Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭creeper1

Ukrainians can go back once the war is over however I don't know about Georgians, Albanians, Nigerians and Algerians since there's no wars in these countries to begin with.

These are the future of Ireland? Did the Irish people approve that? Time for a real right wing government I think.

This useless shower need kicking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,053 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Ireland becoming a destination at ports too. We don't hear that many being caught in Rosslare these days

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭questioner22

They've basically admitted that their hands are tied. The country has been sold out completely.

All they are is a bunch of puppets carrying out orders of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,003 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

This all started with yer man Peter Sutherland of Davos fame. He famously said that we are not doing enough to ensure multiculturism becomes the norm and we need to increase our population significantly and fast (paraphrasing). Then we got FG and his acolyte Simon Coveney and his acolyte Helen McEntee and the policy goes on.

I doubt if SF or FF will do anything to put Irish citizens first either. That is the problem. SF are placing themselves at the helm of the solution to the housing crisis, but have no intention of controlling non visa immigration and the associated housing supply issue. I do realise that International Protection is International Law, but there comes a time when countries have to say "look, we have done our bit over and above what was required, we are rather full now, so need to cap the numbers for a time" Revisiting the issue in time is totally reasonable, but the policy as it stands is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,823 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Russia will be a threat for as long as Putin or anyone of his mindset is around. Putin going may not be the end of the problem, even if it is it will be probably decades before Russia or a Russian leader can and will be trusted again.

what do we offer the Ukranian people ? We offer them security, social welfare every week, free healthcare, housing… MONEY… the average monthly salary is around 390 euros…14,014 Ukrainian hryvnia in the Ukraine… they get around double that here a month for NO work….that’s massive..I wouldn’t imagine much of that is going back into our local economy, it doesn’t need to…

it’s a no brainer… safety, security, free healthcare, free cash… a better climate…. Of the 65,000 or so here now, most will want to and try to stay… there will be many men and women involved in the war effort who will want to join them….to the point we will see a time another up shift in the numbers arriving….

The Irish people approved nothing, nor were they asked.. “ it’s happening, now suck it up “

supposed to be a democracy but the greatest challenge to our wellbeing for xx years , covid aside and ZERO consultation, consideration, thought or concern…. Zero democratic enablement of our wellbeing…

its basically no longer a democracy..government have no issues with Irish people having issues finding a roof to put over their heads.

The non Ukrainian people arrive in numbers because they see the help the Ukrainians got,

Post edited by Strumms on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Easy fix is stop gov funding if these services are needed let them fund like regular charities. That will gage the support for the service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Uncharted2

I agree with everything you've said. Michael Martin said on an interview a number of months ago that no checks where bring carried out at airports, so basically we've no idea who or what is entering Ireland.

We need to start actually enforcing the law on airlines. You need paperwork to board You need paperwork to leave. Start enforcing the fines and the airlines will quickly start checking people on departure of the aircraft. Anyone without documentation will have flushed it or whatever and gets a return flight on the airlines expense. There are rules IIRC.

Useless bunch of incompetent clowns! Airports are secure places with CCTV everywhere and all flights have passenger logs with passenger details including names and nationality.

If there's a chancer saying he's fleeing a war zone check the CCTV footage. What gate did he come out of? Get in contact with the airline and demand to know who this individual is.

Someone said earlier there was a previous policy of checking passports coming directly off the plane that was working. Restart this policy and photograph their freaking passports.

Your not a Refugee until proven so. At the point where they ditch the documents their An Illegal and should be treated as such. There are very few direct flights from places that need that status. I'm pretty sure in every country destroying documentation like passports is Illegal.

I take your point but this IS an issue. They are destroying their passports and being allowed to pursue claims of asylum.

In just half a year 2300 odd rocked up without papers and claimed asylum as per this article.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2022/10/06/thousands-of-passengers-destroy-or-lose-passports-before-arrival-at-dublin-airport/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Coveney and O Gorman and the likes are a bigger threat to Ireland than covid, Global warming or putin.

Ireland will be destroyed long before any of these takes place.

2017, so 5 years ago.

They are total idiots.

They call what we're dealing with a 'housing crisis'. Reality is - it's planned. All of it is planned.

The fact that a pro-immigrant paper like IT publishes that now says it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I lived around there a few years back. I remember at the time that City West hotel was officially a covid testing center, yet it was clearly also being used for "asylum seekers" as there was a large amount of Africans knocking around that weren't before. The state were essentially lying to the public at the time about the usage the hotel.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

35,000 houses are being built for them. Hotels, derelict building are also being fixed and refurnished. The government, local councillors, County Councils and hoteliers are making alot of money out of this. They don't care that it is destroying Ireland. This is under EU orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,257 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

There were loads of eejits on threads given out about the Ukrainians being let in and then complaining about the quality of their accommodation (tents) and also against what they claimed was the racism insofar that asylum seekers were not getting the same as the Ukrainians.

After kicking up a stink on those threads, now that there appears to have been a bump in asylum seekers, the same posters appear on this thread giving out about them ............... yet only a few weeks or months ago they were calling for them to be all handed full dole as soon as they landed like the Ukrainians.

Ye should have a think and try to see a bit further than your noses lads. Calling for asylum seekers to be given more benefits one minute (when in reality all ye wanted was to stop the Ukrainians) and now decrying the lower benefits that asylum seekers actually get as being too generous. It makes ye look like tools to be now giving out about those benefits when ye were calling for them to be given more a few weeks ago.

To be fair, the poster never mentioned colour of skin. That seems to have been your assumption. He could have been as white as snow if all you were going on was the post. If you click on the link you see a fella with tanned legs. Could be a "brown" fella or a "white" fella with a suntan.

I think the pertinent point is that the rapist in question is not from here and had no permission to be here. Every country has criminals and rapists and every country has to deal with them. But that doesn't mean we have to deal with other countries' rapists and criminals for them.

Regardless of where you start, if you work yourself up to a position of being able to make decisions, you're not going to "working class" any more. So that is really a tautological argument.

It'd be a bit like complaining that the problem with billion-dollar multinational corporations is that the owners and CEOs are worth more than those on minimum wage.

I still haven't forgiven Coveney for his failed Zappone stunt and I can't wait for my local FG canvassers to call to my door. Happily, O'Gorman is likely to end up in the Coolmine Recycling site after the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

I happen to live in O’Gorman’s constituency. Unpopular doesn’t even begin to describe it.

At the time of the last GE, I raised the issue of migration with all the public representatives who called to my door. Dublin 15 was the canary in the mineshaft for what the rest of the country is now experiencing. If you want to see the blood drain from a politician’s face, just raise the ‘M’ issue.

It would be amusing, if it wasn’t so utterly depressing.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Patches oHoulihan

I was there again yesterday. The place has mainly men of not Ukrainian roots. 100s of people a day arriving from the airport - our border is essentially open to Albanian, Somalian,African, Georgian, Arabic men , its quite scary that we have streams of 100s of people a day arriving from Dublin airport etc - where are they all going to go? They are not going contribute to a rich multicultural society thats for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭donaghs

Is arrival through northern Ireland a thing? You don't need a passport to sail from Stranraer to Belfast. I'd imagine all these Albanians arriving at Dover will have a significant percentage wanting the free stuff offered by Ireland. Could they just present at a Garda and ask for asylum and avail of said free stuff or is flying to Dublin airport a better option?

Yes it is a thing. A friend was dating a guy from Morrocco and that's how he arrived in Ireland, through the North. He worked as a labourer here but I suppose had no entitlements as regards social welfare or anything like that. As soon as he mentioned he wanted an EU wife, my friend ran for the hills 😬

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭riddles

How is it possible to enter a country through an airport with no passport surely you are popped on the next return flight?

Not once you get to passport control and request asylum - but before that it's legally possible to prevent the invasion. The solution is obvious, but applying it would require some intelligence and determination and they're two characteristics that we have yet to see Helen McEntee display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭maninasia

Indeed. No more, no less. They haven't contributed anything previously and are not EU citizens so that is still very generous.

And compared to the anonymous horde in direct provision, extremely generous.

Who could ever have predicted that announcing own door accommodation within 4 months of arrival and an amnesty for people here illegally could have made more people decide to chance their arm? They're taking the proverbial if they can't acknowledge that Government policy in the last few years is responsible for this. I mean anyone no matter how spurilous their claim has been granted leave to remain if they get a petition with a few signatures or go on hunger strike for a few days.

The sensible thing would be to announce that leave to remain is being suspended while this crisis is ongoing, that only those granted international protection will be allowed to stay and actually deport some people who have no right to be here. I don't imagine they will do any of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Wtf is this crap

Asylum seekers get 38 euro a week not 208

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,675 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Seeing as you are here maybe you can tell us what your opinion is on stopping people with no passports before they make their way off the plane.

Some never let facts get in the way of a good rant.

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Skyfloater

Just dipping into this thread, what is this solution that you speak of?

use existing rules have guards outside the boarding departure area and ask for documentation. Those that have none fine the airline, Said airline has to by law return the offender to the host country they came from. Airlines will be pretty fast on making sure people have their documentation on them before they leave the aircraft.

As in post #136. But I'd take it a bit further by putting a pair of immigration officers on most (or every) inward scheduled flight to every Irish airport. They would check the passport of every passenger boarding the flight and photograph each passenger's face with their passport open. Any subsequent "loss" of documentation could then be rapidly sorted out while passengers were still airside. This would be expensive, but would still be only a small fraction of the cost of providing unlimited free board and keep and pocket money and access to the courts for illegal immigrants pretending to be asylum seekers. If the Danes can deal with these chancers, then so can we!

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Seems our friends in direct provision were getting free accommodation and food even after gaining employment. It's not so long ago people on here were crying they weren't allowed to work. Probably getting the 38 euros on top of there accommodation and food too.

Paradise Island they have landed in

Move to Ireland from anywhere in the EU or Africa | @Linda Michaels TV - YouTube

I just came across this on YT.

Surely we have enough here?

Looking at our accommodation availability for families and students our health care services both unavailability of beds, specialists and Gps. Schools transport and places availability.

Surely it should read we have to many.

And to many who cannot provide the services we need.

Under new government legislation property owners will be fined if they let properties to tourists.

The government legislation is aimed at freeing up more properties for long-term renting, to help ease the housing crisis. Is the tourist industry in Ireland being destroyed? Would it be possible if they stopped the unlimited amount of 'refugees' coming into the country would help ease the housing crisis? What are your thoughts on this?

Article below from the Irish Examiner

Kerry county council goes door to door to tackle tourist lets

'There is unfortunately an enthusiasm to make pariahs out of people short-term letting'

<snip> - copyrighted

Post edited by Beasty on

Erm, that’s a bit nutsville. ‘Going door to door’.. ie. Intimidatory tactics. That what this ‘democracy’ has come to now.

as I said weeks back… democracy is slowly being eroded.

here, is the article…I had to search it out as I presumed this might have been a wind up, it’s not.

As I’ve said….How long will it be before governments, councils etc start wanting to change legislation to kick people out of their homes if they deem they need the bedrooms.. ie. guy in an inherited 3 bedroom house with just his girlfriend… ? Might just ‘start’ at lettings but we can see the direction this is going.

anybody now think the Brits were mad to leave the EU ? I don’t.

no problems destroying livelihoods, businesses, whole industries and the way things are going.. the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,583 ✭✭✭✭L1011

This is enforcing planning permission. That has nothing to do with eroding democracy and the rest of your post is even more irrelevant and incoherent to the topic.

Short term holiday rentals need specific planning, and rightly so. They have very different infrastructural and service needs. Deciding that a website to make taking bookings easier allows you to do a change of use without permission is insanity, yet thousands or tens of thousands of property owners have

You don’t get to decide what’s irrelevant sorry ;) . Incoherent ? Hmmmm fine, so incoherent you decided to reply to it with six lines of……the above…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,583 ✭✭✭✭L1011

You somehow managed to leap from enforcement of planning rules to made up scenarios about occupancy of private dwellings and support for Brexit.

That's completely irrelevant and utterly incoherent

The UK, as it happens, restricts the number of rooms you may have in a social or socially supported rental. But that has nothing to do with planning permission enforcement!

:). I beg to differ, but you are free to think otherwise, the posts in this topic are there for anyone else to make up their own mind or engage on the subject…

your last line is completely inaccurate and provides proof you are unwilling to discuss this topic in good faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I dont see the problem with this, it is merely implementing government policy to regulate short term lets while there is a housing and homelessness crisis going on. A few weeks ago there wasnt a single property for rent on Daft in all of County Offlay, not one. But there was 300+ Airbnb listings for the same county which shows you the crux of the problem here, locals go homeless so tourists can stay in some house on a Friday and Saturday night, it is insanity and Ireland is behind the curve in figuring this out. There are stacks of cities in the US that have banned or strictly regulated short term lets because they were hoovering up family homes for local workers. If that bastion of capitaism has figured this out then its about time Ireland got on board when there is a housing crisis going on.

We literally have young people now emigrating now becasue they cannot secure housing. All that money spent on educating them gone up in smoke because they cannot find a place to live.

The Airbnb set have had a fantastic innings for the last decade but the end result of this short term let boom has meant that Irish people cannot find housing. We need houses for locals, not for tourists.

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭redlough

Google: "do you need planning for AirBnB"

First link: https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/housing/owning_a_home/home_owners/renting_your_property_for_shortterm_lets.html

Please note I picked AirBnB as most popular short term lease, same applies to others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭paul71

Enforcing long standing laws made by an elected parliament is anti-democratic?

Those "Seeking to be outraged" seldom fail to amuse.

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭redlough

Kerry is "almost totally dependent on tourism" down to the people they have voted in to represent them for many many years.

The area is a rent pressure zone so the same people who are renting out these properties are probably crying about having no house for little Jonnie and Mary.

You can't have it both ways unfortunatly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,484 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You should take your dodgy legal advice over to the Freeman thread.