Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

SAMTALK wrote: »
    If they all wrote a letter to government outlining their problems it would serve them better and maybe help the rest of us get out of lockdown sooner!

People taking to the streets has historically been a lot more effective than sending letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Boggles wrote: »
    The mental health of that scum has fúck all to do with restrictions.

Maybe these people need the proper support to get through this lockdown. We have witnessed trouble today and we cannot let this take place again on our streets. Protesting in a civilised manner is acceptable. Violence is always unacceptable. I think some of these people were being egged on by certain groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,364 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So many on here wanted that protest to go badly. The usual lot as well. The same people who said that hairdresser should have been locked up. Its incredibly disappointing

And the usual lot delivered it. Little Justin's National Party at the thick of it again. Didn't see him in the video mind you but that could be because they don't pan down that low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Notice all the accounts that are pro restrictions are all pre 2010, would wager a bet a large portion of those accounts are landlords too

There is an eviction moratorium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭spakman

Notice all the accounts that are pro restrictions are all pre 2010, would wager a bet a large portion of those accounts are landlords too

🤣
    If you're on boards over 11 years, you're probably a landlord!
    That's genuinely hilarious - show your logic, just for another laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Similar minded folk in the States think the virus is completely made up by the political party they don't side with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

You do know there restrictions in Paris including a curfew?

Please give us a curfew Dr Tony, we can't be trusted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,665 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

RobitTV wrote: »
    These people need the proper support to get through this lockdown. We have witnessed trouble today and we cannot let this take place again on our streets. Protesting in a civilised manner is acceptable. Violence is always unacceptable. I think some of these people were being egged on by certain groups.

Thinking back to the protests in Blanchardstown it does seem that trouble on our streets is happening more frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Ace2007 wrote: »
    So what the video shows is one idiot firing what appears to be a firework directly at Garda - and you wonder why the Garda acted the way they do???

If you look closely at the clip,the Garda response clatters everybody else in the vicinity,but allows the grey top guy to escape.

This undoubtedly brings the Garda Community Policing ethos into some question.

I would suggest that quite a few attendees in that crowd were ordinary average people frustrated at the lack of representation concerning what exactly is being now done under the cloak of Section 31 of the Health Act 1947.

There's a few of us still alive and ticking yet.....

https://www.worldometers.info/world-population/ireland-population/
    The current population of Ireland is 4,973,929 as of Saturday, February 27, 2021, based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data.

NPHET,and the Governors appear however to believe we're all DOOMED ! :eek:

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu--testing

Total Tests Completed
    Total Positive Tests
    Total Positive Rate (%)

Interesting also to note the Gardai's use of flashbang devices themselves,which as far as I'm aware,is a first in Crowd Control here?

Perhaps some of the Commissioner's own career experience being put to good use ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

SAMTALK wrote: »
    We are not locked up. Very dramatic.

Absolute fools in Dublin today. Why hurl abuse at Guards who are only doing their jobs . A peaceful protest if one thing but this is just a bunch of fools. If they all wrote a letter to government outlining their problems it would serve them better and maybe help the rest of us get out of lockdown sooner!

I sent emails to every TD in Ireland.
    Got about 4 responses. 2 of the 4 seemed like auto generated responses.

Further action is needed to show our dissatisfaction.

Today has helped get the message across. Hopefully the big numbers encourage more out next time.

The sad part is, I think most people would be happy enough if they’d even just scrap the nonsense 5KM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

People taking to the streets has historically been a lot more effective than sending letters.

....and any edjit can take to the street, you have to be able to write to write a letter.

RobitTV wrote: »
    These people need the proper support to get through this lockdown.

The racists and 5G loons?

Hopefully the support comes from the guards batons.

Absolute scum firing fireworks into the faces of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

The government and government alone have caused this. Those scenes while distressing to see are needed, they were brought on by the actions and lack of communication from our so called leaders.

This is now the result of people suffering the longest and harshest lockdown in the EU and possibly the world.

The UK people aren't as compliant than the passive Irish but the difference is they have been handed a clear and concise exit strategy. This gives their people a date to work to, an end goal, the start of the rest of their lives.

We have got nothing but negativity, no dates, shockingly bad vaccine strategy and no life.

The 5km restriction is the killer. That is inhumane.

Blame the "scummers", blame the "far-right", blame Gemma all ye want but this is all on the incompetence of our so called leaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Not during a pandemic maybe!
    One lad said the whole country is there on video

No most people are respecting restrictions in the hope that we can get out of lockdown

I,m so sick of looking at thats like !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,601 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

This wins random nonsense post of the day for me....

If you have been on here over 10 years you are probably a landlord...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭dublinbando

Today has helped get the message across. Hopefully the big numbers encourage more out next time.

The sad part is, I think most people would be happy enough if they’d even just scrap the nonsense 5KM.

This is all I would like to happen, don't care about the other restrictions that actually make sense.

5km is an arbitrary number pulled out of some TDs arsehole with no data to back up its effectiveness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

aidoh wrote: »
    Please give us a curfew Dr Tony, we can't be trusted!

...Not an ordinary one like those French have...but a Full-On 24 Hour one....! ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Lundstram wrote: »
    The government and government alone have caused this. Those scenes while distressing to see are needed, they were brought on by the actions and lack of communication from our so called leaders.

This is now the result of people suffering the longest and harshest lockdown in the EU and possibly the world.

The UK people aren't as compliant than the passive Irish but the difference is they have been handed a clear and concise exit strategy. This gives their people a date to work to, an end goal, the start of the rest of their lives.

We have got nothing but negativity, no dates, shockingly bad vaccine strategy and no life.

The 5km restriction is the killer. That is inhumane.

Blame the "scummers", blame the "far-right", blame Gemma all ye want but this is all on the incompetence of our so called leaders.

Yes the government have got some this wrong but its not all negativity. Vaccines are being rolled out

This protest is going to solve nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Surprised how few posts there are today given what looks like very significant size protests in town. Just saw a fairly mad video of gardai being quite violent and forming barricades at the top of Grafton street , smoke grenades or some kind of bangfers (?) Being thrown to dis
    perse crowds too. Looks like pretty dense crowds of protestors and large Garda presence

Sums them up tbf!

The government and government alone have caused this.

So it's the gubbermints fault these people are racist violent mentally unwell scum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

The message they got across is they are violent and unruly. A peaceful protest would have brought more out in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 SilentGreenx32

And the usual lot delivered it. Little Justin's National Party at the thick of it again. Didn't see him in the video mind you but that could be because they don't pan down that low.

There is also a large amount of people there who aren't there for nationalist reasons or to cause trouble but go ahead and focus on the scenes of violence caused by a few idiots.
    The march has moved to GPO now and its a varied bunch of people and not all of them are "howyas" or 'scumbags' or any other such derogatory term people on this board want to use to dismiss people they wont ever engage with anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,601 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Your further action is what?
    Trying to injure gardai? Carrying around baseball bats?

I don't think the numbers are that big tbh from those videos....pretty similar to those other protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

If the Government had taken action to prevent a BLM protest could you imagine the outrage then?

They should have organised a protest under the guise of a Climate Crisis protest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

py2006 wrote: »
    I wonder did those idiots today get up this morning thinking if they find a couple hundred like minded "howyas", the government will realise how wrong they are about the mythical coronavirus and open the pubs and bookies for them?

More bolixoligy about opening pubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

So it's the gubbermints fault these people are racist violent mentally unwell scum?

Are you in competition with Graham to see who can use the most :rolleyes: emojis in a week?

Does nothing to further your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Notice all the accounts that are pro restrictions are all pre 2010, woul d wager a bet a large portion of those accounts are landlords too

people are pro- defeating covid and if that means lockdowns then so be it. You seem to think that we are pro-lockdown with no reason?
    To see them with no purpose?

Now THAT is crazy!

We want covid to be controlled. For people to be safe from this infection. Period. For families not to be losing loved ones. And we will support and live with whatever means will effect that.

This is not easy for anyone. But it can be coped with. Given the will and the determination. Day by day and hour by hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭C__MC

That's what happens
    No plan and trouble develops
    Government a shambles

Are you in competition with Graham to see who can use the most :rolleyes: emojis in a week?

Does nothing to further your point.

My point was factual and accurate.

I notice you didn't even try and refute it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

The racists and 5G loons?

Hopefully the support comes from the guards batons.

Absolute scum firing fireworks into the faces of people.

The violence must be condemned. Nobody can defend firing fireworks at people. It's totally unacceptable.

You have to remember that they are being egged on by certain groups. They get all of this information from Facebook and online groups. This has all led to the showdown today.