!

Delighted to wake up to see a second sweep on North America, just have to choose if I want to go to Buffalo, Montreal or Ottawa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Sundance_Kid

What are the options and prices for tickets for Slane?

Try on Friday and pay €89.50 and how much does this presale thing cost? Is ticket the same price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Slane booked. So happy. Living in Meath doesn't have its advantages very often but every so often lady luck throws a bone :) Only band I own every album legally of including my last actual CD purchase in Chinese Democracy. Seriously cannot wait.

I'm dying to hear the Chinese Democracy stuff live.. And the classics of course..

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Nicholasj

Looks like the presale have sold out. Has anyone bought one recently ( lasthour).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Nicholasj wrote: »
    Looks like the presale have sold out. Has anyone bought one recently ( lasthour).

I booked in the last hour. GA.