If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 200 Event Thread - Cormier v Jones 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,542 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Bones manager after saying Jon missed out on 8 figure pay day from 200...... h'ok Jon...h'ok

ldWLZ.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Bones manager after saying Jon missed out on 8 figure pay day from 200...... h'ok Jon...h'ok

ldWLZ.gif

Cormier reminds me of Carlton from fresh prince of bel air

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

IdoPortal wrote: »
    I couldn't help but do a twirl in my eco-friendly living space such was the emotion that overpowered me.

Mod: Keep twirling on out of here - banned for trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Axwell wrote: »

Fair play mod, at least somebody had the balls to kick Ido portal out for spewing sh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

Axwell wrote: »

On the ball lately pal fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭The White Feather

It's very interesting seeing those purses and win bonuses. I didn't realise some were so low especially TJs. It's so low that it seems like a misprint to me!

If I were him, I would immediately start talking myself up and others down to get a buzz! Sage, even though he doesn't appear great on the ground just has that 'it' factor and as well he is very young. Whether it's right or wrong UFC is all about the buzz and the show you create.

Look at Cain, he beat Lesnar but Lesnar strolls back into a co-main.Lesnar is a bit of a special case as he has a huge fanbase from WWE already. Cain should be roaring about how he beat Lesnar and would do it again in a rematch.

Diaz just started a feud by saying "Mcgregor took all he worked for" which is hilarious if you think about it but then hey presto, its one of the biggest events and now rematch going!

I know hardly anyone has the quick wit of McGregor, but they should be using any mic time to create a feud or match. Dillashaw should be roaring for a fight with Faber for instance.All UFC fighters should be using their twitter to get headlines or else their wages won't be going up.

Yes its seems wrong but that's the way it is. We all love 2 guys having to be held back from each other. Remember being in school and this happening? The buzz was amazing!! Although most fights I saw in school ended up mismatches or were broken up early (think of Herb Dean!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,737 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

ASOT wrote: »
    Looks like it was done on a rolling basis as champion, he was 50/50 for the Soto fight, 60/60 for Barao 2 & 70/70 for the Cruz fight, doesnt seem like smart negotiating to be honest considering he demolished Barao twice, now hes back on breadline money.
    Probably just an incredmental contract. I think more include incredmental bonus when you keep winning.
    Devastator wrote: »
    Sage's pay is a disgrace compared to some of the others

Why is it a disgrace?
    He's extremely marketable. He deserves to be rewarded for that marketability. The same way McGregor gets rewarded for his pull. If he was paid less, and the UFC kept capitalized moreso on his marketability - how would that be more fair?

Look at it this way. How much has Sage been discussed around here in the last 6 months? A lot more that than Lauzon or Gomi.
    The fact is he is currently bigger than a lot of fighters on the roster, that pisses people off. But its still the truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Mellor wrote: »
    Probably just an incredmental contract. I think more include incredmental bonus when you keep winning.

Why is it a disgrace?
    He's extremely marketable. He deserves to be rewarded for that marketability. The same way McGregor gets rewarded for his pull. If he was paid less, and the UFC kept capitalized moreso on his marketability - how would that be more fair?

Look at it this way. How much has Sage been discussed around here in the last 6 months? A lot more that than Lauzon or Gomi.
    The fact is he is currently bigger than a lot of fighters on the roster, that pisses people off. But its still the truth

While I do agree, I think the difference is Sage got the majority of his marketability from the UFC rather than him actually earning it himself as Conor did with his talking. Like Sage literally sat back while the UFC promoted him to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,566 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

stephenl15 wrote: »
    While I do agree, I think the difference is Sage got the majority of his marketability from the UFC rather than him actually earning it himself as Conor did with his talking. Like Sage literally sat back while the UFC promoted him to death.

Same with PVZ, they're good looking people, therefore extremely marketable. Both are a absolutely brilliant with fans too, I've heard nothing but great things about them, which only helps.

stephenl15 wrote: »
    They did a little bit with "looking for a fight". But once he had that first win, and did that flip, social media did the rest.
    I mean, I know where Sage trains, his background, know what his bodybuilder dad is like, seem his grappling matches, I know he has a sister in amateur MMA.
    The UFC told me none of that info. We did it, We're all to blame really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭kev250

Tv show trailer, Anyone who watched ufc200 remember the trailer that was played for a tv show and then the camera showed the cast members in the audience.
    Anyone got the name of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Jones via Submission
    kev250 wrote: »
    Tv show trailer, Anyone who watched ufc200 remember the trailer that was played for a tv show and then the camera showed the cast members in the audience.
    Anyone got the name of it?

was it kingdom? unbelievable watch id definitely recomend it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,542 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Highly recommend Kingdom, great show. Joe Daddy Stevenson helps coordinates the fights to make them as real looking as possible and covers the underground mma scene really well, dodgy promoters, steroids, weightcutting, **** pay, etc.

Yeah was class when they went to them in the crowd at 200. They were on a good bit of the latest Dana white looking for a fight as well. Hope to see a bit of ufc crossover next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Mellor wrote: »
    P
    Why is it a disgrace?

Its a disgrace because there are better fighters, who have put their livees on the line more often and are getting paid less!
    Just to get it out of the way early, comparing him to Conor is ridiculous! You should drop that comparison right now, Conor has a personality and abilities to earn him the money he has on. In Sage's 1st 3 fights has he shown anything of the same ability that McGregor did in his 1st 3 fights?
    Is he "extremely marketable"? Really? Maybe if the UFC want to steal away the Justin Beiber fanbase but to fight fans? I don't think so, certainly not after we've seen him fight a few times. UFC gave him a huge push to begin with, probably as much to hype their own new show as try to make something of Sage but are any of us that interested in him now? Other reality tv fighters have been discussed a lot on this forum aswell.
    The easiest way for UFC to market a fighter is by putting him in a main event, Is Sage anywhere near deserving of a main event? Can you imagine the uproar if he was the main event? Using the 2 examples you gave, J Lau & Gomi both headlined v.early in their UFC careers. Would most fight fans tune into a card just to see Sage?

In regards to the tv show, yeah it was kingdom. My advice is if your going to watch it is to stick with it. I nearly tapped out few times during 1st series but it picks up a lot during the 2nd series. You also need to ignore Brain Callen's awful attempt at an accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭XsApollo

I don't get all the hate for Sage.
    As long as he stays away from the mat and stays standing he has potential.

And I wouldn't call what he earns a disgrace compared to others.
    I would call what they earn a disgrace compared to him.
    Former champion in TJ dilashaw on 25k/25 is a disgrace and has nothing to do with Sage.
    Same with the others.
    Why hate on Sage for that?
    He doesn't pay the wages the company does.
    Is he suppose to turn it down to make others feel better or what?

Devastator wrote: »
    Its a disgrace because there are better fighters, who have put their livees on the line more often and are getting paid less!
    Just to get it out of the way early, comparing him to Conor is ridiculous! You should drop that comparison right now, Conor has a personality and abilities to earn him the money he has on. In Sage's 1st 3 fights has he shown anything of the same ability that McGregor did in his 1st 3 fights?
    Is he "extremely marketable"? Really? Maybe if the UFC want to steal away the Justin Beiber fanbase but to fight fans? I don't think so, certainly not after we've seen him fight a few times. UFC gave him a huge push to begin with, probably as much to hype their own new show as try to make something of Sage but are any of us that interested in him now? Other reality tv fighters have been discussed a lot on this forum aswell.
    The easiest way for UFC to market a fighter is by putting him in a main event, Is Sage anywhere near deserving of a main event? Can you imagine the uproar if he was the main event? Using the 2 examples you gave, J Lau & Gomi both headlined v.early in their UFC careers. Would most fight fans tune into a card just to see Sage? .
    Fight pay gas nothing to do with fighting ability. Surely you know that. They are paid to bring in viewers/money. If Sage's pay was dropped to 20k, the other fighters don't suddenly benefit either.

And I never compared his ability to Conor's. I pointed out that Conor was rewarded for what he brought to the table. His pay jumped faster. Same reason Lesnar got a whopper pay check. Whether he deserves it or not, Sage is one of the more talked about fighters pre and post events.

No way Sage can headline. J Lau and Gomi started in a different era. They were both on higher pay-scales for this card anyway. (54/54 and 55/55).
    Assunção was on slightly less, 42. A better fighter sure, but he doesn't little to promote himself or the fight.

I don't think "fight fans" or "beiber fans" has got much to do with anything? If they are gonna pay to watch, their money is good. And It's the casuals that's are the difference between an 400k event and a 1.6m event.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I watched the Sage fight
    I did not watch the TJ fight

I wasn't particularly interested in either of them tbh though

Jones via Submission
    people seem to have the idea its sages fault other fighters are on sh!t money, chaps got huge potential and he draws numbers so hes paid accordingly, tj is to blame for tjs pay. lot of the hate sage gets really seems to stem from jealousy or something!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

No one is paid on skill alone,TJ is a million times better fighter than Sage could dream of and hes earning twice as much as him, for all the stick his Da gets he musta got him a good contract unlike TJ's management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Cormier via Decision

darced wrote: »

has a 6 pack and appears squeaky clean is the extent of his attributes,absolute fraud martial artist his striking is the biggest myth in the mma you'd swear he was wrecking people standing and just getting out grappled,hes a scrubber the day he fights another real fighter I'll be cleaning up betting against him.

Jones via Submission

hold up, hes 20, hes got a long way to go, far from the finished article but his potential is pretty clear, If we've seen him out skilled then why is he 3 and 1 in the ufc?

Jones via Submission
    Gamebred wrote: »
    has a 6 pack and appears squeaky clean is the extent of his attributes,absolute fraud martial artist his striking is the biggest myth in the mma you'd swear he was wrecking people standing and just getting out grappled,hes a scrubber the day he fights another real fighter I'll be cleaning up betting against him.
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Im giving Brock zero chance lads so get your betting acounts on him Ha Hunt via head clean off inside 40 seconds

Depp wrote: »
    hold up, hes 20, hes got a long way to go, far from the finished article but his potential is pretty clear, If we've seen him out skilled then why is he 3 and 1 in the ufc?

Because hes fought of the biggest bums possible,Francisco Trevino a 34 year old whose fighting in local shows in OZ right now thats says a lot,

He then fought this chap ill say no more 463201802-lightweight-cody-pfister-poses-for-a-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=GkZZ8bf5zL1ZiijUmxa7QVoMSFsViYHH8zMQ76ilAQO4gM07ow96kh1K%2F0jWtkXkWcWID6mCTiGEx8aaLWpV2g%3D%3D

Then got strangled from half guard,and then fluked a win the weekend against an 8-4 reject from tuf latin america,its there for all to see

What has my prediction of a fight the weekend got to do with my opinion on sage? I think you'll find the majority of people expected brock to be ko'd dead,he was clear underdog not many in mma fancied him so their opinions must be worthless too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Cormier via Decision

Jones via Submission

I dunno I just think your analysis is overly harsh, hes a while away from being the finished product and was probably brought to the ufc too early, just think its silly to write off a 20 year old who until now has only ever trained with is dad in the garden basically. If he can fcuk him off and get his arse up to montreal full time i think he can do very well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

people seem to have the idea its sages fault other fighters are on sh!t money, chaps got huge potential and he draws numbers so hes paid accordingly, tj is to blame for tjs pay. lot of the hate sage gets really seems to stem from jealousy or something!

I;m not blaming him or criticizing him over his pay, I'm criticizing whoever's decision it was to pay him that amount while there are other more deserving fighters not getting paid as much. If Sage is not the finished article then he shoudln't be on the pay of(or more) a finished fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Jones via KO/TKO
    Did anyone else find it abit cringy that TJ got introduced as a "BANG Muay Thai Fighter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Surprised at this comment.

We all know you are always improving in this game.

He's the youngest fighter on the roster, none of the greats were at their best and well rounded at 20.

He obviously has lots of holes but 2-3 years in a top camp and 8-10 fights and he will be a hell of a lot better.

I think he will be at least a top 5 guy in the future.