Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Numbers have fallen day on day recently. Today's are a very significant fall.

So let's rule out level-5 restrictions as having anything to thank for this, as we're constantly told it takes 2 weeks to see numbers mirror restrictions.

Therefore, level-3 was possibly working, but the reaction in numbers takes longer to register than we were led to believe?

Is that a fair question to ask?

Not much comfort for all the businesses who have been shut down but it's a fair question yes?

And if so, and lets say numbers continue to fall, will we even know if it was going that way anyway under level-3 and if level-5 was necessary at all?

I mean we're obviously seeing numbers going downward anyway so if Tony Holohan is justified with his level-5 then you need to factor in the current downward trend before his level-5 stuff don't you?

So with the trend going down and positive signs and all from level-3, I'd hope Holohans total lockdown will accelerate this reduction fairly rapidly to justify ruining our economy when its now becoming apparent that numbers were already dropping from level-3, albeit belatedly.
    Bottom line, If Tony doesn't come back and press all sorts of panic buttons, our numbers would still be reducing day on day and we wouldn't be locking down the nation.
    Because NPHET were happy enough with the level-3 situation til he returned. I'd have MASSIVE doubts about that fella personally.
    Let alone his previous..... He's lucky to be in a job at all after the fiasco he oversaw. Now he's at it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

There’s a lot of assumptions in this post & skewed interpretations of what Dr Navarro said in my opinion, which I am entitled to have. Her views are valid & should be heard, whatever you think of them.

Her twitter account was closed by herself. If it was Twitter that removed the account it will display a suspended or banned message.

Nabarro's video is there for everyone to see and hear: You'll notice he uses the words primary control measure.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

s1ippy wrote: »
    Bahaha thanks for breaking the excellent news.

https://twitter.com/RummHammm/status/1318851263405215745?s=20

Whats happened? Has she been reinfected? She's a hack been hacked?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

https://twitter.com/ntbreakfast/status/1318457274839584768?s=21

She made very valid points on why she doesn’t think lockdowns are the way to go.
    And yet she said not one thing we/government should be doing instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Miike wrote: »
    She talks a lot of sense? To who?

She repeatedly used the words of Dr. David Nebarro outside of the context which they were applied. Stating that NPHET are 'flying in the face of the WHO' by locking down against 'their' recommendations, when that is not what we've done at all. Dr. Nebarro stated lockdown is not indicated as a primary measure of controlling the spread of COVID19 - Which Ireland has not done. Nebarro was talking about the lockdown you'll see in China where doors of apartments were WELDED shut by police to stop people going outside or the Australian approach of lengthy periods of lockdown despite evidence of 'low' (subjectively) community spread or Mediterranean countries taking similar approaches.

She made a spectacle of her self and realised that.
    I disagree.
    She’s made valid points and has been ridiculed for them. When will the muppets who want lockdowns realise we are in the gutter once it’s all over? Ye fûcking thick??
    The vaccines are getting fûck all coverage by our media and when they do 90% of the time it’s negative crap without any real research into why something went wrong or was paused!
    This country has so many people wanting to cradle the teats of this government and NPHET it’s unreal!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Ok, She questions our lockdown strategy and 3 days later her account is gone? She made valid points & twitter or whoever is forcing her to delete the account should be called out on this. You might not agree with her views - but her points are valid and should be heard.

We need alternative opinions now more than ever rather than uncritical groupthink or circling of the wagons.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Ok, She questions our lockdown strategy and 3 days later her account is gone? She made valid points & twitter or whoever is forcing her to delete the account should be called out on this. You might not agree with her views - but her points are valid and should be heard.

ah come off it man. you think twitter gives a ****e some media type is anti lockdown in ireland? she deleted it herself cause she can't handle internet criticism most likely.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

NewRed2 wrote: »

So let's rule out level-5 restrictions as having anything to thank for this, as we're constantly told it takes 2 weeks to see numbers mirror restrictions.

Therefore, level-3 was possibly working, but the reaction in numbers takes longer to register than we were led to believe?

Not much comfort for all the businesses who have been shut down but it's a fair question yes?

And if so, and lets say numbers continue to fall, will we even know if it was going that way anyway under level-3 and if level-5 was necessary at all?

I mean we're obviously seeing numbers going downward anyway so if Tony Holohan is justified with his level-5 then you need to factor in the current downward trend before his level-5 stuff don't you?

So with the trend going down and positive signs and all from level-3, I'd hope Holohans total lockdown will accelerate this reduction fairly rapidly to justify ruining our economy when its now becoming apparent that numbers were already dropping from level-3, albeit belatedly.
    Bottom line, If Tony doesn't come back and press all sorts of panic buttons, our numbers would still be reducing day on day and we wouldn't be locking down the nation.
    Because NPHET were happy enough with the level-3 situation til he returned. I'd have MASSIVE doubts about that fella personally.
    Let alone his previous..... He's lucky to be in a job at all after the fiasco he oversaw. Now he's at it again.

You cannot take one day as a trend, especially a very dramatic and susicious looking drop. You have to give it a week at least to see a trend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Tubridy is a spokesman for the government now.

All RTE are

A communist station

Chinese would be pround of the propaganda they instill

• Registered Users Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Wolf359f wrote: »

What that clip doesn't show is that a listener sent in a text asking what she would propose instead and she wouldn't give an answer instead saying she didn't have time to talk. Spoofer opand must try harder to be a shock jock.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭verizon

Because it's obvious what we are doing is correct and level 5 is the saviour a lot in here wanted.

You can look at many examples around the world and only those fortunate to close borders completely have succeeded. Look around Europe, and everything fails for one reason or another. We have chosen to risk peoples livelihood, mental health and their families.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 werenotthere

You would think Tony would have got a haircut before he closed down the barbers

What that clip doesn't show is that a listener sent in a text asking what she would propose instead and she wouldn't give an answer instead saying she didn't have time to talk. Spoofer opand must try harder to be a shock jock.

Why should she give an alternative?

If you oppose something you have to give an alternative now?

Thierry12 wrote: »
    All RTE are

A communist station

Chinese would be pround of the propaganda they instill

Communist, on those salaries?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

NewRed2 wrote: »

Look man, I'm all for positivity, but the hospital numbers are definitely heading in the wrong direction which are far more important than the daily case numbers. I don't mean to pisss in your coco pops or anything.

Communist, on those salaries?

They are all well paid

Thats the point

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

So shops can open if they do click and collect? How does click and collect work? Shop online, pay online and go to shop to collect your order?

Masks have been mandated in shops since July, so why close the smaller shops that doesn't offer click and collect like this?

verizon wrote: »
    Because it's obvious what we are doing is correct and level 5 is the saviour a lot in here wanted.

You can look at many examples around the world and only those fortunate to close borders completely have succeeded. Look around Europe, and everything fails for one reason or another. We have chosen to risk peoples livelihood, mental health and their families.

Christ not this crazy thinking again.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭spookwoman

And what about the people that do follow the restrictions, and see a bigger picture that they don’t agree with?
    No one is stopping people from living or existing.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭verizon

Christ not this crazy thinking again.

You need a lesson in interpretation. It's a current fact, but I never advocated nor will advocate for it.

If you're saying someone is wrong or doing something wrong, at least be able to point out the correct thing to do.

So shops can open if they do click and collect? How does click and collect work? Shop online, pay online and go to shop to collect your order?

Masks have been mandated in shops since July, so why close the smaller shops that doesn't offer click and collect like this?

Power is in numbers and they have no numbers

They wouldn't dare cross Musgraves and close Centras

Corrupt as ****

• Registered Users Posts: 16,727 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Its mostly complete idiots who have been behind the recent increase in numbers. Clowns celebrating junior b/intermediate/senior club titles. Clowns turning up in meat factories with symptoms and bosses refusing sick leave. And people returning from abroad and not bothering to isolate or going to parties despite feeling unwell.

Its very difficult to prevent these kinds of idiots doing whatever they please.

I'd make a distinction between GAA lads celebrating titles, and an immigrant turning up to a meat factory because he is afraid of losing his job if he does not.
    Micheal seemed very concerned about practices in Meat Factories when he was in opposition, he seems to be less so now. Maybe he is afraid of upsetting LG.

They are all well paid

Thats the point

Ah right authoritarian, more than communism so

Blondini wrote: »
    Look man, I'm all for positivity, but the hospital numbers are definitely heading in the wrong direction which are far more important than the daily case numbers. I don't mean to pisss in your coco pops or anything.

No yer grand, that's sound. Let's use a very basic principle that as case numbers come down the hospital numbers will follow.
    I mean that's a fair assumption isn't it?
    There's a delay... You don't get infection numbers mirrored by hospital numbers on the same day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Does anyone here get the impression that some shops are claiming themselves to be supplying "essential services"?

In her position yes. Surely if you think so etching is so fundamentally wrong then you have to have the genesis of a counter idea.

If you are a selector on a team and you disagree with an idea from a fellow selector you can't just disagree for the sake of it without a different idea.

If you're saying someone is wrong or doing something wrong, at least be able to point out the correct thing to do.

You cant do that if nothing is correct

You cannot take one day as a trend, especially a very dramatic and susicious looking drop. You have to give it a week at least to see a trend.

Yes that's fair. So can you post numbers over the past week?

If you do, you'll spot the trend.

Steve F wrote: »
    Does anyone here get the impression that some shops are claiming themselves to be supplying "essential services"?

Yes. I know of a clothes shop that got one snickers workweek shirt in so that they can claim to supply workweek and thus can remain open. Totally against the spirit of what we are being asked to do.