Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls and OnlyFans

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭Ms. Newbie18

LMHC wrote: »
    I seen her revolut well I seen the pics she sent to him showing everything trying to smoothen her case. Its proven she's made mad money and I say that as someone who's making really good money. She's outweighing me.

I just couldn't have me girl doing it and I think ur right about the posting a lot longer.

Definitely posting a lot longer. I would probably be more worried about what went on in her DMs then OF at times.

The thing is this OF can be a really slippery slope for people. It's sex work at the end of the day. When the OF money drys up, or you find you are not making what has been reported. How far are you willing to take it to keep the lifestyle you've become accustomed to?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,518 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

ArtyM wrote: »
    I was 12 months into a relationship before I discovered that my partner thought it appropriate to serve tomatoes with fish, so I can understand this.

You really never know the dirty secrets that others can hide.

Take a picture.

If ever it goes to court that’s all the evidence you would need to get sole custody and the house. Every judge in the country know tomatoes have no plaice near fish.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,326 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Definitely posting a lot longer. I would probably be more worried about what went on in her DMs then OF at times.

The thing is this OF can be a really slippery slope for people. It's sex work at the end of the day. When the OF money drys up, or you find you are not making what has been reported. How far are you willing to take it to keep the lifestyle you've become accustomed to?

Or when Revenue catch up with you. I must look up the VAT rules on this

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It wouldn't bother me anymore than if she worked as a stripper or lingerie model. Shur the world is fúcked anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Real Life

If it was just someone I was seeing and it was fairly casual I wouldnt care but I wouldnt be on for it if it was a serious relationship with kids etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

OF had an increase of users since the pandemic. I think it went from 7 mil users to 85 mil within a year. It's not that easy to make a lot of money from right off the bat , which leads to beleive she must have been posting racy pics publicly on Instagram before going on OF. That is how most build their profiles.

If what she says about the money is true, then the content must be fairly explicit and that would turn me off dating them.

I don't believe half the thing about loads of women making serious cash of this platform.

Never used it myself but read a few links about how revenue Vs producer numbers points to majority making very little.

Obviously there is some making big money but I imagine a lot of them are high enough profile on Instagram or Twitch.

I am sure there is more making serious money but doing other stuff on the side, especially considering this already apparently happens on Instagram which is a less explicit platform.

Basically point being that somebody making actual money is going to be relatively high profile and their content is probably archived somewhere forever, or they are doing stuff more.

In a way got huge respect for people like Belle Delphine who's set for life without actually ever doing anything crazy explicit by crafting a image for her target market.

Actually here's a general question.
    If you had kids would you be more disappointed if your child was a OnlyFans content producer or a subscriber spending their hard earned money?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

I don't believe half the thing about loads of women making serious cash of this platform.

Never used it myself but read a few links about how revenue Vs producer numbers points to majority making very little.

Obviously there is some making big money but I imagine a lot of them are high enough profile on Instagram or Twitch.

I am sure there is more making serious money but doing other stuff on the side, especially considering this already apparently happens on Instagram which is a less explicit platform.

Basically point being that somebody making actual money is going to be relatively high profile and their content is probably archived somewhere forever, or they are doing stuff more.

In a way got huge respect for people like Belle Delphine who's set for life without actually ever doing anything crazy explicit by crafting a image for her target market.

If you had kids would you be more disappointed if your child was a OnlyFans content producer or a subscriber spending their hard earned money?

The owners are the folks who launched suicide girls iirc, they take a 17% cut straight away, then add your own tax on top can be hefty, but then lube? tax write off? outfits? rite off, sex toys? write off? Hotel weekend with your fella, take a pic, write off

• Site Banned Posts: 339 ✭✭guy2231

Is that a serious question? I would rather my lad basically watching porn as most young lads do than my daughter posting nudes and all sorts of things on the internet for weird older men.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,631 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I know of a few very good looking gay guys who are Facebook "friends" who also have OnlyFans pages etc.

It's voyueurism at the end of the day - where there is a demand, there will be a supply - and I have a live and let live philosophy generally but it would not be for me. And as the others opined, once the images are out there in the public domain they stay out there. I would also be concerned, especially in the case of young women, of the potential for stalking and attracting creeps generally.

When you are young, good looking and fit but broke it can seem like a great way to make money or extra money. But as you get older, perhaps getting into a good career and getting hitched, starting a family and settling down etc. - those OnlyFans images could come back to haunt you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

guy2231 wrote: »
    Is that a serious question? I would rather my lad basically watching porn as most young lads do than my daughter posting nudes and all sorts of things on the internet for weird older men.

Actually sort of am, at least the girl is getting something out of this €€€
    The lad is giving away his money for something you can find literally millions of for free to buy in to the illusion of a virtual relationship

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

LMHC wrote: »
    I was out with a mate today and he's been with a girl about 5 months he's a sound lad but he's just found out the girl he's dating is on OnlyFans with a lot of followers I haven't seen the content but was told its filthy.

I'm very liberal and I'm all for women being empowered but if me bird was on the T'internet getting the bits out and doing the self pleasure crack for Larry in his mas basement I'd be losing the run of myself.

My mate said he doesn't know what he thinks, but I think it's wrong. Paper chasing or not.

What do yas think? >>Mod Snip<<

You aren't liberal. You described it as 'filthy' and 'wrong'. Anyway if he found out because she told him then it's a negotiation between two consenting adults, if he doesn't want to continue then fair enough but if he does he has to accept it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭notAMember

Your lad would be creating the market there for your daughter by buying it.

Hope all those being appalled by the thought of a woman they know doing this have never looked at any porn in their lives. Otherwise the hypocrisy is ridiculous.

You can’t consume something and simultaneously condemn those creating it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,326 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

notAMember wrote: »

I don't see anyone condemning it. Most have said fair play to a girl who can do well on it.
    Wanting better for your own kids/spouse does not equal hypocrisy nor does it mean criticism of those that do it.
    There are plenty of jobs and past times I would prefer those in my family not to do.

Professional singer is one. Does that mean I am a hypocrite for listening to music?

Interpreter is another but am I a hypocrite to actually avail of translation services?

Soldier is another but am I a hypocrite for agreeing with peacekeeping activities?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    I don't see anyone condemning it. Most have said fair play to a girl who can do well on it.
    Wanting better for your own kids/spouse does not equal hypocrisy nor does it mean criticism of those that do it.
    There are plenty of jobs and past times I would prefer those in my family not to do.

Professional singer is one. Does that mean I am a hypocrite for listening to music?

Interpreter is another but am I a hypocrite to actually avail of translation services?

Soldier is another but am I a hypocrite for agreeing with peacekeeping activities?
    A singer and soldier I can understand but an interpreter? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

Is that not the same thing though?
    The women in porn film are still someone's daughter.

Anyway, if a young woman is making money on selling pictures of herself, good luck to her, make as much money as you can as fast as you can.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭notAMember

I don't see anyone condemning it.

Forget your own posts? ;)

There are absolutely plenty of people saying they are fine with it, and fair play to them. My post was addressed to those who don't. Here is a wee sample from this thread.

I wouldn't date someone like that.

These are from various other posters
    Definitely not something I could live with
    Get rid of her.

I'd not date someone on it
    I'd dump straight away

etc..

Now, all of those posts read like they consider the girls who produce this content not to be worthy as a partner. And I'm saying that works perfectly well if they have ethical problems with the industry itself and don't consume porn. It is talking out of both sides of their face if they create the demand for the service and say that.

Not really the same though is it? Let me ask you this, would you dump someone if you found out they were a singer, interpreter or soldier?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Buddy Bubs wrote: »
    I'm glad I make enough money not to have to buy a house outside Dublin, never mind outside the EU. Big deal, someone bought 2 apartments in turkey. Presume it's a cheap ****hole

2 properties in a country in which the activity which paid for them is illegal... Also talks about paying money to Revenue. I hope she's receiving tax advice on this Turkish move.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Agree most are not condemning it, they just wouldn’t date somebody involved. Everybody has their own personal taste when it comes to dating.

Eg I wouldn’t date somebody who lived in France for example. I’m not condemning them for living in France, it’s just too far away!

Personally I’m not against it at all - each to their own and if they can make good money (hover long that lasts) and are happy then why not.

I would not want a daughter of mine doing it because it could be very damaging for her in future, both mentally and from a reputation perspective to get other jobs. But I’m sure there are some who would otherwise be on the dole and then why not make money from being a sex worker.

Forget your own posts? ;)

There are absolutely plenty of people saying they are fine with it, and fair play to them. My post was addressed to those who don't. Here is a wee sample from this thread.

These are from various other posters

etc..

Now, all of those posts read like they consider the girls who produce this content not to be worthy as a partner. And I'm saying that works perfectly well if they have ethical problems with the industry itself and don't consume porn. It is talking out of both sides of their face if they create the demand for the service and say that

Some people don't want to date a girl who creates porn. That's absolutely fine. They don't need to have an ethical problem with the industry or to abstain from watching pornography.

Some people just wouldn't like an intimate relationship with someone who you know will masturbate on demand for any tom dick or Harry for a tenner a month. It would certainly put me off.

The girls are doing grand for themselves, the trade-off is that they will more than likely go down in a fair few people's expectations and possibly lose the respect of people close to them.

Not all people, but certainly some.

A singer and soldier I can understand but an interpreter? :confused:

:pac: I dunno I guess I would have higher aspirations for my kids than to be repeating something someone else says in a different language. I would rather that they be the ones saying something worthy of being interpreted ;)

:pac: I dunno I guess I would have higher aspirations for my kids than to be repeating something someone else says is a different language. I would rather that they be the ones saying something worthy of being interpreted ;)

Lol. Bizarre. But strangely understandable. (Which is I suppose somewhat ironic considering)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

sure I can.

I occasionally take drugs. I still loathe the organised crime element of the drugs industry and the murder it causes. My view is that drugs aren't the problem the black market it.

I don't care what OF brings in cash wise. It would be deal breaker for me whether past or present. I don't care what a wonderful soul she would be , I wouldn't be happy in that relationship.
    Nothing is free in this world and the occasionally highly paid sex industry comes at a price. People's judgement.

That said I'd can disapprove but I'd never ban it, if people want to do it. Then fire away but that doesn't mean they should be immune to shutting down others opinions on the matter.

It wouldn't bother me anymore than if she worked as a stripper or lingerie model. Shur the world is fúcked anyway.

I've heard this a lot from guys, but don't be too sure you'd feel that way after a few weeks. I had a similar opinion when I was young, with the usual attitude that it didn't matter as long as she was hot.

However, I had a girlfriend who was a stripper in Oz. I'd met her at the stripclub, got to know each other, and started dating after a while. On the surface, she was wonderful, but after a few weeks, and I got to know her better, it became very different. She was damaged, in terms of how she saw the value of relationships, and being faithful. After we broke up, she set me up with two other strippers, who I dated, with similar results. Absolutely gorgeous, with great bodies, but messed up in the head. Great material for friendships though.

These women are never off-duty, so to speak. They're always flirting with others. They're always seeking to gain the attention of strangers, and convert that into something valuable for themselves. Now, I was never bothered by their jobs, I still feel that we all sell ourselves in different ways to others, and stripping (as long as there's no sex involved), isn't something to get jealous over. All the same, it doesn't stay that way, and invariably, due to all the offers they receive, in the course of their work, the lines blur, and they engage in crap which isn't right [if you want any kind of decent relationship]. And while we were together, I was friends with their friends, their partners, and from conversations, I found that this was common.. extremely common. Some men don't care what their women get up to, who they have sex with, etc.. but they're a minority..

I'm still friends with all three women. They're all finished with stripping, and have made the move towards normalising their lives, but their mindsets haven't changed that much. Their experiences have warped their views of other people, especially men, and they're not very trustworthy when it comes to relationships, even though they've married, and had children since then. Lovely people to have as friends, but not as anything else.

I think there's a lot of willful ignorance when it comes to these situations. The ignoring of realistic appreciation for how people behave. The expectation that someone can be a devil in work, but be an angel in your relationship.. but it simply doesn't work that way. Very few people can completely separate their work from their personal lives, and this is even more so, when their work consists of manipulating other people.

A lingerie model would be an entirely different situation, and I suspect I wouldn't be bothered. Their work is very much under controlled circumstances, and there's no reliance on manipulating others to guarantee income. Their appearance is enough to gain work.. and the lines between work/personal life are very clear. Not so with strippers. Although, I think anyone doing modelling for the big scene (Victoria secret, etc) would have to rely more than on their appearance, and there's likely a lot more going on in the background. A bit like the things many actresses have to do to get roles. But for any average lingerie model, for whom it's a part-time job, or something they only plan to do for a few years, I wouldn't think there's much wrong with it. Really depends on the culture. I've dated models in China, and seen the lifestyles they had, with the need to party with those funding the scene, and I'd be very iffy about it. There's a lot of seediness that goes on in some countries.. and the expectation of what models (both genders) have to do, in order to be successful.

I'd say that OnlyFans is similar to stripping, and would be very careful of anyone engaged in it. When people do this kind of work, it affects the way they think.. and that's important for anyone who is connected to them. It's much the same way with other roles which are aggressively seeking a response from others, as you'll find it affects that person's attitude towards others. (Working in Credit Control/Debt Collections seriously affected my perception of others and stayed with me for a long time after I finished with that role)

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

stoneill wrote: »

Anyway, if a young woman is making money on selling pictures of herself, good luck to her, make as much money as you can as fast as you can.

Ye fair play to her but good luck to her trying to form a good relationship with someone decent.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭YellowLead

I've heard this a lot from guys, but don't be too sure you'd feel that way after a few weeks. I had a similar opinion when I was young, with the usual attitude that it didn't matter as long as she was hot.

However, I had a girlfriend who was a stripper in Oz. I'd met her at the stripclub, got to know each other, and started dating after a while. On the surface, she was wonderful, but after a few weeks, and I got to know her better, it became very different. She was damaged, in terms of how she saw the value of relationships, and being faithful. After we broke up, she set me up with two other strippers, who I dated, with similar results. Absolutely gorgeous, with great bodies, but messed up in the head. Great material for friendships though.

These women are never off-duty, so to speak. They're always flirting with others. They're always seeking to gain the attention of strangers, and convert that into something valuable for themselves. Now, I was never bothered by their jobs, I still feel that we all sell ourselves in different ways to others, and stripping (as long as there's no sex involved), isn't something to get jealous over. All the same, it doesn't stay that way, and invariably, due to all the offers they receive, in the course of their work, the lines blur, and they engage in crap which isn't right [if you want any kind of decent relationship]. And while we were together, I was friends with their friends, their partners, and from conversations, I found that this was common.. extremely common. Some men don't care what their women get up to, who they have sex with, etc.. but they're a minority..

I'm still friends with all three women. They're all finished with stripping, and have made the move towards normalising their lives, but their mindsets haven't changed that much. Their experiences have warped their views of other people, especially men, and they're not very trustworthy when it comes to relationships, even though they've married, and had children since then. Lovely people to have as friends, but not as anything else.

I think there's a lot of willful ignorance when it comes to these situations. The ignoring of realistic appreciation for how people behave. The expectation that someone can be a devil in work, but be an angel in your relationship.. but it simply doesn't work that way. Very few people can completely separate their work from their personal lives, and this is even more so, when their work consists of manipulating other people.

A lingerie model would be an entirely different situation, and I suspect I wouldn't be bothered. Their work is very much under controlled circumstances, and there's no reliance on manipulating others to guarantee income. Their appearance is enough to gain work.. and the lines between work/personal life are very clear. Not so with strippers. Although, I think anyone doing modelling for the big scene (Victoria secret, etc) would have to rely more than on their appearance, and there's likely a lot more going on in the background. A bit like the things many actresses have to do to get roles. But for any average lingerie model, for whom it's a part-time job, or something they only plan to do for a few years, I wouldn't think there's much wrong with it. Really depends on the culture. I've dated models in China, and seen the lifestyles they had, with the need to party with those funding the scene, and I'd be very iffy about it. There's a lot of seediness that goes on in some countries.. and the expectation of what models (both genders) have to do, in order to be successful.

I'd say that OnlyFans is similar to stripping, and would be very careful of anyone engaged in it. When people do this kind of work, it affects the way they think.. and that's important for anyone who is connected to them. It's much the same way with other roles which are aggressively seeking a response from others, as you'll find it affects that person's attitude towards others. (Working in Credit Control/Debt Collections seriously affected my perception of others and stayed with me for a long time after I finished with that role)

Totally agree with this. Not to mention for the ones making serious cash it’s not only about taking their clothes off but performing specific sexual acts on camera at the request of strangers and the back and forth messaging/ building up relationships with these men to they stay subscribed.

stoneill wrote: »

Is it the same thing? This must be a wind up, the point is my son wouldn't be degrading himself for money online by posting pictures of himself naked for weird old men online.

He would be watching porn the same as 99.9% of us have at some stage.

Do you not see the difference?

Would you be proud of your daughter for posting all sorts of pictures of herself online for a few quid? Would you say good for you girl I'm proud of you?

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Is it the same thing? This must be a wind up, the point is my son wouldn't be degrading himself for money online by posting pictures of himself naked for weird old men online.

He would be watching porn the same as 99.9% of us have at some stage.

Do you not see the difference?

Would you be proud of your daughter for posting all sorts of pictures of herself online for a few quid? Would you say good for you girl I'm proud of you?

He would be sickened. I honestly think I would disown my daughter for better or worse. I'd be disgusted with myself and her.

Some of the posts on here and other threads I feel like the average person on boards has an IQ of 56.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    He would be sickened. I honestly think I would disown my daughter for better or worse. I'd be disgusted with myself and her.

Fcuk sake disowning someone over it is a bit much.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

So they are now in successful relationships and have a family. What makes you think they aren't trustworthy?