Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls and OnlyFans

guy2231 wrote: »
    Well the men aren't the ones getting bent over and f*****, at least not most of the time.

So?
    Isn't that the point? Sex between men and women?
    So, what does that have to do with your feelings in relation to the men involved?

Do you think that women don't enjoy sex?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,496 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Really wouldn't bother me in the slightest if my partner was on it, what is the big deal. They're still your partner who loves you,who chose to be with you above all the 'fan base' out there. And now they are making some money and getting some credit for assets you also find attractive, what is bad about that? I'd be happy for them, and us, Most people are way too wooden and hung up on what should be 'private' or not, such an unnecessarily restrained way for society to be , relax a little or at the very least be relaxed about what other people choose to deem private or not if you must maintain such dated views.

That does sound a bit contradcitory, to be honest "power to them - but I won't hold them in high regard".

You also sound very much anti-porn. Not in a legal sense - I'm not suggesting that you want it banned or anything - but in a moral/ethical sense. It's kike the age old traditional religious, "I have nohting against homosexuality/divorce/aboirtion, but I don't want it in the family".

It's not a contradiction.

If that's how they choose to live their life, I acknowledge that and wish them the best. Once they are doing what they do as an informed consenting adult, I am in no position to tell them they are wrong.

I personally do not think that someone performs custom **** on camera as someone I could honestly respect. Let them at it though. If that's what they want to do.

Perhaps I'm old fashioned.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Really wouldn't bother me in the slightest if my partner was on it, what is the big deal. They're still your partner who loves you,who chose to be with you above all the 'fan base' out there. And now they are making some money and getting some credit for assets you also find attractive, what is bad about that? I'd be happy for them, and us, Most people are way too wooden and hung up on what should be 'private' or not, such an unnecessarily restrained way for society to be , relax a little or at the very least be relaxed about what other people choose to deem private or not if you must maintain such dated views.

Fair play. That's your choice and outlook.

I'd rather not have a partner that says "hang on a minute, pause that film, I've been tipped 20 euro so I need to **** myself silly for well_hung98"

If that's how they choose to live their life, I acknowledge that and wish them the best. Once they are doing what they do as an informed consenting adult, I am in no position to tell them they are wrong.

I personally do not think that someone performs custom **** on camera as someone I could honestly respect. Let them at it though. If that's what they want to do.

I wouldn't be on board with that either. Someone performing like that on the internet is just a massive red flag, to me.

bubblypop wrote: »
    But you said you don't respect the women in porn, how about the men? What are your feelings about them?

The exact same as the women.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,068 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I probably know a bit too much about OF as a good friend of mine had one for a long time. She would consider it a massive regret now in her life and something she hopes will fade away in time but as with everything that's on the internet, in one way or another it will always be there.

I personally couldn't be in a relationship with a sex worker, I don't judge I just know it wouldn't be for me. I could have one as a **** buddy obviously, but not as a girlfriend.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Strangely enough, I've been told I have outdated views on sex and sexuality for saying I wouldn't be in a relationship with someone who would gladly masturbate for my friend, my father or my son, as long as they paid a tenner.

Clown world.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'd rather not have a partner that says "hang on a minute, pause that film, I've been tipped 20 euro so I need to **** myself silly for well_hung98"
    I'm pretty sure it doesn't work that way.

Strangely enough, I've been told I have outdated views on sex and sexuality for saying I wouldn't be in a relationship with someone who would gladly masturbate for my friend, my father or my son, as long as they paid a tenner.

Clown world.

In all honesty, I suspect most of those arguing against you, wouldn't be as "open-minded" if it related directly to their own lives. We all have our range of boundaries and standards about behavior, especially when it comes to sex.

So you're happy that your father came over your mother's face, you're just glad it wasn't recorded on camera?

What they did, was between them and as far as I know, no money changed hands.

You are saying what happens between a committed loving couple is the same as someone fingering themselves in a custom video for some random person for a tenner?

Have a word with yourself chief.

My position is that I am absolutely fine with onlyfans, but I would never wish it for, or support, my family or anyone I loved as it is monetising a very intimate aspect of their life which they can't take back.

But yeah, you equate that sentiment to how I love my dad spunking on my mam.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hello 2D Person Below, do try to make a point without coming across as being a dick while doing so.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,172 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

First of all, the fact that you even think they are wrong, proves my second point.

Secondly, you are no position to tell a relative or partner either.

Conservative rather than old fashioned, not that there's much of a difference.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

You would disown your daughter over it? Wow.
    That's worse than having an OF profile for me

Ye disowning is ott but it would eat me up inside. I'd feel like a complete failure as a father. I suppose when I think about it I would blame myself not her.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,172 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm pretty sure it doesn't work that way.

Indeed. Anyone saying, "hang on, pause the video I have to work for ten/fifteen minutes" is going to be told to feck off no matter what their profession.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

If I knew someone was on OF, I'd worry more about them having ended up doing it as a last resort (as many have over the pandemic), due to personal economic circumstances - and how they may be further victimized career wise and such, over it.

If they have the self confidence to actually be able to do it and do well from it though, basically making their own way successfully self-employed - then I have far more respect for that, than I do for the much more undignified shit people end up putting up with in a lot of regular jobs, and end up making others put up with too in places with shitty office politics.

The way people let themselves be fucked in a workplace on a regular basis - is a lot less dignified than someone who's actually in control of their work on OF.

First of all, the fact that you even think they are wrong, proves my second point.

Secondly, you are no position to tell a relative or partner either.

Conservative rather than old fashioned, not that there's much of a difference.

First of all, I did not say they were wrong.

Second, I am in a position to give my opinion to a relative and choose a partner who doesnt/hasn't done it.

It's conservative to prefer to have a partner who doesn't masturbate on demand for strangers? ****, I suppose I'm conservative so.

Indeed. Anyone saying, "hang on, pause the video I have to work for ten/fifteen minutes" is going to be told to feck off no matter what their profession.

Lol, pausing a video is where you draw the line.

I getcha.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

cloudatlas wrote: »
    What is this weird 'to be so raw' thing you keep going on about.

Your comments make me cringe because they hark back to a Catholic Ireland that a lot of us are trying to escape. The idea that someone is somehow 'damaged goods' if they are sexually experienced. Live your life but I think it's sad. Sorry to be so raw.

Then you are a very ignorant person who cannot accept another person having a different view than you.
    Look, I aint no feckin fool as neither is anyone else looking at your posts. See your little cheap shots... a poor attempt to give your own argument more weight. It doesnt work on most people.

Why don't you wake the fu*k up? :)
    - No one gives a sh*t what you think.
    - No one gives a sh*t what I think.
    - No one cares.

So if you feel an undying need to "prove me wrong" - please, by all means do so. Carry on. No one cares tho. Realise this all you are trying to do is win a pointless internet argument. But I guess than rather than accepting that and moving on with your day you can't help but hit that quote button, right? it won't change anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭notAMember

I'm not a charmer. I'll grant you that.

But yes, while watching pornography, the consumers tend to "dehumanise" the actress and actor.

It would be tough to enjoy their content if you didn't.

And do you see the inherent problem with that?

What happens throughout history when you dehumanise people? In any society? Slavery, genocide, war, apartheid, mistreatment. General bad things?

You agree, and I think it’s true, that women are dehumanised by men who consume porn. No argument there at all.

We see throughput this thread that women who do this are considered not worthy of being partners, that they are not respected, actually, that they are not respectable. That it wouldn’t be surprising if they lost their jobs for it. Called nut jobs , all sorts of assumptions about their mental health. Being bent over and ****ed, degrading work, and therefore degraded. All examples of being dehumanised.

effectively, you have a generation of men clamouring for sexual content to be created for their titillation. It is so normalised it is almost their RIGHT to access. The posters here couldn’t even contemplate what a world without it would be. But at the same time the creators of this content are treated as subhuman.

What effect do we think that has on society? Does it have an impact on relationships, on women’s safety?

For me, it should either be that women who create the content are respected, that they are treated as people making an honest living OR porn is off limits, immoral, wrong, whatever way you want to say it.

Because to have it as dehumanising as people seem to see it now is the damaging part. Not the sex itself, not the commercial part, none of that would be a problem if the women were respected. But they are clearly not. And that is a problem.

• Site Banned Posts: 2 Grigotbianco

Then you are a very ignorant person who cannot accept another person having a different view than you.
    Look, I aint no feckin fool as neither is anyone else looking at your posts. See your little cheap shots... a poor attempt to give your own argument more weight. It doesnt work on most people.

Why don't you wake the fu*k up? :)
    - No one gives a sh*t what you think.
    - No one gives a sh*t what I think.
    - No one cares.

So if you feel an undying need to "prove me wrong" - please, by all means do so. Carry on. No one cares tho. Realise this all you are trying to do is win a pointless internet argument. But I guess than rather than accepting that and moving on with your day you can't help but hit that quote button, right? it won't change anything.

Judging by your emotional reaction you care very much.

notAMember wrote: »

What happens throughout history when you dehumanise people? In any society? Slavery, genocide, war, apartheid, mistreatment. General bad things?

You agree, and I think it’s true, that women are dehumanised by men who consume porn. No argument there at all.

We see throughput this thread that women who do this are considered not worthy of being partners, that they are not respected, actually, that they are not respectable. That it wouldn’t be surprising if they lost their jobs for it. Called nut jobs , all sorts of assumptions about their mental health. Being bent over and ****ed, degrading work, and therefore degraded. All examples of being dehumanised.

effectively, you have a generation of men clamouring for sexual content to be created for their titillation. It is so normalised it is almost their RIGHT to access. The posters here couldn’t even contemplate what a world without it would be. But at the same time the creators of this content are treated as subhuman.

What effect do we think that has on society? Does it have an impact on relationships, on women’s safety?

For me, it should either be that women who create the content are respected, that they are treated as people making an honest living OR porn is off limits, immoral, wrong, whatever way you want to say it.

Because to have it as dehumanising as people seem to see it now is the damaging part. Not the sex itself, not the commercial part, none of that would be a problem if the women were respected. But they are clearly not. And that is a problem.

So in summary, you either want to force men to respect women in porn OR porn should be banned?

And I have made it clear that I have the same respect for the men as I have for the women.

I wouldn't find a woman who creates porn as a worthy partner. That is my choice and my preference, much as creating porn is her choice and her preference.

You can't make me respect her choices much as I can't make anyone respect mine.

I respect people's RIGHT to choose, but not the necessarily the choices they make.

I think you are over-egging the whole "not wanting an onlyfans creator as a partner" slant by equating it with women's safety and society as a whole.

Why are you only concerned with dehumanisation of women? Men are in porn too and on only fans. Men are also dehumanised in porn and if I remember correctly, they are paid substantially less.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

Disgusting behaviour tbh. And young teens seeing them advertising on social media and thinking it's normal behaviour. Weimar stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Nicetrustedcup

Went on a few dates a few years back with a cam girl,

I didn’t care at all at the time as it was a way to make extra income for her, she was working as a cleaner in a hotel after coming to Ireland and no way of earning good money so she done caming,

It didn’t work out with us but I had no issues about it as each to there own,

But back in college I did hear rumours of one of my friends housemates friends being a sugerbaby, as this girl had money for eveything and did not work at all, so no clue about that but being a sugerbaby is risky compared to a cam girl as you will be meeting up with a guy in person

notAMember wrote: »

Porn actors (male/female) are objectified. They're not dehumanised, since it is their humanity that gets most people off... there's not much of a market for two robots in human bodies getting it on. People who watch porn interpose themselves into the role of one of the parties.. it's part of the fantasy.

"Your Slavery, genocide, war, apartheid, mistreatment. General bad things?" line is pure drama. How many genocides of porn actors have you heard of?

As with most forms of modern media, the people who engage in certain roles become objectified, because they represent something that most people are not.

Ahh I see, like the calls to remove the Formula 1 girls or the Boxing rounds girls (can't remember what they're callled), for them to lose their jobs in the name of equality?

You're over generalising. Posters have provided a range of specific examples for their opinions regarding mental health, and other negatives assigned to people who engage in this sort of work... and invariably the connection is made between that work and offering sex on the side. That those who are receiving offers for sex all the time, and since they're in this work for the money, they'll likely accept such propositions.

I've seen on this thread, the desire by some posters to blur the lines, taking specific examples relating to strippers, models, etc and apply them across the board to porn stars, or Onlyfans.

Effectively, you have a huge market in porn aimed at women too... :rolleyes:

As for posters not even being able to contemplate a world without porn, many of us are in our mid-40s/older, and we can remember Ireland without the internet, and also when porn mags weren't easily obtained. We can remember when such material was extremely difficult to obtain..

As for being treated as a subhuman, that's more drama. Morals. Most people hold themselves to certain boundaries regarding morality, usually learned through education, parenting, religion, etc... and invariably there will be standards of behavior regarding sex. We place value on the sanctity of the body, and how it is used. Nobody is considering porn stars to be subhuman.. however, those stars will be judged by their actions/choices in life.

And what about a world where no importance is placed on the act of sex? Where no value is assigned to waiting for love and marriage? Or that the idea of casual sex, and let's face it, degrading sex becomes so common that it directly impacts on the lives of most people? What about the attitude towards beauty, and the pressures put on young girls to change their bodies to become more sexually attractive?

You can't have it both ways. You can't be telling everyone that we must not judge others in the sex industry, while also crying out about women's safety. Well, I suppose, you can actually... if you're going to ignore how all these factors interact to evolve our society.

We should have values in society towards what is acceptable about sex. And as such, people should be able to say that porn should not become commonplace.. which is what onlyfans and similiar websites seek to produce. Porn in the past required far more investment, and was relegated to a relatively small audience. The internet changed that somewhat, but it was still mostly a regional thing. The US being the main producer and consumer of porn in the west.. but now, things are changing. Now, it's becoming far more common, to the extent that anyone with a webcam can set up an account to engage in this kind of work.. how will that affect society?

You seem to want people to be open-minded, while ignoring the negatives that comes with that open-mindedness...

You can really spot the simps in this thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've read a few feminist debates on this and in general the feeling is that porn is wrong, rife for exploitation(which it is/can be) and the whole male gaze thing, but camming/onlyfans is "empowering", even with the male gaze thing. The difference seems to be one is self employed and gets more cash, the other isn't and doesn't.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Went on a few dates a few years back with a cam girl,

I didn’t care at all at the time as it was a way to make extra income for her, she was working as a cleaner in a hotel after coming to Ireland and no way of earning good money so she done caming,

It didn’t work out with us but I had no issues about it as each to there own,

But back in college I did hear rumours of one of my friends housemates friends being a sugerbaby, as this girl had money for eveything and did not work at all, so no clue about that but being a sugerbaby is risky compared to a cam girl as you will be meeting up with a guy in person

I had waaaay too much time on my hands the last year. I saw a program on TV about sugar babies. It's basically prostitution. I had a look on the app out of curiosity and saw someone I worked with on it and has been a member for years. Crazy amount of women on it. So basically I've been working with onlyfans girls and sugar babies the whole time lol

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭scottigael

No self respecting man would date a woman with an onlyfans, they're clearly shameless and would you like your future children to see naked pictures their mother sold for money to strange honey men? It's just completely shameless disgraceful behaviour and I pity the "men" who would even dream of giving money to those "women" with an onlyfans.