Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

You know my feelings on that type of set up. Players, especially backs, will not develop under it. They got it wrong on the line, for sure.
    Not many players get to play in front of that kind of crowd that are against you. Will make a lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 TipperaryFox

The competition aims to develop more hurlers to compete for Tipp in the future so that's exactly why I was delighted we entered two teams. The "cut throat" argument is pathetic. This is about developmet. Also to argue they wanted to look at others in an All-Ireland that those players did'nt qualify for is laughable. No case of mistaken identity I'm afraid and nothing against the player himself. He is an excellent hurler with a bright future ahead of him and thats exactly why he is on the minor 24. They train once if not twice some weeks and for some of these lads they'll never get that chance again. Look anyone involved give their time to it that other don't and that's to be respected. No doubt it's a big commitment and it's all to see Tipp successful at the highest level. Hopefully out minors will end the year on a good note.

Fair enough. You've created a new account to post about this one issue… You must be fairly stung over it. I can understand.

Tipp have won the last two of these. Won both minor and u20 underage grades in Munster this year. Development is worth more than winning though. The development crew are getting teams to finals at all grades. Became the first county to win three Forrestal titles in succession last year. They know what they're doing when it comes to developing talent. There's no arguing with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 larsyellowhelmet

Sure there was a couple of them made the 24 in different games with minors. Corks teams did the same. If you didnt make the team or were one of the 5 subs used in a championship match you are eligible to play. Ive cousins on both cork n tipp squads.

Wasn't the starting keeper on the minors originally on the celtic challenge team n another couple were used up after by the minors off the bench, isn't that the purpose of it.…n hopefully a few more get a run with them before the end....if that's not development what is...

also,as a parent how come you think that lads were dropped off the blue? , i asked the cousin in he says no player was dropped off the blue squad, looking at the photos from semi final n final I couldn't see anyone missing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭CorkFenian

What kind of impact is Teneo implosion having on Tippeary, have we heard the worst of it yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭newhouse87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,135 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Often sponsors give money throughout the year

Roscommon literally have Ballymore on speed dial, so if they need money for anything, they get in contact and get sorted almost immediately

If Teneo were having issues, then sponsorship and ‘throwaway’ money generally are the first thing that get stopped. New bosses = new strategies!

In 2019 after teneos first year, tipp had deficit of over 370k, the first county board deficit in 7 years. So yeah Declan Kelly of teneo was as full of shite as his brother Alan. Teneo did sweet fa to invests in tipps future so their downfall has no effect on tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,943 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

What's going on at Teneo that they're imploding?

Quick google tells me they had a 14% increase in profits last year.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Football Management stepped down immediately post-match today

Pathetic year all-being-said

Fair play to him for stepping down, gave it his best and didn't work but could easily have stayed on in the hope that things improve.

I don't expect a massive improvement with whoever the new manager will be.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

to be fair tipp football had no chance , some of the best footballers in the county constantly defecting to the hurlers . in fairness to colm collins over here in his time he developed a setup from u14 up tho senior team structure of players that would play football only , it took years as will the friends of tipp football , but its going to take a movement like that to fill in the gaps every time a player defects ,

the management had no hope this year , and probably not for the next two years for whoever is brave enough to take over

I’m only going by what the other poster said

I dont remember stories of Liam Sheedy having to fund raise for the county board and that being used as a reason to keep a a manager in the past, I had heard Teneo gave whatever monies required to county board\county teams etc I mean a few high profile members of the Tipperary team joined Teneo to work for them (arguably guys with highest profile on the team) so they can't have been that bad :)

Post edited by CorkFenian on

You heard wrong about teneo, they were not the great sponsor people had hoped for.

53 in the backroom team for Limerick, anyone know how we compare?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

That's including players(panel)

Unlikely, where did you see that?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Interesting that Liam Sheedy didnt have to raise money for Tipp during that time and some high profile players worked there thanks for the comment.

Many managers before teneo didnt have to fundraise.370k deficit first year of teneos sponsorship tells you enough. Left immediately after sheedy, if sheedy wasnt manager teneo would never have sponsored tipp. So n ask most tipp people with any knowledge they were not good sponsors.

They were paying 200k a year, how can a sponsoring company worth 100s of millions plus leave 370k deficit in the first year, would there not have been an investigation etc or was it all covered up in your opinion?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40705688.html

Thanking the outgoing sponsor, Joe Kennedy added: “Teneo was a great partner for Tipperary and we are hugely grateful for its support. We had three brilliant years, which conclude in December, so this was a very mutually enjoyable and successful tenure. We are also grateful to Teneo that, through its Teneo Sponsorship team, it is bringing expertise to bear in helping us secure the best possible partner for the future.”

Never said they left 370k deficit.The point is they were not great sponsor people thought they would be. Obviously the county board were going to thank them, they do with all sponsors. Declan Kelly is sheedys friend. They were average sponsor simple as. What are you arguing exactly? Your original point wax insinuating teneos problems would impact tipp. How would it, teneo give nothing to tipp since 2021.Guarantee limerick don't have any deficit, that's what you call a great sponsor.

Ps why is a cork man so interested into a previous tipp sponsor?

"370k deficit first year of teneos sponsorship tells you enough" fair enough they weren't great in your opinion both are teams happened to do very well during their tenure which obviously cost more money for county board as well. I believe the fund raising angle for Tipp shows up a very amateurish county board.

Yes my point was they gave tipp 200k same as any sponsor tipp would get. They didnt go over and beyond even though kelly is a tipp man.They didn't have any long term plan, left when sheedyleft. They had no interest in long term future of tipp. We had alot better players 2019 to now, nothing to do with teneo but Yes tipp co board a shambles at the moment.

He's only drawing you out. Very ill-informed across the board. Teneo hasn't been involved with Tipp for years.

Tipp county board is not a shambles but drawing criticism due to results. For instance, some idiots tried to make a big deal out of the power failure but that even happens at premiership and championship stadiums. Not a big deal.

Tipperary County Board recorded a deficit of €78,203 in Dec last. Despite running more teams than ever at every level. Income rose by 10.5% to just over €4 million last year. And that didn't include Clubber's final payment for the year. It is also only year 1 for the CEO. Costs are up big time, like everywhere. Small steps have been taken toward building three new pitches and an all weather pitch - that will take millions and a few years but it will be done. Lots being done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Ompala

Minrs both unlucky not to win and lucky not to lose in the last few minutes, going to extra time 1-17 to 0-20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Ompala

Minors just about got there in the end, 1-24 to 0-26. Weirdly I felt they did their best hurling when it was 15 vs 15, playing with an extra man seemed to hamper them. Great fight to score the last 3 points to win it.