Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Hear hear!

Well said and certainly worth watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Lolle06

I think the bubble is specifically aimed at single or separated parents, you won't fall under it.l think can come to 'care' for you, I can see no reason why you cannot go to him for them to care for you but a guard might take view that if you are driving to them that you can care for yourself.

No, the bubble is also aimed at people who live alone and are isolated from other households.

The last lockdown was very hard on people that live alone, as well as single parents. The social bubble option is a way to reduce their isolation a bit, as long as they only choose one other household to visit.

A great distance is not ideal and ppl should chose bubbles within their area, but if the only option is a bubble a further distance away, then they can do that too.

The guards will have to trust some ppl in good faith.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,176 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

dabrisin wrote: »
    I live on my own and am in my mid seventies. My son lives in Du blin approximately 190km from me. With this social bubble arrangement can I get in my car and go and spend a few days with him and his family when I feel the need, or is it that I have to stay at home and he comes to me. It doesn't seem to be clear to me and I'm nervous about setting out and being turned back. Thanks for any advice.

The bubble as pp said is aimed at people living alone, such as yourself, as well as some other categories. It's explained quite well in this link. You form a bubble with just you and your son's household.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1019/1172534-extended-household-bubble-explained/

From the attached link:
    'You can form a support bubble if: you live alone with children under the age of 18, you live alone, you share parenting or custody arrangements, you live with an adult you provide care for, or you live by yourself and have a carer or carers who support you.
    Support bubbles can only be formed with one other household that is not already part of a support bubble.
    It is advised that people should choose another household in their locality, but it can be outside the five kilometre restriction under Level 5.'

All the best, it's a tough time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Allinall wrote: »
    Are you now saying the article contained disinformation?

Still waiting for you to show how it was mocking us.

OK you made your point.
    It was a factual article from a credible source.
    Exactly like this one:
    South Korean government to investigate spate of deaths linked to seasonal flu shots after toll rises to 30

https://www.rt.com/news/504331-koreans-die-of-flu-shots/

And this one:
    Covid-19 study on mask-wearing efficacy rejected by journals as no one is ‘brave’ enough to publish results – Danish researchers

https://www.rt.com/news/504219-danish-mask-study-rejected-coronavirus/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,708 ✭✭✭KaneToad

patnor1011 wrote: »
    This is exactly what is wrong with what is going on. These restrictions for something and exceptions for something else is complete nonsense.
    People are confused and expect gardai to decide about something while they are equally or even more confused. Them on the streets is just a PR exercise for the government to show that they are doing something.

To be honest, since there is no clear explanation you should go and if stopped maintain that current guidelines are permitting you to do that. If you do it in a civilized manner with a straight face I would bet good money that no garda is going to argue with you as they themselves are lost in this rubbish.

The govt can't legislate for all the exceptions. So they have weak enough restrictions and are depending on the citizens to row in and not try and find workarounds. But this is Ireland. That's not going to happen. This lockdown won't have the effect NPHET are hoping for. Get ready for no pubs until 2021...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

Well said and certainly worth watching

Absolutely. He has been a constant source of sense, balance and logic over the last few months.

KaneToad wrote: »
    The govt can't legislate for all the exceptions. So they have weak enough restrictions and are depending on the citizens to row in and not try and find workarounds. But this is Ireland. That's not going to happen. This lockdown won't have the effect NPHET are hoping for. Get ready for no pubs until 2021...

Or 2022, or maybe never. And as for “this being Ireland” it about time people woke up in this country and took back their civil liberties. Once again the is very very few people dyeing and those who are are dying “with” Covid not “of” Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    €25 billion cost to state to date for this farce- wow.

Scary! To think of the outrage when the Children’s hospital costs were revealed. Minor in comparison. It would be somewhat understandable if the cost had led to a fit for purpose test and trace system, increased hospital beds and an overall system to exist alongside COVID whilst protecting the economy and other health aspects. But it hasn’t and we’re just throwing good money after bad at this stage whilst we all rewind to March again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Allinall

OK you made your point.
    It was a factual article from a credible source.
    Exactly like this one:
    South Korean government to investigate spate of deaths linked to seasonal flu shots after toll rises to 30

And this one:
    Covid-19 study on mask-wearing efficacy rejected by journals as no one is ‘brave’ enough to publish results – Danish researchers

I've made my point.

However, I've no idea what your point is. Maybe you could enlighten me?

What on earth have those articles got to do with their report on Ireland?

I’m in my mid 20s and tbh, practically everyone I know my age and younger seems to be giddy with the new restrictions. Thankfully for me I don’t live in Ireland anymore and have no intentions of returning home anytime soon. My social media was full of “lockdown eve” and how “if we did it once, we can do it again, better this time” and the like last night. Nobody my age seems to want to even discuss the possibility that these lockdowns have dire consequences as you’ll be labelled “right wing” “anti mask” “granny killer” and all those other ridiculous terms.

I would imagine reddit has a younger demographic than boards and the Ireland subreddit is embarrassing right now. They’ve been screaming for more restrictions for months and encouraging police brutality on anyone who protests against lockdowns. It’s a full on asylum over there.

My generation should be angrier right now but they’re seemingly happy to roll over. It’s sad.

Since you are going against the experts and the opinion of most people maybe it’s time to reassess your own opinion and consider you are wrong and that lockdowns are the right way to go and strict restrictions are needed.

If you want a lockdown then have one, just stay home. A lot of the rest of us are done with them and not before time. Thankfully very very few people are dying with let alone of Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Situation in France described as grave. Curfews being expanded. They need a similar national lockdown across the board like Ireland.

https://twitter.com/BNODesk/status/1319335551154180100

Most people out after 9PM are people on shift work, people at house parties or teenagers out wandering the streets

I am sure all the businesses who may never reopen and the people who are going to struggle to pay mortgages and buy kids christmas presents would gladly take the approach France is taking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

from the UK but her attitude is similar to the older people in my life.

It's funny NPHET and the government bang on about the elderly but anecdotally it seems nobody ever asked the elderly what their view was

https://twitter.com/BBCLookNorth/status/1318937308297596928

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭JimToken

uli84 wrote: »
    So why did they drop localised restrictions? Too complicated for them to manage, is it?
    Making it easy for themselves or what?
    Surely if the UK can manage, they should be able to master it here as well (?)

Lockdowns is the least complicated solution

Anything intelligent requires too much effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I’m in my mid 20s and tbh, practically everyone I know my age and younger seems to be giddy with the new restrictions. Thankfully for me I don’t live in Ireland anymore and have no intentions of returning home anytime soon. My social media was full of “lockdown eve” and how “if we did it once, we can do it again, better this time” and the like last night. Nobody my age seems to want to even discuss the possibility that these lockdowns have dire consequences as you’ll be labelled “right wing” “anti mask” “granny killer” and all those other ridiculous terms.

I would imagine reddit has a younger demographic than boards and the Ireland subreddit is embarrassing right now. They’ve been screaming for more restrictions for months and encouraging police brutality on anyone who protests against lockdowns. It’s a full on asylum over there.

My generation should be angrier right now but they’re seemingly happy to roll over. It’s sad.

I seen a comment there that was highly up voted a few weeks ago, saying "we should just have another lockdown and get it out of the way". I was thinking to myself "that's not how this works". These types certainly aren't the brightest, as they don't seem to even be aware of the basic truth that all this will happen again when we're out of lockdown.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

paw patrol wrote: »
    from the UK but her attitude is similar to the older people in my life.

It's funny NPHET and the government bang on about the elderly but anecdotally it seems nobody ever asked the elderly what their view was

https://twitter.com/BBCLookNorth/status/1318937308297596928

My relatives of that age feel the same way. Besides we all know the lockdowns have nothing to do with saving any lives, and all to do with saving the necks of those who have mismanaged the health services, and the government who have allowed it to continue, like all those before it. I feel so depressed imagining how it could have been if they have used 25 billion to strip it back and rebuild it. My god the numbers of lives that would save, compared to this farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,565 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Its sad, they are literally clueless. No critical thinking, follow the herd, take what the media here tell them at face value. Social media is a large part of the issue, its fascinating ... literally just a nation of drones for the most part...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 dabrisin

Thanks everyone, feel a bit more confident now about driving up if I need too

If you want a lockdown then have one, just stay home. A lot of the rest of us are done with them and not before time. Thankfully very very few people are dying with let alone of Covid.

It needs to be for everyone, it’s to stop the spread and protect everyone not just me and my family.

Schools should not be reopening either after the mid term - insanity having them open and spreading virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Question for everyone in the thread:

I like to swim all year round but the nearest beach to me is outside 5km should I be fined or told to go back home for my behaviour.

I'd like to add that I'll be doing this on my own and shouldn't come in contact with anyone.

Im going where I want. If I get stopped I'll just be honest and tell them what im doing. I presume they will tell you not to do that and you go on your way. I think the fine is a last resort or when you act the dickhead when they tell you to turn around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Allinall wrote: »
    I've made my point.

However, I've no idea what your point is. Maybe you could enlighten me?

What on earth have those articles got to do with their report on Ireland?

I think his point is that when RT initially posted the article about Ireland you said so what... it’s a news organisation reporting facts. So there’s two other articles from the same news organisation... are those facts also? Or just the story they report which fits your view?

bush wrote: »
    Im going where I want. If I get stopped I'll just be honest and tell them what im doing. I presume they will tell you not to do that and you go on your way. I think the fine is a last resort or when you act the dickhead when they tell you to turn around.

They will turn you, this is not advice like the don’t leave your county this is law.

Look at the person who ended up in court for going fishing in the last lockdown as he refused to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

OK you made your point.
    It was a factual article
    from a credible source.
    Exactly like this one:

And this one:

The emboldened text was all you needed to say.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,057 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Schools should not be reopening either after the mid term - insanity having them open and spreading virus.

They will reopen, from what i'm seeing in schools the HSE has taken a heard immunity strategy by not testing almost refusing to test and redefining what a close contact is.
    Our local secondary has now got all 5th & 6th year out with the other years limping along.
    If it was any other place it would be closed. The HSE say they don't need to be tested as they were wearing masks, then people are still getting sick but just sent home.
    I really hope this is as harmless for under 18's as we're lead to believe with no long term implications for them.

I’m not sure how the fines actually work but I assume like everything else in this country that it doesn’t work well.

I got a fine from Irish rail before and I appealed. Took 4 months to process my appeal and have the fine binned.

Silly waste of time. These fines won’t stand up in court.

I think his point is that when RT initially posted the article about Ireland you said so what... it’s a news organisation reporting facts. So there’s two other articles from the same news organisation... are those facts also? Or just the story they report which fits your view?

That wasn't his point. He said the article was making a mockery of us. It wasn't.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Pat Kenny: “later on, long covid, even a tiny amount of Covid could have devastating long term effects”

Ramp it up lads, ramp it up. We’re losing them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

They will turn you, this is not advice like the don’t leave your county this is law.

Look at the person who ended up in court for going fishing in the last lockdown as he refused to go home.

Ye he refused to go home. I will turn around and go in the other direction. Nothing will happen to me.

They will reopen, from what i'm seeing in schools the HSE has taken a heard immunity strategy by not testing almost refusing to test and redefining what a close contact is.
    Our local secondary has now got all 5th & 6th year out with the other years limping along.
    If it was any other place it would be closed. The HSE say they don't need to be tested as they were wearing masks, then people are still getting sick but just sent home.
    I really hope this is as harmless for under 18's as we're lead to believe with no long term implications for them.

The teacher's unions are making rumblings about it all at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,816 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

I think we should just put anyone who tests positive infront of a firing squad personally. You can never be too safe Nox.