Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show-Friday 15th January 2021

• 15-01-2021 6:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭

Time for our weekly dose of insincere pontification and misery.

Let us prepare ourselves.
    Galway actor Nicola Coughlan will be chatting to Ryan about the success of new Netflix series 'Bridgerton' and giving us the latest update on the next series of the hilarious 'Derry Girls'.

Misery potential high here as she lost her dad. Bet he doesn’t bring it up though...
    Irish acting stalwart Brenda Fricker, whose films include 'My Left Foot', 'The Field' and 'Home Alone 2' among many more, will also be joining Tubridy on tonight's show. The 75-year-old will be paying a special tribute to the woman and children of Ireland's Mother and Baby Homes following the publication of this week's Commission of Investigation report.

Double misery whammy here-Mother & Baby homes combined with Brendas personal tragedies will have Toyman pulling the chest out of himself.
    Former champion boxer Barry McGuigan will be speaking to Ryan about how his family has been coping since the death of his daughter Danika in 2019. Danika, an actress known for her role in ''Can't Cope, Won't Cope', passed away at the age of 33 following a short illness.

They’re not even trying to hide it.
    Also on the show tonight will be this year's Operation Transformation leaders. Hazel Haritgan, Susuana Komolafe, Paul Devaney, Andrew Burke-Hannon and Sharon Gaffney will be discussing their new lifestyle changes since joining the show.

Bound to be some personal tragedies with these people as well.
    Music on the show tonight will be provided by Cork's very own LYRA who will be performing a special tribute to The Cranberries star Dolores O'Riordan who passed away this day 3 years ago.

And what else to top off the evening but, more death.

• Registered Users Posts: 72,140 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

giphy-downsized-large.gif

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭screamer

A full on misery fest tonight, no playing about
    Think I’ll continue on my LLS streak and skip it again this week

• Registered Users Posts: 85,410 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Bridgerton is Ride and Prejudice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭KevRossi

After the week that was, he'll have three people on having suffered recent breavements or talking about them. Along with this, Brenda Fricker on to talk about the homes (fair enough).

No illness there, unless he taps up Barry McGuigan about how his daughter died, or else he can squeeze out something from the OT contestants, like diabetes or similar.

It's insane how devoted they are to the whole illness and death thing and it only seems to get worse year after year. It has to be driven by the host, neither Gaybo nor Kenny had such a fixation on the topics.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Ah, dudes, you know yis are the greatest, but I don't know if I can handle all that joy to be honest.

I swear to God, what is wrong with them?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

2 reasons I won't watch:

1. I know exactly who will be on and what they'll talk about.
    2. They'll mostly talk about death and misery and after hearing about it all week I'll listen to no more.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Week 2 and its another definite skip

• Registered Users Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Topics:

Bridgerton or whatever it's called. (Is that the one that's a big load of sexy historically inaccurate nonsense?)

Mother & Baby homes

A man talking about his daughter's death

Obesity/RTE canteen crossover

A musical guest for the purpose of remembering Delores O'Riordan's tragic death.

That's remarkable, even for modern Late Late.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

That man has an actual perversion-as does the organisation he works for.

I like Brenda Fricker so might have a watch of her but the rest is a no from me.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not going to watch it tonight again.
    It’s been rubbish for years now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Why do they insist of having people on to butcher classic songs, I'd much prefer if they just played the video for Linger or Dreams

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Topics:

Bridgerton or whatever it's called. (Is that the one that's a big load of sexy historically inaccurate nonsense?)

Mother & Baby homes

A man talking about his daughter's death

Obesity/RTE canteen crossover

A musical guest for the purpose of remembering Delores O'Riordan's tragic death.

That's remarkable, even for modern Late Late.
    PsychoPete wrote: »
    Why do they insist of having people on to butcher classic songs, I'd much prefer if they just played the video for Linger or Dreams

Is the singer black, by any chance?

Samantha Power as well

• Registered Users Posts: 81,501 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

A don't start, for fook sake.

I'll be over on Forum Games.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,806 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Haven't watched in a while - was last week any good ?

66412217.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 54,736 ✭✭✭✭walshb

FFS, as per usual Friday nite glee!!!

He's warning us about the discomfort and misery we are about to endure.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,736 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Haven't watched in a while - was last week any good ?

😅

He's warning us about the discomfort and misery we are about to endure.

11 years too late! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Tuned in to:

"he wants us to bear witness to his grief... and I would also like to warn you that this will be followed by some uncomfortable viewing about mother and baby homes"

merciful jaysus.

Netflix it is!

It's creepy pigeon lady!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Please Renault pull the plug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

Please some light entertainment. Not belittling those in Mother and baby homes.

But it's been a bleak week.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,085 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

friday night and this depressing stuff on. a new low almost

sligojoek wrote: »

Samantha Power as well

Great, we'll have to listen to Tubs blow smoke up Bidens arse

• Registered Users Posts: 81,501 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Please Renault pull the plug

Likely a bidding war between Masseys and Staffords for next season.

It's creepy pigeon lady!

Photo-0.jpg