Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

COVID-19: Vaccine and testing procedures Megathread Part 3 - Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,105 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

That news about Pfizer will surely reinforce the need for it to be the primary vacinne for the vulnerable cohorts of our society.

It’s turning into the only one that matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭eoinbn

A worrying sign. Could mean the numbers for the next few weeks, and Q1 as a whole, are well below what we were told. It seems they must be having issues at the fill and finish stage. In January they were saying that it was the production stage but if that was the only issue they would of know exactly how much vaccine they could deliver by the end of February as it would be in the F&F stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭Apogee

Does anyone know if there is a HSE Briefing scheduled for today? Usually on a Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,470 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Yes, but isn't that weird that some of those who died to blood clots had just received a dose of vaccine?
    I mean, can it be a coincidence? Some of them were young and fit.

As far as I'm aware no details of the people have been made public so don't know if you can assume they were young and fit ??

We have no idea of what other medication people were on etc. 22 cases out of 3 million is a very small amount of reports. If there was going to be issues it would have appeared in bigger numbers by now given the UKs widespread use

eoinbn wrote: »
    A worrying sign. Could mean the numbers for the next few weeks, and Q1 as a whole, are well below what we were told. It seems they must be having issues at the fill and finish stage. In January they were saying that it was the production stage but if that was the only issue they would of know exactly how much vaccine they could deliver by the end of February as it would be in the F&F stage.

Wouldn't say its worrying to be honest. Ireland in the last few days was assigned a country manager from AZ. As with any company I've dealt with once you get your account manager first port of call is to ask for a meeting with the boss, list the issues etc then deal with the account manager to get things sorted after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭trellheim

As with any company I've dealt with once you get your account manager first port of call is to ask for a meeting with the boss.
    +1 account manager is so the boss doesn't have to talk to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,507 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Aegir wrote: »
    Why would the EU prevent Pfizer delivering vaccines to the UK, because Astra Zeneca isn’t delivering as many doses as the EU would like?

Because the UK is preventing AZ from fulfilling their supply to the EU, so the EU can, at any time, have Pfizer do the same to the UK.

As you have noted, you have been a complete hypocrite in saying that the UK is a company issue, yet the EU can't block a company, both can't be true, you can't speak out of both sides of the same face no matter how hard you try, the EU can put the same controls on Pfizer production as the UK has put on AZ (as witnessed by the blocking of EU produced AZ vaccine to Australia). The EU is playing nice, the UK is chest thumping after a horrendous response and a higher per capita death rate than other EU countries (only close to those who were hit first).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

A request for an interview with the boss is a good move imo, need to make AZ aware we’re not messing about

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Meholes on the phone there for ya

trellheim wrote: »
    +1 account manager is so the boss doesn't have to talk to you.

Yes but you usually get a meeting with higher ups first as an introduction and then after that direct it all through your account manager.

It's how it's always worked in my experience with large service providers in Ireland

A request for an interview with the boss is a good move imo, need to make AZ aware we’re not messing about

Yup no harm in airing the issues and then funnelling everything in future through the account manager. But in my experience you have to keep the pressure on them. Government should be requesting regular updates from AZ not this last minute stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

To be fair, it's all relative, the Oxford vaccine has been a resounding success for the UK.

True, but Oxford is a very international facing university

Possibly remind them that contracts with the EU for ongoing boosters that may be required well into the future will be quite lucrative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

In all fairness though, what in the hell sort of leaverage is an Irish Taoiseach going to have with the boss of AZ? We're getting everything through the EU, so I cant see him having any sort of sway. And it's even less likely seeing that it's Micheál Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Given the EU made no headway with them how do people imagine we will? It's a box ticking exercise, the opposition have been bugging the government so much that he's happy to do something that will make no difference to supplies.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Sanjuro wrote: »
    In all fairness though, what in the hell sort of leaverage is an Irish Taoiseach going to have with the boss of AZ? We're getting everything through the EU, so I cant see him having any sort of sway. And it's even less likely seeing that it's Micheál Martin.
    It's optics, if nothing else. Loads of people bitching that he hasn't gotten on to them so it should help shut them up. I don't think it'll make much of a difference either.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Given the EU made no headway them how do people imagine we will? It's a box ticking exercise, the opposition have been bugging the government so much that he's happy to do something that will make no difference to supplies.

Quite possibly won't make any difference but better than just giving out about them without talking to them. Would rather he at least look for the conversation than sit on his hands

Given the EU made no headway with them how do people imagine we will? It's a box ticking exercise, the opposition have been bugging the government so much that he's happy to do something that will make no difference to supplies.
    Let's just sit back and do nothing so?

Quite possibly won't make any difference but better than just giving out about them without talking to them. Would rather he at least look for the conversation than sit on his hands
    Not that much of a fan of empty gestures myself. I'd rather the opposition got some better informed researchers than keep using this open goal for fun. There are a lot of shapes being thrown over this, real parish pump stuff. It just amps up frustration, a frustration that will not be resolved until the more reputable companies up our supplies over the next few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Tippbhoy1

Well they need to keep the pressure on the EU to keep the pressure on AZ, but there is another 99% of the EU doing that. There’s an opportunity cost of doing this, and realistically will it add any value? I would prefer a clear plan for coming out of lockdown, and providing inspiration to the nation that we can and will upsize to rollout sufficiently. Leadership stuff ......on things we can control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

AstraZeneca
    "Thanks for the call. Gosh, I didn't realise this was such a big deal for you, you should have let me known earlier you needed more vaccines. It's not like me and my team have been working morning noon and night to try and scale up manufacturing during a pandemic. Yes of course we regret now saying we would manufacture this at cost in large quantities for much of the world, we should have done next to nothing like some of our competitors wisely did and avoided all this negative publicity. Of course you can have a few million more vaccines from that large pile of spare vaccines we have, and thanks to your call we're also going to produce another hundred million for the EU using some of that spare capacity we have."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭Apogee

Apogee wrote: »
    Does anyone know if there is a HSE Briefing scheduled for today? Usually on a Thursday.

On now via RTE News

https://twitter.com/HSELive/status/1370012225889574913

At this stage if the image of Martin trooping off to get a flat No works for people then let him have at it. Pointless meetings ultimately satisfy nobody.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Not that much of a fan of empty gestures myself. I'd rather the opposition got some better informed researchers than keep using this open goal for fun.
    That's not how politics works and we all know it won't happen. It's helping the perception of the wider public too, where I've seen repeatedly about getting on to AZ. It'd be fair to see the posters on here are better informed than many so it's a little frustrating at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dressoutlet

Yes, but isn't that weird that some of those who died to blood clots had just received a dose of vaccine?
    I mean, can it be a coincidence? Some of them were young and fit.

One died. One.

If MM did nothing about it people would be complaining, now he wants to meet the CEO and it's 'pointless'.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Tippbhoy1

J&J one-dose has just been approved

https://www.thejournal.ie/eu-medicines-agency-approves-johnson-johnson-one-shot-vaccine-5378150-Mar2021/

TheJournal are all on the ball, just avoid the comments section as usual

Great news - well done to all involved. Another step in the right direction. Single dose, kept in the fridge, this will be massive for all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

If MM did nothing about it people would be complaining, now he wants to meet the CEO and it's 'pointless'.....
    It's just politics and to be seen to do something, it will make no difference to the vaccine rollout because neither himself nor the CEO can magic up manufacturing capacity - it should be on a different thread imo.

ixoy wrote: »
    That's not how politics works and we all know it won't happen. It's helping the perception of the wider public too, where I've seen repeatedly about getting on to AZ. It'd be fair to see the posters on here are better informed than many so it's a little frustrating at times.
    I get the impression that frustration is mixed in with the overall current situation. I've had conversations with people about this and it can often end with the government being to blame for it even after explaining it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭mick087

Whats it to do with him?
    He gave the Irish citizens powers away on this to the EU commission.

He should be reporting to us what The commission are doing for us and if he is not happy take back these powers he gave away.