Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

i'm in the same boat but Clare and not Antrim, i'm hoping soon though Gmisk

Just go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

While there might be some very long overdue positive news today, its still very important to keep the pressure on until this lockdown is fully over.

Completely agree with the easing but what kind of pressure are we putting on talking to largely like minded people in an Internet forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,432 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

na1 wrote: »
    Are they requested to have and ID with them?
    I would ignore the restrictions and tell I'm 69 if asked.

Well, like I said, plenty of over 70's near us have been going out shopping all along...and from talking to my mum, she is done with it now, she likes to do her weekly shop in dunnes/aldi - couldn't begrudge her that! I think she's done pretty well and has always been cautious when it comes to using trolleys etc (was wiping them down herself long before Covid :pac:) and keeps her distance. It's just that there has been no mention of cocooners going out and about since they "allowed" them to get some exercise again on the 5th May. It was in the draft for phase two about being able to go shopping, so just interested to know if this is still on the cards and can cocooners head off for a spin anywhere in their county from Monday, like everybody else....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

Possibly a stupid question, but it's still meant to be essential journies only isn't it even with the county wide allowance?

I think even now the essential journeys have no range limits...
    Otherwise how would they do deliveries across the country?

So for example exercises are allowed by 5km (20 km next week) and no limits some future phase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

gmisk wrote: »
    County wide only by looks of it :(

I would love to head up from Dublin to see my folks in county Antrim

In the south you'd be taking mostly motorways. Gards aren't going to stop you there. Then in the North there are no travel restrictions. I'd say you're good to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

George Lee pissing rings around himself in fear of the easing now on RTE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

bush wrote: »
    Just go

thanks Bush i am tempted now i must say !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Doom and gloom Geroge Lee getting one last outing on RTE.

Its unreal, you'd think the world was ending with him here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

leahyl wrote: »
    can cocooners head off for a spin anywhere in their county from Monday, like everybody else....

According to Leo, they are still deciding if they allow us to travel 20km from Monday.
    Have I missed something? Was there a new announcement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

George Lee holding back the tears on RTE.
    Let it go George, let it all out.....

c4bf382e57a0397637adc54a4a19f73e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

gmisk wrote: »
    County wide only by looks of it :(

I would love to head up from Dublin to see my folks in county Antrim

Go and see your parents.

Completely agree with the easing but what kind of pressure are we putting on talking to largely like minded people in an Internet forum.

Contact local TDs as well. Pile pressure in any way you can. The more that do it the better. If nobody did, I doubt anything would move forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Phase 6? George!

Its unreal, you'd think the world was ending with him here.

Probably more worried that he’s going to be irrelevant once coronavirus is out of the news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

George Lee is having a cannery whatever that means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

I'd say go for it

All well and fine but the problem is the locals in a lot of places will genuinely judge people for breaking the rules and coming into their towns and villages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

I had to switch over to TV3, it's a sad day when TV3 are the less sensationalised news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

leahyl wrote: »
    Well, like I said, plenty of over 70's near us have been going out shopping all along...and from talking to my mum, she is done with it now, she likes to do her weekly shop in dunnes/aldi - couldn't begrudge her that! I think she's done pretty well and has always been cautious when it comes to using trolleys etc (was wiping them down herself long before Covid :pac:) and keeps her distance. It's just that there has been no mention of cocooners going out and about since they "allowed" them to get some exercise again on the 5th May. It was in the draft for phase two about being able to go shopping, so just interested to know if this is still on the cards and can cocooners head off for a spin anywhere in their county from Monday, like everybody else....

My grandparents are grown adults, one a retired Garda and the other a retired nurse. Both would be considered high risk due to health conditions, my grandfather has had two strokes and skin cancer and my grandmother has extremely high blood pressure and arthritis. My grandfather's has gone for a 10km walk every day since March as he has done for years and my grandmother was one of the first in the queue for Woodies and gardening centres.

They were never going to listen to any patronising nanny state crap about "cocooning".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Contact local TDs as well. Pile pressure in any way you can. The more that do it the better. If nobody did, I doubt anything would move forward
    I'd say we'll have to wait a good while into Phase 2, to see any further changes. Phase 3 could even be the end of all of it, with some minor exceptions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭helpful

Watching the children play on the playground in the background of the virgin media report while talking about opening then Monday has really made me laugh today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

George Lee is having a cannery whatever that means.

He is not a doctor or a scientist , he is a journalist and should simply do that
    We don’t need him lecturing us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

This is a serious speeding up of the reopening, didn't expect them to do this much, shopping centres open in just under 2 weeks time, 2 months early.

Looks like we'll have everything open by mid july at the latest

Unfortunately there are some posters on here not too happy about it. Going by their posts the attitude absolutely stinks towards the people who just want some normality back. You can sense in their moronic posts that they hope a second wave comes along just to prove a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

George will have to go back to banging on about climate change next week.

All well and fine but the problem is the locals in a lot of places will genuinely judge people for breaking the rules and coming into their towns and villages.

You wouldn’t run into many locals driving to your parents house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

thelad95 wrote: »
    My grandparents are grown adults, one a retired Garda and the other a retired nurse. Both would be considered high risk due to health conditions, my grandfather has had two strokes and skin cancer and my grandmother has extremely high blood pressure and arthritis. My grandfather's has gone for a 10km walk every day since March as he has done for years and my grandmother was one of the first in the queue for Woodies and gardening centres.

They were never going to listen to any patronising nanny state crap about "cocooning".

Glad they've been lucky so far.

Pity about the 1,664 who haven't been that lucky, so far.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

FrStone wrote: »
    I had to switch over to TV3, it's a sad day when TV3 are the less sensationalised news.

Me too , can’t be listening to George Lee lecturing us

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Unfortunately there are some posters on here not too happy about it. Going by their posts the attitude absolutely stinks towards the people who just want some normality back. You can sense in their moronic posts that they hope a second wave comes along just to prove a point.

I thought we'd see some changes alright but not this much. Pleasantly surprised

I'm sure social media will be fun this evening with some people losing the tag on reopening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

thelad95 wrote: »

hats off to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,866 ✭✭✭✭walshb

After the disgraceful disregard for social distancing that occurred on Monday, and the even more disgraceful quietness about it from govt/NPHET and others, they can go and eff off with their reopenings.....huge pinch of salt around this now.