Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Graham wrote: »
    No kidding, no wonder some are getting cranky. They've been under self-imposed house arrest for 9 months and don't exercise or go food shopping because the telly hasn't told them they can.

And this was written without even the slightest hint of irony! Absolutely laughable post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

The Irish times...more like the tabloid times

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/death-threats-gifts-parodies-the-life-of-an-irish-covid-celeb-1.4495036?mode=amp&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/fintan-o-toole-we-had-zero-covid-and-we-blew-it-1.4493942?mode=amp

Imagine anyone with any credibility suggesting we lock down for even longer. Disrupt our freight supplies, imports, exports all while the U.K. and the North will be reopening. We can be zero - sure we can if we lockdown forever and throw away the key. Lunatics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/death-threats-gifts-parodies-the-life-of-an-irish-covid-celeb-1.4495036?mode=amp&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/fintan-o-toole-we-had-zero-covid-and-we-blew-it-1.4493942?mode=amp

Imagine anyone with any credibility suggesting we lock down for even longer. Disrupt our freight supplies, imports, exports all while the U.K. and the North will be reopening. We can be zero - sure we can if we lockdown forever and throw away the key. Lunatics

The title of ‘Irish Covid celebs’ makes me want to vomit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Remember, these guys gave themselves the name, "Irelands Newspaper of Record"...it's tabloid fodder wrapped in a broadsheet to rope in as many weak minded readers as they can!!

Zero Covid strategy is dangerous.

We are an island home to two separate states.
    We have a virus that has had two surges, it is never going away.
    The cost is off the charts, the whole country would have to simultaneously isolate for a period of weeks...in the knowledge that the virus is going to return at some point.
    You'd have to control the entire state for a period of time to come.
    You'd have to close our border for years to come.

Is it the far right in disguise that is pushing this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,942 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Gs6v8Ql.png

giphy.gif

Ohh you have the ability to screenshot a small percentage of information from a website... I however have provided the details of what you can and are encouraged to do, you on the other hand may keep being disingenuous. ;) anywhere do they say stay at home permanently? NO :) the opposite. Quit being disingenuous and trying to mislead people.. and as for the silly little contribution at the end...it’s not after hours ... that goes for the rest of your contribution too.

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/2dc71-level-5/#organised-outdoor-gatherings

https://www2.hse.ie/wellbeing/fitness-for-your-lifestyle.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I’m going to go further in km this weekend than I have in 4 months because my mental health needs a change of scenery. I hope to get to my destination without too much stress and anxiety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Strumms wrote: »
    Ohh you have the ability to screenshot a small percentage of information from a website... I however have provided the details of what you can and are encouraged to do, you on the other hand may keep being disingenuous. ;) anywhere do they say stay at home permanently? NO :) the opposite. Quit being disingenuous and trying to mislead people.. and as for the silly little contribution at the end...it’s not after hours ... that goes for the rest of your contribution too.

I find this is one of the links
    Organise active holidays or days out. There are many beautiful parks and beaches in Ireland.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/garda%25C3%25AD-may-be-redeployed-to-beauty-spots-as-crowds-flock-to-parks-and-beaches-1.4491239%3fmode=amp
    urged people “not to drive to parks or beaches” more than 5km from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,617 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

fin12 wrote: »
    I’m going to go further in km this weekend than I have in 4 months because my mental health needs a change of scenery. I hope to get to my destination without too much stress and anxiety.

I have been out and about this morning and there is a huge amount of activity compared to recent weekends. Long queues in the big supermarkets too for some odd reason.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

They closed Stephen’s Green because of the planned protest at 2pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I'd say the people who are anxious about garda checkpoints are those who have something to hide, like drugs or tax/nct is out or no insurance or banned drivers.

But aside from that, it's none of a gards business what I'm doing if I'm just going about my life, all they should need to know is my name and address, licence and proof of insurance. The purpose of my journey or what I ate for breakfast this morning is none of their ****ing business.

I suffer from anxiety and have nothing to hide just obviously I still find them stressful.

Strumms wrote: »

https://www.gov.ie/en/campaigns/c36c85-covid-19-coronavirus/

That's the page I took a screenshot of. The main page of the covid info site. No mention of exceptions unless you go digging.

The HSE page you linked has a big yellow/black banner across the top that says "Stay at home – level 5 restrictions are in place nationwide."

Further down it lists exercises like "join a walking group" (not allowed), "turn your commute into a workout" (what commute?) and "Joining a club or society is a good way to make new friends and get active." (?!?!). In fact the only mention of covid-19 on the HSE exercise page is the banner that tells you to stay home.

And sure, RTE can say "exercise within 5km" as much as they like, but when people are being told on the daily that staying home saves lives, and actually believing it's life or death, that is not what happens in practice.

You've healthy thirty-year-olds in this country who are afraid to leave their houses because they think they will die if they contract SARS-CoV-2. Because the media; journalists, whose job it is to make things clearer, are being derelict in their duty far too often. Most people don't know how exceedingly rare outdoor and asymptomatic spread is now thought to be. Don't know that a child has as much chance of dying from Covid-19 IF they get it as they do of being injured by a toilet on a given day. People are not well-informed in any meaningful way, and when you say things like "stay home, save lives, hold firm, also you can go for a stroll", I put it to you that a LOT of people will think "better not".

Graham wrote: »
    Following the logic here we must have people starving all over the country not realising they can go food shopping.

Indeed. A lot of people who would previously have taken a grocery trip now get those groceries delivered to home or use "click and collect" to avoid spending any time in shops. Waiting times for delivery changed in my area from usually being next-day to now being a couple of weeks out if you're lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Radio1 just now - "we have five new variants in Ireland at this point"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Lovely day out to the coast for our lunch today. Nice to get back to some normality and a trip out at the weekend, sunshine as well. Roll on the spring and summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

zell12 wrote: »
    Radio1 just now - "we have five new variants in Ireland at this point"

They should really start a variant storyline for each the 26/32 counties. We could have an all Ireland competition on which variant will become the most dominant in the next few weeks.

Variants are being completely overblown. Have read up a lot about them, most are just very minor changes in the virus copying itself. Coronaviruses mutate less than flu. Vaccines could tweak them in Autumn if needed for most vulnerable but wide population wouldn’t need it as original vaccine if you get it prevents 100% of hospitalisations and deaths when trialled on the variants publicised to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

TheDoctor wrote: »
    They closed Stephen’s Green because of the planned protest at 2pm

Yes but this was a bad protest.

Good protests are allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,566 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

They should really start a variant storyline for each the 26/32 counties. We could have an all Ireland competition on which variant will become the most dominant in the next few weeks.

Variants are being completely overblown. Have read up a lot about them, most are just very minor changes in the virus copying itself. Coronaviruses mutate less than flu. Vaccines could tweak them in Autumn if needed for most vulnerable but wide population wouldn’t need it as original vaccine if you get it prevents 100% of hospitalisations and deaths when trialled on the variants publicised to date.

Variants are been used a reason to extend the lockdowns and create hysteria

If NPHET are concerned about them then we're fecked and tbh they will never not be concerned with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Yes but this was a bad protest.

Good protests are allowed.

..but the nice people are using fireworks. Fireworks are nice,and colourful. They are surely trying to brighten up the sky at day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Riodej1578

There must be great money for media appearances.

Any idea roughly what it would be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

fin12 wrote: »
    I suffer from anxiety and have nothing to hide just obviously I still find them stressful.

Also it has been reportedly on how at times in the past Gardaí took to harassing people.

We'll have five variants a day and the lockdown might never end unless people revolt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Surprised how few posts there are today given what looks like very significant size protests in town. Just saw a fairly mad video of gardai being quite violent and forming barricades at the top of Grafton street , smoke grenades or some kind of bangfers (?) Being thrown to dis
    perse crowds too. Looks like pretty dense crowds of protestors and large Garda presence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Surprised how few posts there are today given what looks like very significant size protests in town. Just saw a fairly mad video of gardai being quite violent and forming barricades at the top of Grafton street , smoke grenades or some kind of bangfers (?) Being thrown to dis
    perse crowds too. Looks like pretty dense crowds of protestors and large Garda presence

I'm sure you'll put up a link to this? Given that other posters have put up links of the march that doesn't show any garda violence

Other posters have reported fireworks at the event - doubt the Garda brought these - so gotta wonder who brought them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,363 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

https://twitter.com/soundmigration/status/1365677127731937281?s=20

Fireworks going off, members of the mob carrying (and dropping) what looks like baseball bats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Looks like skanger central, hardly a surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,363 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Think it's pretty clear a very sizeable portion of that crowd turned up looking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,636 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Ace2007 wrote: »
    I'm sure you'll put up a link to this? Given that other posters have put up links of the march that doesn't show any garda violence

Other posters have reported fireworks at the event - doubt the Garda brought these - so gotta wonder who brought them?

Video doing the rounds on WhatsApp showing what appears be to guards forcing the protest back up Grafton Street with batons out. No idea what happened before this but guards look pretty forceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Significant crowd. Some with fireworks.

https://twitter.com/CalumAtkinson/status/1365679830822498306

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Ace2007 wrote: »

I did say I didn't know what they were if it's fireworks then fair enough . Gardai were striking people with batons, some protestors look like they may have been acting roughly too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

RoryMac wrote: »
    Video doing the rounds on WhatsApp showing what appears be to guards forcing the protest back up Grafton Street with batons out. No idea what happened before this but guards look pretty forceful

Happy to help.

https://twitter.com/CalumAtkinson/status/1365679830822498306?s=20