Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Wexford bring a great support, even better than Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Montys return

That's a myth. There was less than 10,000 at the Dublin game this year in Wexford Park.

Like everyone else, they've a big relative following when they're winning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Mccormack a big loss for u20s tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭maximo31

Some point to win it!

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Congrats. 3 x wides by us was the difference and the goal was a goal (what are the umpires doing) but it is what it is. Ye better bring the fans to Nolan Park!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭newhouse87

PLayed poor enough. Lucky to win it but great score to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 89tipp91

That was a tonic to see the under 20s see out the win this evening

Great point from McCarthy at the end

• Registered Users Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Great game of hurling tonight, Cork will feel hard done by and should have had a goal, not sure how the umpires didn't see that one. Ultimately Cork were the better team but 17 wides killed them.

Darragh McCarthy with a fantastic point to win it. Serious heart and determination shown from our boys, fantastic work rate. Onto the final next Saturday night in Nowlan Park against an excellent Offaly team, should be a cracker.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Ompala

Only caught the last 5 minutes, haven't seen the goal not given but seems accepted it was valid so Tipp definitely got away with one there. Smashing point to win it though from the sideline.

Cork seemed well on top in the finish, if that game went to ET they looked to have the momemtum. That group of players on't give up to be fair to them, great win in what has been a tough week.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Very hard to beat a team twice in one Munster championship but Tipp did it tonight. Hammered Cork a few weeks ago. Cork got a similar run on Tipp tonight in terms of possession, had their homework done, but couldn't take their scores. Tipp dogged it out and got over the line. Great occasion and experience for young lads.

Fair play to Cummins in his interview afterwards. Put micheal back in his box. Showing a replay to manager right after the match was uncalled for. Twas time for celebrating not talking about an incident that he or tipp had no control over. Wasn't as if twas last minute either. Tipp could well have responded if it was allowed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,409 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Marvellous win. Well done to team and management, especially management who shipped a lot of flak after last year.

Probably rode our luck with the wides and that goal. You felt if Cork got ahead at all in the last 15 we were goosed as we looked to have tired. But the team did really well to hang on in there and win the vital frees (soft in terms of they were silly frees for Cork to give away but fouls nonetheless) and that boomer of a winner point.

When you hang in like that and get a bit of luck you deserve it. Last weekend we had a bit of luck with Horgans goal, but it doesnt make much difference when you are 15 or whatever points down and being slaughtered.

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭farmerval

There was only 6,000.00 in Wexford park against Galway this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Attendances in Leinster are really poor for some reason, fans don't seem to be buying into it.

Huge game in Nowlan Park tomorrow but only 16000 tickets sold.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

But it's only tipp that don't support. People online don't like facts though. All counties go through lean support periods.

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭farmerval

Strange, Anthony Daly in the examiner doing his best to talk up Tipp today. I can't see any kick in them at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Coodykeegan

We all know how this will end unfortunately. Tipp will probably put it up to them for a while before they fall away. We probably won’t get the severe bating we got last week. Expect to hear the usual sound bites about ‘restoring pride’.At the end of the day it will most probably be another defeat by about 5 or 6 points. And we’ve sunk so low that will be seen as a victory by some. We are moving in the right direction, and we’ll give Cahill another year etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

2 stand tickets for today, free to a good home. Can transfer on Ticketmaster. Send me a message if interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,158 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Hrllo all, trying to buy two tickets for todays game. Ticketmaster app and websites keeps saying ‘unfortunately we are not able to reserve your tickets just now’

Anybody else having an issue with Ticketmaster?

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Usrwastaken

good turnout today, decent performance. Too little too late though.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 89tipp91

Yes, a better performance, just lacking a little in quality

What’s to be said, we have won 1 game out of 12 games over 3 years. Let that sink in! The rebuild is on now. What we’ve been doing for the past 5 years I don’t know. Only Morris and Kenneally were good today imo. Too many average players. Ormonde had a particularly bad day and the subs had minimal impact. Clare were lackluster today and you felt they were just doing what they had to do. I never felt like we were going to win. We never looked like scoring a goal. We were reluctant to shove up the field in support. How many of our players would make it onto the Limerick, Cork or Clare first team?Cahill hasn’t a lot to work with.Unless he’s a magician I can’t see us winning anything this side of 2030

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

How do you change that? What needs to change be it at club level and level players are playing below inter County or at age grade in county teams to help prep players for senior inter County?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

its work in progress , whether cahill is the man to provide the transition that's another thing , tipp battled hard all day and that's all you can ask of a team any day m but the number of players that have left and with the likes of the mcgraths and bonner looking like yesterdays men its a case of patients needed , the only thing i would say ids that u 20 team looks really good , if mccormack is back for that final i would be putting the house on ye

ye look like the position we were in in 2011 , when we had a good minor and 21s team around that time but a light enough senior team , that time ger o'loughlin was the sacrificed lamb in the clare hot seat , he blooded all that team bar kelly and o'donnell that went on to win the all ireland , tipp management have to be brave next year and go with youth

on a side note , i couldnt wait to take the headphones put of my ears listening to ken hogans biased commentary anyone would think he had someone belong to him playing today 🤣

It would be some job to fix this mess. Along with Cahill, I would also be looking at his support team, there’s 4 selectors there, what are they bringing to the table?And the strength and conditioning team? Supporters are questioning whether there’s too much gym work going on and not enough cardio? Players that were once snappy on their feet, now appear to be slow. It’s the strength and conditioning teams job to balance the two.Too much bulking up is no good if you haven’t got speed. The whole lot of their jobs need scrutinizing and weed out those that are not capable of taking us forward. A useless back room team will get us no where. Selectors also need to look outside the few ‘big clubs’ and realise there is talent outside of these and not be picking players based on their club and name.Cahill needs to be absolutely ruthless too.No more pandering and being nice to players for the sake of it.

We don’t even know for sure who’s picking the team. You would hope Cahill is but selectors have an influence on it. How big an influence will depend on how strong or weak willed the manager is. Either way they couldn’t have made a bigger dogs dinner of it if they tried.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

if we break it down , who are they supposed to pick , an aging boner maher , john and noel mcgrath or an unproven sean Kennelly or eoghan connally