Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever known a "serious" criminal?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭ablelocks

worked in an Irish bar in Eastern Germany in summer 1995. It was a bit wild east at the time, lots of building sites, construction workers, russian, eastern european, irish, english, scots, welsh - definitely a volatile vibe all the time - I'd say most of them had some history but there was one guy we were warned not to have much to do with - serve his drink and let him off.

He was from the north, and apparently on the run from his own side, the other side, the army, police and his own family. History of serious assaults, rumour of torture and murder - might have been bull****, but he looked and acted the part, big, menacing fella with a scar from ear to chin below his mouth. never smiled and just a dangerous, don't **** with me attitude. even the obvious hard men avoided him - they'd get up from a table for him if the pub was full.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Not sure if he's still working as a barber, he was just out of prison and doing his apprenticeship when I met him a couple of years back. I often thought, imagine if his customers knew that the lad standing over them with a cut-throat razor was a cold-blooded murderer.

you got me paranoid now :o wonder is it my barber??

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

New all the lads involved in the Drogheda feud. All roided-up arseholes that are thick.

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

I was pals with a chap who murdered a poor, innocent dog walker. We had gone through training together while in the army, and served at the same regiment. We lost touch when he took sick leave after an injury, next I saw of him was a photo of a few of us with him on the Daily Mail website, with a pretty shocking headline to the story. Looking back, I wonder if that part of him was always in there. I have never since taken anything controversial anyone has said lightly, even in jest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

ablelocks wrote: »
    worked in an Irish bar in Eastern Germany in summer 1995. It was a bit wild east at the time, lots of building sites, construction workers, russian, eastern european, irish, english, scots, welsh - definitely a volatile vibe all the time - I'd say most of them had some history but there was one guy we were warned not to have much to do with - serve his drink and let him off.

He was from the north, and apparently on the run from his own side, the other side, the army, police and his own family. History of serious assaults, rumour of torture and murder - might have been bull****, but he looked and acted the part, big, menacing fella with a scar from ear to chin below his mouth. never smiled and just a dangerous, don't **** with me attitude. even the obvious hard men avoided him - they'd get up from a table for him if the pub was full.

I picture this guy as a bond villain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

fryup wrote: »
    you got me paranoid now :o wonder is it my barber??

Dark hair, pale, skinny. 30ish. First initial was D, however I think he changed it by deed poll a couple of years back. For obvious reasons!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Funny enough I also know a barber who killed a guy. Not the same guy as yours, it wasn't gang related, he literally killed a classmate when they were both teenagers just to see what it was like. Strange strange fella.

Not sure if he's still working as a barber, he was just out of prison and doing his apprenticeship when I met him a couple of years back. I often thought, imagine if his customers knew that the lad standing over them with a cut-throat razor was a cold-blooded murderer.

From Laois?

From Laois?

That's the one!!

That guy should never see the outside of a cell again. Hes up there with the killers of Anna Kriegel.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Has anyone made a smooth criminal joke yet?

That guy should never see the outside of a cell again. Hes up there with the killers of Anna Kriegel.

He was dating a friend of mine when I knew him. A very vulnerable girl, she was homeless and from a traveller background and in very early recovery from heroin addiction. He was nice as anything in front of people, but treated her very badly behind closed doors. God love her she was besotted by him though. Thankfully she saw sense eventually and got rid of him.

Shes lucky. It's only a matter of time before he kills, or tries to kill someone again.

I knew Alan Ryan growing up. He was a good kid that turned into a bad adult.

Hard to not when his entire family are the same.

You dont know who lives on your street. Paedophile, IRA man, serious drug importer, murderers. You just never know and the most serious ones are the ones that dont get talked about.

I bet Dwyers neighbours thought well of him. Same with the guys that killed Ana Kriégel or the family of Patricia O'Connor.

People think they know their area but thats just arrogance.

I grew up with a few lads that ended up being criminals, not all in jail mind you.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,912 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Our neighbours growing up about six doors down were senior figures in violent Irish republicanism.

The father was a senior officer in the Irish contribution to the communist International brigades of the Spanish Civil War, the son was done for the Sallins Train Robbery, the grandson was convicted for the armed robbery of a Securicor van in Wicklow in 1998 (the Guards were all over it and shot dead one of the gang) and the sister became one of Gerry Adams' senior advisors.

They certainly didn't cause as much as a ripple in the neighbourhood and due to their notoriety, a Garda special branch unit was almost always parked on the street, with the result there was never a burglary nor a bit of vandalism heard of in all my years growing up. Every cloud eh.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Sakana

My aunt knew Dennis Nilsen in the '80s in London.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dennis_Nilsen

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭BingCrosbee

Grayson wrote: »
    Westmeath? I lived close enough and the guys kids were in the same school as me.

Knew the family. They are all nutcases. I could write a book on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭baldbear

Fella I was in school with was convicted of manslaughter. A fight.

And that Paedo priest Brendan Smyth used to go to the local swimming pool with the poor kids. I was about 10. Didn't know him but he would be there looking.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

Was in the cub scouts and lived in the same locality as a guy who shot a man five times at close range in front of the wife and child. Four times in front, then flipped the body over to give him the coup de grace in the back for good measure.

If that's not vicious enough for you I then heard he did it with a double-barrelled shot gun, meaning he had to re-load three times during the act. Got a "life sentence" for it circa '95 or 96, so naturally I'd be stupefied if he's not back out walking the streets quite freely while still in his mid to late forties.

If it's the same chap I'm thinking of then he's out, 23 years for killing two people.

If it was a just society he would have rotted in the ground a long time ago.

Funny enough I also know a barber who killed a guy. Not the same guy as yours, it wasn't gang related, he literally killed a classmate when they were both teenagers just to see what it was like. Strange strange fella.

Was there a phone involved and did the murder take place in a field?

People wishing him a merry Christmas on Facebook and all. Sick. Surely they know what he’s done

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

No but I had a weird experience where I attended a weekend party with people who found out, while we were there, that a terrible crime had happened to their friend. We had to switch on the news and hear all the bulletins. Even as someone with no connection to the victim, it was very upsetting to see everyone's reaction around me. They were devastated.

Then, literally the next day, I went to stay with some other friends, and it turned out many of them knew the perpetrator. They were shocked about it, and telling stories of strange interactions they had with him over the years.

It was very surreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Snipp

In the house I grew up in, our neighbour from a few doors down stabbed his wife to death in their kitchen. He immediately showed remorse and called an ambulance but was inevitably and deservedly convicted of murder. Last year I attended his father's funeral in which he also attended under the supervision of a garda escort.

Also met and slightly knew the Border Fox through my parents. Seemed nice but was on garda watch at a funeral

Snipp wrote: »
    In the house I grew up in, our neighbour from a few doors down stabbed his wife to death in their kitchen. He immediately showed remorse and called an ambulance but was inevitably and deservedly convicted of murder. Last year I attended his father's funeral in which he also attended under the supervision of a garda escort.

East wall?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

A bloke I knew when I was younger, he ended up killing his wife and children in a notorious case in the early 2000's.
    When we used hang around he went out with several girls but each relationship always ended because he was overly possessive of them. He was time bomb even back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Also met and slightly knew the Border Fox through my parents. Seemed nice but was on garda watch at a funeral

They reckoned the number of people he killed, mainly completely innocent farmers and pensioners along the border, runs into double digits, a complete psycho, all 5ft 5" of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Anyone who's a member of Carlisle Gym knows at least 2.. The Viper's still a member then there's this guy. The latter owns Babylon (Cambden Street)the reviews for which are essentially just a list of people telling stories of being assaulted by staff there, including the owner Tony.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Meathcat

Went out with a guy for 18 months back in 2005-2007. Found out several years ago that the name he went by wasn't his real name, he had stolen the ID of a convicted murderer in the UK - he had known this guy and took his birth cert after he was arrested. Came here to Ireland. Turns out he had been sentenced to life in prison himself on explosives charges in the UK, among other things. Had been released from jail as a judge on appeal decided the sentence was too severe. He then got himself involved in more explosives plus a suggestion of drug supply to a minor (magic mushrooms). He then absconded from the UK to Ireland with his 'new ID' - back then, a birth cert was all you needed to get photo ID - and established a business.

I wasn't even sure all the above was true until it wound up in the papers a few years ago when the Gards broke into his flat and inside, found the largest magic mushroom factory ever found in the state.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

A sports coach that used to train us at my school, who himself was also a teacher was jailed for raping a child. Kind of freaky because this was going on when he would have travelled overseas with us. After release he was done again for child porn. We always knew he was a bit odd but never expected that.

Another guy I knew ended up on Irelands Dumbest Criminals, arrived home to find all of the drugs he was storing gone from his apartment so reported a break in, turns out the Guards had raided when he was out

• Registered Users Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭bullpost

Knew a very sweet and eccentric and highly intelligent guy - mensa etc. - who blasted a love rival to death.