Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show-Friday 15th January 2021

• Registered Users Posts: 54,742 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Nauseating to see all the tweets telling Ryan how wonderfully sensitive he is.

I will say one thing. I thought Ryan steered him through some quite emotional/awkward parts. Ryan deflected, moved him on and changed course...

Still very odd the whole thing.

Barry should not have been on giving that interview. He is clearly still shattered by the tragic loss. It’s 18 months since such heartbreak..

walshb wrote: »
    I will say one thing. I thought Ryan steered him through some quite emotional/awkward parts. Ryan deflected, moved him on and changed course...

Still very odd the whole thing.

Barry should not have been on giving that interview. He is clearly still shattered by the tragic loss. It’s 18 months since such heartbreak..

No doubt at all Ryan is capable of steering such an interview in a professional manner whilst being emotionally detached. It would be many years before Barry could ever possibly speak of his daughter and especially recollect her death without being brought right back into the moment of it. In fact probably worse now, as he would have been almost numb with disbelief at the time. Maybe Barry wanted to get "the elephant in the room" "out of the way" for any subsequent media interviews, to make it patently clear to the world how painful his daughter's untimely death is, and to ensure future interviews don't attempt to go right back there unless they are to be completely "derailed" from whatever other purpose they might serve.

In contrast, Emma Hannigan's father had many years to somewhat come to terms with the probability of his own daughter's premature death as she had been battling recurrent cancer for years. For sake of his grandchildren etc he had ensured to maintain a positive outlook on media, and make a loving celebration of her memory on her first anniversary. On LLS Ryan made every attempt to turn him to tears, but failed. He was well primed for Ryan's approach and simply wasn't going in that direction, and lucky to be able to hold himself together because of the way it had all evolved.

I reckon the producers must get together and discuss how the audience needs to see sadness and tears to reflect own private bereavement distress, and from time to time it is cathartic to realise others experience emotions exactly as strongly as we experience them ourselves and that we are not outliers. The trouble with RTÉ is that they now portray this kind of thing in an unrelenting way without enough light relief in between. Years ago it was occasional, and if you were feeling raw about something you could switch it off that evening. These times it's all the time, there's never a proper break from it. Somewhere in the future, with a different mindset in RTÉ, analysis will be made on how the station dwelled on grief and depression to the exclusion of so much else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Somewhere in the future, with a different mindset in RTÉ, analysis will be made on how the station dwelled on grief and depression to the exclusion of so much else.

I don't thin this will ever happen, look at "Tastes like home" as the perfect example.

[

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6z2YY2jzsKc

The family talks about their loved one far away and the meals they cook for them, how sad it is they have not seen them in so long etc etc.

RTE sends the presenter to the family member on her own without the family from Ireland.

]

Just think about that for a second, someone or a team presumably thought that was actually a good idea?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,565 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I'm firing off an email to RTÉ to relay my disgust with the debasement of an "entertainment" show.

“Hi, me again...”

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Illium

The show was so bleak, even by recent standards.

I watched the Pee Flynn interview, available in full on YouTube.

It went out live 22 years ago last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

All the red tops saying how great a job Ryan did on the Barry McGuigan interview backed up by Twitter posts. Pure click bait rubbish as you would expect from any news/media outfit these days.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/other-sport/rte-viewers-say-same-thing-23329321

thomas 123 wrote: »
    I don't thin this will ever happen, look at "Tastes like home" as the perfect example.

[

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6z2YY2jzsKc

The family talks about their loved one far away and the meals they cook for them, how sad it is they have not seen them in so long etc etc.

RTE sends the presenter to the family member on her own without the family from Ireland.

]

Just think about that for a second, someone or a team presumably thought that was actually a good idea?

Yeah that program is daft, it's just another vehicle to get Catherine Fulvio on TV with travel thrown in.

Car99 wrote: »
    All the red tops saying how great a job Ryan did on the Barry McGuigan interview backed up by Twitter posts. Pure click bait rubbish as you would expect from any news/media outfit these days.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/other-sport/rte-viewers-say-same-thing-23329321

Noel Kelly Management is the elephant in the room and a huge player in the way the national broadcaster performs. He also owns CMS Management, a significant marketing company. His tentacles are spread far and wide in this country, he controls a huge amount of the social media response you see. The RC church once controlled this country, marketing forces do now.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Noel Kelly Management is the elephant in the room and a huge player in the way the national broadcaster performs.

NK prob had an agreed “line to take” press release sent around to all the newspapers before the show even aired last night

I clicked into some of the profiles giving favourable comment and wondering why there could possibly be any cynicism, and some of these individuals have connections with the marketing boss himself. NK is probably one of the most powerful individuals in this country at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Only watched a short bit of the Barry McGuigan interview. Barry needs grief counselling. It helps. He's suffering from a form of PTSD, which can happen when a loved one is taken away suddenly, or relatively suddenly - the daughter AFAIK went from healthy to death in 2 months; this will affect people.

I had counselling for PTSD about 20 years after an incident and it does help. Going on the LLS might get him sympathy but probably won't help him much in the long run.

I've no idea if the above was touched on in the interview as I think it's voyeurism, but I hope he comes out of it as best he can. He gave us some great nights in the gloom of the 1980's.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

Stuck on RTE1 in the car and the first sentence was some fella saying he realised he was an alcoholic at that moment and didn't want to die. Doom and gloom. Put a CD on instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It may be what Barry wanted though.

Part of my work involves supporting those who are grieving and the desire to speak can be overwhelming.

He should be speaking to a therapist, not a rat faced, fievel look-a-like, misery ghoul.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,092 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Email sent....

"To Whom it May Concern,

I would like to express my dismay and disgust at RTE's decision to broadcast an interview with Barry McGuigan on the Late Late Show on Friday. The man was clearly in no fit state to be beamed onto television screens, and it turned into one of the most uncomfortable segments in RTE history. For many, it will be the final straw.

On a broader point, the station's fascination with misery is alarming. The Late Late Show is meant to be light entertainment offering, and during Gay Byrne's time broke down a lot of barriers. Bearing in mind we are living during a global pandemic (you only report on the grim aspect of that too), with countless people isolated at home having not seen their families consistently for a while, and with a sizeable chunk maybe not in a great place mentally due to lack of work/socialising etc., is it really wise to heap misery upon misery on the audience?

Tubridy claimed "my heart goes out to you Barry" or words to that effect, when in reality he was reveling in seeing a strong man break down live on air, and tried his best to get the tears flowing. Week on week, it has become nothing other than a compilation of sad stories, with Tubridy's modus operandi apparently being "tell us about your dead relative". For example, even during the segment on the Operation Transformation contestants, do you really think that the watching audience want to know about the personal trauma of one of the women losing her two daughters?

For a national broadcaster to be so obviously towing the misery line, again during a global pandemic, is a stain on the company".

Might send a letter to the Irish Independent next :D

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Arduach wrote: »
    And just because Barry wanted to go on doesn't mean it should be done that way. He could have done a recorded interview. Advised now wasn't the time.

That interview served nobody. I don't think it will do Barry any good either. It's not as if Tubridy is a grief counselor.
    This. This by a million.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Tubridy: "you got a tattoo of your daughter done recently?"

Barry: "yes, that's right Ryan"

Tubridy: "have you got it with you?"

....or words to that effect.

Was I hearing things? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Masala

Email sent....

"To Whom it May Concern,

I would like to express my dismay and disgust at RTE's decision to broadcast an interview with Barry McGuigan on the Late Late Show on Friday. The man was clearly in no fit state to be beamed onto television screens, and it turned into one of the most uncomfortable segments in RTE history. For many, it will be the final straw.

On a broader point, the station's fascination with misery is alarming. The Late Late Show is meant to be light entertainment offering, and during Gay Byrne's time broke down a lot of barriers. Bearing in mind we are living during a global pandemic (you only report on the grim aspect of that too), with countless people isolated at home having not seen their families consistently for a while, and with a sizeable chunk maybe not in a great place mentally due to lack of work/socialising etc., is it really wise to heap misery upon misery on the audience?

Tubridy claimed "my heart goes out to you Barry" or words to that effect, when in reality he was reveling in seeing a strong man break down live on air, and tried his best to get the tears flowing. Week on week, it has become nothing other than a compilation of sad stories, with Tubridy's modus operandi apparently being "tell us about your dead relative". For example, even during the segment on the Operation Transformation contestants, do you really think that the watching audience want to know about the personal trauma of one of the women losing her two daughters?

For a national broadcaster to be so obviously towing the misery line, again during a global pandemic, is a stain on the company".

Might send a letter to the Irish Independent next :D

Well said.......!

Thinking of sending in something similar myself and also highlighting the poor selection on z- list people they drag out week in and week out. And especially the saddo’s From the RTÉ canteen

Bad state of affairs that a grown man like me is watching The Den as the best thing on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

From all accounts I made a good decision not to watch last night.
    The show has been rubbish for years now especially under Tubridy.

The Toy Show is about the only thing he can run and only just.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Purple Papillon

New boards. I watched this last night. I don't know Barry McGuigan nor do I work for RTE.

I think many people lost the meaning behind last nights segment and the piece from Barry Mcguigan.

Barry lost his beloved, dear daughter and she died too young and before her time. Barry was a broken man in his grief. It was heartbreaking to watch.

Both Barry and Ryan made a connection to the Coronavirus. Please understand that Ireland is now in a very bad position with the virus. Our hospitals and ICU capacity is coming under strain.

I think there is two meanings behind last night's segment:

1) There will be many people and families experiencing grief like this over the coming weeks. There will be far too many people going before their time with this virus. The message is they are not alone. Ryan said that last night too.

2) Ireland is still in a bad way with cases over 3000 a day. It's still too high. If this continues there will be many more people seeing loved ones become sick and possibly die and before their time.

The message behind last nights segment is to stay at home and stop further spread of this virus. That's my understanding of it anyways.

New boards. I watched this last night. I don't know Barry McGuigan nor do I work for RTE.

I think many people lost the meaning behind last nights segment and the piece from Barry Mcguigan.

Barry lost his beloved, dear daughter and she died too young and before her time. Barry was a broken man in his grief. It was heartbreaking to watch.

Both Barry and Ryan made a connection to the Coronavirus. Please understand that Ireland is now in a very bad position with the virus. Our hospitals and ICU capacity is coming under strain.

1) There will be many people and families experiencing grief like this over the coming weeks. There will be far too many people going before their time with this virus. The message is they are not alone. Ryan said that last night too.

2) Ireland is still in a bad way with cases over 3000 a day. It's still too high. If this continues there will be many more people seeing loved ones become sick and possibly die and before their time.

The message behind last nights segment is to stay at home and stop further spread of this virus. That's my understanding of it anyways.

Pure baloney, why do I even bother quoting such garbage. There is zero connection between the death of McGuigan's daughter in 2019 and Covid. Take your soapbox elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭mistersifter

I saw some of the Barry McGuigan interview today and what struck me was Tubridy's attempts to offset the criticism he knew was coming.

He came out with things like, "it is unusual for us Irish people to see such raw grief". Anyone who watches the LLS with any degree of regularity will know what a load of rubbish that is.

And even worse, something along the lines of "we've been talking about repressing stories of grief and decades of secrecy and that's why it's so, dare I say refreshing, to speak to you...." (he used the word refreshing)

He spent some of the interview indirectly telling the audience that having Barry McGuigan on in that state is required viewing because the church and state covered up terrible things years ago. And (as above) there was some forced link between the McGuigans' story and COVID. I'm struggling to think of a time when I've heard a more ridiculous attempt to justify something. Making those kinds of comparisons is insulting to the audience IMO.

But as other posters stated, these are obviously the conversations that go on at production meetings - all patting each other on the back and pretending among themselves that they are providing an essential public service by showing us a man who is suffering so much that he can't get through a sentence without breaking down.

I wonder if they've genuinely convinced themselves that the ridiculous justification is valid in order to avoid any feeling of guilt for selling trauma, or whether they are conscious of how much bollix Tubridy was spouting.

edit: apologies for the serious post, I usually try keep my posts to the LLS thread light and save my dislike for Tubridy for the radio show thread. But there was no craic to be had here last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Purple Papillon

Pure baloney, why do I even bother quoting such garbage. There is zero connection between the death of McGuigan's daughter in 2019 and Covid. Take your soapbox elsewhere.

Yes, I googled Barry Mcguigan and his daughter because I don't know him. I was a baby when he was boxing so I was too small to know him.

His daughter died in 2019 and has nothing to do with the current health crisis. However both Ryan and Barry mentioned the coronavirus health crisis and put out a message saying - 'you are not alone in your grief'.

You should look into what comprehension or interpretation. It happens a lot with books and poems and movies. I gave my interpretation of the piece I watched last night. It's probably neither right or wrong.

Barry is experiencing grief of his beloved daughter who died before her time. There is potential for many more people and families to experience grief of loved ones dying before their time if the virus continues to grow out of control. I know death is a part of life and it happens even without the virus playing a part but I don't think Ireland is ready see it happening on a large scale like what happened in Italy last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,150 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Did anyone question how, in a L5 lockdown with only travel within 5KM unless absolutely essential, 5 people were able to travel to Dublin from different parts of the country to tell RTE stuff that they had already covered on the Ray Darcy Show and in OT programme itself?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭KevRossi

We get this message from early to late on RTE 7 days a week. I don't have a TV, I look at the news on the Player sometimes. I listen to RTE Radio 1 on and off all day from 5.45 am. It's like this;

05.30-07.00 - Rising Time - Music, upbeat, no COVID
    07.00-09.00 - Morning Ireland - Almost every segment leads with COVID, certainly after the hourly news and 'What It Says In The Papers'. Always.
    09.00-10.00 - Ryan Tubridy - Lecture on COVID, almost always a segment on death and/or long term illness. This hour was supposed to be a light hearted break of 60 minutes of music and chat, but he has dragged it in this direction over the past few years.
    10.00-12.00 - Today with Claire Byrne - Inevitable lead with COVID, soft interviews with Government or HSE or NPHET.
    12.00-13.00 - Ronan Collins - 60 minutes of requests and music (a welcome relief after 5 solid hours of illness and death)
    13.00-13.45 - News At One - Leads with Trump or COVID 95% of the time the past 10 months - usually 2-3 slots dedicated to it.
    13.45-15.00 - Liveline - COVID, with Duffy adding confusion. Apart from that he's usually on about illness or death or some suffering. Tears are a mini jackpot for him, like winning €10 on a scratch card.
    15.00-16.30 - Ray D'Arcy lecturing us on COVID and/or Trump. I almost never listen to him anymore, I used to listen to him all the time on Today FM, now in RTE he's a morbid, dreary pontificator.
    16.30-19.00 - Drivtime - Almost always leads on COVID, usually live updates from the NPHET briefing before 18.00 with the ghoulish voice of his truly on the waves, getting a kick the worse we do.

The above is replicated on TV, Claire Byrne's 'mock-ups' and shed broadcasting taking it to a new level of absurdity.

COVID is the dominant theme on RTE Radio, Trump is 2nd, our own internal affairs comes 3rd. We do not need a Friday evening TV entertainment show spouting more COVID rubbish, as we have received the message loud and bloody clear all week.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,150 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If it keeps Jason Byrne off the LLS, keep talking about Covid!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

Yes, I googled Barry Mcguigan and his daughter because I don't know him. I was a baby when he was boxing so I was too small to know him.

His daughter died in 2019 and has nothing to do with the current health crisis. However both Ryan and Barry mentioned the coronavirus health crisis and put out a message saying - 'you are not alone in your grief'.

You should look into what comprehension or interpretation. It happens a lot with books and poems and movies. I gave my interpretation of the piece I watched last night. It's probably neither right or wrong.

Barry is experiencing grief of his beloved daughter who died before her time. There is potential for many more people and families to experience grief of loved ones dying before their time if the virus continues to grow out of control. I know death is a part of life and it happens even without the virus playing a part but I don't think Ireland is ready see it happening on a large scale like what happened in Italy last year.

That interview wasnt motivated by covid. I actually dont know what motivated RTE to put a man on TV to talk about the grief of losing his daughter. His story, while terribly sad is not unique . Everybody in this country is aware of how devastating any cancer death is to those left behind. It would be an odd chat show subject in any country in the world. Weird even.
    As for covid Italy did far better last year than the UK is doing now . I know coronavirus is killing people , how many more people are dying now than in previous years is open to debate. How many people are being/will be adversely affected due to the measures put in place to fight against covid may kill more than covid itself only time will tell.
    How much undetected treatable cancer is not bring diagnosed ? Estimates are quite high.
    How many lives will be destroyed financially leading to depression and long term mental health issues?
    Is the disease worse than the treatment for the population as a whole?

• Registered Users Posts: 54,742 ✭✭✭✭walshb

NIMAN wrote: »
    Did anyone question how, in a L5 lockdown with only travel within 5KM unless absolutely essential, 5 people were able to travel to Dublin from different parts of the country to tell RTE stuff that they had already covered on the Ray Darcy Show and in OT programme itself?

Essential viewing?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,565 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Car99 wrote: »
    That interview wasnt motivated by covid. I actually dont know what motivated RTE to put a man on TV to talk about the grief of losing his daughter. His story, while terribly sad is not unique . Everybody in this country is aware of how devastating any cancer death is to those left behind. It would be an odd chat show subject in any country in the world. Weird even.

Is this not “par for course” with Irish tv/radio? I mean, it’s been Ray D’Arcy’s bread and butter since his last years with Today FM.

He was snapped up by RTÉ, on huge money, on the back of this. On TV there is always an “emotional” segment. Either parents who’s kid got through some horrible illness, or ones who’s didn’t.

Irish audiences, obviously, enjoy it because it’s pretty much “standard” across the air, and TV, waves. Joe Duffy is another one for trading on misery.

What I can’t understand, and this goes for the “Radio” forum too, why not just switch off if you don’t like it. In this day and age there is plenty of alternative entertainment out there, you really don’t need to suffer in anger. But, I guess, some just seem to want to.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I saw some of the Barry McGuigan interview today and what struck me was Tubridy's attempts to offset the criticism he knew was coming.

He came out with things like, "it is unusual for us Irish people to see such raw grief". Anyone who watches the LLS with any degree of regularity will know what a load of rubbish that is.

And even worse, something along the lines of "we've been talking about repressing stories of grief and decades of secrecy and that's why it's so, dare I say refreshing, to speak to you...." (he used the word refreshing)

He spent some of the interview indirectly telling the audience that having Barry McGuigan on in that state is required viewing because the church and state covered up terrible things years ago. And (as above) there was some forced link between the McGuigans' story and COVID. I'm struggling to think of a time when I've heard a more ridiculous attempt to justify something. Making those kinds of comparisons is insulting to the audience IMO.

But as other posters stated, these are obviously the conversations that go on at production meetings - all patting each other on the back and pretending among themselves that they are providing an essential public service by showing us a man who is suffering so much that he can't get through a sentence without breaking down.

I wonder if they've genuinely convinced themselves that the ridiculous justification is valid in order to avoid any feeling of guilt for selling trauma, or whether they are conscious of how much bollix Tubridy was spouting.

edit: apologies for the serious post, I usually try keep my posts to the LLS thread light and save my dislike for Tubridy for the radio show thread. But there was no craic to be had here last night.

Tubridy pretending that none of us know what raw grief looks like, that we've never seen it like that before. I think most of us actually have at least witnessed it in our families. My late aunt lost her son aged 20 in a motorcycle accident beside her house, and for the remainder of her life this grief would emerge in every social situation, however growing less intense over the years, and she had learned the ability to step out of it and br the life and soul of the party shortly again. Everyone knew it would pop up at weddings, parties etc, but it didn't stop her enjoying nearly every other moment if her 88 years and we all knew to let it be. Similar with my mother when she recalled losing her first born aged 3 weeks during the Asian influenza pandemic of 1958, and especially that her grief was especially connected with people failing to summons a doctor or even allow her to grieve when it happened. I found this grief a bit hard at times, it would happen mostly in my presence as she didn't like others to witness it. But she never found it helpful when deaths of babies and young children would be aired on TV, it was never cathartic and only brought her right back there.

For Ryan to tell us we know nothing about raw grief is down right insulting. Maybe he has never seen people cry out, roll around screaming with it, but that has been part of do many of our lives and it doesn't have to be shown to us. This is absolutely no criticism of Barry himself being on, it's a criticism of RTÉ making it a feature, but especially it this time. It would be fine to see this during Gaybo's time, where it would be well punctuated by more uplifting topics. I remember the night of the Canary Wharf Bombing, when the IRA had recommenced their campaign after first ceasefire, and first thing on LLS Gaybo did was address it, acknowledge it. Then he said that we needed cheering up and followed with a decent comedian, and some other light hearted acts. It was the right call. RTÉ don't seem to be able to do that any more. I know broadcasting is challenging during Covid, and that we don't seem to have comedians of the caliber who used to appear back in the day, but by gosh, surely there is some comic writing talent out there who could muster something to cheer us up and a few half decent people to deliver it. And no, interviewing a comedian about the most recent tragedy in their family won't cover it.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,309 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

This popped up again for me on the internet.
    What was the abuse Davy Fitz and his father received online about?