Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

A subset of ignorant and selfish will but they think rules don't apply to them anyway. Not exactly a change for them from before the so-called 'lock down'.

Most people will stick to the advice for the greater good and to save lives.

Go outside and open your eyes. Most people have already relaxed the restrictions as much as they can get away with. They are not sheep, they are educated people who can think for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

is_that_so wrote: »
    An extension of restrictions without a detailed roadmap is not the way to go. People could be persuaded to go a further 2 weeks if they can see dates on the calendar.

A roadmap is needed but I'd expect it to have targets or milestones to be reached before each set of next steps can be implemented. Dates would be too likely to change and only lead to more confusion and frustration ads things move about.

Pat Leahy in IT has picked it up now but more along the lines of putting the pieces together than actual fact.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/coronavirus-ireland-s-lockdown-expected-to-continue-beyond-may-5th-1.4239396

Best to wait for an official announcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

polesheep wrote: »
    Go outside and open your eyes. Most people have already relaxed the restrictions as much as they can get away with. They are not sheep, they are educated people who can think for themselves.

Ah that's nice you think the Irish are educated people. Thank you for that I needed a laugh today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭yrreg0850

Or maybe they are making the hard decisions, just not the decisions you would like. Dead people don't have any future.

They should have gone further like New Zealand and, shut down the air/sea ports.
    Instead they allowed crowds to come back from cheltenham and ,still allowing free travel from NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

No where is open, there is no where to go.

All academic really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Lyle

I wonder if, in the coming days, the issues surrounding children, namely the Kawasaki disease/toxic shock/chronic inflammation, etc that are seemingly popping up all over the place the last few days, will come more to the forefront and change some perspectives and attitudes.

There's a different psychology to all this when you include the potential for children to suffer medically on top of all the upheaval they're currently dealing with from general societal change. Particularly when the potential for issues is there in the long term as we still don't have a clue what the big picture looks like a few years down the road in regards to how this virus may have long standing impacts on people's health, regardless of age.

I miss my job, really very badly, but every day there's some fresh story, some new wave of symptoms affecting a new group of people in some new way that puts the brakes on any thoughts that cross my mind that we're getting out the other side of this, even a little, any time soon.

It's a real pain, all this. Like getting a toepoke in the nads a few times a day. But it's still better than interstitial pneumonia or Covid toes or strokes or whatever else this mentaller of a virus can throw at you.

Podge201 wrote: »
    Not very supportive.

If that is genuinely an issue for some people, then the human race is lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

A roadmap is needed but I'd expect it to have targets or milestones to be reached before each set of next steps can be implemented. Dates would be too likely to change and only lead to more confusion and frustration ads things move about.
    Sure but they have given dates for other stuff. They may not be absolutely specific on dates but if all it is, is "at an appropriate date" it will not be worth publishing as it will just look made up.

Ah that's nice you think the Irish are educated people. Thank you for that I needed a laugh today.

We are. We have a world class education system. It's a fact.

The restrictions are already coming to an end. A few weeks back it was almost impossible to get a Tesco delivery. Now there are lots available. That’s because people are heading out to the shops again. Plenty of people out walking, jogging and exercising every evening now. Businesses are starting to open again were possible, for example supermacs doing drive through.

Plenty of people will take their freedom back even if lockdown is extended, and rightly so.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Most people don't know how potentially nasty Covis19 really is.

The restrictions aren't there to make anyone happy or sad although they are a little bit difficult to deal with for week upon week.

Just because folk want to do "normal" things doesn't mean that fundamental health advice should be ignored for lifestyle or convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,174 ✭✭✭✭Stark

chasm wrote: »
    Has anyone got a link they could post up of the current regulations regarding the exercising within 2km of your home please? Specifically the part that states that it must be brief.

On March 27th at the Govt briefing it was announced that it was ok "to take brief individual physical exercise within 2 kilometres of your home."
    Leo has also been quoted as saying that the exercise should be "brief". I know that further clarification was given afterwards regarding exercising with members of your household, but I am just interested in finding the Govt amendments or whatever, that state exercise must be brief. I have looked but cannot find it.

I'm not looking to break any regulations or cause any arguments regarding whether it is right or wrong, just looking to see if it applies or not?

It's been removed from official sources. It was there at the start but way too ambiguous. "Brief" to some people means 10 mins, for people used to doing long distance cycling and the like, an hour is "brief".

Best to wait for an official announcement.
    I agree but it's not just the Indo making crap up by themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Sure but they have given dates for other stuff. They may not be absolutely specific on dates but if all it is, is "at an appropriate date" it will not be worth publishing as it will just look made up.

At this point public support continuing will be conditional on getting specific dates

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

gozunda wrote: »
    The fact that Sweden and the UK were only counting deaths in hospitals isnt of concern for you and your imaginary league table? Or that the US has no uniform system for reporting coronavirus-related deaths?

You might want to go on the lash or whatever. Thankfully you are not in charge ..

Johan Giesecke, the former Swedish state epidemiologist and current advisor to the World Health Organization

As for calculating death figures. This may interest you.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/04/21/world/coronavirus-missing-deaths.html

So is there any country counting covid deaths correctly?
    And if not what does that mean If we don’t know the true numbers?

Check and mate

All academic really.

Don't you socialise with friends and family? Do you not walk, cycle, run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

All academic really.

Just because you want to believe that, does not make it true.

Loads of businesses trading out the back door.

An ever increasing number very day.

I agree but it's not just the Indo making crap up by themselves.

The Irish Times have similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,118 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Spanish flu came from Spain.
    That's almost certainly not true.
    However this chinese flu came from china.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

The restrictions aren't there to make anyone happy or sad although they are a little bit difficult to deal with for week upon week.

Just because folk want to do "normal" things doesn't mean that fundamental health advice should be ignored for lifestyle or convenience.

It can be lethal. It can kill people. I would struggle to find anybody who does not know how nasty it can be.

Lyle wrote: »
    I wonder if, in the coming days, the issues surrounding children, namely the Kawasaki disease/toxic shock/chronic inflammation, etc that are seemingly popping up all over the place the last few days, will come more to the forefront and change some perspectives and attitudes.

There's a different psychology to all this when you include the potential for children to suffer medically on top of all the upheaval they're currently dealing with from general societal change. Particularly when the potential for issues is there in the long term as we still don't have a clue what the big picture looks like a few years down the road in regards to how this virus may have long standing impacts on people's health, regardless of age.

I miss my job, really very badly, but every day there's some fresh story, some new wave of symptoms affecting a new group of people in some new way that puts the brakes on any thoughts that cross my mind that we're getting out the other side of this, even a little, any time soon.

It's a real pain, all this. Like getting a toepoke in the nads a few times a day. But it's still better than interstitial pneumonia or Covid toes or strokes or whatever else this mentaller of a virus can throw at you.

Have you noticed that stories about the majority of people going home from hospital completely recovered don't pop up? Or stories about the majority of people being either asymptomatic or only mildly affected don't pop up? Bad news sells more papers.

Don't you socialise with friends and family? Do you not walk, cycle, run?

I have not found any of this as difficult as some people make out because it isn't.

A lot of hyperbole around about 'freedom' and all that nonsense.

We are in the middle of a pandemic. This requires special measures.

It's not optional, it's not a choice as some are trying to make out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

CorkFenian wrote: »

I read the Indo article and I hope you're right, found it very disheartening to read

Any reason why Indo would publish this? Can't see it helping anyone

To sell more papers. They just think of a headline to get peoples attention (true/untrue it doesnt matter to them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Newstakk saying the over 70s will be allowed out for limited exercise

Gael23 wrote: »
    At this point public support continuing will be conditional on getting specific dates
    I think middle of the month, end of the month would probably be OK for May but not really beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Sound like a lot of poeople are saying that they're going to be doing things theyve been putting off for several weeks now regardless of the restrictions. The collective patience I spoke about yeserday has been exhasted and the government has bought as much time as it can.

I was extremely supportive of the three lads at the start, but the more this goes on and the longer we are being stringed along with absolutely no end is sight is just not acceptable. I live a very simple life as it stands, and at the start of these restrictions I thought grand, I can manage this for two weeks. Now though I am absolutely fed up. I’ve done all I can, and I feel like I’ve been prepared enough both mentally and behaviourally to try and adapt to a new way of living.

Leo needs to be prepared for a revolt if he comes on and adds another arbitrary two weeks. People won’t stand for it, and they also won’t believe it because that’s what they said last time and the time before. Where they had our compliance before, they will now lose it because everything they have asked of us has been achieved yet we are still being asked to remain in limbo land with no end in sight.

The 2k rule needs to go. It makes absolutely no sense that I’m being forced to walk my dog in a busy park that I would usually avoid, when I can drive 5k to a secluded area and walk in peace and not cross paths with a sinner. Families are also being forced to walk on rural roads in order to get their exercise, roads that drivers aren’t used to seeing pedestrian traffic on are now being used by mothers and fathers out walking their children and I’m actually amazed no one has been killed or seriously injured yet.

People can only be compliant up to a point. But when we have achieved what we were told to achieve and we are still being suspended in misery with no end in sight, people are going to just think **** it and do what they want.

Of course they do, but they are starting to realise that is not going to be nasty to everyone. In fact, it's only going to be nasty to a small percentage of the population that can be protected while everyone else gets on with life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Gael23 wrote: »
    Newstakk saying the over 70s will be allowed out for limited exercise

That is good of the government. not. I would be furious if I was over 70 and ordered to stay at home by the likes of Harris or Holohan. I wouldnt listen either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Spanish flu came from Spain.

It was reported more openly by the Spanish press because they did not have the strict war time censorship other countries did at the time but Spanish flu did not originate in Spain.

https://www.discovermagazine.com/health/10-misconceptions-about-the-1918-flu-the-greatest-pandemic-in-history