Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best club in dublin (Vote)

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Bruxelles is good cause it plays good music ie METAL Doyles is also good on a Saturday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭Clank

Was in Sin last Saturday, it was a pure hip hop night, very very good night I thought.
    Drinks a bit expensive.
    Layouts nice though as theres a quiet area to go if you want to talk, and its not too 'pushy' a place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

What a long winding thread.... moral of the story is that no club caters for every type of person. Music differs, clientel differs.

Best run in Dublin have to be Major Toms and Ri-ra, no Bull at the doors, no hastle inside..proper security. Music isn'tbad in either...although totally different...Toms very commercial music...Ri Ra very alternative mix. (Sorry I'm biased I've worked the club scene..some of them are unbelievably badly organised.)

Under age club of the moment seems to be Barcode ..give it a year or two and that'll change..clubs go through these cycles.

Most of our "clubs" are late night bars with a bit of a dance floor... not purpose built like many European /American clubs.

Answer to the topic is...depends what your looking for !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

i was in barcode bout a month ago on a sun nyt, i liked the layout of it, but the dancefloor is tiny. tho there's loadsa room to sit, n the bar's a fair size. my friends go there the odd thu nyt, they love it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Well Bondi is gonzo, unless you want to trek it to Naas where a new one opened. Blakes Corner got permission for a 12 story building (Stillorgan is going to completely change over the next few years), so its bye bye Beach parties, bye bye €3 drinks and bye bye guaranteed fun :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

dandilion is ok, was there on sunday, got too packed so went to 92 instead.
    yeah coyote is turning into a club called 21 i think, opening tomorrow, my gf got tickets to the opening, its got potential, if they start it right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

Whers a really good place on a fri night? NOT bondi!
    haven't been out on a fri in ages, usually working...so any good advice!

I'm a bit of a D4 if that helps! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

anywhere that doesn't have dance/techno/house... TBH I hate that ****e! you can't dance to it, give me a disco with 70's 80's & 90's tunes any day of the week, man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I went to Qbar last night... not particularly impressed. The atmosphere was alright; there were loads of foreigners there (mainly Italians I think); the music was crap at the start of the night, but got better later on (they played Put Em Under Pressure!:D); the drink was fine, and we got served quick enough; the dance floor was sheeeiiite! It was pretty small, and it was jammers.

Overall, wasn't expecting anything great cos everyone said it was crap, and I didn't get much greatness! Probably won't go back. On the plus side, I got €2 off the €5 entry fee cos of a thing I got in college :p Money saved ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

im a fresher in ucd and im fairly new to the dublin club scene but i have to say that probably the most amazing nights ive had since i started going out up here have been during the beach theme week in bondi.
    i had done spirit a couple of times before this, found it to be full of mashheads, smack addicts and skangers looking for a fight.
    il mondo was just crap, bouncers were unnecessarily strict on dress code and wouldnt accept drivers licences, provisional or full, from clubbers as proof of age. the crowd didnt mix all too well either, the three bars and themed decor worked well but music was extremely dodgy and the bouncers were crap. tough to get outbound taxis afterwards too.
    aka is a nice club, its more for lounging and socialising than dancing, its cool, sleek and minimalist, a bit like you would expect the inside of an ipod factory to be. music was great too, a good night out but drinks were unusually pricey.
    bondi beach nights were just savage, almost 100% ucd students, going absolutely wild, hot tub wasnt as hot as many would have liked but tipsyness prevents hypothermia setting in! drinks promos savage, dancefloor intense, central and absolutely jammers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭gary_s

For something a little different, try one of Dublin's latin/salsa clubs... :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

upmeath wrote:
    im a fresher in ucd and im fairly new to the dublin club scene but i have to say that probably the most amazing nights ive had since i started going out up here have been during the beach theme week in bondi.
    i had done spirit a couple of times before this, found it to be full of mashheads, smack addicts and skangers looking for a fight.
    il mondo was just crap, bouncers were unnecessarily strict on dress code and wouldnt accept drivers licences, provisional or full, from clubbers as proof of age. the crowd didnt mix all too well either, the three bars and themed decor worked well but music was extremely dodgy and the bouncers were crap. tough to get outbound taxis afterwards too.
    aka is a nice club, its more for lounging and socialising than dancing, its cool, sleek and minimalist, a bit like you would expect the inside of an ipod factory to be. music was great too, a good night out but drinks were unusually pricey.
    bondi beach nights were just savage, almost 100% ucd students, going absolutely wild, hot tub wasnt as hot as many would have liked but tipsyness prevents hypothermia setting in! drinks promos savage, dancefloor intense, central and absolutely jammers!

i assure you the novelty wars off quick, if the smell doesnt put you off(it can be worse than 92 sometimes), the fack its populated my more shwaa that Spirit(dunno where your getting the full of UCDheads from???), but thats just my opinion, maybe the nights you went were ucd ones i dunno..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Blut

Bondis still got a good student crowd on some wednesdays and at every ucd ticket only event, its only when the weekend rolls around that it fills up properly with scangers / kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Friday & Saturday to a lesser extent are the 17-18yr olds nights at Bondi. The beach parties there have been some of the best nights out I have ever had, the first one in March being the highlight.

But yes, sometimes it doesn absolutely stink in places inside. Usually of stale beer or BO. This is a relatively new phenomenon which has only been evident to me since the smoking ban came in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

As a ol hand at hanging out in Dublin nightclubs the best part of 13 years or more, here is my take...not as up todate, but I am looking back with nostaligia!

Lillies: good buzz to go to, especially if its all new to you, or you do not get in often, even better when you do VIP or even the scared VVIP up top. Have lillies done to death at this stage. The same punters are going year in year out...sick looking at them. And if you can stomach alot of people prending to be something their not, or living a BS fantasy for the night...this is your club! Me...be there...wore that hat 100s of times...time for a change.

Renards..upstairs 1st floor or down in basment (not the side bar they send people into,) again an "exclusive" crowd. I can stomach renards a bit better than lillies..maybe an older crowd or something. spend you time going from up stairs to basement where there is more of a dance floor and back up again. The coke heads do this about 100 times in a nite! LOL!!!

Tramco: typical "normal" Irish disco. can get very packed. middle of the road place.

Bruxelles Pub: Great for a jeans and T Shirt night. a mix o everyone and anybody. Can be great music on too, (no r + b crap etc) rock music, 70 music, anything good. catch it on a good night and its rocking. Can get a bit packed sometimes.

Cafe en Seine: Full of dick and dickette heads. 40 ish fat ex rugger types with cream slacks, a pink shirt (polo brand) and a blazer. all standing in groups. snotty getting on in years aer lingus aer hostesses with chips on shoulder, trying to be posher than the are. Yuck!!! hate this place! Gold diggers abound! If you aint driving a new BWM 5 series , your out of the game boyo!

Temple bar: no go area for me. Used to be great fun years back before it was invaded by brit stag parties.

Roddy Bolands: Great for a pub club night, jeans and wellies on. A total pub to get smashed in. everyone swinging off the rafters , mad locko!!! Great crack once in a while if your in the mood.

Slatterys in Rathmines: Got the hang over blues monday after too heavy a weekend. Go here and drink monday afternoon..this is a great pub for hardened alcos and drinkers. monday afternoon monday club.

McGowans Church town: reminds me of a Tramco for Dub 14 people. Good local saturday night disco..not more nothing less. not really my scene but can be ok sometimes.

Sachs Hotel Nigh Club: I think it is closed down.. this was a place that look what I always though a club should look like. Ya know 1970s 80s Miami Vice place. Low celing, those bubble lights moving along a tube. plastic plants. 50 year old guys with a medillion and fake tan , looking for chick... Yeah Get Down Babe!!!! what a place!! my father give out to me when he heard I went there...said I was sick in the head!!! LOL!!!

Bojangles: sort a replacement for Sachs hotel...but not near as sleazy. Hell Sachs was the ultimte SLEAZY club.

Joys: when all else fails...mad dash to Joys for before 3am (ya can get 430 am out of it sometimes) over priced cheap champers, sleazy old people looking the ride, 70s dance music, and if yer anyway regular there, you can get away with doing just about anything and a blind eye is turned. hee hee hee. had some fun times within.

And for history sake:

Annables Circa 1995: Chandlers over dance floor back then, looked great with the dry ice and the lights , smoking around the chandlers. brilliant music then. Very hard to get into then (I have a VIP Card hee hee, never Q ed up) , and a serious dress code. Sometimes like a rave for posh D4 people. fond memories of the old annabels. when to hell when they done it up!!!

Bad Bobs: the old Bobs 1990s , spit on the floor, band on down stairs, big picture of Phil Lynott winking at ya, helping you from up above to chat the chicks up. after ya got bored with the bad, up to a little disco upstairs, great music, fun times. Sunday night was £ 1 a pint before midnight.

Old howl the moon: fun dress down and slap pints al over the place,to great music and no BS.. great fun!

Probably loads more I am missing...any questions just ask!

to finish I think when clubs closed earlier, ya were in the pub for 9pm, leave pub 1130pm and into disco 12 midnight, or ya would not get in. life was must simpler then, and easier to plan the night!

I went to the Playhouse, at the Plaza hotel, in Tallaght village, last night... It was just me and my mate, but we ended up bumping into a fella he knows from work, and his friend, so we had a drink with them and a birruva dance!

The atmosphere was pretty good, everyone seemed to be havin a good time and were all friendly and that(I was expecting it to be full of scumbags tbh, since it's right in the middle of Tallaght (I live 5 minutes' walk from it, so nobody get defensive!)). There was a bit of a fight near the toilets, but the bouncers had it sorted quickly; the music was decent enough... they didn't play any Killers, but I'll forgive them :p It was mainly hip-hop stuff as far as I can remember; the drink was pretty good... I dunno how much a pint was, but for 2 pints of Bud, I got a bit over a tenner change from €20, so you do the math :p Nice enough anyway.. I was actually drinkin vodka and 7up for most of the night (which I don't normally do), it was quite nice! I don't even like 7up normally, lol; the dance-floor was pretty good actually... it was nice sized, and it wasn't jammers, but at the same time, it was full enough so that there was a bit of an atmosphere.. There was loadsa lights, and a smoke machine, which I thought was pretty cool, gotta love smoke! :D; there was plenty of good-lookin burrrds there, I must say! They seemed a bit defensive/hostile though, they wouldn't even dance with ANY of us! And we're not ugly lads! :p; there was a cloakroom, if anybody cares.. I cared, cos I wore my jacket over (we walked), and I got fed up carryin the thing, so it was a heaven-sent! :D; the bouncers were pr*cks, pretty much... me and my friend are quite young-looking (and I'm underage :p), so I understand them checkin our ID's, and then double-checkin mine, and then takin it out of the plastic cover(drivin licence) and checkin again, and then askin me my address...!!! I'm surprised they didn't notice that it was fockin doctored, I must do a pretty good job! They were dyin to not let us in, but they couldn't really fault us. Anywho, we had a pint in the pub before-hand, and we had to go over to the village so he could get money out, and we said it to the bouncer, we'll be right back, and he was real pr*ckish and snide, sayin "yiz better hurry up, or that's it", and also, on the way into the club, one of the bouncers asked my mate, "what's the deal with the cuffs? ye should pull them down" cos they were pink, and there was a few girls behind us, so of course, gotta show off... Anywho; there was food there when the club closed (c. 2.30), so I got a chicken curry for €4, which was nice! Had to eat it on the way home though, cos they won't let ya eat in there :( It was nice though, no complaints, lol.

Ok, I've typed a BIT too much on this place... To sum up, it was a great night, especially considerin it was just the 2 of us for most of the time. Good buzz, I'll probably go back again. One thing I DIDN'T like was the €15 entrance fee!!! :eek: I could get 3 drinks for that sheeeit! Ah well..

EDIT:

I'll back that guy above me up about Bruxelles -- I've only been a few times, but it's pretty cool. Excellent music (the main draw for me, lol)

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

You should try the Playhouse on a Sunday...still the steep entrance fee, but €2.50 a drink, can't go wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 smarties

went to the gaeity club fri and sat this weekend for the first time, its such a cool place inside, but is a total rip off, got in free friday but was 12€in for most pple, then on sat it was €14, and drinks are even worse, i payed something like €17 for a corona and vodka and lime, i think they make up the prices cus i kept gettin charged different prices everytime i went up. its cool the cus u can go into the theatre and watch a movie, and the bands that wer playing wer good. and then there was this little salsa room, and a samba room on fri. and the staff are nice, i hate goin to places that i kno every1 but this was too much the opposite extreme from that i knew no1 but im gonna get some more pple i kno to go cus its such a cool place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 smarties

also i went to 92 recently and it smells, good night tho, but i was looking forward to a completely knacker free night, and i have to say i did hear a bit of that totally disgusting accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Was in AKA last night and then moved on to Cafe En Seine.
    AKA was good. Good crowd, usual drink prices, comfy seats and decent music but it got a bit boring after a while(as it usually does). Then we moved on to Cafe En Seine (Thanks to our manager being too drunk to get into Lillies :rolleyes: ) but I've always loved Cafe En Seine so had a good time there too.
    The place was packed but we all still got seats and the lounge service was great as usual, didn't have to go to the bar once and the music was pretty good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

Went to Lillies last nite, had the best time ever!
    Went with my brother and his friends n my friend came with me.they bought me drinks all nite!
    Best nite in ages:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Went to Lillies last nite, had the best time ever!
    Went with my brother and his friends n my friend came with me.they bought me drinks all nite!

What was up with the firebrigade's and ambulance outside it!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

had the best time ever!
    they bought me drinks all nite!

Yep typical lillies chick! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭buzzerxx

I'm probably showing my age with this comment but my favourite club in Dublin used to be the old "Howl at the Moon" in Dwyers Mount Street. Just good crack, no poseurs.

have you tried it now its reopened?

Fitzsimons = F*CKING SH*T!!!

Goddamn poxy bouncers wouldn't let me in the front door when I went up with my male friend and female friend, so we all went up individually, and the girl got in (of course) without even being stopped, but neither of us lads got in (didn't even get asked for ID -- just "not tonight"). We walked around and found another entrance along the quays, so we went in there, the bouncer asked us for ID, and we got in grand.
    So then everybody was going down to the club, so we thought we'd give it a shot, and everybody gets in except for me. Wasn't asked for ID, just "not tonight", and I asked him why a few times, and he started saying in his f*cking incomprehensible accent, "will you stop annoying me? me don't like when people annoy me!"

F*cking pr*cks.

The place was sh*t anyway, too packed and expensive. I woulda prefered to stay of course, but I ended up getting the Nitelink home with one of my friends.

I don't even look shifty, I don't know why they refused me... Just arseholes, I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

^ they did you a favour because Fitzsimons is completely sh!t and when I walked past it at about 1 last night it looked like a scene from Hillsbrough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Gaz25

I hate town myself. Im not sure of that place? is that around corner for boomerangs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I like the sound of this Sachs place, it sounds like the nightclub in GTA Vice City :) Iirc wasnt it where a young man could get a bit of milf if he liked (according to some boards user who labelled the place Jurassic Park :D )

Red Box was great but I havent been in over a year. Spirit....ack......its good, in theory. The birds are generally good, the music is pretty decent (generally, was there last night and unfortunately they played most of the best tunes early in the night when nobody was on the floor)and its reasonably good for pulling. The drawbacks are that its a rather dirty club (the interior decor, the light effects, for a self proclaimed superclub it could really do with a kick up the arse regarding presentability). And the jacks are like something yid find in your local back in Finglas. Also, the music wasnt quite loud enough once or twice previously. And the cheese of the place is a bit unberable (the tatoo room, the holistic sh1te, the signs saying "Spirit is a natural high, anyone caught with illegal substances will be handed over to Gardai". If theyre so concerned with this natural high, one with nature lark, they dont seem to see an irony in 20 quid weekend admission and 13 quid for double vodka). And the door policy at the weekend can be tighter than a Loreto first year.

Heaven in Blanch is very good. Great music, beautiful women and a fairly alright door policy, generally speaking. Great for pulling, especially during the summer.

Coyote/Club 21- was only in it in its Coyote days, it was fairly average (iirc coyote was the club with a real freezing cold corner down the back?). Im told 21 is great, but i was told that by people who think Redz et al is an madras liathroid, so Id take it with a big pinch of salt.

Coppers is a great laugh, but a major drawback is that they let people in the doors litreally until near closing time. I like the dancefloor to be packed but this isnt funny, its full of country eejits drinking ON the dancefloor with absoloutely no idea of how to conduct themselves, we were moving through the place with our fists clenched all night ready for a pre emptive strike if the situation called for it.
    Still though, really like it, dont normally agree with guitar songs played in a nightclub as generally it doesnt really fit, but Coppers is really more like a very big pub with a dancefloor, its that type of atmosphere/set up. Drunken up the ra songs, Pogues/Dubliners, Hills of Donegal and all that sh1te all the way :D

As for the rest, my hatred for Tramcos is legendary, Ive already said enough.

No, wait, I havent. The place is a pathetic joke, full of **** and utterly appalling music (Im thinking of going to the next Dublin licence renewal hearings, Ill lodge an objection on the grounds that they once played the theme tune from Skippy the Bush Kangaroo when I was there)

Twas the night we drew with the Swiss, it made it even worse.

Barcode.....ack, only when Im asked to go, Id nevr personally plan a night out there. Cheesy music and the layout is more like somewhere yid hold a wedding reception.

Redz is brutal, however its poorness seems pale in comparison to my trip to Tramcos.

Boomerangs is a bit sh1te. It seems to have went over 21s all week now, and I could barely give a sh1te.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Coppers is a great laugh, .....
    my hatred for Tramcos is legendary

Thats pretty bizzarre. You seem to like the single worst nightclub in dublin (ok, barring Joys and Sachs) yet hate tramco. Quite strange. Coming from mr "Jaysus de choons need to be bangin bud", its strange to hear an endorsement for a place where dire straits, europe and bon jovi seem the norm. The only good thing about coppers is the nurses, unfortunatly the gardai outnumber them 2:1 and thats not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭tripper

I don't go to the "mainstream" clubs anymore for various reasons, but there is a load of savage underground clubs round dublin that are really treandy and **** with no scum, probably cause you need to be on a list. But there is one around baggot street called the blue rooms. Best club in dublin!!!!!!!