Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Leinster Championship is dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,509 ✭✭✭bennyl10

ArielAtom wrote: »
    Just going to put the definition of financial doping here. Can honestly say that is what has happened or are you going to challenge the Oxford Dictionary?

NOUN sport
    1. the situation in which a sports franchise borrows heavily in order to contract and pay high-performing players, jeopardizing their long-term financial future.

2. the situation in which the owner of a sports franchise invests his or her own personal wealth into securing high-performing players, rather than relying on the revenue the franchise is able to generate for itself.

Have the organisation out extra funds into Dublin, at the expense of others, to ensure success?

It’s all close to financial doping as you’ll see in an amateur sport an it is the reason the football championship is in the state it is now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Have the organisation out extra funds into Dublin, at the expense of others, to ensure success?

It’s all close to financial doping as you’ll see in an amateur sport an it is the reason the football championship is in the state it is now

Good to see you accepting that it is not financial doping. You accept that it is not financial doping but you choose to use the term.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

That is not correct. I have family membership for myself, my wife and the two kids who are over 18 for €320.00. That is great value.

Ah look, I don't want to make this about membership fees in Ballyboden or any other club. But here's the page from their website with the different membership fees set out:

https://www.ballyboden.ie/members/membership/membership-rates/

It clearly says that the membership fee for a single juvenile player is €200. Maybe the website is inaccurate, but what's what it says.

Ah look, I don't want to make this about membership fees in Ballyboden or any other club. But here's the page from their website with the different membership fees set out:

https://www.ballyboden.ie/members/membership/membership-rates/

It clearly says that the membership fee for a single juvenile player is €200. Maybe the website is inaccurate, but what's what it says.

Apologies, I've never gone into that and I'm a member a long time. I stand corrected. Still in comparison to our local soccer club its great value, each kid get shorts, socks and a hurl with grip AFAIK. That and winter training on the astro pitch. But as I found out when looking after teams getting payment can be hard work.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,509 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Good to see you accepting that it is not financial doping. You accept that it is not financial doping but you choose to use the term.

Because it is the easiest and closest term to what is happening

Call it whatever you will, it’s systematic and intentional at a top level

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Because it is the easiest and closest term to what is happening

Call it whatever you will, it’s systematic and intentional at a top level

You do realise that this financial assistance that Dublin GAA received at the levels that are continuously put up here finished over three years ago and that it was used to develop GAA in primary schools, not at IC level.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Apologies, I've never gone into that and I'm a member a long time. I stand corrected. Still in comparison to our local soccer club its great value, each kid get shorts, socks and a hurl with grip AFAIK. That and winter training on the astro pitch. But as I found out when looking after teams getting payment can be hard work.

Getting payment can be hard even when it's only €25 per child here, or €50 maximum per family if the adults aren't members too!

At least that's one thing that's the same as regards funding in Dublin and other counties :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

The point was made about club membership fees in Dublin on OTB earlier too. Lads reckoned Kilmacud Crokes take in, at a conservative estimate, around €750,000 annually from membership fees and have over 1 million euro in the bank. As such they have employed 2 full time sports scientists or coaches, I forget which he said.

Why are the fees more expensive though in Dublin? Say on link above for Ballyboden. €120 annually for non playing adult member, surely that is quite expensive, I mean realistically you don't get anything out of it bar supporting the club?

I know with my club in Cavan, I haven't paid membership in 10 years I'd say maybe longer. It was back when I played. I'm not actually sure what the price would be now, I would have to go out of my way to find someone to pay it and for virtually no benefit. I still pay into games etc on the gate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Wexford have no money but can afford Davy Fitz mileage. Limerick have no money but the full panel had a 5 star trip to Barbados last year. Tipp hurlers had personal trainers all through lockdown. Its not all about the money lads. Its hard work talent and commitment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Wexford have no money but can afford Davy Fitz mileage. Limerick have no money but the full panel had a 5 star trip to Barbados last year. Tipp hurlers had personal trainers all through lockdown. Its not all about the money lads. Its hard work talent and commitment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Firstly, Leinster is a joke. Unfortunately that is what it is. Does anyone really think that any Leinster team other than Dublin would challenge in another province? They wouldn't. They are poor teams. This is not the fault of Dublin. The development funding ended 3yrs ago. It was aimed at developing GAA in schools (Primary level) to tray and maintain the GAA in the capital. It has not gone into any intercounty setup from development squads to Senior in either code. To an extent it has worked, but there is still very little take up from the new Irish who have settled here. Dublin is a very diverse county with many people from other counties living and working there. The GAA population is not as large as some would say. Yes something has to be done and starting with developing coaching structures in other counties would be great. i know of some Dublin coaches who give workshops in other counties. Croke Park needs to roll this out to every county. The online bashing of Dublin in sometimes comical. Try venting this at the GAA and forget using Dublin as the tool to do it. Positivity always works. So develop a coaching program and I guarantee that every county will benefit.

I'm sorry but this is another nonsense that needs to be nipped in the bud straight away in the last two years one of Meath or Kildare have been in the super 8s i.e they were one of the best 8 teams in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Bambi wrote: »
    And we hit the Ewan McKenna jackpot, Financial Dopring, feel free to search this forum for that dozy being debunked.

What this comes down to is whinging that a three horse race in Leinster is now a one horse race and the solution is to handicap the one horse thats still running because Meath and Kildare know that their horses couldnt win a Tramore Donkey Derby but havent the werewithal to do anything about it.

I mean we could move Dublin into Connacht or Munster, like we did with Galway in the hurling, but I assume all the whingers would be happy to accept the same reason d'etre that Connacht did: that Leinster football is dead and the Leinster provincial championship be abolished.

No takers? Why not? Its the title of the thread after all :confused:

Or you could accept Dublin win Leinster for the forseeable, just like Antrim have won the Ulster hurling championships about 20 times in a row, which none of the true gaels in here seem to have the slightest problem with :confused:

:rolleyes::rolleyes: I've seen some strawmen in my time but **** me pink the Ulster hurling championship as an excuse really takes the biscuit

thegills wrote: »

It's also about where you spend the money you do have. There has been bad financial decisions and even mismanagement of funds in my counties and clubs outside Dublin. Money has "went missing" and disappeared into thin air in many clubs. There should be tighter financial monitoring in some areas from HQ and county boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Nermal

Scoundrel wrote: »
    Those underage players stay underage forever do they?? Those figures were widely quoted across a range of media outlets at the time come on why don't you try and justify Dublin receiving that obscene level of money compared to everyone else? How is it fair?

Given that this money is supposed to be used for children, shouldn't it be compared to the population up to say, aged 9, in each county?

On that basis, you might be surprised to find that some other counties should be in the firing line before Dublin.

County Population (0-9) Spending Per Capita
    Leitrim 4604 €688,521.00 €149.55
    Carlow 8476 €856,897.00 €101.10
    Longford 6437 €650,484.00 €101.05
    Dublin 181831 €17,916,477.00 €98.53
    Offaly 11870 €1,004,426.00 €84.62
    Roscommon 9126 €771,559.00 €84.55
    Sligo 9043 €720,140.00 €79.64
    Laois 14227 €1,074,486.00 €75.52
    Monaghan 9596 €669,957.00 €69.82
    Westmeath 13412 €871,420.00 €64.97
    Cavan 12026 €750,425.00 €62.40
    Waterford 16330 €984,557.00 €60.29
    Kilkenny 14713 €803,582.00 €54.62
    Clare 16894 €838,518.00 €49.63
    Kerry 19173 €928,481.00 €48.43
    Louth 19966 €948,007.00 €47.48
    Wicklow 21891 €1,006,294.00 €45.97
    Wexford 22004 €1,004,996.00 €45.67
    Tipperary 22825 €965,082.00 €42.28
    Mayo 17539 €718,780.00 €40.98
    Meath 33510 €1,190,047.00 €35.51
    Limerick 27153 €930,337.00 €34.26
    Donegal 23221 €704,938.00 €30.36
    Kildare 36438 €1,090,427.00 €29.93
    Galway 36684 €968,539.00 €26.40
    Cork 78087 €1,434,287.00 €18.37

That's just using https://statbank.cso.ie/px/pxeirestat/Statire/SelectVarVal/Define.asp?maintable=E2022&PLanguage=0 and the numbers from Sean McGoldrick's tweet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

Nermal wrote: »
    Given that this money is supposed to be used for children, shouldn't it be compared to the population up to say, aged 9, in each county?

On that basis, you might be surprised to find that some other counties should be in the firing line before Dublin.

That's just using https://statbank.cso.ie/px/pxeirestat/Statire/SelectVarVal/Define.asp?maintable=E2022&PLanguage=0 and the numbers from Sean McGoldrick's tweet.

Underage in GAA is classed up until 18 years of age!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Rolo2010

:rolleyes::rolleyes: I've seen some strawmen in my time but **** me pink the Ulster hurling championship as an excuse really takes the biscuit

Jesus. That was a stupid response. Ulster HC was scerapped because Antrim were winning every year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

An interesting take when you only see 3 counties ahead of Dublin and they are all minnow counties. And Dublins actual rivals (a loose term) all in the bottom half.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

thegills wrote: »
    Limerick have no money but the full panel had a 5 star trip to Barbados last year.

Is that why they've no sponsors on their jersey?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Rosita

I'm sorry but this is another nonsense that needs to be nipped in the bud straight away in the last two years one of Meath or Kildare have been in the super 8s i.e they were one of the best 8 teams in the country.

Exactly. In the top two National League divisions Leinster had 5 teams. Only Ulster had more.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,087 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Bambi wrote: »
    Kerry Group a major international business with 7 billion in revenue, thats some level of yerra to give it the beal bocht.

Ah the typical you hone in one one point to totally try and disparage the message.

I notice you didn't comment on the Mayo sponsors.

BTW Kerry Group might have turnovers of €7 billion, but the AIG group have turnover of $49.75 billion.
    dobman88 wrote: »
    Kerry group have given absolute fortunes to Kerry over the years and still do. I wouldnt exactly call it a small local business either.

And a lot of Kerry lads get cars from local dealers, Audi, Hyundai, Toyota, youd see them all with the branding on the side. One that's local to me that I know of is Reens Rathmore who are a Peugeot dealership have sponsored Paul Murphy for the last few years.

I'd assume some Mayo lads have car deals as do the Dubs and other top sides. It comes with being a county player.

But my main point was about Kerry group. Nothing small about em, they're a major international company

Ah yes I now know I shouldn't have mentioned Kerry as of course their Kerry group sponsorship will be called into question.

They may also have sweetheart deals with car dealers, but it isn't with one specific manufacturer.

Oh and even the great Kerry haven't an official airline.

BTW could anyone answer why Dublin have an official airline sponsor when they hardly ever leave the capital. :rolleyes:

Why are the fees more expensive though in Dublin? Say on link above for Ballyboden. €120 annually for non playing adult member, surely that is quite expensive, I mean realistically you don't get anything out of it bar supporting the club?

I know with my club in Cavan, I haven't paid membership in 10 years I'd say maybe longer. It was back when I played. I'm not actually sure what the price would be now, I would have to go out of my way to find someone to pay it and for virtually no benefit. I still pay into games etc on the gate.

That are the fees. Not paying them mean you are not a member. Very simple. So you are not a member!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,026 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

jmayo wrote: »
    Ah the typical you hone in one one point to totally try and disparage the message.

BTW Kerry Group might have turnovers of €7 billion, but the AIG group have turnover of $49.75 billion.

Ah yes I now know I shouldn't have mentioned Kerry as of course their Kerry group sponsorship will be called into question.

They may also have sweetheart deals with car dealers, but it isn't with one specific manufacturer.

BTW could anyone answer why Dublin have an official airline sponsor when they hardly ever leave the capital. :rolleyes:

They used their official airline sponsor for that historic tour of Western Europe they went on to commemorate WWI that definitely wasn't a foreign training camp. The avid history fans they are.

That are the fees. Not paying them mean you are not a member. Very simple. So you are not a member!!!

What? Try again in clear English. You're not making any sense.

I pay membership fees, you don’t. If you don’t you can’t refer to yourself as a member of a club.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

An interesting take when you only see 3 counties ahead of Dublin and they are all minnow counties. And Dublins actual rivals (a loose term) all in the bottom half.

1. The u should use the age groups closest to 6-18 for comparison purposes
    2. Dublin's population is going to be far more diverse and have far more options as to what sports to choose.pick 100 leitrm children who are members of a sports club... 99% will be gaa clubs, that won t be the case in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Rolo2010

Free trip down to Farrenfore when there's a game in Killarney. I think Donegal should hold our next game against them at Naomh Mhuire's pitch in Annagry. Only 10 mins from the airport.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

How are Cork and Galway at the bottom of the table on spending per capita, probably the two strongest dual counties(outside Dublin)yet getting the worst funding

• Registered Users Posts: 13,087 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

They used their official airline sponsor for that historic tour of Western Europe they went on to commemorate WWI that definitely wasn't a foreign training camp. The avid history fans they are.

Fecking Jackeens celebrating WW1.
    Girly Gal wrote: »
    How are Cork and Galway at the bottom of the table on spending per capita, probably the two strongest dual counties(outside Dublin)yet getting the worst funding

Because everyone hates Cork.

Kidding ..... or maybe not :p

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Fecking Jackeens celebrating WW1.

Because everyone hates Cork.

Kidding ..... or maybe not :p

And Galway's accounts were under investigation by the Gardai the last I heard. Something about concert revenues from Salthill not accounted for.I did ask on another thread was there an outcome to their enquiries yet?