Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

dan786 wrote: »
    Still no updates on India. I thought they where meant to decide today.

300,000+ cases today and increasing number of countries are banning India.

UAE has banned all flights from India altogether which is over 300 flights each week. Also anyone from India coming from alternative route to UAE must stay in that third country for 14 days before entering UAE.

It will be decided next week about India according to SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

faceman wrote: »

Too slow.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

saabsaab wrote: »
    Too slow.

I’ll let SD know on your behalf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Still no updates on India. I thought they where meant to decide today.

300,000+ cases today and increasing number of countries are banning India.

UAE has banned all flights from India altogether which is over 300 flights each week. Also anyone from India coming from alternative route to UAE must stay in that third country for 14 days before entering UAE.

Some countries requiring people travelling from India to quarantine for 3 weeks instead of the usual two. Singapore is one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Golfman64 wrote: »
    We will be able to holiday abroad once the EU Green cert is enacted (with a maximum of 6 weeks allowable for Gov implementation) After that, the government must seek a written exception from the EU should this not allow quarantine free entry and exit for EU citizens in possession of a green cert.

The fact that he doesn't understand this shows serious incompetence. or else the EU are planning to restrict travel for longer but I see this as unlikely.

Given he's negotiating it he probably does, it's not an exception just providing information, then there would be the 6 week delay so that could easily be mid August. Ireland could still have stricter rules as long as they apply them evenly, so current MHQ for EU states wouldn't be allowed but restrictions would be possible. So while people could travel coming back would be a different matter. Things may have changed by then of course. I'm not advocating or supporting Government doing this but a lot of people here misunderstand the role of the Green Cert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

saabsaab wrote: »
    Too slow.

Just like MHQ

That thing that does nothing to prevent anything apart from economic collapse

‘Good news on the horizon’ on travel and summer holidays, says Coveney
    via The Irish Times
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/good-news-on-the-horizon-on-travel-and-summer-holidays-says-coveney-1.4543418

Coveney has redeemed himself somewhat here. However there is a mistake from him/in the article where it says that they system will be in place EU wide from June and then the Gov in conjunction with public health team decide on its implementation. That’s not the case. The 6 week clock starts ticking once the EU enact it and it will be up to the government to request any exceptions. These exceptions are subject to EU approval otherwise quarantine free EU travel will be allowed.

Article 10
    Notification procedure
    1. Where a Member State requires holders of certificates referred to in Article 3 to
    undergo, after entry into its territory, quarantine, self-isolation or a test for SARSCoV-2 infection, or if it denies entry to such persons, it shall notify the other
    Member States and the Commission before the planned introduction of such
    restrictions. To that end, the Member State shall supply the following information:
    (a) the reasons for such restrictions, including all relevant epidemiological data
    supporting such restrictions;
    (b) the scope of such restrictions, specifying which travellers are subject to or
    exempt from such restrictions;
    (c) the date and duration of the restrictions.
    Where necessary, the Commission may request additional information from the
    Member State concerned.

Clearly in EU speak they don't like it but by setting out the restrictions they clearly envisage that they could apply. The further information is a standard phrase to assist in deciding if infringement procedures might begin (already requested for MHQ), these take years. Critically if the information shows the restrictions apply evenly and are not overly onerous or discriminatory there would be no grounds for an infringement procedure

Tazz T wrote: »
    Anyway, I'm just reading a gated telegraph article today that states the UK vax pass will be for UK nationals only initially. So it looks like everyone going through Belfast from ROI will still need a test before departure (?) and on return. Although this could be a lateral flow test for green countries only.

That's interesting, they have taken a CTA approach on most things, we might have mutual recognition but then we could be back to choosing between EU and UK cert. Surely the IT wizards could devise ways and means. Having said that the SI exempting vaccinated from MHQ jest sets out the basics of what should be in a cert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭dan786

Canada has also banned flights from India. No one week allowances either to allow thousands to panic and travel back quickly. The ban is effective from tonight.

Ireland being too slow once again like everything else. The way we are going, we wont be getting out of this very soon. They are trying their best to delay everything.

Really looking forward to going on a holiday in Sept/October but wont be booking anything closer to the dates incase they bring in more silly rules by then. Will definitely be going either way but will be easier to plan knowing the exact rules at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Canada has also banned flights from India. No one week allowances either to allow thousands to panic and travel back quickly. The ban is effective from tonight.
    Ireland being too slow once again like everything else..

Ireland too slow in banning flights from a place that there's no flights from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

faceman wrote: »

India broke the record yesterday with the most new cases for a country, nearly 315,000. And they're going to make a decision next week? There was a huge sense of panic about adding the European countries. Even the media doesn't seem that bothered about it. Must fall outside of the agenda. I know another poster mentioned that there are no direct flights, but that hasn't stopped them adding countries before. The people of Wallis and Futuna must feel pretty discriminated against right now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭eltonyio

India broke the record yesterday with the most new cases for a country, nearly 315,000. And they're going to make a decision next week? There was a huge sense of panic about adding the European countries. Even the media doesn't seem that bothered about it. Must fall outside of the agenda. I know another poster mentioned that there are no direct flights, but that hasn't stopped them adding countries before. The people of Wallis and Futuna must feel pretty discriminated against right now :rolleyes:

Absolutely. They've had 3 cases in the past 10 days in Wallis and Futuna.

India has had circa 2 million in that same period. The lack of urgency about adding India is really strange and contradictory to the group's stated role. It doesn't build much trust in their agility or work ethic.

I wonder when SD's next darts night is?

eltonyio wrote: »

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40272902.html

I have to wonder is they are trying to keep him off the airwaves given his latest gaff. I'm not surprised that Leo still have confidence in him, confidence that he'll keep playing into FGs hands and making FF look bad! After offending half of Europe, maybe he is concerned about upsetting Leo by adding India to the list?:confused: Doesn't want to lose his only friend?

Aah the boogeyman "double mutant" Indian strain. A load of Horlicks - shown to not be anything to worry about.

Great how all the closet keep the immigrants out people now have the zero COVID flag to justify locking up all those nasty foreigners.

We already have all the "variants of concern" here. Negative PCR test and that's it. There's far more danger from my neighbour who hasn't been tested or a hospital or care home visit.

The same people that called Trump racist back in March last year when he banned flights from China and many other places - when it actually made sense. Now it's pointless.

It's clear most people are unable to think for themselves and just follow whatever media scare story is popular today.

Meanwhile our economy, society and yes our health service goes down in flames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,083 ✭✭✭✭josip

Absolutely. They've had 3 cases in the past 10 days in Wallis and Futuna.

India has had circa 2 million in that same period. The lack of urgency about adding India is really strange and contradictory to the group's stated role. It doesn't build much trust in their agility or work ethic.

Once SD gets you on that list, there's no getting off.
    I read somewhere that he listens to 'Hotel California' every night as he drifts off to sleep.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Ireland too slow in banning flights from a place that there's no flights from?

Ireland too slow putting them on the MHQ, I thought it would have been obvious by now but clearly not as people still need further clarification.

Just from your point of view, what would have been the advantage(s) of India being placed on the MHQ list before other countries did the same?

Knowing our politicians, if the variant starts spreading here, it will give them another excuse to delay reopening everything. So it would have made sense to add them quick considering high number of cases, they had 330,000+ in last 24 hours.

I am pretty certain if we get to 50+ cases of that variant even if it is not of concern , this government will add another 6 weeks to their already behind plans.

I am not in favor of MHQ at all especially after a year but if they doing it why not do it right.

Knowing our politicians, if the variant starts spreading here, it will give them another excuse to delay reopening everything. So it would have made sense to add them quick considering high number of cases, they had 330,000+ in last 24 hours.
    I am pretty certain if we get to 50+ cases of that variant even if it is not of concern , this government will add another 6 weeks to their already behind plans.
    I am not in favor of MHQ at all especially after a year but if they doing it why not do it right.

Don't think public health will suffer any lag in India being placed on the list.... Every country will have it's own variant so unless we want to go "Full New Zealand" and pull up the drawbridge..halt all flights and close the border with N.I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I see Perth in another 3 day lockdown. Apparently someone was released from quarantine after 14 days and a negative test but tested positive several days later.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

go "Full New Zealand" and pull up the drawbridge..halt all flights and close the border with N.I.

Ah here - dont be giving them ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭eltonyio

A much more positive piece in the Irish Times today than the recent doom and gloom:

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/travel/q-a-what-are-the-chances-of-being-able-to-holiday-abroad-this-summer-1.4545668

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,275 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I see Perth in another 3 day lockdown. Apparently someone was released from quarantine after 14 days and a negative test but tested positive several days later.

They clearly caught it in the hotel.
    The person in the next room was s positive case and they pump air conditioning into the rooms because they refuse to let them open the windows.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Ah here - dont be giving them ideas

So long as media keep giving the ISAG some airtime then it's always gonna be an idea that may come to life, i.e. MHQ...

Keep Tomas Ryan, Scally and McConkey off air...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

With the Caveat “ The Government will then have to decide when to join. “

So if Ireland was to open up to tourism tomorrow morning, what would be the greater treat;
    People from the areas with the highest incidence rates Dublin/Kildare (up to 441/100k) heading off to West Cork or Southwest Kerry (0/100k) unhindered.

or

Leave people holiday in Europe, with declining figures (some of them currently on the red list), test them pre departure, home quarantine and test again at day 5. All activities including dining, drinking etc outdoors.

So if Ireland was to open up to tourism tomorrow morning, what would be the greater treat;
    People from the areas with the highest incidence rates Dublin/Kildare (up to 441/100k) heading off to West Cork or Southwest Kerry (0/100k) unhindered.
    or
    Leave people holiday in Europe, with declining figures (some of them currently on the red list), test them pre departure, home quarantine and test again at day 5. All activities including dining, drinking etc outdoors.

Exact same question as last summer 2020 before the disaster of MHQ and before mandatory PCR...
    Can't imagine residents of Zero covid towns in Cork or Kerry will be overjoyed to host visitors from high infection counties like Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Blut2

or

If I was living in West Cork/Kerry/other very low covid parts of the country I'd be far, far more worried this summer about people driving down from high covid areas like Dublin, not obliged to get any tests, than foreigners flying into Cork/Shannon airport from countries with lower covid incident rates than Dublin.

Both because of the lower rates, and because the foreigners flying into Cork/Shannon airport would at least all have a negative covid test to show to enter the country. Making them even less likely than the Dublin people to spread the disease to my small town...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

Micky 32 wrote: »
    With the Caveat “ The Government will then have to decide when to join. “

They don't get the choice - they have 6 weeks to implement once it is enacted at EU level. They would require explicit written permission from the EU not to implement.

I assume they'll have to start working on it immediately if they are to be compliant? It would take a while to set something like that up.