Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Un1corn

I didn't make the argument but it seems to be the case that people think this has gone on for two years, therefore enough. They are done with it. Fair enough but at an epidemiological level what people think is more or less irrelevant. The pandemic will end when the pandemic ends. Nothing to argue about.

92% of adult population being vaccinated again doesn't matter if the hospital capacity is gone. UK has similar figures and there were studies done in July showing there were about 90% of people there have antibodies however they are hitting records cases again and their hospitals are filling up. It doesn't matter if they all have antibodies and are vaccinated. Reality shows they are in trouble again and the hospitals are filling up. The government having two years to increase hospital capacity is all well and good but if they didn't do it we are in the same situation. Makes the argument irrelevant. Point is no first world society is going to function very long without it's hospitals.The virus is a threat to everyone indirectly. It could get worse. It could get better. But again the point about hospitals. No hospitals means people suffering from other disease will not be treated. Nature will dictate the future. It doesn't matter what governments can or cannot sell to their people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Ah thanks. Would ya stop, i don’t want to have to take out the hankies. The love and warmth from fellow posters is too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭bloopy

To check if the security staff are checking, or the pubs.

I can't imagine they'd be able to check in places that are just using a member of staff to do the checking surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

One might expect a burst of enthusiasm on this and it will wane. Is there some form of sanction for a venue if people have not been checked apart from telling someone to leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭foxsake

non sequiturs . They aren't the same thing at all.

there is a difference between a prisoner who lost their rights due to a crime and a person not getting vaccinated.

the other scenarios are nonsensical in this context

unless that's a crime to refuse the vaccine and I missed that bill? Despite being reduced to the level of non-person , the government will still happily demand tax off the the 20year old non vaccinated. They want it both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

They can if the legislation is changed to add a PSA inspector in as a compliance officer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I think at worst the inspectors currently can report the premises and the Gardai can object to a licence renewal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭Allinall

How about the driving licence?

You have a right not to get one. Once you exercise that right, you are no longer permitted to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭growleaves

It isn't correct to separate part of a sentence from the context in this case.

The measures are extraordinary, justified on the back of a 'global crisis' and constitutionality untested.

Unless you are a tabula rasa bereft of civic knowledge you know that free enterprise is normal and doesn't require an explanation or defense, it's the hugely controversial barriers to economic and personal freedom which requires justification and frankly, as you've demonstrated, round-the-clock rhetorical defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Unless they carry on like that bar in Dublin last year, they'll all be fine!

I am selling some fireworks, guns, weed and alcohol from my shed, want to purchase some? I may also have a line on some plutonium

By the way, I have stated multiple times that vaccine passes serve no real useful purpose with 92% of the population subject to same vaccinated. it doesn't preclude criticism of the logical absurdities used to attack it. And it truth its only those who are unable to receive the vaccine I feel sorry for, not the wilfully ignorant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭watchingfromafar

"And it truth its only those who are unable to receive the vaccine I feel sorry for, not the wilfully ignorant"

What about those that have recovered from covid and have natural immunity but as subjected to expiration dates on their covid passes even though the jabbed don't have expiration dates?

How do you feel about that out of curiosity? Because come the 3rd of january they will consider me unfit for indoor dining too?

There is an easy solution for that. Get the jab, which all evidence tells is most effective in those previously infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,582 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

If you believe it is fatuous dangerous nonsense in relation to a virus that has killed close to 5 million people in 18 months then I`m afraid your idea of what is fatuous nonsense and mine are very different.

There has been a lot said on excess deaths being due to other than Covid, but from what I have seen of excess deaths for 2020, when this pandemic was at it`s height, from Eurostat data for the year EU/EEA countries excess deaths were basically the same as Covid deaths for those countries.

But then perhaps you have data from those EU/EEA countries that shows Eurostat was incorrect ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

You have until the 3rd of January to get jabbed then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Russman

Exactly, it'll box ticking at its finest, with maybe one or two sacrificial lambs made examples of.

If they really wanted compliance, they just have to say that a list of persistent non-checkers will be passed to Revenue for special attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I agree, but that's exactly what a circuit breaker is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I'd love to know why people here feel they are better than others. 90% of the population can just do the intelligent thing and do their part to get society back to normal, what is so wrong with the rest? Is it just a lack of anything else in life that means they just want to be seen to be part of any kind of group or movement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭growleaves

Sorry but regulation of certain sales of items and locking individuals out of society based on their personal status aren't the same thing.

It's category errors like this that lead people to make an intellectual jump from seatbelt laws to basically anything the government wills.

Only a dire emergency, promises that it's all temporary and will be over soon, mass media panic not disavowed by officials etc make this even possible. The attempts to represent it as pedestrian or ordinary law-making are embarrassing.

"But we have to wear a seatbelt how do you explain that???"

Even the term 'legal mandate' is deceptive in this context. This phrase refers to, if anything, judicial commands in limited circumstances. It doesn't mean the Taoiseach just appears on telly and tells people they must do what he says and that's the law. Hence constitutional challenges must be dodged at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

You have no idea how many people the virus has killed, since reporting is so varied and a "covid death" is not necessarily a covid death.

I'm glad your statistics keep you comfy. Do you imagine that the restrictions that have been free of collateral damage?

As early as March, the UN were estimating that Covid-19 disruptions killed 228,000 children in South Asia alone. How do you imagine that single collateral effect stacks up against Covid and its average age of death of 80+ in terms of total life years lost?

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

Why do I need to get jabbed because of an arbitrary expiry date on a piece of paper that doesn't relate to the fact I have natural immunity that is just as strong as your jab?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

The last line shows a serious lack of self-awareness to say the least.

In regards to the question, what's the point of answering? This thread is full of reasons, yet posters like yourself have went out of your way to ignore everyone of them, time and time again. You care nothing about their reasoning, so there's no point in pretending that you do.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭Allinall

Maybe have a word with Callum Robinson about your natural immunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

No, I genuinely want to know the reasons. Actual valid reasons as to why these people(not just on boards) feel they are better than the other 90% of the population. Can you give me one?

The idea that because we tolerate government restrictions on some things there are no circumstances under which a requirement to show medical verification and official ID to enter a domestic business could or even should be questioned, is something **** else.

The shills are outdoing themselves more and more as time goes on.

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

Doesn't answer the question.

Natural immunity is as good as the jab (possibly better)

Again. Why do I need the jab based on an arbitrary expiry date while having natural immunity?

Or is it you feel because you got the jab now I must get it too despite the science saying otherwise?

What about if it's just none of your **** business? Will you cope?

Again a snarky comment not based in science.

Do you refuse to believe in natural immunity?

How do you think vaccines work?

HINT: The answer to one is the other

So breakthrough cases prove that the vaccines don't work then, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale