Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Hurrache wrote: »
    The Irish provinces are due to play each other this weekend, not sure how they'll manage the new reduced limits if they've sold or assigned seating to season ticket holders.

They have not sold tickets. They have restricted the size of the squads and number of journalists. 200 includes squads of 25 players each (sometimes teams would bring 30 players to a game to cover last min injuries etc), coaching teams, medics, stadium officials, journalists and the TV teams (cameramen, technicians etc!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

The Irish provinces are due to play each other this weekend, not sure how they'll manage the new reduced limits if they've sold or assigned seating to season ticket holders.

No spectators AFAIK

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Lundstram wrote: »
    Going after the GAA, the soft target. What the fcuk are they doing about meat plants?

It’s no coincidence a number a these stupid decisions have been made since Martin became Taoiseach.

He has been an utter disaster.

Well Leo did say letting him back in charge would be like putting John Delaney back in charge of the FAI.

This is FG's fault too for going against everything they said pre-election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,373 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

They have not sold tickets.
    No spectators AFAIK

Cheers, wasn't sure what they were doing for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Anyone else feel that we are all being slow marched back to a Phase 1 Lockdown...

First lockdown 3 counties..
    Restrict movement for over 70's
    Restrict pub/restaurants/house parties
    Sport only behind closed doors.
    Majority of workers to stay home.
    Avoid public transport.
    Increase Police Powers...

This is just the first few steps in bringing us back...

By end of September expect the 2k,5k,20k restrictions back...

With 18 cases in hospital and 8 ICU, bit of an over reaction surely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

NPHET running the country yet they can’t organise a press conference. Total disrespect shown to the public. Zero accountability.

Well Leo did say letting him back in charge would be like putting John Delaney back in charge of the FAI.

This is FG's fault too for going against everything they said pre-election.
    Can’t blame Leo. He’s not in charge anymore. The voting public put FF in the hotseat. Morons.

NPHET running the country yet they can’t organise a press conference. Total disrespect shown to the public. Zero accountability.

It's not solely a NPHET press conference. And you can be sure the delay is due to arguments within the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

statesaver wrote: »
    With 18 cases in hospital and 8 ICU, bit of an over reaction surely.

Should this thread (or its successor) be retitled tightening of restrictions?

It's not solely a NPHET press conference. And you can be sure the delay is due to arguments within the government.
    Imagine if you or I walked into our job in the morning almost 3 hours late. You’d be fcuking sacked.

These clowns can do what they like with no accountability it seems.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

It's not a NPHET press conference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

gral6 wrote: »
    I'd say that NPHET should resign now at this stage. Their useless advises are only making people really angry.

Your lack of understanding of multiplicative risk is what is making you angry.

Lockdown was "useless" yet look at UK/USA which started the same as us.

You would argue black is white

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

Is that not exactly what anyone vulnerable in the middle of a pandemic would be expected to do anyway? Staying out of harms way until it passes. What's wrong with personal responsibility?

The lads and lasses in D2 are the ones you should be putting that question to
    While you are at it ask the owner how he had a 4 hour brunch do when you are only allowed 1 hr 45 min in a bar restaurant

https://twitter.com/johnfogartyirl/status/1295740108658876416?s=21

Spot on. Easy target. Won’t affect the economy. GAA compliant from the get go. A lot of people with no interest in the GAA won’t care but this will have a huge impact on rural Ireland. Sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Amirani wrote: »
    It's not a NPHET press conference.
    see the Lundstram post above yours ...... nail on head.

Imagine if you or I walked into our job in the morning almost 3 hours late. You’d be fcuking sacked.

These clowns can do what they like with no accountability it seems.

I take it you've never worked on anything which had an expected deliverable and got knocked back, never mind worked on something of national importance.

This is reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

So...instead of explaining the nature of the outbreaks, test&trace time which is crucial to protect the vulnerable, and how they’ll control outbreaks in food factories...we have police state measures, no spectators at all at matches despite they fact they’re outdoors with loads of space, and the elderly told to go inside again?! Seriously?!
    I do not think the over 70s should be inside long term, this is terrible for their health & well being. Where is the balance in these measures or are they solely Covid focused once again.

What NPHET and our useless ‘Government’ should be recommending is:
    - measures to improve our test & trace system including what to do when every child in Ireland inevitably gets a sniffle come winter.
    - giving clarity on how many of these ‘cases’ are actually asymptomatic.
    - new data on hospitalisations rates, they’re clearly lower than previously and this is a good thing
    - Ireland’s overall objective - population of 5 million to remain guinea pigs for an experimental vaccine / herd immunity / no idea where or what they’re aiming for / going - their medium term plan seems to be hiding in Dáil Éireann somewhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Should this thread (or its successor) be retitled tightening of restrictions?

Or The Ignoring of Restrictions

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Can’t blame Leo. He’s not in charge anymore. The voting public put FF in the hotseat. Morons.

From the Nursing Homes, DP centres, airports at the start to Michaels 2 months in charge, both FG and FF have failed us

They did take a pay cut (actually rise) though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭The Belly

From the Nursing Homes, DP centres, airports at the start to Michaels 2 months in charge, both FG and FF have failed us

No recession in politics

I take it you've never worked on anything which had an expected deliverable and got knocked back, never mind worked on something of national importance.

This is reality.

This an address of huge magnitude to 5 million people yet they mistimed it by 2 hours and 30 minutes? This isn’t some meeting in some sh1tty accounting firm. This affects 5 million people in the middle of a global pandemic.

People like you defending that amateurism and incompetence is quite frankly laughable.

This an address of huge magnitude to 5 million people yet they mistimed it by 2 hours and 30 minutes? This isn’t some meeting in some sh1tty accounting firm. This affects 5 million people in the middle of a global pandemic.

People like you defending that amateurism and incompetence is quite frankly laughable.

Nothing has been mistimed. Would you rather they don't discuss restrictions properly and rush decisions to keep you happy?

"People like you", you mean realists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

No one has died in DP centres. The treatment of Nursing Homes was a disgrace but like everything else in this country nothing will be learnt from it nor will anyone be held accountable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

Oh 100%.
    Most of the elderly that actually died were in nursing homes were already extremely ill. As in late stages of cancer, COPD, heart disease.

Your average 70 year old will likely be grand.
    I know a 49 yr old who has spent the last 14 weeks in ICU ( and is still there ) and who will not return to work for at least 12 months who might disagree with you

Nothing has been mistimed. Would you rather they don't discuss restrictions properly and rush decisions to keep you happy?

"People like you", you mean realists.
    I like competence in leaders and that includes delivering addresses when they say they will.

Thankfully your ilk are in the minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

So far nothing that hasn't been leaked throughout the day

They're "considering" additional powers for the Gardai but nothing in place yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Welcome to the nanny state.

All for whats essentially a cold for those not already dying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't think the measures will be alarming, but affecting sporting spectators OUTDOORS will not be welcomed at all, however I can sort of see the logic behind it, getting there and back etc.

Will be on the six one news maybe at 7oc lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nice lecture to those of us asking if the responses are an overreaction or proportionate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

2330 died on this island??

Whats this clown talking about