Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling on paths and other cycling issues (updated title)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,002 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

How would it be helpful?

Is it ok for a cyclist to break this posted speed limit?

It would be helpful to know what exactly you mean by 'speed limit posted'. Posted where and in what context? Are you saying that the limit is painted on the ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Don't travel it too often but isn't the section j13 to j17 three lanes 120Kph?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,199 ✭✭✭✭Stark

M50 is 2 lanes from junction 14 to 17. All the 3 lane sections are 100km/hr.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Well, there's the circular one that goes all the way around Dublin that I'd use reasonably frequently.
    good god. the M50 is 30km at 100km/h, and 7km at 120km/h.

and you thought it was 120km/h all the way round?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Don't travel it too often but isn't the section j13 to j17 three lanes 120Kph?

It's only 2 lanes from junction 14, which is where the limit increases, like any good motorist who uses it regularly would know.

Just because we have bikes doesn't mean we don't drive it ourselves.

However evidentialy some motorists are completely unobservant to how they should drive and what the rules are, the typical hurlers from the ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

good god. the M50 is 30km at 100km/h, and 7km at 120km/h.

and you thought it was 120km/h all the way round?

In fairness most people use it at 120 kph plus, so can see where he got that from. But yeah, speeding cyclists:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭Rezident

Bless your eyesight that you can see them spewing germs.
    But yes, it's illegal, germs or not, but no-one is bothered doing anything to put a stop to it.

Nah, it is not illegal, cycling dangerously is illegal but cycling on a path is not, otherwise 5 year-olds would be breaking the law for cycling on the path and would be forced to cycle their tricycles on the road with cars, which would be a bit mad, wouldn't it?

I saw a jogger jogging IN THE CYCLE LANE recently, instead of on the path! SO I was going to start a thread on Boards about it and get outraged, but do you know what I did instead? I just got on with my life.

Hurrache wrote: »
    It's only 2 lanes from junction 14, which is where the limit increases, like any good motorist who uses it regularly would know.

Just because we have bikes doesn't mean we don't drive it ourselves.

However evidentialy some motorists are completely unobservant to how they should drive and what the rules are, the typical hurlers from the ditch.

I don't use it very often and I'll bow to anyone who uses it more often, but I was right about it being 120Kph even from distant memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,199 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    In fairness most people use it at 120 kph plus, so can see where he got that from. But yeah, speeding cyclists:rolleyes:

Okay I'll put my hand up. I broke the speed limit on the 100km/hr section the other day with a bike on the back of the car.

Spook_ie wrote: »
    but I was right about it being 120Kph even from distant memory.

C'mon now, let go of the straws you're frantically clutching at You weren't right about what we were talking about and who my barbs were aimed at.

Stark wrote: »
    Okay I'll put my hand up. I broke the speed limit on the 100km/hr section the other day with a bike on the back of the car.

That's a double fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

Rezident wrote: »
    Nah, it is not illegal, cycling dangerously is illegal but cycling on a path is not, otherwise 5 year-olds would be breaking the law for cycling on the path and would be forced to cycle their tricycles on the road with cars, which would be a bit mad, wouldn't it?

I saw a jogger jogging IN THE CYCLE LANE recently, instead of on the path! SO I was going to start a thread on Boards about it and get outraged, but do you know what I did instead? I just got on with my life.

Those pesky joggers giving us runners a bad name again!!

Hurrache wrote: »
    C'mon now, let go of the straws you're frantically clutching at You weren't right about what we were talking about and who my barbs were aimed at.

I'm clutching no straws, I drive northside and only southside once in a bluemoon and I don't take my passengers for round trips on the M50, so as I said I'll bow judgement to anyone that does use it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,406 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Rezident wrote: »

Cycling on the pavement is illegal even for 5 year olds. Thankfully it’s not enforced.

I'd just like to be able to walk or run on the footpath without having to dodge cyclists (again, cos apparently it needs to be repeated, I'm not bothered by young kids on bikes on the footpath), and not see them fly through red lights, whether it's for pedestrians or anyone using the road.

Doesn't seem too much to ask, really.

Like this, you mean?

https://streamable.com/lyie8l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,270 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Like this, you mean?

https://streamable.com/lyie8l

No, because that's a car driver, not a bike.

Again, deflection, all the ****ing time from you. "LOOK, A CAR DID SOMETHING WRONG!"

And if I could be arsed, I'd stand at Amiens Street or Raheny or Fairview or Pearse Street or wherever traffic lights or junctions and video > 90% of cyclists approach the red lights then keep on going straight through.

Difference is I can acknowledge that the drivers shouldn't be doing it, whereas your reaction is "Well if other people are doing it then I can."

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

No, because that's a car driver, not a bike.

Again, deflection, all the ****ing time from you. "LOOK, A CAR DID SOMETHING WRONG!"

And if I could be arsed, I'd stand at Amiens Street or Raheny or Fairview or Pearse Street or wherever traffic lights or junctions and video > 90% of cyclists approach the red lights then keep on going straight through.

Difference is I can acknowledge that the drivers shouldn't be doing it, whereas your reaction is "Well if other people are doing it then I can."

Cyclists break red light! We know that. The Gardai don’t care, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭FinnC

07Lapierre wrote: »

Funny you should say that. I was out for a cycle last night and was stopped at a set of lights when two other cyclists came up behind me and kept going through the red. It takes a special kind of eejit though to keep going through the red when the car at the top of the line of traffic is a cop car.
    The two were pulled over straight away, to be honest I thought it was a glorious moment.
    Was the only good part of the cycle though as I was still feeling the effects of the night before celebrating Liverpool, my legs didn't want to do what my head wanted them too :D

FinnC wrote: »
    Funny you should say that. I was out for a cycle last night and was stopped at a set of lights when two other cyclists came up behind me and kept going through the red. It takes a special kind of eejit though to keep going through the red when the car at the top of the line of traffic is a cop car.
    The two were pulled over straight away, to be honest I thought it was a glorious moment.
    Was the only good part of the cycle though as I was still feeling the effects of the night before celebrating Liverpool, my legs didn't want to do what my head wanted them too :D

Good...delighted to hear it!

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Good...delighted to hear it!

One of these things is not like the other...

You're joining the "non-cyclist says something, it's bad/cyclist says something, it's good!" camp? Move over, Thelonius and Andy, you have more company.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

, whereas your reaction is "Well if other people are doing it then I can."
    Where exactly did I say this please?

One of these things is not like the other...

You're joining the "non-cyclist says something, it's bad/cyclist says something, it's good!" camp? Move over, Thelonius and Andy, you have more company.

One incident where a muppet is stopped by a Garda for RLJ is very rare! Hardly proof that Gardai take RLJ by cyclists seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,512 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Don't you dare describe that scrote as a 'biker'. He's a kid on a scrambler with no insurance and no licence. He crashes, my insurance helps pay for it.

Do you have the word 'cyclist' on some sort of alert? Because whenever anybody says anything in any forum about illegal behaviour of cyclists, you're in like a shot trying to excuse it. It's pathetic really.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Don't you dare describe that scrote as a 'biker'. He's a kid on a scrambler with no insurance and no licence.
    are cyclists now allowed disavow assholes on bikes as not being 'cyclists'? if we can, this whole thread vanishes in a puff of logic (well, i'd take any excuse for that at this stage).

Don't you dare describe that scrote as a 'biker'. He's a kid on a scrambler with no insurance and no licence. He crashes, my insurance helps pay for it.

Do you have the word 'cyclist' on some sort of alert? Because whenever anybody says anything in any forum about illegal behaviour of cyclists, you're in like a shot trying to excuse it. It's pathetic really.

I didn't describe him at all
    I just posted a link to the video. If you don't like the video title, take it up with the video owner.

And where exactly did I excuse illegal behaviour of cyclists please?

Work with me here, but... when someone posts about cyclists breaking red lights, and you don't criticise the cyclists breaking red lights but instead post three videos of a red-light-breaking by cars and a motorbike, it seems to be saying "well, other people are doing it, so it's fine..."

Other posters have no problem saying it's wrong, but Andy? No, cyclists do no wrong, whatabout whatabout whatabout...

===

61QrJzGw-YL._AC_SX425_.jpg

Work with me here, but... when someone posts about cyclists breaking red lights, and you don't criticise the cyclists breaking red lights but instead post three videos of a red-light-breaking by cars and a motorbike, it seems to be saying "well, other people are doing it, so it's fine..."

Other posters have no problem saying it's wrong, but Andy? No, cyclists do no wrong, whatabout whatabout whatabout...

So you're confirming that I didn't actually say that, but you want to make guesses about my opinions on the matter and have a go at me for the outcome of your guesses, have I got that right?

You haven't criticised beating up old women on this thread, so it seems like you're in favour of beating up old women. Is that how it works?

So you're confirming that I didn't actually say that, but you want to make guesses about my opinions on the matter and have a go at me for the outcome of your guesses, have I got that right?

You haven't criticised beating up old women on this thread, so it seems like you're in favour of beating up old women. Is that how it works?

Nope.

Do you condone cyclists breaking red lights?

Do you condone cyclists breaking speed limits?

Still don't think we got an answer.

===

Nope.

Do you condone cyclists breaking red lights?

Do you condone cyclists breaking speed limits?

Still don't think we got an answer.

Work with me here, but... when someone posts a video of an underage uninsured scrambler bike rider breaking red lights, and you don't criticise the underage uninsured scrambler bike rider breaking red lights but instead keep banging on about cyclists and red lights, it seems to be saying "well, other people are doing it, so it's fine..."

Are you in favour of underage uninsured scrambler bike rider breaking red lights?

Honestly lads, could you not find enough in what I actually said to argue with, without worrying about "sins of omission"?